Orchard Hotel

Hi Dubdub

So coincidental.. U booked Orch Hotel too? Or u KIV-ing? Did ur BIL mention roughly how many tables were there for tt dinner he attended?

Also, was there 1 waiter per table?

Just to commment that I did ask the coordinator about no. of waiters per table. She mentioned that currently is 3waiters to 2 tables.

Hi WenWen

Hmm, sorry ah.. U sure it's 3 waiters to 2 tables? Usually if there's 1 per table, it's very gd oredi... Shd it have been 2 waiters for 3 tables?

Oh yes, btw who's ur coordinator?

hi meh meh,

my AD planning to be in 2007, now only shortlisting the hotel. 1 waitress 1 table, he attended in dec 2004

Hi DubDub

Phew, thought u wld never come back to this thread. Thanks for the info, I shall go double-check when I go for food tasting & prob insist 1 for 1.

U're really ahead of time to be shortlisting now. But tt's gd planning! Which hotels have u short-listed?

I'm wondering if those who have signed up with OH recently can advise me on the standard deposit amount and cancellation terms that OH offers? Am considering OH but need to compare some terms. Thanks!

Hi Sherl

I do think that the mkt rate for deposit is $3k. My case was kind of special, I went down to meet the coordinator in late April. She said to come back to her in Sept as there wld be a show & the perks wld be better to confirm the booking then. As such she suggeted tt I pay $500 to reserve the date & paid the balance of $2.5k during the show.

Hi DubDub

My sis had her wedding at Pan Pac at the Main ballroom, and the food was very gd. But I prefer Orch's ballroom ambience & deco. I think Fullerton wld be next on my list if I were still searching. My beautician getting married EOY & booked Fullerton, quite worth-it if you dun mind it slightly higher. The bridal suite makes it really worth it & I've heard tt the food is gd too!

I think another hotel u might want to consider is Conrad, very beautiful & there's a grand piano at the reception area to jazz up the evening. The reception area is private..

hi meh meh,

We have been quoted 5k for the deposit, but feel it's a bit steep leh... Who's your coord by the way?

Hi Sherl

Hmm, $5k is definitely steep. Do tell ur liaison person tt u have asked ard and u think $3k is the mkt rate...
My coordinator is Shirley

Thanks mehmeh!
Will do that and see if she can do anything abt it, coz FH and I are quite satisfied with OH on the whole. So keeping my fingers crossed...

Hi Sherl

If I'm not mistaken, OH is having a show on 7 May. So if you sign on the dotted line then, you prob will get more perks! There ought to be a waiver to attend the show. Not bad lah, still get to see a fashion show & eat their stuff

Hi Hallie

Gee, I am not too sure.. You can actually ask the coordinators when u make an appt. Usually another night's stay & free flow of beer?

Currently, UOB has a promotion with OH..
UOB cardholders have the following benefits:
1) 1 bottle of wine per guaranteed table
2) With min of 26 & 45 tables, waiver of 1 & 2 tables respectively
3) 2 nights stay
4) Free flow of beer

hi mehmeh,

I will be away on 7 May, that's why cannot attend wedding show.... Eyeing the UOB promo actually, so hope that negotiations come through. Which ballroom are you taking?

Hi Meh Meh,

The UOB promotion sounds good! I have already signed up in Feb. But are we entitled to this promotion if we don't sign up during the wedding show.

Want to go and ask my coordinator if i can take advantage of this promotion.

Hi Sherl

Hmm, combine ballroom 1 & 2, have ard 35 tables at the moment.

Hi WenWen
I think it wun apply if you've already sign up. Coz they prob are trying to get ppl to sign up with such a promo. But no harm asking?

Mehmeh,

Wow the promo with UOB sounds very attractive. U got the info from ur coordinator? I've got uob card, but didnt receive this promo details leh. Hmm.....do u know when will this promo end or is it oni applicale for the coming bridal show at OH?

Hi Hallie

Eh, i got to know of this thru UOB's monthly updates on their promo tie-ups. Just fr this month's bill..

Better to check with ur coordinator.. I might want to check with my coordinator if I can still attend this upcoming show too

mehmeh,

hmm..i didnt receive the promo update this month. perhaps may get it coming next mth?? did they state when will the promo end?

ok i will try to check it out...tks

hi im thinking of orchard hotel too. my tables about 25 pax. which ballroom do you think they will give us ? are u guys attending the show ?

hi prettychicstuff, they'll definitely give you the smaller ballroom (Ballroom 3). Ballroom 1 and 2 actually needs minimum of 40 tables. But not to worry, Ballroom 3 also looks quite nice. if I could cut down I won't mind going for that...

hi sherl. i asked for a floor plan of ballroom 3. looks just nice. but i have my reservations still... does orchard hotel have good reviews about brides having weddings there ?

have u booked yours already btw ?

prettychicstuff... nope i haven't booked yet but considering. depending on how negotiations go...
I dunnoe about reviews, but I've seen a setup at ballroom 3 during one of my recces for about 27-28 tables. IMHO it's not bad. At least the ballroom still looks pretty grand to me coz it's got the height and floor space. You been there to see for yourself? If not, best you ask your coord for a day to go down and see the real setup there..

hey sherl orchard hotel is having a bridal show on 7th may. plan to check it out then. heard they throwing in loads of perks and they have this UOB credit card promotion now. so it might be a pretty good deal after all. are u going ? i am checking with some of my other gfs if they wanna go. =)

I cannot go coz I'm going to be away...
I only found out about the show after I've already booked my tickets. But heard from my coord that their wedding show perks are not gonna be as good as the UOB promo...

Hi Sher. Yah the UOB promo is very good. But I heard from the sales (Cleo / Shirley) that they will be combining wedding show perks cum UOB perks so it might be quite a good deal. will check it out and let you know. When are you planning your AD and which other hotels you shortlist ? I shortlisted Hilton , Amara and M Hotel also.

pretty, I'm planning first quarter next year.
Currently shortlisted Orchard, GCW, Carlton, maybe Le Meridien. If you're looking for a good deal, can check Carlton out. I think their package is by far the best I've seen so far... They combining the perks? Wah, my coord never tell me that.
Must call and scold her...

Can email to me the offers when you have them? aprilxingxin.yahoo.com.sg Thanks a million!!!

When are you planning your AD?

i think orchard hotel goes by alphabetical. my friend might get them so i will wait for her feedback and see how. im still considering where to hold AD.

Hi prettychicstuff,
My AD is also in Mar'06 & i'm also checking out orchard hotel as a potential wedding venue.. i'm not really very pleased with their service so far. The coordinator was quite slow & needed reminder before sending me the info I need. Nonetheless, she was polite & nice... for this i have to give her credit.. hehe...

Hi angel,
I'm going to the wedding show this coming sat with my sis. Faxed in my registration form last friday, awaiting confirmation..

hi camy, i will be going too. FH need to rush project so maybe i going wif a friend. Hopefully all of us can get good deals during the show.

anyone knows what is the price of muslim or vegetarian table for OH? Are there any hidden costs involved when booking banquets with them?

hi prettychicstuff, I will be going there at 1pm. Actually i got my "ticket" from my BS. They told me go there at 1pm to book place. But actually the show start at 1.30pm.

oh i heard golden horse awards is the official "BS" for orchard hotel wedding show. did u get ur package from them ?

Yes. Actually before my HB and i sign up wif them, the lady already offer us the "ticket". Very nice loh.. Its not like we must take their package then they give us.