Orchard Hotel

Thanks dawn!! My god!! everything is not smoothly for me leh. me had tentatively bookings wif Intercontinental too..just learnt from my coordinator that they might undergo a reno for the ballroom somewhere in April 2006 which a mth before my AD (020506). Its v v risky lor as hubby and me dun wanna hold our wedding wif so much dust and construction structure laying ard. Sooo ugly leh.
But the coordinator mentioned that it is not confirm yet and even if it does, it will be done by end April..dat means 2days before my AD. Sooo i'm really considering hard abt my decision to sign up wif HI.

Oh jocester, Jenny is from Orchard Hotel. Me wil be discussing wif hubby over the weekends to finalise our decision in choosing wich hotels lor.

By the way, i'm gg over to the yacht club this weekend as i heard their al fresco wedding style looks v romantic. But food wise i cant comment much.

Hi Dawn,

Who is your co-ordinator? The UOB promo at OH looks very attractive.
Please advise what are the things to look out for before signing for this promo?

Hi Dawn

Oops, I'm sorry to hear tt with having high hopes u went, but received such a treatment etc..

Do u rem the name of the AD? Why was it u guys didn't get to participate? How queer, everyone has a chance to, but whether anot u do win of coz by its name, we do know..Last sept we did get to participate, but didn't win too! Quite sad lah, but i was more worried of the strings attached even if I had won. For eg if the prize is "free 1 session of slimming session" >> in small print "must sign up for full course".. U know sthg along those lines??

No lah, dun think tt OH's package is cheap.. After all the taxes, it isn't. I guess ur experience with the wrong ppl made u so upset...

On my part, my coordinator has been rather gd. My parents have requested for quite a no. of changes in the menu as I am to go for food tasting next week. My coordinator & the chef have obliged to all the requests.

In addition, i requested for increase in invitation cards & complimentary parking, I got 30%. Price of corkage was also brought down.. I think my coordinator is the manager of Catering sales, so prob she has more say...

I think sometimes who's rigid may be dependent on the position they hold? The executives in the dept have little power to make decisions in favour of customers' request, those who are higher up in the rungs of power would then be able to.

Dun be too definite tt OH hasn't got too gd a service. Expectations differ fr person to person & I really dun think ppl who take the promo package sure will suffer yah? Hmm, think on the positive side, it's a lesson learnt, and thankfully no contract signed, if not further heartaches..

I do agree tt for every contract signed, whether it is with OH, it's def at one's own risk.. Let's hope each of us make a gd calculated risk too..

Btw, have I conversed with u earlier in a Bangkok thread?? Ur nick is so familiar..

Thanks gals for your info. guess its really our risk when signing up packages and oso the person who attended u.

Dawn, i heard that the wedding set-up @ sg yacht club is v romantic and i b gg tomorrow to take a look. Its al fresco style wedding.

Hi Sherl

Wow... Tt's pretty bad eh? Actually my coordinator is no longer doing weddings, but i requested tt she follow thru, and of coz she obliged. Seems like Jenny hasn't been the most responsible.. Wonder if there's anyone higher up there to feedback, coz this way OH will lose lotsa potential customers, esp since 1st impression counts so much!

I was almost allocated to Jenny after my coordinator is concentrating on another dept.. Phew!

Sherl..thanks gal! Hubby and me will consider it seriously over the weekends. Wont b blinded by those perks. Wad some of u mention are quite true lor..if now can get those perks, then maybe can't negotiate for more after confirmation.
Mind telling me where u signed ur pkg?? Email [email protected]

Dawn, the set-up @ yacht club is v nice. It is indeed a nice & romantic place. But the timing will have to start abit earlier as compared to hotels cos to catch the sunset view. The sales manager attended to us but we were v disappointed with him. U noe lah, those clubs r actually meant for members and he doesnt seem to regard d public as impt customers too. keeps emphasising the impt of their member's interests which really turned us off.
So end up, we are still in the sourcing stage.

A big Hi to OH brides to be!

I'm now formally a OH bride myself! Yeah!!!! AD will be on 31 Mar 06. Just signed on the dotted line on monday wif serene. Looking fwd to e big day now!

Hmm, just went for my food tasting today. All praise for the food, esp when my parents are particular abt whether food is too salty

Those tt were deep fried were very crispy. All fresh.. Ooh, the prawns are esp juicy & huge!! Heehee.. Hope it stays this way for the Big day

Hi Jocester

Welcome!!

Hi Gin,

Sent u a private email..

Hi Gin

Hope u feel more confident now..

Hi Larryle

Yupz, I tried all my 9-courses in full portions for 10. Initially the foodtasting is meant for 8 pax, but during their show in Sept 04, i bargained for 10, just in case more older folks wanted to join in.

My menu is Memory 1 with modifications.. ie the style of cooking & flavour

I think now the idea for dishes is to customise?? ie pick fr the various categories? not too sure if i got this wrong

Hi mehmeh,

I will call up OH soon to finalise the details. Mostly this is the one. Hehehe...
By the way when is your AD?

Hi Larryle

my AD's 04 Sept 05...
Hope to hear gd news fr u
Do request for Shirley to be ur coordinator, she's mine & very gd! Say tt it's Derek & Serene who have recommended u, becoz we've been very impressed by her!

Thanks mehmeh,

My coordinator has the same name as you and she is good too. :P
Ok, Do keep us updated when dinner is over. Then you can advise us on wat to watch out for... Hehehe... Thanks!

Hi Larryle

Oh so coincidental.. Sama name ah? Heehee

Sure will keep u gers updated on the process & feedback of the dinner too. *Cross my fingers* tt the quality of food & service wld have much to be praised

Hi Sleepysleep

Mine's a rather old package, not applicable for 2006.. If u're a UOB cardholder, u can find out the contact no. of the wedding planner in Orch Hotel, and get them to fwd u the UOB promo..

hi Larryle

i've took ballroom 3 as i've 26 tbles.

hi mei mei
u're the first among us to participate. hope to hear ur updates as & when during the preparation and after post wedding yeah. which ballroom are u taking? sori if u've mentioned it before.

I'm having a min of 35 tables, so gotta take Ballroom 1 & 2..

Jocester, no probs. Dun rem u asking me on this anyway..

Oh they lower the min. tbl requirement for u? cos as far as i know, ballroom 1+2 requires min of 40. so good...it looks so grand. i happened to be there at a real wedding setup when i went for the confirmation. 'envy' congrats!!!

Haha... But I have not signed yet. Well, I will keep you posted which day I am taking [considering another day in Mar too].
If we're neighbours, sure, let's take pic together..

a word of caution though.

did u check if 31 Mar 06 crushes with 'qin ming jie'? i've my reservation now. hv no source to affirm. so holding back on my jp. btw hv u ROMed? or intend to hold all on a same day...secari we've the same Jp...hahaha

And if u can cfm that the date is auspicious, plsss let me know so i can be more rest assured. tks!

Hi Jocester,

If my FH didn't calculate wrongly, 31-mar is 2nd of lunar mar so it shldn't be qingming. The tong shu is not out yet so we can't confirm whether it's an auspicious date. That's why we're still considering... Nope, our ROM will be in lunar feb next yr.

By the way, wat's JP? Sorry, still dun quite understand the abbrev yet except PS & AD. Haha...

ok i'm glad...tks for the reassurance.

so how are u to decide your date then? did u look for 'shuan ming shi' to give u the dates?

or like us, dun really mind so long it doesnt crushes wif 7th mths or like this instance 'qing ming'?

Jp- justice of peace.

Yup, I did spent a bomb to get the dates.

In the end, we decided to pull in the AD earier.
My FH is the Pantang one, i'm not so strict as long as it's not the 7th mth... :P

No special arrangement on ROM. Will be holding it at the ROM itself.

haha...my case is the other way round. i hope to find gd date but my FH dun believe in such thing. but lucky we decide agst it bcos of this uob promo, we hv to push fwd the date...now left only 9mths to go..oh no...

btw hv u settle on ur BS yet? any recommendation?

hi meimei
like to share wif us the menu u've chosen?

oh ya, i pop by OH today to look at real setup at BR 3. so lovely!!! n oso BR 1&2. so grand!!! oh the couple chose venison for the meat and udon in black pepper. daring choices! but serene said those 2 dishes really r tasty!

Hi Jocester

Sign up with Yvonne Creative! I'm with them.. Have i sent u my pix & my prep blog? leave ur email here yah?

Wah, venison.. I love it. But tt's only offered in the customised option. Mine's the original Memory 1 with some modification.

Cannot type here lah, very long leh.. They give such long names to the dishes

I also envy u, i haven't had the chance to view their set-ups yet leh.. And u have already seen 3!!

Ballroom 3 has its advantages too.. Nearer to the toilet & not blocked by other foyers. To get to mine & if someone's using BR 3, my guests may get 'lost'..
Oh yes, the width of BR3 is narrower, so ur guests get to see more of u.. Instead of having to jump to see u! And I think walking down BR3 is easier, coz it's straight line. For BR 1&2, though a longer walk, it's L-shaped.. But i'm okie with tt also

Larryle: If u want to view my pix, also leave ur email add here k?

Happy to share with Orchard Hotel BTBs

Oh goody good meimei, pls share wif me photos at [email protected].

Ever consider YC, wat is the price of their pkg roughly? n who do u recommend for their designer/MUA & photographer?

hey i snap some photos of all BRs...wanna a peek? drop me ur email.

Hi jocester,

I am considering Jazreel Collections(JC). Frenly staff and not pushy at all. My only worry now is the videographer & photographer for AD. But JC says they will recommend. Plus montage.. dunno whether I should spend money on this...

Gals, my email address is [email protected]
mehmeh, pls share with me ur photos.
jocester, pls show me the photos of the ballrooms? I went to view 1 actual setup (ballrm 1&2) and it was really beautiful. But I wanna view more so that I will know what to have for my own.