Orchard Hotel

40 tables for me is impossible. Btw, election is coming!!!
Although election last for a week for public to vote, but due to my BF's occupation, his whole office/ co staff cannot take leave, they will be being activate for a week!!

I'm so scare that all his colleagues unable to turn up leh!! Cuz his colleagues takes up 7-8 tables.. And then his XD also his colleague lor!

Hopefully we will know when is the election soon!

Michelle: Woa, how did u manage to negotiate for a day helper's room? I tried so hard, but still failed

Btw when is your AD? Elections are planned somewhere in May right? Don't worry everything will be fine..

Hi Dellise: COngrates and glad that your wedding lunch went on smoothly last sat. I am having my weekend Wedding Lunch in Oct. I would like to knoe more form you on the below:

1. Which theme do you select for your lunch?
2. Do you have free flow of beer for 3hrs? If so, what time do you start the free flow?

Wanted to know more for better preparation. Thank you.

Clint - maybe I can send you the details of what I had chosen for my lunch banquet over email?

Usana - I chose the Celestial Theme as my gown is in pink.

Yes, I did have free flow of beer for 3 hours, started from 12.30 to 3.30pm. Anyway most of my guests drink red wine as they love the red wine provided by the hotel. Even the hotel coordinator was surprised that we finished 36 bottles :p

Dellise: Thanks for the reply. If possible, could you send me some picture of your celestial theme? my email is [email protected]

DO you have free flow of red wine?..I do not have free flow of red wine for my package but do managed to have free corkage for 36 bottles of wine...As the cocktail recept start at 12noon,,so my concern whether to start the free flow of beer at 12pm or 1pm during the lunch..do not want the cocktail miss out on the beer...

Clint, Usana

I din have free flow of red wine as unlike some who had it even for lunch banquet. But I am ok as the guests all very happy

Best to start the free flow beer at 12.30 when guests are seated. Usually they only drink beer when they are in the ballroom.

Once I get the photos, I can email you. Frankly speaking, the day just past by fast that I din even notice the decor on stage :p

Michelle - I dun really remember but suggest you can ask the coordinator for the brand of the red wine.

Dellise...thanks for the prompt reply. So you also did not have the free flow of wine...btw, how much is the charge of red wine at OH....thank you so much for sharing!

Ow Sing Hai & Clint: Think better dont reveal her name her =). I got things sorted out and hope it will be a good preparation till my AD.

Btw, any OH brides have issue with paying the banquet bill immediately after the banquet? Coz all our friends said they pay the following morning for other hotels, before they check out of their bridal suites. Will we be too drunk or too tired to settle it?

OH style is pay after the banquet right?
might jus give a call to the credit card co. to increase a temporary limit then use the card to sign bah..
actually I am thinking since we be staying there for a night, no harm paying the next day too right? hahha but I have not talk to my coordinator about this issue.

yap that's OH style.
My coordinator even offered to arrange for staff to count the hongbao while the banquet is in process... Im like "HUH!?!?!?"
Wonder what's other OH couple experience before I talk to them again..

amy, that's wad my fren did. increase CC limit.

We'll call bank to do that too!

OH only practice make payment after dinner instead of check out.

OH hotel style is pay right after the banquet. haha.. We informed our coordinator before hand that we wanna go out for outdoor shoot right after my wedding lunch banquet and will pay after i come back from outdoor in the evening.

On my AD, the banquet manager just presented me the bill right after my banquet and even offer to follow me up to the suite to get my credit card. hahaha.. so we just pay on the spot to make things easy for them.

Btw, you can try applying Standard Chartered Manhatten card. Got 5% rebates (Max $300 rebate per card). Me and hubby applied and got back $600 cash rebate from this banquet. The credit limit for this card is also v high (think 3 times your income).. hence no need to increase CC limit liao.

Yes, they waited for both of us to be sober that day after the lunch banquet and I paid using CC too. I din apply for Standard Chartered as they only accept fax application or walk-in and rather in flexible as I do not have a fax. So becos it's rather near to AD, I only use AMEX. Btw, OH has a current promotion for AMEX Platinum, giving $150 F&B vouchers but of course Manhattan card is still better.

Hi Avatar,

How long from your AD Wedding Lunch before you applied for the Standard Chartered Manhatten Card?...Its quoe a good deal to have $600 cash rebate.

Hi, I applied 1 mth before the lunch banquet. The card, u can apply any time.. I think this card is so far the best deal..

both my fiance and I had the Manhattan card.. so we used the cards to pay the deposit too.. on top of that, we pre-paid the banquet in advance (once last month).. in this way, we get cash rebate from the card.. we also pay lesser on AD and get max rebate too..

hope u girls can understand what I mean..

Yup.. you can do it this way too. Actually i asked my hubby wanna apply earlier so that we can prepay our banquet and get more rebates, but he refused. so we drag and drag until nearer to AD then apply.

For me, I took over my banquet package from someone else as he gave me $1000 off from his deposit. hehee... so i need to pay deposit in cash.
No cards allowed.

If you can, try to maximise the card whenever possible.

Hi Clint: Thanks for the info. Please advise that by pre paid the banquet in advance (roughly how long away), how much more could the rebate be if we compared to pay during the AD....

For the deposit, i had already paid using other card..so now just may apply for mahatthan card for the rebate....

For eg, if you have 25 tables x $1000, total cost of banquet is $25000.

Deposit $5000: you will get cash rebate of $250
(Left with balance of $20000)
3 months before your wedding, you pay $12000 using 2 cards. You get a maximum of $600 cash rebates.
on AD, you pay the remaining balance of $8000, you get another $400 cash rebates.

So total cash rebates is $1250???

If you pay everything on AD itself only, the max cash rebates for the quarter is $600 for 2 cards.

Avatar: Just received snailmail from Stand Chart that the max cashback from 7th Apr onward will be reduced to $200 instead of $300/quarter. As such, do make your maximum deposit before 7th Apr to enjoy $300 cashback.

Usana: I think avatar has summed up how the cashback is calculated.. and tt is how I'm planning to pay for my banquet.. can save more $$

Just to add on.. when I paid for my deposit last year around this period, Stand Chart is having the 10% or 15% cashback on dining.. so I had another $200 (cap at $200).. apparently the deposit is charged under "dining" in hotel..

From now till Apr, there's this promo again.. so may be able to save more..

Hi ALL

I just call Stand Chart, paying for the banquet does not valid for this 15% cashback..

Hi Jensen,

Thank you for the info, my HTB just received that too. We have discuss and feel that we does not want to paid and tied down with the money, wanna spend the money on other wedding stuff haha

Yup, i also just received the snail mail stating the changes of cash rebates. max at $200.
haha.. better than nothing. Still $$.

Amy: i think it depends on how the hotel wanna bill you.. When Clint paid her deposit, hotel bill her under dining. Hence she enjoyed the cashback. But from Banquet, 15% cqsh back doesnt apply.

Hi Avatar & Clint: Thanks for the update and definetly a good deal to have the cash rebate using mahatthan card...i will check with SC since my banquet will be in OCt.

Btw, will the OH coordinator advise on the payment in order to enhance on the cash rebate...think they shld help us and calculate the best way to get the ultimate rebate since we using mahhathan card...

Michelle: the cashback is a standard benefit of Mahanttan card.. regardless what u purchased.. the more u pay, the more u get back..

Usana: I'm not sure will the OH coordinator advise.. coz my fiance was the 1 who calculated lar..

Amy: oh...mine was on the 15th..btw, have u applied on the manhantan card to pay for the banquet?
Seem like if the payment make earlier, we could have the $200 rebate per quarter...thats is to make payment by June and by Sep...i am not too sure...still checking on it.

Usana : my hubby have that card but he only want to use it to pay for the AD to get 1 time cash rebate as the rebate is offset your bill instead of issuing cheque payment to you. Also if pay twice we will be tied with 6k or 12k(if 2 cards) on the banquet before the actual day.. thinking we need those cash to pay for other wedding stuff we hope not to be so cash tight.

Amy: I understand that for 2 times payment, we really need to have the cash...most of us are up-tight till the wedding day. BTW, if we pay the full amount during the banquet, how much 1-time cash rebate are we be given? as you had written, thats mean the rebate will be cash offset from total bill patyment?
As i had checked with OH, currently they dun have any promotion with Mahanthan Card. The cash rebate is direct from SC Manhantthan Card...so we need to find out with SC ourselves...

Usana : I have check with SC, the cash rebate is given quarterly to offset the bill instead of cash or cheque.. so at the end of the dinner we paid the full amount we should hit the maximum limit 200 dollars, then till the quarterly bill for the promo 5%, the 200 dollars will be credit into your credit card bill.. therefore that month maybe/ should be Dec if your bill is 1K - 200 dollars , you pay only 800 loh..

Just curious, who have actually used SC Mahanttan card to pay for the balance of the banquet, either on the day itself or in advance, and have gotten the cashback rebates?

Seems like the cashback is only for dining at Orchard Hotel restaurant (i.e. Orchard Cafe). If your wedding coordinator is able to charge to the card under dining instead of banquet, please let me know which coordinator..

Hi, can I know is it a must to make partial payment before ad, if yes, can use CC or must be in cash? (cuz I saw a post above saying it needs to be in cash?) Or can we choose to only make full payment after ad itself by credit card?

Japelo: I got 5% cash rebate (equivalent to $600) from the banquet. Paid on AD. Cash rebates is applicable everywhere, not just restricted to Orchard hotel. As long as you use the card to spent, at the end of each mth, SC will calculate ur cash rebates based on your total spending and indicate in your CC bill.

Seems that alot of pple are very confused on this credit card. Suggest you call up SC call centre to find out more.

Michelle: It's not compulsory to make partial payment.You just need to pay $5000 deposit and pay the balance on AD. Not sure whether you are refering to me cos i paid cash for my deposit.

For my case, a BTB cancelled her banquet and transferred her package to me (She offer to sell off her $5k deposit to me at $4k). Instead of paying to the hotel, i paid to her since she has paid the deposit.
From here, i save $1000.

thx avatar for your info. SC is lowering the rebates to $200 per card. Looks like max I can get is $400 with 2 cards.

Anyway anyone else wedding coordinator is Lindsay? Seems like she is on urgent leave. Dunno when she will b back. Anybody's AD over with her as coordinator? Any feedbacks?

girls, a que to all..

XL mentioned when we go Tdragon to collect cards, we can tell them a higher no of tables (as in eg actually i told hotel min 23) and i told TD i've got 28. As XL says we can request for more den we wan.

Then if I don't have as much tables as 28, the card I need to pay?