Orchard Hotel

Thanks thanks for the assurance but I think must depend on my parents also...

My HTB prefer ROM on stage instead of function room, anyway our timing dun allow us to do before the lunch banquet so I guess will be on stage lah...

Btw, how many months in advance do we contact OH on the banquet details or they will call us?

I'll be having my Holy Matrimony cum solemnization in the function room.. will only invite my family and church friends..

initially I thought of doing in the ball room with all the guests around.. Changed my mind coz not all my guests are christians and they will not understand what the pastor is talking about and some processes to be done along the way.. they will be quite bored by it and will start to have small chats among themselves which is quite disruptive lah..

Michelle>> Thanks

hi girls, i would like to ask those who's getting dresses for ur jiemeis.. will u get ur jm to wear e same dress for e dinner or a different dress, following maybe just along a series of colour u have stated?

Pink, for day, I'm buying 4 then, they will be wearing the same coral colour dress in diff designs. For banquet, another colour but diff design too! I will be buying off the rack. Custom made is simply out of my budget le. Hehe

Hi pinkglove, I am renting my jm's dresses for day. Champagne color.
But for night they do not want me to dictate what color to wear so I'm just gonna get corsages to indicate that they are the jm.

I'm customizing e day dress for them n was wondering whether it's ok for them to wear e same dress for dinner cos it's satin material, suitable for dinner too. Wat do u girls think?

Mic: r u paying 2 dresses for them?

Rina:where r u renting from? Exp?

Pink, normally so far wad i've seen is JM wore diff dress for day n nite. Cuz normally they sweat in the noon and some won't wanna wear back the dress thou is satin. I'm paying for the day dress only.

pinkglove: i am renting from Bridal Closet.. $40 per dress.
actually wanna buy instead of rent dresses for them.. but their sizes too varied.. headache.
this wanna cover arms, that wanna cover boobs, this dun wan too long.. in the end decide on renting so that the shop can alter accordingly to their height, boob sizes etc.. MTM too ex liao..

pinkglove: though my JM can wear whatever color they want for night.. i told them no "upstaging" dresses.. hahaha
cos 3 of them boobs bigger than mine..like way bigger! no "too-revealing" dresses or the focus will be on them & i will kill them! hahahaha
cos if take pics together & in all the pics their boobs are spilling out.. immediately the focus is that... right? LOL

rinacheong you are so funny...
usually dresses are not coordinated for dinner... only for the day =) at least their dresses are of the same colour
thinking of getting for my JM...
saw this shop name Occasion has package deal

Rina: funny but ya, can understand from Ur point. Hehe.

Ok, Mayb I'll get them to wear something that's easy to find n wear in future for dinner then. Tks for e feedback!

I just had my wedding lunch banquet followed by tea ceremony yesterday at Orchard Hotel.

Everything went quite well and smoothly, accordingly to my time schedule. It was really fun and fantastic. Even though I started my lunch late at 1.30pm, I managed to finish my wedding lunch at 3.30pm within 2 hours. Surprising, I have time to eat one course, change 5 gowns and 4 hairstyles in such short time frame at the hotel. My actual day express highlights were also done in time within 1 hr for playing during my 2nd march in.
My father say it seems like a fashion show. hahaha... Managed to have a long thank you speech + song item performance + games.

Food wise, overall taste good. But I heard from some guests that after serving the food portion, even though there are leftover food on the plate, they just quickly clear it without asking. so probably service level wise need to improve.

Tea ceremony wise, function room was given. Announcment was made for those who are attending the tea ceremony to stay back while we send off remaining guests. not much hipcup. After finish sending off the guests, we move the guests to the function room for the ceremony. They will prepare alot of cups for serving tea. V fast & convenient.

Overall, the banquet manager, helpers did well in the coordination. At least i can really spend time relaxing and enjoy the whole process.

Hi Avatar82,,

Care to share the package pricing for your lunch reception at Orchard Hotel? Because I am thinking of holding a Lunch Reception, Which i feel is quite 'IN' during these daes..But i need to juggle between lunch and dinner, to see which one is feasible and worth doing..as i oli intend to hold just 1 reception..solemnization+tea ceremony+reception all throw into 1 day..

Michelle: got long gowns but quite bridal.. Unless u wanna see the"mother" gown. Long but not OTT kind.

Alternatively can go i-dazzle at golden landmark shopping center... But cannot alter. I rented my ROM gown from this place last yr. Can search online.

@Avatar: wow..5 gowns!!! U r good sia...I doubt i can do tt if i have 5 gowns...luckily only 2 gowns for dinner...

6 days more...excited and stressed sia..=)

Patches u r next! I tot u won't be here le, long time nv see u in the forum. I'm sure u are busy with the last preparations. Gd luck!

Yupz Yupz...I was busy oversea and came back two months ago..then busy with all the remaining matters..

Arghhhh!!! Guest list, montage, emcee speech etc all to finalised...

hi fellow OH brides, after reading through the thread i am shortlisting OH as one of my banquet venue. i am estimating around 35tables for my wedding dinner. as such i am stuck in between orchard grand ballroom 3 and combi of 1 & 2. ballroom 3 maximum is 32 tables while 1 & 2 need a minimum of 40tables
anyone know if the coordinator will let me have ballroom 1 & 2 if i only have 35 tables?

Hi Fairydust : I took a combine of ballroom 1 & 2 with gurantee of 38 tables but expecting will be increasing as we have new colleagues n friends

Hi Amy so the lowest minimum number of table OH can decrease for ballroom 1 & 2 is 38? Can I know who is your coordinator? I receive the quote from Shaiful on behalf of Xuan Ling. read from previous brides post that Xuan Ling is someone that is hard to negotiate with.

Fariy, intact, all coord in OH quite strict to perks. U can nego on the min tables one. I gt BR3 with a min tables of 23 while originally min is 25.

My coord is Xuan ling.

I took ballroom 3 with 24 confirmed tables.
It was Haze who signed the agreement with me.

Just let them know u r very sincere & will cnfm asap.
It's better to have a cnfmed biz rather than reject a potential
cust then end up nobody book the ballroom that night?

xingli I miss the wedding show. base on the package I receive from xuanling the min for ballroom 1 & 2 is 40tables. It's Amy that got a guarantee of 38tables with ballroom 1 & 2. Was not able to reach Xuanling so can't arrange for a site visit yet.

have u book with OH already?

gd morning everyone!!!
Im so sorry fairydust =( was so blur... got the wrong name...
ya i got my tables liao...
when is your AD?

Amy>>>did u get ur minimum 38 tables at the wedding fair or on normal days?

Have a great day!!!

morning everyone! i just spoke to xuanling over the phone and she told me the best she can give me is minimum 39 tables for ballroom 1 & 2 as i am looking at weekend dinner.

xingli: me and my hubby is looking at Jan 2012. what about u?

Hi All : I get 38 on the fair.. Hmm additional 2 tables is reserve so make up to 38 + 2 = 40
I sign up with Haze but heard that she no longer handling all this

fairydust>>>mine is in next Sept

thanks Amy =)
Ya got to know Haze no longer handle all this from the thread...
Do you need to forgo certain items in the package in order to get this deal?
when is your AD?

My AD is next year Oct.. I find that my package is very standard from the fair.. I think if I have more tables I can get more perks.. So in all 38 + 2 n all the given perks in the fair nothing more able to neg. But by looking now my FIL wants more table n with my hubby new work place more tables for new colleagues too.

Amy: what are the additional perks OH offered during the wedding show? base on the standard 2011 rates from Xuanling, it only include 1 free barrel of beer with every 20tables confirmed. There is no free 1 bottle of wine per guaranteed table and helpers room as well.

I think I went on the July wedding show they held.. That time was free flow of wine n beer .. No helper room unless I can confirm 40 tables before my actual day

dear all, i hope someone can brief me on this..

if my cocktail starts at 7pm, follow by 730pm dinner commerence, then wad time should my ROM (in function rm) be on? 6pm or 630pm ah? Cuz after ROM i will need to go up change for cocktail rite?

Avatar, which Jusco u went to purchase ur wedding bedsheet? =)

can i trouble u gals to look at my CS pics in my FB under the "wedding!!" album & advise what color shoes are suitable??

i m very frustrated that i cant find the right pair of shoes! i have spent too much money on shoes...

Hey girls! My wedding just past and I was satisfied with the service of Orchard Hotel. Me and my hubby think that we had made a good choice. Dun worry about the bridal suite...it's excellent and huge!! The pre dinner for the couple was so nice that I wasnt hungry at all during the entire night. You can order in your breakfast the next day too...and the serving was huge....Have fun for BTBs!

thanks patches for you feedback =)
think most of us will be happy to made OH our choice hee hee

rinacheong>>> wat are you colour you have bought?

i bought a pair of silverish whitish pair...
everyone i know except for 1 say cannot make it...
sadly went to return the shoes today and exchanged for another pair... but the heels so short.. 2.5 inch only... sad...
really very frustrated with buying a pair of suitable shoes for the CS...