Orchard Hotel

oh, OH dont have pool side or waterfall ROM? hmm...

Happybride, were u the one we met out last time with 2010 brides they all? lol.. r u the teacher?

Need your advice on something gals....

if my GDL is confirmed to be held on 30-01-11, then i should ensure my invitation cards are ready by then rite?
If i were to use the printer appointed by OH, how long in advance shld i inform the printer?
say if i contact the printer 1 mth in advance for printing of the cards, does it also mean that i need to confirm the number of tables with OH prior to printing of the cards?
this will also mean that i need to confirm the number of tables with OH almost 3 mths before my AD??

confused!!

Rina, printout of cards should be ready ad during ur GDL the cards can give to relatives le. Normally printer takes 1-2 weeks to print. But is better for u to check with the printer how long they need to print 4 u.

Rina: OH designated printer is T dragon. You can call them to check how long they take to print. It's better to give at least 2 to 3 weeks allowance period for them to do the printing.

For me, my contract states 25 tables + 2 reserve. So they give me cards based on 250 x 70%. No need to confirm the no of tables.. usually the cards are enough cos sometimes relatives come in 1 big group/ couple etc..

Care to share with me your package details? I am planning to hold my wedding at OH. Any feedback?

Who should i look for ?

Do you know if there have any fair going on recently???

Thanks so much....

Can send me emails at [email protected]

Katherine: you can look for Xuanling?

i think it might not be appropriate to share the package details here because everyone of us sign up during different promotions. For their promotion, sometimes, they have cash rebates, free flow of beer, free flow of wine or complimentary 1 bottle per table depends on when u sign the package.

Feedback wise, I find Xuanling v prompt in her reply. hmm.. but abit hard to negotiate on perks. Food wise is excellent. I like their pillarless, high ceiling ballroom as well as the themes available.

Michelle: OH has no poolside to hold ROM. which is one of the hestitation i have last time as merchant court has a nice outdoor venue for ROM. Though i think a function room with a simple decoration wil be sufficient =) Thinking of getting Montblanc pens for the signing of the certificates. Also, I am a teacher but not the one you have met as I did not go for the gathering for 2010 brides. Guess teachers in general will choose dec (like myself) to get married. Less stressful and more time to prepare.

Rina: T-dragon prices are a bit steep. About 30-40% higher than the average. However, if you want the convenience, can print from them =)

Good morning!!!
Hope everyone will have a wonderful Friday morning at work!!!

HappyBride12>>> Do you know of any place that offer a better price than T-dragon? Can share?
coz i always have the impression that T-dragon's price is consider average since it is recommended by the hotel hee hee

Hi happybride: i am also under the impression that T-Dragon prices shld be better since it is the designated printer for OH... now i gotta look for another printer... sighhhhh

I printed 300 copies of inserts plus the cute cartoon of bride & groom and the copy of the map on off white paper costs me $80. But for the convenience, can just use T-dragon. Difference is about $35.

Rina, u can try T&T at JB. I will be printing there.

Catherine, I saw ur GDL album!!! So many things!!! Haha!! Can slowly buy abit Liao.. Cuz after new yr on start FEB I will be busy with wedding preps le!!!

Michelle: hehehe....Yup, agree with Michelle. Can try T & T. I printed mine there too. Very reasonable.

hehehe... i slowly bought my GDL items bit by bit. Didn't know it was so many until i display everything out. Mostly bought in johor.

hmm... I printed 200 inserts(full colour with my photo) + 180 church wedding invitation cards (full colour with my caricature)... I spent abt S$185?

if print normal one... super cheap..

hello~~~
anyone need wedding & travel magazine issue 19? I giving it away coz I dun need, still in plastic wrapping..got it from lovebaby talk..pm me if interested~~

Catherine, I gues I will be buying most stuff there also. Cheap ma.. Haha.. Juz that go in must be careful lor. Keke.. I'm going JB coming Sat, for the wedding road show at Pelangi Plaza.

thought of going in to get my stuff too after hearing the cheap deal hee hee
btw where is Pelangi Plaza?
Izzit near City Square?

Pelangi is about 5 min drive from citysquare. v near only. hmm.. but pelangi nothing much to shop.. so i seldom go there. hehe..

hi avatar..
u mean i get a card from T Dragon & bring that card to T & T for printing of inserts?
inserts mean i have to manually tie a ribbon or a string to the card rite?

For me, I get the cards from T dragon & pass to T & T for the printing of the inserts. Yes, if you do insert, you need to tie ribbon or string manually.

T & T do not do hotstamping. If you wanna have the wordings printed directly on the card, probably you can print it with T dragon bah.. hehe..

My PS taken liao also selected already ma. I'm going to sign my VG lor. VG haven book ma..

Now have been bringing mummy to see her gown for my big day also. Keke.. For my MUA I'm engaging Fables one to come out for my AD. Think nth more things to engage Liao ba, only mothers MUA.

hahaha
i guess the chances of me getting inserts very low.. cos both my hubby & i are very lazy ppl.. if i have to sit down and tie so many strings or ribbons, i will go nuts!
from T Dragon website... the cards quite hideous leh! LOL

Inserts are cheaper than hotstamping. hehehe... so most pple will choose inserts. Another thing is if write name wrongly, no need to throw the whole card. so just make sure you print more inserts will do. hehehe..

For those of you choosing the cards that open with å«/娶, have to do pasting instead of the ribbon cos ribbon the insert can't stay. Also, i have the map pasted on the insert on the reverse side. Saves space.

Going to choose theme plus table cloth plus door gift this week =)

Do share with us wat uve chosen

Really envy u... Can't wait for my turn ha ha

i cant wait for mine too leh!
hahaha

i cant wait to go choose my cards, choose theme, food tasing etc!
i cant wait for my PS either!
woots!

Avtar, I saw ur invites sample at T&T's catetolouge file! It'd really cheap to print there! Haha! I had already signed my VG with istudio this noon at JB!

23 April 2010 Ballroom 3 Raine [Very good reviews for everything. 4.5/5]
19 Jun 2010 Ballroom 1 & 2 May Lee
25 Sep 2010 Ballroom 3 Candy Cheong
23 Oct 2010 Ballroom 3 Avatar82
31 Oct 2010 Ballroom 3 patches
04 Nov 2010 Ballroom 3 chili_padi11
21 Nov 2010 Ballroom 1 & 2 tclin
12 Dec 2010 ballroom ? happybride
15 Jan 2011 Ballroom 1 & 2 baobei07
22 Jan 2011 Ballroom 1&2 Nicole
22 Jan 2011 Ballroom 3 freakster
20 Feb 2011 Ballroom ? Daphne Lee
26 Feb 2011 Ballroom ? dellise
05 Mar 2011 Ballroom 3 rina
14 May 2011 Ballroom 1 & 2 Jasmine Liang
22 May 2011 Ballroom 3 Michelle Chia
31 May 2011 Ballroom ? Evelyn
11 Jun 2011 Ballroom 3 pinkglove
25 Jun 2011 Ballroom 1 & 2 Dawn
25 Jun 2011 Ballroom 3 yy
06 Aug 2011 Ballroom 3 clint
25 Sep 2011 Ballroom 1 & 2 Xingli
08 Oct 2011 Ballroom 1 & 2 Amy
30 Oct 2011 Ballroom 1 & 2 Jason Tan
30 Oct 2011 Ballroom 3 larrby

feel free to add on to the list babes!

Michelle: What type of gowns you looking at in JB? hmm.. tot you already have existing package with Fables? That's gd! Glad you found a VG for your big day.

Amy: Yup, my wedding is this coming sat! hehehe..Finally nightmare going to be over! hehehe...

icic.. mummy gown I'm not too sure where to buy in JB leh. however, heard that the store (that building) got a few tailors. you can go and try your luck.

My mother's gowns not bought from JB. She quite big size.. so I bought her 3 gowns from HK. Those XXXL size one. hehehe.. you can see her gown photos in my FB after my wedding day.

Oh.. Thanks..

Last weekend went JB saw some, but very funny they sell free size one.. den later alter le dono the shape n cutting nice anot, so nv buy also... Thanks anyway. =)

Ladies, give me some comments on the below ya..

Do u think solemnise on stage is better or in a function room?

I think on stage is abit more straight forward and from there, u can coninue ur wedding program.
But some ppl may be late den ROM halfway gt ppl come in not nice.. (so i decided to ask hotel staff to close door once time is up for ROM, then when ROM over den open door again)

But now, I think Function room also not bad, more privacy just that facing 4 walls in the room and it's kinda smaller and lesser ppl will be there (perharps only our relatives) if take function room.. But it will be more rush as u need to prepare, make up earlier..

How ah? What do u all think?

Anyone else ROM on your AD too?

hi Michelle, actually i;d prefer to ROM on the stage instead of function room, disccussing w htb on this as well..

Guess the problem with having it in the function room is like u mentioned more time constrained, and ur guests who come early say 5pm for ROM wont have much to do and have to wait 2hrs before cocktail starts

I'm having the ROM on stage too. But due to the auspicious timing on AD, my schedule already very tight (due to it's lunch banquet) so it has to be done on stage prior to the start of the wedding banquet. I also worry abt guests turning up late etc, but I guess just have to let them know that there is a solemnisation before the banquet and therefore remind them to be on time...of course there will still be late comers but I hope this will really be the minority.

My other issue is the tea ceremony which I am still deciding whether to do at home or at the hotel itself. I guess it is not appropriate to do the tea ceremony after the lunch banquet right? So my morning schedule will be kind of rush

from my chats with my friends & colleagues. Except for close frens, most do not wish to see the whole process cos it's kinda long & boring for them and the programme drags. Most will start to chat amongst themselves halfway through the solemization as well and are just waiting for e next dish to be served quickly. To me, i wouldn't wan to have pple chatting amongst themselves while we're exchanging serious vows..

I'll be having it in the function room and those who are here are genuinely the ones who wish to see us exchange our vows. i'll have my solemization at 6pm and my family n close friends will have around 1 hr before cocktail starts and OH being in orchard area is in no lack for places for those who wishes to stroll around before the event starts.
Nonetheless, it's ur day so u can always do it e way u desire

dellise: I think it's alright to have the tea ceremony after the lunch banquet.. My cousin had hers done after e banquet and all relatives just stayed behind for e tea ceremony. It was not rush and kinda relaxing and we have time for family photos

dellise, i also think it'sfine with tea ceromony after the lunch...

yalor, me n my bf also think that in function room better.. well well.. i will need to inform the person incharge liao..