Orchard Hotel

rina: i think it's good to have ur PS in dec.. i also think it may be a bit late to have it in Jan. my bestie's wedding's in march and we're pacing each other to do certain stuff by certain timeline.. btw, don't worry about having only 5 gowns for ur PS cos i only have 1 WG & 1EG for my PS but there's still plenty of photos to choose from cos e background and feel will be different

hey avatar & rina, can i add u guys too on FB?

Rina,

cuz if i take during month end of next yr head, it will be moonsoon season le! So i rather take early n settle early lor.. hahaha

I just cpompleted DIY-ing 3 guest pens last nite.. lol

Rina: thanks for sharing your photos! Love that black gown.. So sexy!!

Michelle: I also wanna DIY some stuff.. Where did u get your materials from??

thanks rinacheong =)
have seen your PS gowns and i think they look good.
Do agree with you hee hee more gown more choices of photos which also mean more costly haha

Sorry I am abit confused here cos forum names & FB profiles different names.

Can I clarify:
clint is Rebecca & pinkglove is Lin Chris? Or is it vice versa?

Haha so sorry for this!

clint, perviously i get it from a push cart at bugis junction i think no more liao..

but for ribbons, those basic stuff u get buy from spotlight or chinatown. =D

rina: u are right =) i love ur AD WG! i simply love love flowers on gowns.. hehe..
btw, i've given u access to view some of my unedited photos of my PS too. there are both selected and unselected shots.

btw, ladies.. u all tot of doing any special march- in? =) i wan my 2nd march- in to be unique leh.. but dont wan dance one... abit too common..

hi michelle, i have given u the access to the album. hehehe leave ur comments if any okie!!
im doing my 1st march-in with my dad so my 2nd march-in with my hubby.. was thinking of doing a special one too but my EG is so huge & dramatic, i guess i cant do anything in it except to act pretty & pray hard i dun trip & fall!

hi pinkglove, is ur album titled "Pre Wedding PS"? the backgrounds are so gorgeous! haha.. i can tell u love flowers on gowns cos ur gown has roses too right?

hi clint, i love the black gown too. gonna have a sexy sultry shoot with this gown!

so sian.. working at home on a sunday!

the grey gown is so unique!!! nice! i like the black one! my PS also gt one black gown with super blings sequines! haha.. Think now really in trend of black gowns! babe, lets go black! haha

i love the grey gown! and the grey gown is not on display, the shop kept the gown cos according to them, the worksmanship + material of this gown is almost $5k! (dunno how true lah..) so cannot anyhow hang outside & let ppl try...
my coordinator was surprised i knew the existence of this gown! I insisted i want this gown as my EG. do i look like a huge storm cloud? haha.. my bestie says i look like a storm cloud & she hates it but too bad.. my hubby & i love it.. ~LOL~

btw, any of u MTM a cheongsam?

eh.. gry is unique.. but after u say that.. i think abit like.. but nvm la, really seldom see grey gowns one leh!

My teadress i intend to wear CS, but think not going to MTM. My mother may be wearing CS for my dinner too! haha

U can try Chinatown if u wanna buy or talior.

i think the grey gown is "either u hate or love it" type of gown.. hahaha
i like that it is unique & yea, seldom see grey gowns!

i am going to ex-boss' tailor in bukit timah plaza to tailor my CS. i wan it for my PS & for my AD dinner. I wanna be adventurous & change into it after the debut of the grey gown. Dun think i can walk from table to table with the huge gown...

haha! yalor.. grey gown quite "bulky" looking.. CS i think more fang bian also.. no need to "drag" the train or watsoever.

i will be having 4 gowns in total for AD. I wan all wow colours.. dono my studio will have new arrivals b4 my ad anot lol

btw, any other of u intend to BUY ur WG or EG? hehe

michelle: gave u the access already =) feel free to comment and Yes, I super wanna buy my WG cos i love it to bits but i'll have great difficulty storing it so i guess, forget it.. my EG is MTM for keeps so i'll be keeping my EG =)

rina: ya, it's titled that.. and yes, i heart flowers very much.. i dunno if its' roses on my gown though, it's just flowers..haha..

i MTM a CS with a home based tailor but no chance wear it for my PS cos my PG says doesn't match the background..haha..

pinkglove, how much did u MTM ur CS for? I have not met the CS aunty yet...going to meet her next Sun, though i have seen my ex-boss wore many CS by the CS aunty before... i dunno if she is able to do what i want...

michelle, i dun think i will buy any WG or EG leh... i dunno how to keep those gowns and i dun think i will ever wear them again... hehe

rina: mine's around $280 inclusive of materials and workmanship.. the workmanship is $180 for a short CS. and my french laces cost around $100

Mine is short CS. Till knee. If long one with train will prob cost a lot more bah cos materials needed will b double n workmanship will be more.

rina: u guess it right! looking forward to your PS with that black gown!

I MTM my CS with the same seamstress as pinkglove.. and can be seen on my PS photos on FB.. have given access to u girls to view them

hi clint, i saw ur CS already.. purple with black lace?? it looks gorgeous leh!
was it short or long then u pull it up for ur PS?
How much was ur CS?

hi michelle, there is this CS tailor called Wilson who makes his CS and charges damn ex... at least $750 for long CS without train...

rina: mine was a short CS..
the workmanshop was $170 and bought the cloth for about $120 liddat.. I initially wanted a long CS..so bought more cloth, in the end I changed my mind..

michelle: u can try Teds Collection, located at Chinatown.. got good reviews from the forum.. but also charge very high..

Rina: hehe.. i choose Orchard hotel because it's one of the cheaper ones on orchard road stretch. Others on my list was holiday inn orchard & orchard parade hotel which was around the same price.

Among the few hotels, Orchard hotel offer the most perks like free flow of beer and wine. Ballroom has high ceiling and pillarless. Big spacious bridal suite. Best part is they have my favourite pink colour theme. So end up choosing OH. hehehe...

cuz of the ballroom i feel cozy n ambience, and most impt the candenlight (pai seh, dono how to spell) and the suite is huge enough. And like wad avatar said free wine n beer! lols

chose OH becoz...
1. high ceiling, pillarless ballroom with a long march-in
2. good food from Hua Ting, free flow of wine & beer..
3. less than 1K per table.. value for $ for a hotel in orchard

we chose OH because:
1. within our budget
2. pillarless ballroom
3. high ceiling
4. free flow beer & wine
5. the ambience - feels very romantic.. think cos of the lightings
6. most imptly, i did a survey with my frds & colleagues and asked if they were invited to OH wedding dinner on a sat, hw much wld they give as an angbao and all replied said will give at least $100 or more... so more or less will cover the table! hehehehe

Hi all, new to the thread here!

We signed up for our wedding banquet at OH too, at the previous wedding show. Thought the high ceiling ballroom was pretty nice.
Honestly, was originally considering Carlton Hotel, but OH's staff were friendly and heard raves about Hua Ting food.

Looking forward to more discussions on OH! hehe

hi Rina!! i'm probably the most kiasu BTB! my AD is mar 2012..but OH was offering some good perks, so we decided to go with OH hehe

when's ur AD?

Rina, wow! U really did a survey.. Keke ya, I think OH looks class but actually with 1K only. Lol!! How many tables u having? Or may have?

Hi glossie! Welcome.. Hehe

hi glossie: mine's 05-03-2011
btw, can share what is the cost of per table for OH? my bestie is also getting married in 2012 & she is checking ard... thks!

michelle: i confirmed 24 tables + 2 reserve but i may have to add more... i have so many current & ex colleagues to invite... most of my colleagues who were close to me have left for another bank... so i have to invite them AND my new fellow colleagues...headache

Ic.. Ya I think headache since gt new n old ones.. Mine is 23 confirmed tables + 2 reserve. Originally should be min 25 confirmed for BR 3. But we nego for 23 confirmed tables instead.

hi glossie! welcome

I guess the best thing about OH is that it looks very classy, and most guests will def give more than $100 for angbao.. but in actual 1 table is only less than $1k plus free flow wine & beer.. usually most hotels that I've recee only provide free flow of beer + 1 free bottle of wine per table..

rina: facing the same prob as u.. got a lot of ex-colleagues to invite.. not too sure if I wanna invite my new colleagues.. things are kinda complicated on this side.. try not to overshoot 30 tables.. just wanna have a cosy affair

clint: i m faced with a BIG prob! i have more tables than my hubby's side & his mum is not happy lor... say the groom is the host so y is the bride inviting more ppl?? i also dunno how to ans her leh... i was thinking to ans her "cos i am popular??" muahahahaha

& now i have alot more colleagues... not enuff tables..
if i invite most of the team & leave out the new joiners not very nice... big big headache ah!
& my parents already cut to their min.. i am their eldest daughter somemore... they hope to "announce" to ALL relatives but i got constraint so limit them to 10 tables only! i think they're secretly disappointed... siGh...

Gals, to me, I think since it's ur weddig u decide hu to invite. But if it's me, I only invite close ones and upper bosses la.. Those not close or also give prob one don't invite. Hahaha.. Rina, ur MIL not happy better think of smt or to really reduce ur side tables.. I think she Gt the right to not happy la.. Understand. Haha

for me, my table at OH is more than 1k liao...
maybe it is the revised rate.

rinacheong>>> maybe you would like to forgo the new joiners? As for me, i only invite my bosses and close colleagues. Not everyone in the team too...
btw do you and your HTB have common friends?
if so, maybe can put it under his list hee hee
hopefully can reduce the list of yours =)
btw, did your MIL help out in our dinner?

actually, i think my side will hv more tables than my htb side too. but it doesnt bother me.. lol~ i dont think my MIL will mind since she is not paying anything for us.

rina, i think u do not hv to invite the whole team nor newcomers. wedding is quite a personal thing, so just invite your immediate bosses and close colliqs are ok le.

Rina: i think i will also have more tables than my fiance.. but he doesn't mind and don't think my MIL will make noise since we are paying the banquet outta our own pocket.. like what the rest say, just invite the closer ones or your immediate bosses..

Xingli: how much are you paying for 1 table?