One Rochester Wedding

mz6467

Hammiebao - Is around $100++/pax. If is lunch, they may be able to give u the whole area with cheaper price but not for dinner.

hey..i love onerochester, fall in love with that place after attending company D&D there.
one word of caution:
if you are going to have old folks for your wedding, that place might not be ideal unless they very westernised.

food may not be suitable, location is not convenient as there are slope and not near MRT or bus stop..

but..its a perfect place for a wedding recpetion for your friends!!

snow_saggi

Hey gals, just wondering if any of you did or will be printing hard copy invites for your wedding? Seems like they only provide e-invites and i am thinking of printing mine instead.. If yes, do you have any suggestions as the volume is kindof low for printing..

mz6467

wah...seems quiet in here...hehe
Snow - ya, they only provide e-invites. If you want to print out, perhaps you can find the thread on wedding cards. I remembered some SB here were recommending a printer shop in City Square JB.

Hi all One Rochester brides or brides-to-be, what is your progress so far? everything goes well? lets update here for sharing ya... :D

As for me, I signed up 1-TwentySix 2 months back with Monette...nothing much has been done so far. Starts to get worry now.

anyta

hi girls, i'm going down to meet monette tom. one issue i have is the it can come up to quite a bit. based on the packages monette sent me, it can go up to 22 000 (approx 166/pax) for the first 150 pp and up to 128 per person in excess of 150. unlike hotels where you just pay per person. will they be able to work ard a budget i provide them? pls advise

mz6467

Anita,
Ya..it is indeed very pricey lor. Which location u looking at? One Rochester or 1-TwentySix? Mine go up to 130pp. If you have a fix budget, you can let her know, to see what she can do for you. And if you are not particular on the brand of the wine or the champage...maybe u can save few hundreds there. Your event will be lunch or dinner? She quoted me lunch for 100pax at One Rochester before and it is so much cheaper, about half of what she quoted for dinner.

MZ

mz6467

Hi Bladerz,
My wedding not over yet, still in the progress of prepration with Monette and it will be in September. I feel her respond is kind of slow and forgetful on things mentioned before. Her assistance noted down some of the things discussed during the meet up but never get back to us. So you have to keep on follow up with her lor. Other than that, i think so far OK lar. I will share more after the event.

You have signed up with them as well?

MZ

bladerz

yeah i signed up w them and it's in sep too. Her assistant seems capable, but like u've mentioned, i'm still waiting for monette's email as she promised. Which date is ur wedding? How many guests r u inviting? Have you tried the food yet? Honestly i was kinda disappointed w the food stds

mz6467

Bladerz,
I signed up at 1-TwentySix as my date was taken by another couple at One Rochester. Is OK, we love the place.
Mine is on the 6th with 100 guest..how about you?

Done my food tasting at One Rochester on 12-June, i think there were another 2 couples also doing the food tasting the same time...not sure if you are one of them..hehe. The food overall OK lar..but FH has comment on some of the dishes and Aida (the assistant) wrote it down. Hopefully they take note of that.

Is your e-invtie done yet? I received from Monette yesterday and asked her to make some changes on the color coz found that the color like not matching. Now waiting for her reply.

bladerz

Mine is on the 7th with 120 guests...seems like they got a lot of wedding aapts...we have a slight concern that the place might be under decorated cos they seem to be leaving most of the areas untouched

We did our food tasting last sun...maybe our expectations were too high...thought we way overpaid for the food std

I'm still waiting for Monette to give me the e-invite templates...also waiting for the song list frm the band...can 1 twenty six hold 100 guests if it rains?

Hv you heard of any negative feedback so far w Monette's team? So far all the gd feedback seems to hv been for Janet...but she's already left

mz6467

Bladerz,
You date is just one day after mine..hehe. Congrats.

They held a bridal fair at 1-TwentySix 2 weeks back and I think the respond was quite good. Last time when I asked about One Rochester, she did mentioned that most of the area will not be decorated as well, mainly the center garden area and some centerpiece/flowers/candles on the table.

She send me the template quite early coz I think I keep asking her about it..hehe. But she just managed to send me my design 2 days ago..and now waiting for her reply on the amendment..hope it dont take too long.

The backup plan at 1-twentysix if it rains (*touch wood*) is to have big umbrellas at the uncovered area. Their indoor can take about 40 guest only if i remember correctly.

There was one negative feedback posted before but not sure about the details.

bladerz

Hi MZ,

Mine is 120 guests on 7 sep. Can 1 twenty six fit 100ppl indoor if it rains?

I had the food tasting just last weekend...was abit disappointed w the food and thought we were overpaying for it

Also had some concern that the place may be under decorated as most of the area will be left untouched

Hv u heard of any negative feedback on Monette's team so far? All the gd feedback seemed to hv been for the previous mgr Janet

For the e-invite...i'm still waiting for monette to send me the templates

velvina

hi all, i looking at one rochester, however find the prices quite steep. any1 has any idea where else can provide buffet dinner and party til late like 1 or 2am with free flows.

mz6467

Bladerz,
Not planning to make hardcopy. But if you wan, maybe you can check other threads...i remember there is a thread about printing at Johor City Square with reasonal price.

You have done your e-invites? I still waiting for Monette to reply me on the changes.

MZ

bladerz

She just emailed me the templates...but honestly not a lot of options...u using her templates or customising?

mz6467

I received a few templates from her but basically there is only 2 design with different layout or color. Not sure if you get the same.

I am customizing using my pre-wedding photo into her template and play around with the color to match the photo lor. Still waiting for her reply on the changes i requested.

mz6467

yup..the black one looks nice too
. Monette says she will do a signage at the reception table using the e-invites. So I was thinking if our photo is there will be nicer lor..hehe...but is up to individual lar. :D

mz6467

Hi Bladerz and other One Rochester/1-TwentySix bride,
How are things going for you? I have just met Monette last night for the 30% payment and most of the things have been finalized. Now just waiting for the e-invite link from Candida (Monette's new Asst Manager) next week and need to send out to my guest liao. Need to collect the wedding favors next week also to personalize the thank you card/note...then finally look forward for the big day...hehe..i am so excited.

MZ

bladerz

wow...u r fast! I'm also waiting for the e-invite...gonna meet up with them to discuss the seating plan and wet weather plan...bz w searching for reno ID too...hectic schedule these days

mz6467

bladerz,
I also waiting for the seating layout from Monette. As for weather plan, I have check out last week, they have portable tentage to be set up if necessary. Last week had some drizzle...so i get to see how the tentage looks like...oklar. Yours is one day after mine...so I guess most the the preparation should be around the same progress.
All the best ya.

mz6467

Hi bladerz,
How are things going for you? Another month to go!
I start to gets very worry now. Monette respond has been very slow these days even after I have follow up a few times through emails, phone calls and sms.

We went to OR to collect our favors 2 weeks ago but she said all were moved to their warehouse. She apologize for making us travel all the way there and she promise will send to us personally the next week. Waited more than a week and she told us the one that we choose not enough due to the packaging damage during transportation.
Has been waiting for her to send us the pics for other alternatives..waited for 3 days already but still no pics. We need to collect the favors early to personalize thank you note lor...scare no time ler. *sigh*

She send us the actual day run sheet and the floor layout...i havent go through in detail but I saw our names are written wrongly along the lines >.<".

What is your progress? I have been really busy with work...and this things really makes me very worry. I am afraid I miss out anything.

bladerz

Hi MZ,

We already sent out our e-invites...most things r already set..just waiting for rehearsal and supposed to send our seating plan / signages / programme rundown to monette.

We getting cookies for our wedding favours..
Didn't know we had to put in thk you notes? Thought OR will just leave it on the tables on the day itself?

Chill man...things will be just fine...

mz6467

Hi bladerz,
Have send out our e-invites too..waiting for the guest to confirm attendance. We will only do our rehearsal the day itself...hope everything goes well. Signage done. Received the 1st draft of the seating plan and actual day runsheet from them.

Didn't know there is cookies as favors. Not to say had to put the thank you notes lar...just personalize it. Anyway, we have selected another one with our names and date printed on it..so no need to do it ourself.

Candida (Monette asst.) is taking our our wedding preparation from Monette. Hope she manage to look into all the details.

Did we missed anything?

mz6467

Bladerz,
How is everything? I am sure most of the things are done and just wait for the day to come.

I just met Candida last night to go through the program flow and checklist again. She is great so far...respond is good and always assure me that everything will be fine to calm me down..haha. I am worry about the weather...it rains almost everyday. *pray*

mz6467

Bladerz - congrats to you too. Mine was great in the first half...but too bad it rains cats and dogs immediate after my cake cutting. Still feeling a little upset and disppointed about it. Anyway, is already over and i hope the photos and video turn out good.

How was yours?

bladerz

Hi mz,

Weather was lovely for me, decor too. But food wasn't so great according to the guest reviews. Also disappointed with the services provided esp in terms of wedding coordination. How was ur food and service?

mz6467

Bladerz - I am not sure about the food..some says good some says so so. I guess we cannot please everyone. Candida did a great job on the coordination, she advice us to do the cake cutting about 15mins earlier than the schedule when she sees something not right with the weather. She walks around to ensure everything are in place. I have very helpful bridesmaids and groomsman to help out as well...so everything was fine except the rain.

My PG and band has uploaded some pics in his blog...u may want to take a look.
You have any photos to share?

http://1950photography.blogspot.com/2008/09/lai-kuan-and-hee-voon.html

http://alittledream02.livejournal.com/186950.html

bladerz

Hi MZ,

Nice pics! I'm still waiting for the pics frm my photographer...supposedly next week...will share them when i get it!

For the coordination, One Rochester staff were missing in action all the time...my guy frens had to usher the guests to the areas cos the signages weren't obvious...even coordination for the march-ins were done by the sisters...and serving of food to the VIPs were not done properly too...didn't know abt it till after the wedding...feeling quite sore abt it actually...gonna send feedback to them when i go back to work next week!

hichrissy

Hello beautiful brides.

Monette showed me a video held at One ROchester and I'm DESPERATELY trying to remember who the videographers were. Do any of you know by any chance?

elynnteng

Hello Bladers &amp; MZ,
Can share your photos with me?

Hold my wedding at 1-twentySix on 031008.
Everything was good, except some hiccups here and there (Sound system goes head wire, guests sitting at the corner, cannot actually heard properly, end up the band we engaged to sing for us, quite disappointed cos nobody seem enjoying what they sang, Free valet parking…but no staff was engaging to do so, end up all my guests got to look for parking themselves….food..some says good some says so so,personally I felt, it not worth for the price that we are paying except for the ambience.

mz6467

Elynn,
Some of my photos are in 1950photography's blog.
I was too busy during that night and not really able to check on so many things. Sound system - mine was OK except during the JP speaking...the mic went on and off. Suspect is because of the mute button that he accidentally pressed on it. I dont have free valet parking..so all my guest got to find parking themselves. The thing that we were very disappointed was the strong wind and rain...everybody has to seek shelter and my band got to stop singing. Anyway..maybe is a blessing.

Share your photos with me too ya.

Bladerz - are your photos ready? Please share with me oh.

Take care.

kepsis

Hi any of you held your weddings at one rochester? could you kindly share your expreirence with me? I am thinking of holding it there.

candt

Hello dream, suggest you email them directly. Janet's usually very prompt with her reponses. The thing is I don't think there is a standard package... at least not when I held my wedding there. They did a customized package for me.

tannie2811

hello ladies,

can let me know e approximate pricing for 1 rochester/1 26?

Janet's a bit not organised i find..made a few appts but she always change them. &amp; they dun give u a rough gauge o e pricing.. i like e ambience, but dunno abt e svc &amp; food...

any1 can comment on tt?

candt

Hey Annie

Approximate pricing for the group seriously varies according to what your requirements are. We booked up the whole place for a small number of guests and had free flow of wine, beer and soft drinks and so we ended up paying much more per head (if I remember correctly it was around $160-70 per head nett). Booking up the whole place also brings in a minimum spending amount, so it really isnt like a normal hotel where they charge you a pretty standard amount per guest. I'd suppose lunch and dinner prices also vary quite a bit.

Anyway from our personal experience with Janet, certainly have not had any problems with her changing appointments and not meeting up to them. We made our appointments, stuck to them, and had no problems on that account.

And if you're concerned about the food, suggest you visit them as a customer and try it out yourself. That's what we did when it came to shortlisting our locations. I hope this helps!