Novotel Clarke Quay

Joey ,

though I am not too sure what happen to you but I just want to advise u not to let wedding prep affect yr r/s with yr bf or hb....
When i was preparing for our wedding we also did have alot of unhappiness.... and we manage to talk it over and settle it.... and it make us realise that a wedding is only 1 day to show people.... but marriage is a lifetime.... so pls do not let wedding prep affect yr r/s...
I hope u are doing ok now....

thanks happiness,

am alright... well am quite tired of fighting... money issue make me headache... so jus let it go..

dun me affected by me... have a happy wedding... i will still be here... KPOing.. hahahahah

Hi Joey,

Maybe you can talk things over with ur bf? Don't let this affect your relationship with ur bf, i did quarrel with my hubby with regards to the wedding preparations too, but eventually things work out.

hi joey, you mean u're dropping plans of getting married? if money is an issue, it can already be postpone right.. or a simple affair will be nice also..

Is there anything we can help?

anyone going to bow09 this wkend? Still contemplating whether to proceed with Novotel. There's not really any changes to the menu nor the themes as Kevin advise, so somehow can't justify the increase. Somemore it's recession times.

evergreen> can you send me Orchard Hotel's package for 2010 to take a look? How's their ballroom huh?..paiseh..side track from Novotel abit..

joey> Other than true feelings, nothing is too wrong that you need to call off the wedding I feel. Especially it's about money, i think all couples at some point of time will have to face the money issue realistically and quarrelling is hard to avoid. Same goes for me & my bf...i also threaten to cancel the wedding before cos he keep budgetting what I want and I just can't accept initially. But slowly we still managed to work it out bit by bit..and we're still working very hard at it to compromise even now. The thing is every time you face a reality check with your bf, look again at your expectations..what is the next best option than the one you set your heart on. More often (and of coz with a lot of hard work to research again) you will be able to find something that's next best and your bf is able to compromise. The thing is don't give up, especially over money issues.
~2 cents worth =)

hey natelyn, the one i have is for 2009 one.. it was only when we met up, she showed me the 2010 package.. I have sent you the 2009 package nevetheless.. Have also requested the 2010 from them already. send to you once they response.

The 2009 is 1k + a bit.. 2010 one is 900+ per table... personally don really like the look and feel of orchard hotel though the service is good. their wedding flavour sample is pathetic.. only 2 to choose from.. and its CMI one..their ballroom is 3 that can be combined into 1.. a bit similar to suntec's format..

I have confirmed with Novotel already. met up with kevin yday.
but i didnt manage to negotiate anything much.. very strict..still think novotel is relatively cheaper as compared to other hotels.. so went ahead with it le..

evergreen, congrats! Ya, novotel are quite rigid when comes to bargaining. But nonetheless, their packages are still more attractive than the others.

So do you still need to go down to BOWS? For my case, I still need to make a trip down to confirm the packages (as the perks are not finalised at the time we confirm with them).

genevia: ya i still need to go down to BOWS.. to confirm my package and to pay deposit.. but the details and perks has all been discussed already..

they don't even allow waiver of corkage for wine lo...

thanks girls!! thanks for all the advice... but we broke up le... so no point le ba... feeling also not the same as time goes by...

i am too attached to my work.. he also dun like but i love my work....

cant compromise.....

Just came back from BOWS, may well consider NCQ cos of their attractive lunch package =) Initially NCQ not in our consideration list also...anyway just to update all who are interested in their packages:

Cinnamon Room - Min 18 tables, max 24. One pillar to the right of the ballroom when u enter from main door, 21 tables shld still be safe, no tables will be blocked but if > 21, some will be blocked. Low ceiling, smaller stage, less impressive VIP table decoration.

Phoenix Grand Ballroom - Min 30 tables, max 50. Pillarless, high ceiling. Bigger stage, impressive VIP decoration.

Above packages for wedding DINNER only

hi evergreen and all

i finally signed with Novotel and officially a novotel bride-to-be now!

managed to get the booking for the day i wanted and finally a load off my mind =) maybe next will be my pg/vg & bs..then can rest a bit liao^^

wat time were u there nat? able to share with me what package u signed up for? lunch or dinner? additional perks u managed to bargain for?

we shld be going back there tml again...

can't neg much cos of their hotel policy I guess, the perks are pretty much fixed

Anyway, we have become Novotel's customers too

Hi Thomas,

yeah!!..congrats! nice to see u here too=) and now we are fellow novotel customers as well^^
we signed up for the destiny dinner package, taking pheonix ballroom. hardly able to neg for any thing more than the stated perks...
nevertheless, we are still very happy to be with novotel...really really like their ballroom =)

btw, have something to check with novotel's ex-brides...were the pre-wedding snacks given FOC or they give like $35++ credit for you to order what you want? tot i rem reading they gave chocolates and some snacks but dunno whether based on a credit amt or not..

hahahaa natelyn....yup, nice to see u here too, how come u nvr join us in the 2010 brides thread anymore?

We signed up for wedding lunch instead of dinner so no menu to choose, fixed one. Taking Cinnamon ballroom cos not enuff tables to meet Phoenix's min requirement. Anyway am pleased with what we saw, so no issues for that. Both the ballrooms were gorgeous imho, not to mention their bridal suites/deluxe rooms too
As least it was enuff to warrant our change of banquet venue ahhahhhaahahhaa....

We managed to squeeze out a bit more perks from them, hence the decision to sign up with them and pay deposit just now.

As for the pre-wedding snacks, dun worry, we oredi checked with them just now, the pre-wedding snacks served are usually sandwiches which are of lower value than $35++. Reason why they changed to this $35++ to let u order what u want is bcos they have received feedback from some couples that they dun want the usual sandwiches stuff and wanna order their own, hence they changed it. So even if u order other stuff, highly unlikely that u will exceed the $35++, so to me it's still as good as FOC

Chocolates/cake is not included in this $35++, it's complimentary from NCQ

natelyn >> when is ur AD?

btw, need to seek advice from ex-brides here. when do we start prepare d wedding thingly with the hotel coordinator? my dinner is end dec and my BS i also haven arrange a date yet. Ahhh.... so much things haven do!!!! >.<

hi thomas,

no lah, just that the 2010 thread moves too fast for me to catch up...but i still do go there to read updates from everyone and only when I have an opinion then i post loh =) like that easier cos i dunnit to keep tracking =)

so desu..i still tot the chocolates are part of that pre-wedding snacks for us to order...good that it's free cos we both love the chocolates!..hahaha....chocoholics no choice..

thomas, who's ur coordinator? mine will be kevin..but during the show Gordon from their coporate sales help to sit us thru the contract cos kevin is supa busy. still feeling a bit regrets shld have wait for kevin, then he might be able to neg me better perk X(
u think with the "fish" in the net, they will still be willing to neg again??

W&amp;L> my AD is 13 Mar 2010..so, u signed up novotel?

Hi Thomas! nice to see that you've booked NCQ too!
Who's your coordinator?

I went down to BOWS on Sat and confirmed my booking too! heh..

maybe we can do up a summary table here also on the AD and ballroom taken?

Also, what are the perks did you all manage to negotiate? I couldnt negotiate much.. only a bit more for car park and invitation cards..

the rest very rigid..

I also went up to the suite.. but it was without any decoration.. looks so so only..

hi W&amp;L, don worry.. the wedding thingy with the wedding coordinator only start 2 months before your wedding, so should be ard.. Oct.. the wedding coordinator will contact you.

As for the BS, maybe the photoshoot will be in Jun/jul.. but if you have a MTM gown, then you got to start sourcing and looking ard on what type of gown u like.. so that the BS can custom make one for u. but u can also get their advise...

My AD in Jan 2010.. so quite near yours.. don worry.
mainly now got to settle all bookings for PG. VG, Wedding banquet, BS

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>mmelody11</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Genevia</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ger Lim</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>W&amp;L</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>evergreen</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>natelyn</TD><TD>13-Mar-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

That's what i've gotten so far..

added thomas in also..

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>mmelody11</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Genevia</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ger Lim</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>W&amp;L</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>evergreen</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>natelyn</TD><TD>13-Mar-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thomas</TD><TD>14-Mar-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

Hi evergreen,

Good that u managed to squeeze some perks out from Kevin. I tried to ask for more carpark coupons and he said no..he mentioned this is controlled by Liang Court and not Novotel.

BTW, My coordinator is also Kevin. Heehee.

ohh..i think the reason we manage to ask for more car park is becos 2010 package only has 20% complimentary.. unlike 2009 where ther already have 25%. so i think that's why they allow that slight adjustment...

i wanted so much to negotiate for wine corkage waiver.. but really cannot.. helpers room cannot, everything cannot..in fact, my whole list of request, all cannot.. ha ha..

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>mmelody11</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Genevia</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ger Lim</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>W&amp;L</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>evergreen</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>natelyn</TD><TD>13-Mar-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thomas</TD><TD>14-Mar-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling</td></tr></table>

that's becos BOWS just took place.. so i guess a lot of ppl confirm their wedding during the show..
And i'm one of them.. heh

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>mmelody11</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Genevia</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixoral</TD><TD>21-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ger Lim</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>W&amp;L</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>evergreen</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>natelyn</TD><TD>13-Mar-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thomas</TD><TD>14-Mar-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling</td></tr></table>

Hey thomas,

We are just one day apart!! maybe might be able to drop by to wish you on sunday after i check out the bridal suite =))

anyone got Huiling's email? My AD is 27 Jun 09, co-ordinator used to be Jamie, but she left alr...so I need to contact Huiling...can't seem to email through, maybe email changed... Tks!

nat: oic..hahha yup that thread moves real FAST, me trying hard to catch up too with those younger gals, old man liao no choice =P

u love chocolates, so does my FW...think she will have a great time on our AD nite haha
My coordinator is Huiling. I think will be diff to neg once u have signed the contract but no harm trying ya? Good luck

evergreen: thanks for inserting
My coordinator is Huiling. As for the perks, we managed to neg for 25% (from 20%) for carpark, 80% of confirmed attendance (from 70%) for invitation cards, discounted rates for day/night stay for standard/superior rooms, rose petals under all lazy suzies, early check-in/late check-out for bridal suite (subject to room availability), waiver of charges for change of dish (from the spinach dish to yam ring), changed the bottle of wine in their BOWS perks to dinner voucher (to be confirmed later), decor for function room with extra teacups (for tea serving ceremony). Think that's all that I can remember, my FW has the contract with her, maybe I check and update her again tonite.

Tried neg for free flow of beer, helpers' room, waiver of wine corkage charges but kena turned down hahahaha...guess their perks are really pretty fixed ba

hmm funny, u went up to see the bridal suite during BOWS? how come it wasn't decorated? A lady by the name of Dolly brought us up to view 2 suites, both also nicely decorated leh...we went there after BOWS.

genevia: ya he's right, carpark is controlled by Liang Court that's why they can't give much also...after much haggling with Mico (another lady helping out at BOWS that day, she's in the corporate side though), she finally let us have 25%

nat: yahor, I will be requesting for early check-in too so maybe u can pop by and wish us! u will have to come over early though cos ours is wedding lunch, by the time u check out (12pm), we will be starting our banquet hehe

Michelle: pity Huiling's card is not with me now, I will go home tonite and update u here

No worries, i got her email..

Teo Huiling: [email protected]
DID: +65 6433 8637

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>mmelody11</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Genevia</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixoral</TD><TD>21-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ger Lim</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>W&amp;L</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>evergreen</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>natelyn</TD><TD>13-Mar-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thomas</TD><TD>14-Mar-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling</td></tr></table>

I went up to the bridal suite on a weekday.. so no decoration, nothing.. heh..

I took some pictures on the bedroom, living room and the bathroom also..

Have pictures for Cinnamon, Phoenix and suite (without decor) if anyone wants to take a peek.

evergreen: I see...no wonder lah, tot u went during BOWS to see haha. I can assure u, the decor is really nice! Rose petals on both sides of the corridor once u enter the suite, on the glass mirror facing u, the words "Just Married" will be pasted on it. On the bed, a pair of bears and some rose petals will be there also haha. Then on the table, the chocolate trouffles and the cake (cake in purple also!) Even the bathroom also got decoration haha...all purple theme (according to them, this is the first time they have purple colour in the theme)

for my perk, they only give me free food tasting for 10.

during the booking, i put min. 18 tbl (dont dare to commit so much at the moment), so dont dare to ask for more perks. Wish to upgrade to bridal suite >.<, but mico said i muz take 22 tbls.

genevia &amp; ixoral -> what other perks do you have? care to share since we using cinnamon room and dinner package???

evergreen: u can update Happy Girl in the list too, still waiting for her reply on which ballroom she has booked but her coordinator is Kevin and her AD date is 12 Dec 2010

W&amp;L: oh ya now that u've mentioned, we got food tasting also free but for 6pax only...reason why I didn't update in my 'perks list' was bcos I read from this thread that the free upgrade to suite is actually standard as what they normally wld give other couples too.

how come Mico told u must take 22 tables then can upgrade to bridal suite???? we got it leh even though ours we told her to base on 16 tables. Somemore ours is lunch package, not dinner

thanks Thomas..

A lot of our coordinators are kevin hor.. Wonder how they split the "couples" accordingly..

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>mmelody11</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Genevia</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixoral</TD><TD>21-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ger Lim</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>W&amp;L</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>evergreen</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>natelyn</TD><TD>13-Mar-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thomas</TD><TD>14-Mar-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy Girl </TD><TD>12-Dec-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin</td></tr></table>