Novotel Clarke Quay

Hi fantasy.. heee i got ask Huiling (one of the co-ordinator) of NCQ b4 regarding duty free liquor issue.. she says.. they will check but she says if its only "abit" duty free then they will open 1 eye close 1 eye lor... but hor.. honestly.. i dunno what she mean by "abit" la.. haha... if ur relatives and frens drink alot of hard liquor then i guess maybe abt 1 bottle per table? but normally it will be more more than enough... haha..

cheekybee,
the hotel will reserve a lot at the lobby there so when ur cousin comes back in the evening to attend the dinner, juz ask him to park at the lobby there. If they ask give them ur hotel room will do. u'll hv a lot for u till u checkout.

for those asking on duty free HARD LIQUOR, heehee a few bottles they normally will not say anything. as long as it's kept under table....heehee i brought a few bottles there too :-p

Hey there,
just want to check does the hotel provide one more room for the helpers?
and what time do we need to check out the next day? can we ask for an extension of the checkout later in the afternoon instead of in the morning?

Hi ladies...hard liquor issue i heard some ppl suggest sticking "xi" sticker on the label so that it is not so obvious...also help hotel to open 1 eye close 1 eye...:P...hehe

Hi kavitha, for extra room charge a speacial rate for you. if you want to check out late, you may try to check with them on the actual day or 1 day b4 u check in. i asked for extra rm they charged me for $195++, but this rate is for next yr'08

Hi cheekybee

I think nowadys the new DFS liquor got no DFS logo there. I think so la, I thought I saw on my Martell bottles. For our bridal car, the driver drove us at the hotel then go off liao. So the VIP slot we gave it to one of our helpers.

Not to worie, that slot will be urs for the day, be it if ur cousin drives it away and park it back at the VIP slot later at nite oso nvm. As long as u gotta provide ur co-ordinator with the car plate number 1 day before ur AD can liao. So can reserve it for u.

Heehee, no nid inform 1....so long as ur car is all dressed up with all the ribbons can liao....n if they ask u juz provide them with ur room number.... I've parked there 2 days during my stay n different car oso

Hi all, Thanks for the info...that means we can bring in a few bottles...keke...cos understand they can differentiate from the bottle size whether is duty-paid or duty-free (700 ml or 1 litre).

Hi suika, can share how many bottles u brought in? keke

I din have BS car there, but was told by Jamie tat usually this is their procedure in case u gave up the parking lot to ur frds or whoever, and at least the valet parking ppl noes, so follow procedures lor..

Hi Fantasy,

I can't remember how many bottles we've brought coz i'm not the 1 packing that...if i'm not wrong we brought 2 bottles of chivas & 1 bottles of martel oni ba...abt 4-6 bottles at most

Heehee, we've parked the Bridal car at the lobby for awhile den the driver went off liao....n we parked our car at the lobby the nxt day (nite) after we came back from returning of the gowns etc...we did not inform jamie anything...but our car hv got the ribbon deco at the door there la...they asked us once n we told them we're the guest n gave them the room no. and after that they juz open up the lot for us liao.....so i think it's fine lor

Hi all...about divasan's question...i oso wanna ask if i put 10 adults and one baby chair...is it possible to squeeze in? =)

Thanks vanilla & suika....=)

Ladies...any takers for my gold thread? Heehee..

cheekybee,

can not very squeezy....but if ur whole table is those bigger size friends den cannot put 11 ppl la....normally 11 person it's ok

Hi divasan & cheekybee

I have placed 11 adults at a few of our tables, and its pretty ok, and even tried 11 adults & 1 BB chair. Still looks ok! The BB chair wun be there for long, cos after a while, the kid will come down & run around. Hehe.

Oh cheekybee & divasan

Try not to put bigger size ppl in a 11 pax table, if not too squeezy, or perhaps not even food to eat even :p

Hi gals, I have just went for my food tasting last week. I will like to check with u somethings regarding the fish:

Our comments as follows:

1. Phoenix Platter:
Jelly Fish, Gold coin meat, mini Octopus, Prawn salad - pretty good. The gold coin meat is still warm when serve to us. thumbs up
Spring rolls - a bit salty

2. Shark's Fins - not bad but the crab meat is not really visible to me.

3. Roast Cripsy Chicken is the best - thumbs up

4. Fish - We are using Steam method "Soon Hock" HK style. The meat is a bit hard during the food tasting. Tha manager told us to change the "Soon Hock" to the "Red Garoupa" which is additional $40. Coz, on that AD they might not be able to provide the same size of fish to serve us and he mention the meat is not so tender for "Soon Hock". PLEASE HELP, is this true?

5. Poached Live Prawns - the quantity seems too little

6. Vegetable braised abalone mushroom & Spinach with conpoy - nice

7. Noodles - so so (will change to Steamed Fragrance Rice)

8. Yam Paste - not bad but granny feels a bit too sweet.

My Wedding is finally over.. hahahah.. so relax now...

The banquet captain,zul is really great.. he helped us alot on that day... nothing really cock up other than the guest...Most of them are caught in the jam and late.. some nv even turn up.. sianz... overall, really enjoyable...

Thks all for the wishes...

actually I cant comment much on the food as I nv taste any of the food that night..what a waste...
I think they supposed to send those food to us after the dinner, but until now, no news from them.. haiz...

hi tweety, congrate to u.

ya, i heard a lot of good comment for the frandrance rice. heehee ... yummy ...

but for the fish did anyone change from "Soon" Hock" to the "Red Garoupa"??? Additional $40 ... hehehe ... if i take "Garoupa" not sure will it be nice???

crybaby,
i stick with that fish stated on the menu, all says the fish is fresh.....

tweety,
u no hv the post dinner from ur table brought up to ur room? u no ask them for it?

crybaby >> your feedback is same as mine. i agree that the prawns are too little..but dunno if the hotel is going to do anything about it.

Tweety >> welcome back.
do u mean that they did not send you the food after the event? they are supposed to do so lei..

the noodle so so onli? I was planning to get noodle cos my hubby said after so many dishes come the rice like very full, can't eat ald.

afer the event, the hotel will bring the food to us? sound gd but would be nice ald, rite? cos left quite long ald.

Im back after my wedding! finally is over!! realli two thumbs up on their NCQ service..especially Zul the captian for the banquet night..he realli make sure we enjoy the night and coordinate well throughout the night! i will upload my AD pics in my multiply soon!

welcome back, rine. so envy u all for so gd service, hopefully mine also. rine, wat's ur multiply id, can add me? mine is irisme. thanks.

hi Vanilla, may i view ur AD pic please? you can send the link to [email protected] . my florist was asking me about the settings and deco etc so that we can choose flower to compliment the settings. hope you can help thanks!! :D

Hello Gals, Good morning!

Tweety & Rine, Congrats and it's nice to hear that the service was great from NCQ.Puts our mind at ease. :p

Welcome back tweety and rine!! You two must feel very relaxed now....heehee...while the rest of us start to kancheong...:P...hopefully their service is consistent for the rest of the nov and dec gals!!

Hi tweety...how is cinnamon room with 25 tables? Did you opt for 25+1 reserved setting? I need your help to decide whether to have one or two reserves...hehehe...if got pictures pls email [email protected]. Thanks!

As for food...fish i got during food-tasting was garoupa...it was very fresh, very HUGE, and cooked just nice and tender....no complaints! As for noodles..yah i always like ee-fu noodles...not too bad for me...not so filling as rice lor...

Hi Rine & Tweety

Welcome back!

Hi Rine,

Hope u n hubby enjoyed urselves! Remember to share the pics wor!!

Hi Tweety,

Dun dwell on it too much ya? *hugs* I would suggest write an email to Jamie to feedback, regarding the food tat was not brought up to ur suite for u. Mus feedback so they'll improve. Did u get the cake?

Hi ladies, not in for quite some times. Still bz preparing for this sat. So fast ...... going to be my turn. Hope everything will goes well.

Congrate and Welcome back Rine and Tweety
Glad u had enjoyed your big day at NCQ.

BTW gals, what are the main differences between rock garoupa and red garoupa?
Is it the red one more tender than the rock one?
Or they have the same tenderness?
Mi quite confuse with the fishes.

Hi, I'm new to singapore brides. I have been looking around for wedding venues. trying to keep to budget, but at the same time want a nice venue(ballroom and suite).So getting confused with some many choices. Novotel seems rather reasonable in price, but I haven't been there to see the place.
Rine and Tweey, could you share your experience on hotel lobby, ballroom/suite standard? could share your photos with me. my multiply acc is jenilim. Thanks.

Hi belle...very fast hor...we still talking about cards and food-tasting and now its going to be your turn!! Congrats!! =) Mine in a month's time...so many things haven prepare too...i totally understand how you feel..but must remember...last day try to give yourself some time to relax okie...wishing you happiness!

hi belle, congrats on ur wedding on this sat. I also had a church wedding to attend this sat & followed by another friend's wedding on sun. sun, i'm going to be jie mei, haha. busy weekend. next sun I also have two marry occasion on the same day. wedding bell ringing, so happy for u all.

Hi Belle, congrats on ur wedding in advance just in case i busy studying forgot to come in!!! Rememeber to enjoy urself wor!!! And be a pretty pretty and blissful bride!

Suika, divasan... they didn't send those unconsumed food (my hb n mine) to the room after the event... Too tired that night and cant really remember that...
The next day when I asked Jamie, but no reply..

Cheekybee... my guest keep reducing.. until 1 week before, we go only 21+2.. the space is good enough to move around actually...

I don hv any picture for the moment.. will upload those once i got it from my PG...

Actually I have alot of unhappiness on NCQ.. too long story that I don know where to start.. I think I'm the one only having problem with them...

Vanilla.. yeah.. I have write email to Jamie for their explanation... kind of sad though...
I got the cake.. we share with my family the next night.. hahahhaa... the cake is too sweet wor.. but it symbolised "tian tian mi mi" lah... hehehe...

Belle... wow.. going to yr turn soon... remember to have a good rest.. relaxing is v important...

Jeni.. I think it would be good if you can go down to view the ballroom yourself.. have a feel of it..
Basically, the ballroom, suite are great.. But the room service or the phne operators not really up to my standard...

I called many times to clear those dishes in my room,but nobdy bothers.. at the end, we put outside the room then we go out...

Hi Tweety,

Wats the unhappiness u faced? Maybe can let us know...cos like me im sure there are brides to be here thinking to engage NCQ for the big day. Will be a good reference for us.