Novotel Clarke Quay

Hi Belle
Congrate to you in advance.

Hi Tweety

How? Did Jamie reply u? Dun be upset k? If their service reali not up to standard, they ought to take note, and improve.
Haaaha, my cake still sitting in my fridge, think i will dump it away liao.

Heehee....
We oni took a bite at it and i've given the whole cake to my PIL side but till now i'm still keeping the top deco that's on the cake

tweety, wad happen???

Just let me "su ku"...

Ok.. the whole event did went well.. except the opening of the reserved table. I know that it's my MIL's request, but NCQ didnt confirm this with either me or my hb.. I think this should be confirm with us b4 they open the table right?? somemore, there are alot of empty tables which can accommodate these 8 guest..

We didnt know abt that until they had opened that table, which they said alr cooked the food... I was so upset to see the attendance of my guest with nobody sitting at this reserved table.. I didnt had our food during the whole dinner except few sips from appetizer (photography purposes).

After the whole event, my hb asked them to serve the food to the room for those helpers who haven had their dinner.. And, do u know what happen???
They serve the food in packet.. It looked so ugly to serve that way.. imagine, they just put the fish in a PLASTIC bag like those packed for those stray dog to eat.. forgive me for being too direct... but really sad to c that...

However, the captain zul did apologized for that, but it's all too late.. all my helper lose their appetite once saw that...

And there isn't any food from VIP table served (my hb's n mine).. but Jamie claimed has...

Another thing abt what happen in the room after the dinner... they packed those food without utilities.. are we supposed to eat the food using hands??? by the time we can eat the food alr abt 1 hour later.. will u faint if u really hungry at that time???

But NCQ really impress me in some way... especially Zul who can really keep a good timing for us... He really put our mind at ease during the dinner time...

Tweety,

Ur MIL requested to open the reserve table??? den in total u open how many tables??? Actually u can don't sign for it...coz they no get permission from u to do that ley....

How come ur helpers no eat during the dinner time?

Did you tell Zul straight away? they shd be able to at least give u some snacks from the kitchen instead mah

I did had my food served up. My hipcup was on the packing up time where they almost lost my album box and my name on the menu looks like J instead of I

u still got time to eat 1hr later meh? i oni took the food nxt day afternoon after waking up....tummy was growling like hell...although the food is cold liao but juz eat lor...took oni the noodles n the chicken....the yam paste already turns into rock liao lor....hahaha

Hi Tweety

Sounds reali bad...I think dun be too upset over it. I know its hard not to get angry at ur MIL, afterall its 700++ per table. But just try to 'kan kai' a bit. Its hard I know...

I think however watever feedback is given to NCQ, they should know how to 'do people' (zhuo ren). Compensation etc...though not giving a full refund.

I think u being the bride, oso got no time to fuss over things, give out instructions, cos hv get ur makeup done and change of clothes...so u dun blame urself too much ya? Its not ur fault. *hugs*

Suika...Initially thought it's approved by my hb.. at the end, my hb told me he knew it only after they open that table..

Ya lor.. they didn get our appoval to open that table lor.. even brothers also don hv authority to open that.. who wanna pay for that???

me no eat lah.. but those PG,VG and brothers eating mah... my brothers busy with arranging the photo sesion and yam seng per table.. so no eat wor...

Vanilla.. it's really hard pain for that 700 lor.. I can buy Gucci back in Italy leh... haiz.... now my HM really budget...
thks for hearing my " heart" out... tommor go HM liao... hahahaha....

Aiyoh...of cos la GUCCI lei!!!! Haiz, maybe if ur MIL know & does carry GUCCI then perhaps she world think twice abt opening tat table! Opppsss :p kidding ya? Cheer up gal! U going 'YI DA LI' wor! I wait until neck long oso no chance eh. :p

And hi Tweety! Pls do not feel upset about it. i think the most important thing is that both you & your hb enjoyed yourself that day. (although i know forgoing 1 Gucci bag is REALLY REALLY heartpain...)

but you can earn that money back again right? think of it this way lor...if open that 1 table can make your MIL happy, why not? rather than don't open and you know, elder ppl might remember it forever and you have to face them for the many yrs to come.

so cheer up ya? and you gg HM liao...must be happy!

And gals, I've went for my food tasting yesterday evening liao...my turn to share the experience and make all of you hungry...heeheee...

Cold Dish - Grand Lobster Platter with Mini Octopus, Century Egg, Drunken Chicken & Shanghainess Pork Terrain. ---> Everything was fine, even the presentation looks grand. Only thing that the lobster meat is abit hard (but they cut it into quite BIG pieces). And we'll be changing the Pork Terrine to Gold Coin Meat. We chose the Pork Terrine cos never tried b4 but it turns out erm...got that STRONG 'pork' smell. taste really terrible unless you know how to appreciate this dish.

Soup - Braised Premier Moon-Cut Shark's Fin with Crab Meat & Roe ---> Fantastic!!! Even the colour is not like normal we eat that kind..normal you see is pretty dark in color, but theirs is slightly pinkish red, looks appetizing! everyone commented this dish is really nice.

Poultry - Deep Fried Crispy Chicken with Thai Sauce ---> Also VERY GOOD & YUMMY!!! The skin is very crispy and the size of the chicken is big also. (dunnoe that day will be like that anot but we did tell the manager about this concern lar) Sauce is sweet & abit spicy, very nice!

Fish - Steamed Pomfret "Teochew" Style ---> the fish is huge also. this dish is very "qin-dang" and nice. chose this becos both sides teochew, also becoz the other choice is Garoupa,which will not be big in size. but the fish is nice, no fishy smell at all. asked the manager whether on AD, all fish will be this big, he said the standard for this fish will be between 900g to 1kg (puts our mind at ease liao)

next is their Signature dish - THe original Deep Fried Crispy Yam Ring --->what can i say?? FASTASTIC too!!! especially the yam ring, crispy, soft but not too filling.

Vegetables - Stewed Mixed Mushrooms with Brocolli ---> it's nice but abit too salty. not much comments for this as it's a simple vegetable dish.

Rice - Steamed Fragrance Rice in Lotus Leaf ---> not really that fragrant but not too bad too.

Dessert - Yam Paste with Gingko Nuts ---> this is nice too, not too filling. taste is just nice, not too sweet too. and the texture is smooth, not dry or lumpy.

Overall - We were abit scared when we chose rice followed by Yam Paste. Cos if you look at it, many ppl might be too full by then. Yesterday food tasting has 10pax. We finished everything for every dish. It felt nice and not too filling after that (maybe some gals will be). Ours is 8 dish so i think it's still not too bad.

The chef came to look for us before the start as he's not feeling well and is leaving. After we finished, the manager of the restaurant came to attend to us. Overall experience is good.

And for those who need to know, yes, they provide complimentary carpark coupons. Just remember to ask from the manager.

btw, i noticed that the shopping centre is having massive renovation. were abit upset over it cos it's dusty and not really nice lor. for ppl who are attending the dinner and will be taking public transport, we're abit worried cos they might think that "eh, they having reno, maybe this is not the place"

Hi gals, thanks i am trying hard to relax. going facial later. BTW, i have requested Zul as my banquet manager after hearing so much feedback from here. Oh ya, any bride to be, my wedding is tomolo, you all r welcome to view my ballroom deco. I have choosen red rose theme with dark grey table cloth.
Just tell my jie mei o hb you gals is my forum friend can liao.

Very nice wrist corsage.
You really made it yourself. I like the feather.

How much you spend on manicure? you do nail art is it? Then you cannot touch on any rough work liao.
Got to protect your nails.
Need anything, can ask your hubby to take. haha

I have just collect the invitation cards but found out that they do not have the map printed on the card itself, haiz.. unlike some other hotels. Got to spent extra $ on the map... =(

Anyone has the map (for insert), name & address of Novotel in Chinese?
Cause I need it for my inserts.
Can anyone PM me if you have it?

Hi Tweety
dun brood abt those unhappiness incident liao..i understand cuz i oso face some unhappiness during my wedding...kind of some hiccups long story too..bt anyway overall Zul realli did a great job!

Had post some AD pics taken by my jie mei and the express edit video for the Day Event in my multiply..
Can have a look in my multiply..
Multiply Id : alrine

Hi Belle

Fabulous nails!!! How much did u spend on those? Looks reali sweet! =D

Hi eemoo

Glad u love the food! Wau heard so much raves abt the yam ring...reali wanna go try liao. :p No prawns dish on ur menu?

Belle - I liked your manicure!!!
COngrats to you...stay happy & be a pretty bride!!

Vanilla - my package is the Destiny Package, no prawns ley, they replaced it with the Yam ring. I think Destiny is the only package without prawns. the yam ring is REALLY nice..i ate so much of this dish yesterday..heehee..cos both sides parents busy talking so i can eat and eat and eat..

Hi eemoo

Isit? I think mine is the Desire menu, got prawns. I think Destiny got better food ya? Hehe sorie la, me never go take note wat Destiny's has. :p

hi gals, im goin for my food tasting this december, the day of my rom, so that can save money instead of goin to another restarant to celebrate. my AD is next yr june. which is like half year later from my food tasting.

would like to ask your advice if it is too early for food tasting? thanks

Hi eemoo, just wondering, will u feel very 'ni' after having both the yam ring and the yam paste? is still considering whether to take the yam paste as dessert...

Hi Belle, Congrats...ur nail art is really very nice...where did you do it and how much?

Hi crystal...usually they will ask you to go food tasting two months before your wedding...dunno if half a year is a bit early? You can still try to request though...=)

Hi Vanilla,

no worries..

Fantasy - no actually...cos the yam ring is crispy, hot & soft. and you eat this together with the vegetables (inside the ring), it's a dish itself. for the dessert, it's sweet, so a pretty nice ending to the whole dinner.

furthermore, it's 10pax sharing the yam ring, so each person won't really get to eat a lot of the yam, so don't worry abt that.

CrYstaL>> half a year ahead is really early. But u can try

VaNiLLa >> i would love to have the yam ring and paste but dunno y MIL dun like the paste and hb dun want the yam ring. I personally think both of them pretty nice lei..

I finally finished my 1st video montage. the 2nd montage which is the photoshoot will be next. These 2 are the most time consuming tasks glad finally gonna wrap them up.

thanks for the feedback..hmm...maybe I will give it a try during my food tasting to see how it feels having both...but still quite long...keke
know yam ring is their signature dish and the elders usually like to have yam paste for dessert...scared later too much yam very sick...keke...after hearing ur feedback, can give it a try le...

Is it fine if I will to arrange for Food Tasting maybe a week b4 the wedding?
Cause I intend to go for Food Tasting on GDL day itself.
Is it too late?
Anyway, there isn;t much things to commend during the Food Tasting?
Thanks! =)

Hi cheekybee & divasan, thanks so much for your comments, come to think about it, half a yr ahead for food tasting is abit early. shall reconsider again.

Hi all, now rushing to honeymoon. The nail art i do at compass point basement. Foot and hand cost abt $150. 5 of them is extension as myh nails chip. Weddng over but nails still here.

Bride to be, you gals might want to request for Zul as the banquet manager as he is really fantasty. He just simply organise everything, you just really dun have to worry. And there is an incident happened on that day. 1 of my dad fren was drunk and fall down from the stairs with alot of blood cover till the shoulder all bloody but Zul settle them without alarm anyone. Tell u gals more when i am back.

As for the food. Feedback from my guests. The chix and yam paste really nice. But sharkfin was too gluey and little sharkfin to be seen.
The rest tell u all more.
Have a really very surprise wedding as my hubby actually prepare a very big surprise for me.

kk gtg.

hi belle...glad to hear you enjoyed your wedding! Waiting to hear the surprise your hubby had for you...hehe...where are you going for honeymoon?? =)

hi divasan...i still haven do my montage..oops!...can i ask what you use to create your photoshoot montage? Need something easy lor...otherwise i may have to scrap the montage cos' busy hubby not able to help!! Thanks.

Belle >> wats the surprise? u must be very touched. my frens kept asking me to do a surprise for hb but really i am too tired to even think of giving him a surprise. *hahah* :P

cheekybee >> humm..you can consider the windows movie maker? its very simple and easy to use and should be available on all windows OS.

for me i have been doing video animation for couple of years so my tools are slightly more advanced. i used the following softwares: media studio pro, pinnacle studio and flash. my video montage consisted of cartoon flash animation in front, a couple of video & music composite in the middle.

Hi Belle

Glad to hear about u enjoying the wedding, except the accident. Hope all is ok.

Hi Bubblebell

One week is a bit to rush, by then u will be rushing for those nitty gritty stuff, buy stuff, and 1 week to go for food tasting is a bit too rush if u wanna make changes to the dishes. Best is go 1 mth before. 1 week b4 is to meet up wif ur co-ordinator to choose ur table cloth and wedding favours liao.

I will be meeting Jamie this Sunday to discuss on my AD details. Can anyone tell me what are the things that she will be touching on har?

So exciting! Wedding day coming soon.... hehehe.... This Sunday will be having my GDL.

Btw, I am going to Korea for my honeymoon. Anyone has any idea where to get leather boots other than Timberland? Timberland too ex. My hubby managed to get his boots at Bata for $40. But Bata doesn't carry female boots. Haiz.....

Hi Caitou,
Just done mine, so still fresh in my mind to share with you. Basically, you will need finalise your menu selection, select table cloth colour, floral design & wedding flavour, how you want the sequence of beer serving & what setup requirements you will need & so on... She will also brief you what are the sequence of events will take place on that wedding dinner...

pp75 (pp75) >> hi pp75, thanks for the tips. is there anything we need to ask? maybe the rehersal? when can we try out the projector and also do the rehersal? etc?

hi divasan, rehearsal & tryout on the projector will be on the actutal day afternoon when meet up with the banquet manager. o yar, you have to bring your own notebook(non mac os) if you are playing your photo montage thru notebook & u have to get your own helper to operate the notebook...

Good Morning Vanilla,
Thanks for your advice.
That's what I told my FH too, I told him less than a week is too rush, we need to settle on those last min issues, montage, wedding favors, bridal shop, AD photographer, videographer,etc.. but he is just too stubborn to listen. Always think he is right.
Always ask me this and that, end up never listen to me then everything crop up. Everytime like that. Haiz...
So I just forget it and let him do what he want, just wait and see how he going to settle.

Hi Caitou,

Me meeting with Jamie this Sunday too...maybe we'll bump into each other?? What time will you be there? I'll be there in the evening.

dear all..my hb's fren who agreed to be our photographer suddenly backed out. now i need to source for one..any good recommendations? i know its a bit late as most of them are booked as early as 1 year ago.

Hi divasan..i am not making video animation...prob just simple slide show of pictures...what can i use? Thanks...=)

Caitou...me going korea too..but oni bought a pair of track shoes (choose those with better sole grip) for walking...hehe...tinking of going there to shop instead cos' i am sure their designs are a lot nicer...i tink i will be going broke just plain shopping...haha...

Hi Divasan.

Had you found you PG yet? If not, I can reccommend you mine. He took the photos for my ROM event at Changi Village Hotel.

But me not sure if he's available or not on your wedding day.

Hi pp75, thanks for sharing.... Seems like lotsa things to do....

Hi Eemoo, you must be the couple who are meeting Jamie at 7pm! Hehe. Originally, she emailed me to arrange meeting at 7pm. Then she emailed again to say that she made a mistake. So my hubby and I would be meeting her at 4pm. Guess we won't get to bump into each other.

Hi Cheekybee, you going F&E? I am going by tour group. My frens advise me to buy water proof shoes, preferably those with cotton inside. Can keep you warm. Track shoes not warm enough. Went timberland to look look see see this afternoon. Water proof ones cost $199.00. Still considering whether to invest. Also need to buy 2 more sweaters. Spending a bomb man.....

Hi divasan, my PG (also my hubby's fren) also couldn't help us on the AD. But we got him to introduce his fren to take for us. So lucky, it is settled....