Novotel Clarke Quay

Vanilla,
How come u went up so earlier? I was still taking my own sweet time enjoying sharkfin ley...although during the changing, there was some HIPCUPs in the room but we change very fast....heehee so fast that we have ample of time sitting outside chit chatting with some of the guests who came out for the gents/ladies

hahaha.....suprisingly hor

hello... sorry for MIA...
Just did my an chuang yesterday.. what a tiring day.. the mattress was so heavy sia.. hehehhe...

Suika.. happy belated birthday ya...

Divasan.. the fish is tasteless?? we found it too salty during my food tasting.. so we comment on that...

suika >> our's is food tasting for 10 px as we are taking the grandballroom. its not a lot think 14-16 prawns and since all our guests took a prawn each, left only 4 i think left. so they commented not very nice to leave so little left after each took one..

as for the fish i think its my fault. i have read reviews that its too salty and email jamie asking them not to be too generous on the salt. instead it turns out bland... :~

the sharkfin is really not bad. but chix def the best :P

Hi eemoo,

How have you managed to find your march-in tracks?

On the topic of the food....
I also like the chicken dish.. really nice and crispy! *slurp* think it was like the best crispy chicken i ever had.
For the sharks fin soup hor, on the actual day the red table's bowl got a lot more sharks fin than all the other tables. In fact I thought ours was almost crunchy! Hahahha... coz my mom passed an extra serving from our table to my cousin who was seated at normal table and he remarked about the big difference. Hahaha... like what vanilla said, we pay mah, so i guess we get the most! :P

I picked the 'gong bao' prawn dish. Substituted it with the live steam prawns. My friends commented it was a good change from the usual, coz they dun need to peel the prawns! hahaha :P

Hi suika

cos my evening gown behind is tie back (sort of cross here n there) so jiemeis said need more time to tie, so went up early. Took ard 20 mins to get everything done. Therefore after 1st march in, sit for a while, then go up again.

Shugar

*Yummy* I got a photo of the sharksfin (my PG took a pic of it). Now can onli c cannot eat!

Arghh...din get to eat prawns & fish during the banquet.

Hi Funfun,

can pass me the contact of the band? I am interested too. btw, i saw a small bakery shop at tanjong pagar plaza that sell cup cake too. I tried the cup cake is not as sweet as those that use sugar icy. The top layer is white chocolate or dark chocolate. The price of the cup cake is ard $1.50 if u order more. I think they dun hv website. If you need, i can try to get their contact number.

Thanks Tweety!

Vanilla...no wonder u went up so early...heehee i no choose those crossback etc designs coz i know bery the troublesome 1 lor n of coz FOOD is more impt to me....HAHAHA and i managed to eat fish too...hmm seems like i got to eat alot on that nite.

I wanted to eat another bowl of the sharkfins 1 but they keep rushing us to go up change liao....who noes i change so fast....shd had eat another bowl den go up :-p

divasan,
ur's for 10pax? the prawns not enuff u commented to request for more?

i doubt Jamie receives my comment sheet till now......hahaha coz i've made some minor changes to the menu...thank god i follow-up with an email to her days after den realised that she wasn't aware that i'm requesting to change n she no bother to follow-up with mi at all after my food tasting...but i noe the Chief fully understood the needs n wants from my family....

If you gals changing any items after the food tasting better play safe to email them again....i kaisu la that's y email n call after that...thats juz me...trying to avoid things b4 it happens

<font color="aa00aa">hmm, how come she nvr follow-up after the food tasting? Is it cos the comments we put during the food tasting and it's ald passed to the Chief and the Chief will take care so she dun need to bother abt it? I think if u change the items tat's more expensive, she might be able to take note of tat. =P</font>

she's supposingly to be our coordinator from the hotel lor....acting as the middle person between us n the hotel wad....whether be it that the msg is passed dwn anot dun u think shd still drops u a call or an email if busy to check on things...

<font color="aa00aa">ya, she's our coordinator from the hotel, but she's too busy always. I tot they have quite a few coordinator, how come they are not involved. I think their service will be better is their job is divided, so many ppl won't need to complain hard to find them. I also dun like ppl who dun even bother to give a call when sometimes not rite, just let u wait and wait. yesterday I waited for my air-con contractor from 9.30am till 12noon, they dun even bother to call and tell us they would be late, I kept on asking my husband to call them and ask, they kept saying on the way ald. so angry, then later then they said no enough manpower. so angry.</font>

contractors r like that 1....their timing is like a few hrs range given to u so no choice hv to wait...but i always pressure them n get the workers hp no. directly so dun hv to keep calling the service line where they cannot do or help in any ways....oni waste my energy n time on the...heehee

ya, they always like tat. mon they supposed to come but give us lorry breakdown can't come on time, cos my husband and I got something on during afternoon, so my husband changed to wed, he took leave again, just cos of this, so I'm angry with them. for me, now jobless so dun mind la, but can't tolerate they all said 9.30am but can't come on time also nvr give a call, we like stupid like tat wake up early and wait.

<font color="aa00aa">just hope everything goes out well for my wedding. now it's like still very early, nothing much to do. But I haven't go find BS yet. My husband not free, he said nov then go find. So wait and wait lor, haha.</font>

if they say coming at 9.30 den straight after 9.30 still no rch call them to F them liao dun wait....u paying money 1 u noe.....that's wad i believes in......it's not that u pay money very great...but i believes in since i'm the 1 paying den i shdn't b taking in such nonsense from these ppl

ya lor, that's I feel too, but my husband dun think so. he feels that calling them also no use, he rather wait there. maybe cos we no paying so they like tat, cos it's still under warranty, I just install for a few mths onli.

heehee....mi more demanding type
i claim my rights n not more so dun push me...HAHAHA i hate those whom mis-treats my kindness

The chicken cannot b left there too long if not the bottom part will absorb the oil n sauce etc n becomes very salty....hahaha coz during food tasting the parents are busy chatting den i took the bottom piece n i felt like eating a whole chunk of salt :-p
No doubt i still grade it very good....it's a different taste den other normal chicken that we used to have else where....

ya suika, you are right, that's what my mum mentioned about the salty chicken when the chief came over for our comments &amp; he did explained that as well...

but that we dun hv to worry too much coz on that day itself most likely nobody will noticed that coz they're either busy eating or wun touch at all....so this problem most likely will not happen

actually so long as u no let it sits on the oily den u're safe...i think it's the oil that's salty ba

Hi Suika - Happy belated bday to ya!!
kao_kiss.gif

Shugar - me chosen only 1 song for the 1st march in. for the 2nd march in, i'm looking for a song by michael buble(i think it's him) bt i don't know the song name. will have to check out the website first. then my hubby joked and said why not use the star wars song, cos he like star wars so much.

divasan - me having my food tasting next thurs. now after reading your comments, i think i will take note of those things. but my package no prawns.

Hi suika

Me 'act smart' lor, tht tie back nicer, make me look slimmer, haiz but nvm la, lucky i get 1 chance to eat hich is during food tasting lor LOL

Hmmmm I think hor if u wanna change the dishes, not mark on the comments sheet, the comment sheet given during the food tasting is for Chef to see, then after tat chef will pass it on to the co-ordinator. For changing of dishes, we have to send another email to Jamie to tell her. I emailed her straight after my food tasting tat nite and got a reply from her the next day when i rch my office.

I get the hang of the tactic liao (to get her to reply ur emails): The method is to send the email very early in the morning, or late at nite, so she will reply ur email the very next morning when she logs on her email. Am not sure abt u guys, but I notice ' got such pattern' frm her. :p

Hi ting,

u may call 90666401 for J.M. Wan. I forgot to ask their band name.. haha..

juz say PG,www.1950photography.com intro one lor..
when is ur big day? if u reli interested, u wan to take them tgt wt me? mayb hv cheaper price..

do u hv email? i send u hows the pricing they quote me to u 1st.. so u can neg better..
coz i still scare they anyhow quote me one..

mine is [email protected]

Hi gals..i had my food tasting last week...so still quite fresh memory...just to share on some dishes...

cold dish: gold coin meat was surprisingly served warm...so very nice...jelly fish was crunchy with a tinge of thai chilli...spring roll very crispy too..

crispy chix: we commented it was cut into quite big portions so requested to chop it a bit smaller...a bit salty for us but quite unique taste and very crispy!

sharks' fin with roe: no problems...can see the roe..sharks' fin and crab..not salty or gluey...

fish: we chose garoupa with hong kong style...BIG fish we got but meat was cooked just right...very fresh n tender...

prawns: we chose wok fried ones with celery...easy to eat...no need to peel...hee..quite refreshing cos' got veg after so much meat...

veg: we chose the specialty yam ring...very crispy yam ring...and veg stuffing balances the dish...

dessert: we chose mango with pomelo...my guests commented very refreshing taste!

so far i had quite an enjoyable food-tasting...not much complaints...portion wise just nice...my guests all gave good comments...hehe...hope the food served on that day is of similar standard!!

Hi vanilla...my gown oso tie back very mafan leh!!! so agar how long they gave you to change...hee...you went off after 1st dish and come back already which dish?? pls advise me...thanks!!

Hi suika...thanks for sharing your wedding photos...i am asking my FH to look at your website too to give him some mental preparation...haha...

Hi cheekybee

Glad to hear tat u had a *yummy* food-tasting!
The prawns &amp; yam ring sounds yummy! So u confirm all the dishes? No change?

Oh I went for my 2nd change during the sharks fin soup, took around 20 - 25 mins (plus walking distance). So when I came down, guests are aldy having their 3rd dish. Not reali time limit la, but u'll have to tell the banquet manager how much time u need to change. So during the period the couple went up for change, he can arrange for the third dish to be served. If you need a longer time to change, lets say more than 25 mins, then he will have to inform the kitchen to slow down the dishes. But more than 25 mins, rather rare la, i assume.

hi, can anyone help advice if we are to use our own march-in song, what song format type are we to provide in, .mp3 or .wma? 2 march-in songs in 1 CD or separate them into 1 song in 1 CD? Thanks.

Eemoo,

Starwars?? Hahahhahaha.... tats funny. :P Maybe I can help you with the Micheal Buble song if you hv not found it when I come back from HM.

Tweety n Belle,
Congrats in advance! Hope you both have lovely weddings and enjoy your special day!
Look forward to see your pics.

OKies... gng HM tmrw. Talk to you all real soon!Byee!

Hi pp75,

Mp3 would be fine too. In fact most formats all ok.
You can put them all in 1 CD and indicate on the front which track is for which march-in.

Thanks for the wishes eemoo!!
How come ur package no prawns? they change menu liao???

Vanilla,
No nid to think abt that liao lor....already over heehee

pp75,
They can play in all formats so no problem....juz burn in those commonly used format would be safe. Can burn 2 songs together juz name the tracks clearly on the disc will do...

Yes vanilla, the yam ring is really good! Its one of their specialty! =) Hehe...ya we din't change any dishes...cos lucky everybody thought they were quite nice...

Hehe...i oso worried about my tie-back leh...dunno whether the person helping me change can do it nice and quick ornot...haha...will try to keep it in that time frame...

So when you come down for 2nd march-in the guests finished 3rd dish already? How about photo-taking? Start at which dish for you?

Now I oso worried my march-in songs very slow...later take very long to walk to stage...hahaha...:P

cheekybee,
u don't have to worry so much...NCQ captain actually que us to go up change told us we've got abt 15mins so if ur's is tie-back gown too den maybe u go change after ur 1st dish lor....KS abit u can timed urself at home...try changing n see how long u nid to put on that gown n u est. from there lor

As for my photo-taking, my PG &amp; VG came to find us, tell us time to go round take photos liao..... heehee coz we both too busy sitting there eating

I no even plan the time schedule for the dinner :-)

Hi cheekybee

Was reading ur post last nite, make mi hungry lor...its always the chicken as usual...LOL

Ok wat i did 3 days b4 my AD was (taught by my BS co-ordinator). Bring one of my jie mei along (the one helping mi wif the change on my AD) when gonna collect my gowns n hubby's suits. I will try on the gown, co-ordinator teach her how to tie, then jie mei stand beside c n learn. Then jie mei will practice on the spot. Quite a quick one. 10 mins, she master the skill liao.

B4 i came down for 2nd march in, banquet manager called our suite and asked if we r ready. He told hubby tat the waiters/waitresses r clearing the 3rd dish dishes liao, so can make our way down. So no need to worie, if u r too fast, banquet manager will call ur suite and ask u take take ur time &amp; slowly make ur way down. If u still not done, he will delay the time for u.

I start the photo-taking as soon as i finished yam seng, ard 10 mins later. Think its during the Fish course. My helpers &amp; PG very automatic they jus go according to my AD schedule list (which I have given all helpers). So when its time for photo-taking, everyone jus gather the tables to tables. A very fast photo-taking session. Ended in 30 mins.

Its ok to have slow march in song, rather than a 'too short' one. At least after ur march in, the music can still be played at the backgrd, as background music, as u n hubby proceed to stage for cake cutting or champagne pouring.

Hi Shugar, thanks! dunnoe if you'll see this post, but enjoy your HM!!

suika-you're welcome.

no they din't chnge menu. sorry, i think i wasn't clear..heehe..we took the Destiny package, and the package got no prawns.

Hi gals, will like to check if we are only allowed to bring in 'duty-paid' hard liquor as stated in the contract and nowadays how's consumption of hard liquor like?

My wedding is just 1 month and 2 days away.. very very gan chiong!!!
Anybody can share with me their AD itineary?? im doing the whole planning, organising and coordinating.. Nobody assisting me except my sis.

Btw any hotel coordinator to recommend? I rem i went to a wedding show at swissotel, n this hotel coordinator was very popular! A malay guy name Zul iirc.. Many good feedbacks n comments about him.

Hi Fantasy, from MY experience, most weddings i went to dun provide hard liquor except those restaurants one la.. cos most old ppl drink hard liquor... nowadays red wine and beer is more consumed as compared to hard liquor...

Hi Tweety, Happy Wedding!!!!! Congrats!

Hi Tweety, congrats!! =) Do share share how it was when you are back...hehe...just wondering if 25 tables look squeezed @ cinnamon room??

Hi Vanilla and Suika...thanks for the very detailed and valuable advice...hehe...me oso thinking must orientate my jiemei before the actual day....hehe...can i also ask about bridal car? Do you all take the bridal car to NCQ and park it there when you check-in? Cos' the bridal car belongs to my cousin...i wonder if it is ok for him to drive it home after dropping us at the hotel and return to park it at the allocated lot when he comes during banquet time...hmm..

Hi Michelle, Thanks for the reply. I understand that the hotel does not provide but just want to estimate how much hard liquor are needed to be brought on that AD. Do they really check if the liquor brought by us is duty paid or not? anyone can advise? thanks

Hi ladies...sorry side-track a bit...anyone tying invitation cards yourself?

I overestimated the gold thread I needed...bought two packs at one go...but only used less than one pack for all my cards...so i have a BRAND NEW, UNOPENED pack of gold thread for sale...anyone interested?? =)

I got them @ $3.50...selling $3.50 too...but I will mail to you for FREE by normal post...total length is 144 yards...pls let me know if you are keen! THANKS!! =)