Novotel Clarke Quay

Hi Ann
Wah your ROM is really so happening one ah.Ma chiam like AD.
I guess on your AD you must think of a formation to block the pushy drinkers liao.
Coz cannot get drunk on that day.

Hi stef
my multiply id: gsheng

Hi, my multiply id is xuer21 ...

ann..Ahh... if my parents like urs then good liao... my house already vacant from april till now... still must continue vacant till oct ah... my goodness...

Hi Ann

Haaaaha!! Me opposite of u la..when the solemnizer pronounce me as MRS i darn shiok lor! But now, i think i regret liao, still prefer ppl to call mi Ms..LOL I oso never call my MIL 'mother', cos our practice is like: customary then counted as official, so even after ROM i still greet her as auntie. Heng lor. *phew* Now wan greet her as 'mother', kept stammering Call her like 'Ma-ma-ther'. Each word getting softer & softer, think ants oso cant hear mi. :p

Hi kitz

Mayb can ask ur frd to check wif her co-ordinator why didnt they give any updates till now? Cos so far I had no probs with them, everything was rather prompt. NCQ actually forward us a checklist for eg. Wat u shd do 3 mths b4 ur wedding - get ur cards printed, 1 month before wedding - arrange for food-tasting etc..I think got some veri positive feedback frm other brides in here too.

wahaha.. now i realise i am not the only one calling "mother " or "father" softly.. hehe got companions.. sometimes i also wonder if i got produce any sound when calling anot... my goodness.... just cannot bring myself to call louder .. dunno y le..

Belle,

thanks for the photos! YOu look so slim and pretty! Those with the red curtain backdrop are so glam, i like!

Hey jiahui!

i just realised we have the same BS and venue! *wave*

Hi stef and michelle,

i added you to my multiply

Ladies, do add me too my id: lingandyang

Hi everyone...
The food tasting was ok for me... let me explain every dish that we tried... hehehhe...
1. Appertizer : We think that the spring roll has too srong of ginger taste, so we request to make it lighter... Shanghainese pork - We don really like it, so we change it to jelly fish.

2. Shark fin - too hard.. hahaha...
and you guest what.. my hb found a small wire mesh inside (those used for cleaning the pot)

3. deep fried chicken in Thai sauce - very good.. crispy and tasty..

4. Steam rock gauropa - the fish is fresh but the soup abit salty..

5. live prawn - very fresh and good

6. Abolone mushroom - good

7. Steamed Fragrance rice in lotus leaf - excellent.. It smells so nice and yummy.. hahahaha...

8. yam paste- thumb up for that.. not too sweet.. just nice...

Ann.. wow.. must share your photos with me ya...

Belle.. can send me your photos?? thks [email protected]

Mi experience the same as you do. After ROM got to change, calling uncle to Father.... Need time to adjust.
Coz we are too used to calling our own parents so many years liao.

Hi lingandyang
Indeed we got the same BS. Next time can share share idea liao. Haha...

Ah Tweety
A small wire mesh in Shark's fin soup ?
kao_dizzy.gif
Thanks for highlighting to us.
I know it rarely happen or unavoidable. But have to be careful.

Michelle >> i have been addressing my MIL as mother for 2 yrs liao..we rom for 2 yrs. at first not used to it but later it feels natural. anyway she has been a very nice MIL after all.

Tweety >> wah wire mesh in soup?! its a no-no! how did the banquet maanger react after u found it? did they apologies?

cupcakes>> anyone know of any nice and cheap cupcakes for wedding? i saw http://www.cupcakedivinity.blogspot.com/ but not sure if its good??

Jiahui... agree on that... didn expect that will happen to us... really suai... but overall quite ok... I think my hb too lucky lah... he likes to chew things before swallow it since young because of his experience in swallowing fish bone...

Divasan... the manager said sorry for that.. and this is an accident lor.. then request to change another one for us.. but we didn take lah.. coz others alr finish the soup liao.. and we got another bowl extra...

Heehee... Hi all!
On the topic of calling PILs... haha... the day after wedding I called my MIL auntie! Hahahha... Then HB turn to me with a mock frown. And guess what? When he next saw my mom, he also auto called aunty, say out already then he malu! My turn to shoot him a mock frown too! Hahah...
Yes, I guess its weird calling someone else's parents 'mother' or 'father'. Me also not used to it. One day I call MIL 'Ma' then the next time I call her 'Ma-ther". :P

Hi Vanilla,

Yah, all the guests commented about how cute our bridal car was. Hahaha... after the church wedding, they went to take pics with the car ok! With the car...not us!! wah lau! hahaha....
Many commented it looks like a toy too. :P

Haaaha, I remember my AD, abt the head to in-laws plc, i told my dad: "Pa, I go off liao. C u later." Then my hubby oso said: "UNCLE, c u later. Bye." Then my whole family, jie meis & brothers goes: "Orhhhhhh!!!! Still call UNCLE?! Pay fine (Ang bao)!!" Then hubby paiseh and quickly change to calling "Pa". LOL

Btw gals, I've uploaded my express video highlights onto my web album. Gimme ur email addresses if you wanna c k?

Hi Tweety

Wau make mi hungry liaoz. Opps! Wire mesh? Aiyah ask them cook another big bowl then tau pau! :p Lucky its jus food tasting not the actual AD, if not very paiseh oso.

Hi Shugar

Hehehe..I oso wan a cute cute car..Haaaha got a thing for minis.

Vanilla.. i wanna c... [email protected] thks...

ya lor.. i remind the chef and Jamie abt that... I don wan that to happen on that day lor...

Jamie said, food tasting was cooked at the restaurant, but AD will be cook at the hotel kitchen... so she said she will take note on that...

Hi Jiahui.
I told my friends that I will handpicked a drinking army and train them up to make up the defence force. Haha!!

Hi Michelle.
That's bad loh. Like waste of $$ to put it there like that. Then still must clean up even though not staying there. Very sian one.

Hi Vanilla.
You so funny... but frankly if not use then better dun call.. wait till after AD then call loh. But my MIL already introduce me as her daughter-in-law.. so I was quite confuse as to what I should call her. Hehe!

I wanna see your video.. email add is [email protected].

Hi Tweety

Sent!

Perhaps can remind the banquet manager on ur AD too. Cos he's the overall in-charge. Think after the dinner, the chef will come out to have a chat wif u too. Then can give him ur feedbacks then.

Hi Ann

Haaaha me now after AD still not used la, trying to avoid up her hse, so no nid to call her 'Ma--ther' Kinda call liao, got goosebumps. So bad of mi..

Ok, check ur email! Sent liao!

Haha.. guess each of us got our own funny and paisei times when we actually got promoted from just a gf to wife...pengz.. i have ROM for abt 11 mths liao.. but still i find calling mother weird weird..

Ann.. ya lor.. i also find it a waste le.. every weekend got to go clean.. furniture collecting dust..
but i also very lazy haha.. sometimes long long one time then clean the furnitures ...

Hi Vanilla, i also wan to see.. [email protected] Thanks!

ladies, wanna check wif u all, those who've had their banquets already... who was the banquet manager in charge of your event? Cos I happen to have feedback on one of the banquet staff there and would like to request for him to be in charge on my AD...

Hi Vanilla, can send me too? [email protected]

for me right after my ROM, i think my hb call my parents papa n mama (while im not ard)then when i came back, my MIL ask me "Nv call us ah?" then i go "orh, mother"

haha i at first very paiseh oso but now 5 months after ROM le, i call until very zhi ran liao....the other relatives i oso address according to ranks liao

Wah queen.. the min u mention other relatives.. i guess i really very jialat... dunno y i call my hubby's grandma very natural.. just that his parents i somehow cannot bring myself to call.. then hor.. his relatives.. OMG! even worse... i always forgot how to call them.. so most of the time i act blur.. just smile and smoke through..

hahah actually i before ROM already call his relatives by rank....else very funny....all auntie n unkers...

same loh..i call them like gugu, ah chek, ah ma all very natural but mother n father very hard to call out.....but after a while will used to it le.

Hi ladies...
I also hving the same problem when after ROM...at nite dinnerr i still call auntie uncle.....straight away kana shoot by the whole table of ppl....*faint*
but now used to it liao la still...will try avoid chances of calling them if possible lor...although used to it liao but still feels funnie lor

Have added some into multiply

Hey gals

Sent!

Aiyoh call my ranks very difficult, so many of them so many dialects, very hard to remember. Might as well call everyone standard 'Aunties & uncles'. Moreover hubby teochew. Have to greet in teochew *fainted*
I kinda get pissed sometimes at hubby, when he say something or greet someone in his family in teochew, then he duno how to 'auto' translate to mi. Then mi being the 'teochew-less' & clueless, have to thick skin and ask him translate in front of everybody for mi. Hmmphhh

Even though married for 5 mths, i can still 'accidentally' call my MIL , auntie instead of Ma. Heng that my PIL hardly talk to me, all i need to remember is- call him 'Pa', when see him at home, then not need to communicate liao.

My Dear call my mummy as - Auntie-Ma(1)Ma(1), still learning to cut off the Auntie. kekeke

Btw I don't address my PILs as "FATHER" or "MOTHER" felt so distant, so we call them Pa/Ma or Ma Ma, same as the way how my dear call his parents. Good thing can identify btwn my side and his side.

As for the ranking, I am better than my dear, he don't even know the 'tang' and 'biao' different, he only know gor and jie hahahahh

Just that I use Teochew to addresss instead of Hokkien the upper generation. hahahah

But my dear's family really big... got 3rd Granduncle's son's and grandsons etc. Funny part was even my Auntie-in-law (who was the one who carry the pot of tea during the AD), also cannot identify, I have to 'mentally draw linkage' on the spot myself and address them to drink the tea).

Divasan,

Your cup cake is meant for the GDL or the AD wedding cake?

i guess im very close to his relative so very familiar le...but on the other hand, he is clueless with my relatives...cos me oso not dat close with them hahah

oh BTW, anyone going down NCQ recently? Can help me ask if the 2009 bookings are out? i emailed jamie but no reply.

i very KS i wan to faster book.

wow.. so many post arh...

Vanilla.. tks.. will view it when I'm at home tonight... cant view video at office.. sad..

Ann... I'm alr used to it liao.. hahahaha... ROM for more than 1 yr liao mah.. somemore stay together.. meet everyday.. how not to used to it.. hehehehehe....

Bruce_almightys_bride>> the cupcakes are not meant for GDL. we are thinking of serving them to our guests after our gate crashing. so mum no need to crack her head on what to buy for breakfast

thanks belle for your photos link!! love your black gown.. it just suits u so well.. i don't think i can wear that kind of gown.. hehehe..

saw the thread that all of u are talking about addressing your PIL.. i haven't start calling my PIL "father or mother", though we had ROM since Mar this yr.. not used to it.. think after the AD, then changed to calling them "father and mother".. somemore next time going to stay with my PIL, so really must call them regularly.. must start practising.. hehehe.

Hi Vanilla
Thanks for sharing the video clip.
The tekaning is very funny leh.
Does your hubby know lion dance ?
He seems to be familiar the steps and cai qin.

Hi Jiahui

Glad u enjoyed it.

No la, my hubby duno lion dance la. Got lion dance 'pattern' can already lor. Hahahaha. My jie meis came up wif the idea, and make bros take pots, pans, woks covers to replace the drums etc..la. Apparently the cai qing, cant find tung-oh, replace wif salad lettuce instead. LOL

hi.. ya lor.. diff dialects very hard to rememeber.. whenever hubby cal lthen i will call.. otherwise.. i jsut smile or call softly to the extend they cannot hear but they saw my mouth moving.. haha.. really diff to memorize lor... y cannot just simply call aunty uncle.. easier..

Hello gals!

Vanilla, me want see oso..

Me don't have to call my PIL ma & pa, cos only ROM. but after AD, i think must call oso. I kept telling my close frds that I really can't make myself to call them. partly becoz i dun really like them cos they always do "xiao dong zhuo" and they very blunt.

Hi Vanilla.
How come will have goosebumps?? Must go up more often and call more often then will use to it liao. Then dun call mother loh.. call mum.. short and sweet. Haha!!

Thanks... I will go home and see it later.

Hi Michelle.
That's why my hubby want to renovate the house faster and move in faster. He dun wan the house to be wasted cos we are paying for all the bills regardless of whether we are in there or not. Haha!!

For those who are used to it, then good for you all loh. For me, I am still "fresh".. so slowly and take my time. Haha!!

Hi Ann

Got goosebumps cos its very hard for mi to call another woman 'mother' after so many yrs (my mum passed away 8 yrs ago). So always had this thinking, I only had one mum in my life onli lor.

Maybe can greet her in cantonese 'Lai Lai' (mother-in-law). Doubt she understand the word 'Lai lai'. :p

<font color="aa00aa">wow, this thread really fast. I had multiply too. Add me too, mine id is irisme.

talking abt calling MIL mother, I did not call her yet, my hubby too. I got ask my mum la, but we not used to calling so now still auntie and uncle yet. guess need some time to get use to the calling. </font>

Hi Vanilla.
I saw the video. So funny... especially the wasabi pizza like food.. all the bros look like they wanna cry liao. Haha!!

By the way, you look familiar lei. Have we met somewhere? Maybe at Novotel wedding show or at the marriage prep course? I can't pinpoint where I have seen you.

Hi Ann

Ya their feedback was the wasabi + chilli powder darn powerful lor..Hahahaa

Familiar meh? Maybe I got the kind of 'common face' hehe. Hmmm, I din went to this yr Novotel's wedding show lei, &amp; I think the wedding prep course you went to was by 'Fei Yue' ya? Mine was by Touch community.

Hi xiaozhu

Sent!

Then that's funny... You really look familiar.. Just can't pinpoint where I had seen you before... not common face lah... but me just can't remember where.

My memory very bad one.

haha.. ann and vanilla.. howcome both of u like those show inside the boy and girl trying to know each other...

Yah lor.. sian.. every mth paying the bills and yet cannot move in.. especially the mthly conservancy charges.. also include the disposal of rubbish one.. i so fed up.. no rubbish to throw.. and yet got to pay!!! haiz...

Michelle....hahahaha we have the same thoughts too. Kns lor every mth charge dunno how much (few dollars) for the rubbish throwing. Not as if i can leave my garbage outside my door then they come &amp; collect. If tat's the case, then i 'gam wan' to pay. But I still have to bring it out and dump down the chute, then still pay few dollars for the rubbish fee.