Novotel Clarke Quay

hihi everyone

im curious abt this : http://www.singaporebrides.com/temp/novotel.htm

wad is this?? cuz actually i wanna book appt with NCQ to view the place..holding my wedding ard nov or dec next yr..If i sign up this, wad is this abt?? cuz i do not have UOB card..need to pay 30 bucks rite?? thanks

Hi kc.
My solemnisation is at changi village hotel. On the 8th floor by the pool. Over looking the sea. Ah.. looking forward to seeing that view again. Are u having your solemnisation too?

Hi Joyce.
That's the wedding show. If you sign up for the banquet during the wedding show, you will get the extra perks stated. Maybe you can check with the coordinator to see if you can have the same perks as the wedding show if you sign up before the show. If you are not UOB cardholder, then have to the entrance fee for the wedding show.

aaaa..... today so quiet. I thought it would once again be flooded with messages by the time I come in to read the thread. Hehe!! Everyone must be very very busy.

Today, I saw a very bad comment on the BS which I have signed up with. A gal apparently saw her MTM gown on another gal even before her wedding is over. The BS first told her that that was another gown and the gown is only the same in front but the back is different. Then now the BS told her that that gal saw her gown as they had displayed her gown in the shop and wanted them to make one of the same design. Then told her that the gal is a malaysian so not to worry as she will not see the same design in S'pore. Find that their explanation quite crappy and contradiciting. Quite worried now.

Hi Stef, I print liao but yet to collect. i only want 320 but they give me 50 extra. Think a week later.

Hey Tweety, i not sure the price as i dont intend to print. Wanna use different design of ang bao represent different amount. Scare all same wait bao wrongly.

Hey ladies, think for open door ang bao $50 each is enuff ba. I will additional bao $20 more for jie mei ba as they will take cab so wanna cover the transport.

Wait till my insert ready then share with you all. Took sample from bruce almighty bride so i also edit hubby and my own image on to the insert.

Wau this thread moving beri fast wor..today me on leave, so din chk this thread.

I was thinking of giving $388 for gate-crashing ang bao, and $50 for the main jie mei co-ordinator and the rest ard $28. Xiong dis am not sure lei maybe $28 each ba. But hor, mine is a wkday, so they purposely took leave to help us, also paiseh if i give too little.

Hi joy,

I din choose the stuffed chicken cos i was thinking by then everybody should be too full (since its the last few dishes) to eat the stuffing plus the chicken, so jus stick to what's in the original menu. But hor, if changed dish, duno can food-tasting again mah? :p me loves eating la...

Ann, which BS did u get? u dun get too worried, u jus double check with ur BS and asked if there r such cases. I also came across such negative comments on my BS & NCQ too (but din state where i heard them from), so I verify with the co-odinators, and told them i heard of such negative comments b4, and they can take note and b extra careful (*drop hints*). Cos word of mouth reali can lead to bad/good advertising. But was very careful by not to telling them who made those remarks, dun wan get them into trouble.

Hi Ann

Thanks. I managed to get the perks during the contract. But I actually ask hui ling why NCQ cant give additional perks if i m getting around 40 or more tables. Sometime do find NCQ abit not flexible or maybe is Hui ling not confident enough. But the price of banquet is relative affortable compare to the rest of the hotel. Do you get extra perks from NCQ?

Yoz Vanilla,
I thot the gate-crashing ang bao are negotiated during the gate-crashing session?
From my previous jie mei experience, I got $80/pax and $160/pax. And seperate $10 ang bao each from both side of parents. But I bao back the money during the dinner.

Hi Ting

Not sure abt the negotiating part, I think up to individuals. For my case, one of my jie mei seek my advice, and asked wat amount to ask which i think my hubby will be comfortable wif. So they jus play ard with the figures. Ultimately their intention was to tekan the men! LOL! And wat are the barriers that they cant cross, or will offend my hubby or xiong dis.

Err..i think the perks can give or not, all depends on the co-ordinator on whether they are willing or not. And depends on wat perks u r requesting.

Hi Ann, i already had my solemnisation last month..
at secret garden.. hmm.. seaview sounds nice.. hehe.. which BS did u sign with? I will start searching for BS towards the end of the year.. now got to do house first..

hmmm.... Ting... i guess generally , NCQ is quite consistent with their perks. when i signed up with them.. it was the same thing Jamie said... can't deviate too much, else brides like us compare tips and end up feeling that they are biased towards some n gif better stuff? keke..

but well.. those of u who sign up during road show gets the best perks lor.. the rest of us dun get free table mah.. hehe..
mine.. i did chg away beer (coz we dun wanna hv beer during the dinner...so jus serving wine) and they did increase additional stuff for us.. but dats about it. nothg extra. =)

hey vanilla.... me cant get on the forum at work(block mah) so.. dats why u din see many msgs here this morning. keke.. if im around..surely flooded !! haha =P

erms .. belle, looking fwd to see your inserts leh. i've not seen bruce almighty's special edition of the image of the bride n groom themselves.. so hv to see yrs. keke =)
but im sure speed technology did a gd job la. u hv been saying nice thgs abt them. keke =)

Hi Vanilla.
I also told my husband the same thing. Must really really hold very tightly to everything that this BS is doing for us. Actually they got quite alot of negative feedback compared to positive ones. But what to do, $ also paid in full liao before I read the thread of the BS. Just have to be more careful loh. My hubby was suggesting that I get Divine Couture to do my WG. But don't reveal the gown till wedding day. Then I say that defeat the purpose cos I wanted the gown for PS too. Hai...

Hi Ting.
I didn't get the extra perks. Didn't know they have a bridal show coming up cause when i ask Huiling before i signed up, she said that there's no bridal show coming up at the moment and one month later, the news on bridal show came out. But just like what the other brides-to-be had comforted me, most imptly is I have gotten the date i wanted. Hehe!!!
I think Huiling also need to check with Jamie and Jamie is normally tougher to negotiate things with.

Hi kc.
Oh.. you had your solemnisation last month? Cool... Secret garden? Where's that? Is it expensive? Seaview sounds nice but the dollar sign also very nice. Me and my hubby agreed that bulk of the $$ paid is for the ambience only. If that day rain, then it really defeat the purpose liao. So praying hard that it will be a good weather. Me signed up with M- & Mis- Wedd-ng Cl-b... cannot write their completed name out. Hehe!! Would advise you not to use this BS.

hi Ann.. Secret Garden is a restaurant at Middle Rd.. paid close to 2k for abt 30pax.. but we got some useful vouchers as gifts from frens which we can use to buy things for our new house..

i heard from a fren some negative comments abt that BS too.. so he didn't sign with that BS in the end.. Hope everything will turn out perfect for u..

Wau Ann

You paid in full already ah? Tats very fast! Nvm la, since u aldy paid in full, jus have to be very firm with them. Dun let them climb over ur head, if certain things u r unhapi with, tell them straight into their face.

Hihi everyone

Actually i wanna book NCQ ard nexy yr nov to dec..bt hor i scare by then my hse nt ready yet leh..cuz recently i went to pay for the 5% housing loan and they told me my flat probably 2nrd quarter 09 then ready..Duno will my flat be ready earlier ornot..Do u all think i shd proceed to book the dinner for nov-dec 08 or wait...very vexed leh..hw hw hw..my bf says tt maybe mid 08 flat will be ready cuz my building already constructed finished..left flooring and painting..Bt hor our next blk nw onli building storey 11 still gt 5 more storeys to go..hw ??

Hi kc.
2k for abt 30 pax also quite ex hoh? Maybe they provide you with better food? Or the restaurant very class one? Never been there before. My hubby told all his friends to give cash... dun give vouchers... haha!! For me, when my friends asked, I also say me only interested in dollar sign. Haha!!!

I also hope everything will go well with the BS.

Hi Vanilla.
Yah loh... Paid in full liao.. abit regret.. but no choice loh. Like what you said, cannot let them climb over my head.

Hi Joyce.
If you are really unsure, then better don't book first.

Unless if you dun mind staying with your in-laws for awhile after your AD, then will suggest you to do your booking now as Nov and Dec are always so packed with weddings. Not sure why.

hey Ann.. dun worry.. evthg will go well wif your BS. i had also heard quite afew gd comments abt them.... i think the photos are all v.nicely taken wanx... =)
*btw, jus curious.. you paid the BS in full oredi? but yr wedding is only end next yr rite... how come u didn't jus pay a deposit or stmhg.. they request u to pay evthg ?*

Joyce,
You definitely need to have the hse ready before you hold your wedding ? if so.. den abit difficult to predict... so .. ya.. if u not sure.. better not to book first... however, if u wait till you're sure of the new house key collection..maybe a bit late le. hmm..

btw, where is yr place? u jus paid the 5% recently but yr hse is oredi built up ? heh.. mine is at punggol.. my blk also build up le... and erms.. i guess also left interiors and painting to be done. keke... we also expect it to be ready by end 08 actually .. altho' HDB's estimated time is 2nd Quart. of 09.... haha
*i suspect.. we're talking abt the same place~ hehe.. so, yrs is WIS or smthg ? coz mine.. we paid the 5% for the hse early last year..hehs.. *

Hi Stef.
The photo better be nicely taken... I paid extra $1.5k for that PG, Prof Tan, to take our photographs. Becos my hubby like his work. That's why willing to pay the additonal for him. I paid in full because hubby say have 0% installment scheme so rather pay in full loh... then I didn't thought it would be that bad since they say media corp also work with them one. But then now all the shit.. hai...

hihi stef

YEah maybe we r future neighbours..haha..mine is also at punggol leh..haha punggol central..HDB predict 2nd quarter 09, my bf predict end 08 also..mine is thru bi monthly ballotin sys..

Then have u hold ur wedding?? Ya lo if i dun book nw then will be too late..bt ltr i book nw, hse nt ready yet..haha..sigh

Hi joyce,

ya i agree with Ann, unless u dun mind stay with in-laws then can customary first, then move in with them while waiting for the hse to complete. Like tat not tat stress oso. Unless u can wait for the flat to complete then customary. Cos quite hard to predict when the construction will be ready.

Ann
Dun worie am sure all things will w0rk out fine. U very lucky de, u even managed to get ur AD date wif NCQ! Smile k?

Yay!! I just came back from my BS, collect all my albums and 3-in-1 photo frame! Veri heavy ah!! Gonna make my final payment next week. Pocket gonna burn hole again lor..

Joyce....
i think same place.. mine is also punngol central but thru the usual balloting and all..heh.. i am quite sure we are same place lors. since urs is bi-monthly selection..did u get a gd unit? =)

i have not held the wedding.. it is next Jul. erms, we intend to stay at my place or his first.. coz the hse would not be ready den... erms, even if it is.. we may do reno after wedding.. else, evthg together also v.shiong n tiring. hehe =P
*btw, i am quite sure it will be ready by '08 lehs.. i talk to some forumers who are staying at our area ( if its the same one.. mine is phase 1 .. der is a phase 2 which is out now)
so .. ya.. not to worry! =)

keke.. vanilla!! so excited for u too..
abt a mth to go ya.........

well...... v.broke but once all yr ang baos start coming in.. den u wont hv such a big hole in pkt le. keke =P

Ann,
no worries... vanilla is rite.. u're the lucky gal... hehe..even managed to book your hot date wif ncq and be part of us.. hee.. =)
dun get too worried unnecessarily lors..evthg will be fine.. jus concentrate on being happy happy bride. keke =)

Hihi stef
yeah yeah future neighbours..haha..mine under phase 1...Actually we intend to choose other units, cuz keys available earlier bt last min taken by other ppl..my number is 334, i guess number 332 took it away..

So when our turn approaching, we anyhow choose a unit..bt lucky my bf did some homework, so we chose phrase 1 flat..storey 15..

abt the forum, i tink u noe which forum u referring to..One of the forumers is my stupid bf..He likes to post there whereas i like to post here

In this case, i tink i hold my dinner beginning 09..ard jan - mar..Then this yr able to book 09 dinner?? but im scare tt ltr 09 price is even more expensive than 08 price..

stef,
i noe which one is u already in the forum..haha
kevinlevrone is my bf lor..We went there twice to see the progression..we sat at the busstop there looking at our flat sadly..haa..

hi stef

Now onli wory the ang baos can cover my cost of my tables. Need to settle bills and hope to break even. See how lor, one step at a time.

Welcome to punggol too. But i get my flat fr the november06 walk-in-selection. Punggol central are you referring those flat just right in front of the MRT station beside treetop? I heard there will be a big NTUC and 24 hr coffee shop.

Hi Ann,

Actually, when i met up with hui ling. i am not aware of the wedding show too. Then, I just ask Hui ling what was the perks for last year wedding show. Then ask her can i have the perk too. Then it so happened that before i sign up the contract. The detail of the wedding show is out. So she give me the perks.

Hi Ann, the food is not bad.. but service is av erage.. its a small restaurant.. and i think they usually don't serve lunch.. so we get to have the whole place for ourselves.. We actually asked our friends not to give angpaos, cos some ppl (esp elderly) say cannot collect such angpaos twice..

Hi Joyce, if the wedding date is of certain importance to u, then i think u shld have the wedding leh.. then the most u stay with ur in-laws for a few months first lor.. just a few months should be ok bah..

i think after the NCQ show, the list of NCQ brides will be much longer.. hehe..

any brides who have already had their weddings at NCQ? any pics to show? ;)

hihi ting

which part of punggol u stay?? tt time wanna apply sundial but full..hehe..

Hi KC

i also hope i can hold my wedding next yr end cuz im getting rom beginning next yr..i dun wan ROM and wedding too far apart...BT im a lazy daughter in law..haha..ltr i dun do hsework, in laws unhappy..Just nw my bf still ask me next time do he need to employ a maid for me..haa..

hey joyce..
so "qiao"!! haha.. so dat fella is yr bf... yeps.. he recently joined us in the forum ... i realised. keke..
so we really are neighbours lor! =)

well.. honestly, i think the flats will be ready by 08 la. jus not sure which part.. i dun tink they'll need so long until 2009 rite? hee.. but if yr AD jan'09 shld be a safe bet... but, ya.. i think prices maybe more ex lor. why dun u ask huiling if u can book for Jan 09 now ? =) and at wat price?
hmmm... oh ya.. u managed to get 15 floor altho' you are the bi-monthly ballot thing..oredi quite gd hor. hehe.. btw, jus out of curiousity.. are u all paying more for the flat compared to us ? (as in..since we booked the flat a year plus ago...during the bTO proj..)

hey Ting.. yeps... in front of the NEL station and next to where treetops will be. keke... my blk is next to the carpark where the coffeeshop will be.. im not sure if will have NTUC there tho'.. i hope there will be!!! =)
and Ting.. u v.lucky that you ask before signing contract.. else, they may not gif u the perks.. den lugi for nothg. hehe =)

Vanilla..
dun worry too much abt ang baos.. surely can cover la.. hee.. moreover, our packages at ncq are quite reasonable.. wont lugi la! keke =)

btw.. are u giving some tables/ang baos to your mum or smthg... if so, den have to take into acct bah.... coz mine..we're giving her some tables along wif ang baos for those table.. so if lugi ..hope its jus lugi those few tables lor.hee

stef..
yeah yeah..reali so qiao..erm my flat 229200 lor..actually we anihow choose one cuz last min the unit at sundial being taken away..so we just pick phrase 1, the highest storey..hee..Me and my stupid boy intend to sit at the bus stop one time per mth to see the progession..haa

Urs which storey?? I scare ltr hse end 08 ready then hor my budget so tight..money money money..Actually my bf cousin told us our dinner wont lugi one..infact will earn cuz tt time he hold at furama riverfront..think he earn quite alot..bt i also need to gif tables to my parents..any bao money from these tables they keep..hope the money from the rest of the tables able to cover back..

Hi Stef & Vanilla.
Thanks for comforting me again.
kao_kiss.gif

Yup... you are right. I'm quite lucky to get the date which I wanted from NCQ. But I think the luckiest thing I encounter so far is to know all of you gals here cause you all so friendly and helpful.

Vanilla - So you have collected your pics. Can share? Interested to see your photos. Hehe!!! One more month for you to go... excited?

Don't worry lah... your dinner ang bao should be able to cover abit of your pocket hole or even more. Haha!! Tea ceremony, I think you can also earn quite abit liao. For example, my mum gave my cousin $600 for tea ceremony and $400 for wedding dinner. Quite a handsome sum loh.

Hi Ting.
Good that you have gotten the perks. Lucky you.

Hi kc.
Really cannot take angbao twice ah.. then i ask my friends to give me the cash can liao.. no need to put into ang bao... haha... trying to work around the idea.

Hi all, i'm 90% i'll be booking NCQ for my wedding next year 30 Nov. I'll be going for the wedding fair on 1 sept.

Quite a surprise that joyce and stef will be staying at the same area as me. Mine is Phase 2, next to the proposed school area.

For the perks, i wonder what else i need to bargain. i'm thinking of exchange my wedding favours to one more night bridal suite stay

Hi Suzukai.

I am also having the same idea as you. To exchange all my wedding favors for one more night bridal suite stay. But wondering whether can do that or not. And to delay the usage of the additional night to a later date. Hehe!!

wow so many ppl staying in punggol too? me also punggol going to stay @ blk 6XX after our AD. Got it from the nov 05 WIS..took our time to reno the place and even thou its ready now..too lazy to move in. :P

talking abt wedding favours.. i think its quite a waste of money to get wedding favours for guests.. how many of us actually will use the wedding favours from the wedding we have attended? do u use the chopsticks? the fans? or bears? i only find keychains not too bad.. the rest.. hmm.. i really nvr use leh..

after reading thru this thread, im rather interested in holding my banquet in NCQ.. does anyone have the 2008 package to send me?

thanks!! i called them up to send me the package details but havent receive till now n im too excited to wait

Hi kc.
Agreed with you. Normally I don't even use the wedding favor I have. I seldom bring them home. Either I give them to the younger kids or jus left them on the table. That's why I decided to use cupcakes as wedding favor so that at least my guests can fill their stomach abit while waiting for dinner to start.

Hi Ann

Ya lor, not excited, more on panic ba..cos table planning is the hardest part. I have ordered my wine & collected my albums last week. I got 2 albums, one bintan shoot and 1 local shoot. Which one you wanna c? :p

Hi Stef, ya handling my dad (i'm single parent) is the hardest part. Coz he's rather traditional man (his thinking esp), so he's rather unhapi with my arrangement. Anyway, dowry sure have to give, and now he said he dun wan the tables ang baos. But still I will give him a token sum after I've settled the bill. Afterall my dad mah...

I check with NCQ, they say can only change to helpers' room.
I'll either change to helpers' room or replace by cupcakes

Who's going to NCQ wedding fair on 1 sep

talking abt wedding favors, anyone have any idea what wedding favor can we choose from NCQ?

By the way, do you all planing to do something abt the stage as i find really too plan. I hate the floor on the stage, it looks so ugly and old, how i wish they will put a carpet on it.

Hi Belle,

I remember they have chocolate & keychains as favors. I think I will likely to choose chocolate, fuss-free.

I think the stage still look ok. It's the main aisle tat u n ur groom will be walking on, tat is more impt ba. They may have a reason for not having carpet on the stage ba, perhaps to avoid tripping incidents perhaps.

Hi Vanilla.
I wanna see both. Can email me at [email protected]?

I agreed table planning is the hardest. All my friends had such difficulties. Especially when pple dun rsvp, you dunno to put them in or not.

kpo abit... what arrangement isn't your dad happy abt?

Hi Suzukai.
You mean they can change your wedding favor to cupcakes for you? The last time I asked them, they say they don't provide such service. I had to engage people from outside to make the cupcakes.

This is the list of pple who is going for the wedding show but no updates so far from the last list. Seems like only a handful.

1. Ann
2. Tweety
3. kc
4. divasan
5. Michelle
6. Raycia
7. Joy

hihi kc

nono..nt rite nw leh..maybe he just say say onli..Cuz of he dun do hsework, i dun do, our hse like rubbish dump..haha..Summore next time if gt kid..worse..Maybe will employ those part time one..cheaper lo..

hi divasan (diva79)
wah gt flat liao still dun wan move in..haha..if for me i move in straight after reno completed..haha bt cannot overnite everyday cuz haven customary yet

Hi Ann

Sent! Dun laugh ah..there are some real funi shots in there!

He ah...he's not reali happy tat I want all the ang baos back for the tables. Cos tried to explained to him tat we need to cover the cost for the banquet, if got profit then we'll give him the remainder amount. Though he has agreed, but not very happy abt it lor...

i've received a call from NCQ abt the confirmation of the wedding show already! will be receiving the invitation card within a few days.. hehe..

hi joyce, its very good that he has plans for the future.. hehe..

Vanilla, i wan to see too.. can? i'm also thinking of going bintan for PS, but worried abt the price.. how much did u pay for it?