Novotel Clarke Quay

Hi Joyce

I love NCQ personally, with high ceilings, pillar-less and it's rather private. We have the whole of level 6 to ourselves & enough space for the guests to mingle around. Their bridal suite is superb with jacuzzi!! I like!!!

Food I'm not sure yet, will update u guys tonite
when I'm done wif food-tasting.

Hi Ann

You going down for the wedding show? Oh, 'A little dream' is one of their partners!
I love their band! Hired their service for my wedding.

hi vanilla...looking forward to your food-tasting update...my AD is december...i wonder what is a good time to go for food-tasting..hehe..is food tasting only limited to weekdays? =)

Hi Caitou

I chose the 'Desire wedding package'. Food tasting is great! Should try the Roast Crispy Chicken with Deep Fried Garlic'. Compared to the normal 'Salt & Pepper Chicken', this is something new and definitely worth a try! They will actually give u a feedback form and u have to rate each dish. So at the end of the 8 course dinner, the chef (Chris) will approach the couple and seek ur feedback/preference. His customer service is perfect! He will explain in details of each dish with great patience.

Ya am surprised that NCQ doesn't has abalone in their menu, maybe too costly for them ba... LOL

Hi Cheekybee,

Ya their food-tasting is on weekdays - either lunch or dinner. Usually food tasting would be 1 month before your AD. I chose to have it at a later part, so that I could remember the taste, cos I know I wun get to eat much on the AD itself.

hee
vanilla.. so fast, u're done wif food tasting le! so.. u changing anythg on the menu ? hehe...
yeh.. seems evone has gd comments abt Chris eh ? hehe.. dats gd to hear... i get v.excited evtime i hear such positive feedback abt ncq.. haha.. looking fwd to my turn!! haha =P *so long to go still*

hmmm... so gals.. who is gg for the showcase eh? seems they hv quite a no. of participating partners.. even if not gg down for the sake of ncq ..can still go chk out the partipating partners lor =)
one e*e click is not bad i heard..

Hi peepz, I think I forgot to indicate the ballroom for my AD. Updates:

Vanilla 20-Sept-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Shugar 29-Sept-2007, Sat, Cinnamon
Rine 26-Oct-2007,Fri, Phoenix
Tweety 27-Oct-2007,Sat Cinnamon (about 25)
Belle 03-Nov-2007,Sat Phoenix
Caitou 23-Nov-2007, Fri, Phoenix
Rene2803 24-Nov-2007, Sat, Phoenix
Eemoo 25-Nov-2007, Sun, Phoenix
DiorSnow 29-Nov-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Doric 2-Dec-2007, Sun, Phoenix
Divasan 13-Dec-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Crybaby 21-Dec-2007, Fri, Cinnamon
Michelle 30-Dec-2007, Sun, Cinnamon

~bliss~ 03-Jan-2008,Thu, Phoenix
Raycia 26-Jan-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bubble-bell 24-Feb-2008, Sun, Phoenix
yesfeb 29-Feb-2008, Fri, Phoenix
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Kelluvjer 30-May-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008,Sat Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat Phoenix (about 35)
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008,Sat, Phoenix (30
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Flora 13-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina 20-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Jiahui 5-Oct-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Alyssac 8-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Ivy_sammc 22-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Ann 27-Dec-2008, Sat, Phoenix

Hi stef

Yup! Very fast rite?? Hahaha, cos the food is too yummy aldy, so everything was wiped out within 1hr and 30 mins. We brought our samples of red wine (from a supplier) and had it together with the dishes...it was heaven...(can't stop thinking abt the food now
) Bet when it's ur to have ur food-tasting, then my turn to drool liao lor.. Hehe.

Oh ya stef... I have changes cold dishes for the Appetiser. The rest shall remain, cos nothing much to 'hiam' liaoz. Overall all...thumbs up!

Vanilla... wow.. u done yr food tasting ya...
How much that desire wedding package??? i forget liao.. hehehe....
How much u got yr wine from supplier... is it cheaper after the corkage???

Who's gg for that wedding show?? Let me ask my hb if he wanna go.. hehehe...

Hi Michelle.
You going? Registered liao? Me registered liao. Hehe!!! Huiling send me the registration form.

Hi Vanilla.
Yup, might as well go since it's free for UOB cardholders. Can go taste the food as well. U gotten the band? How much does it cost? Ex? Maybe wedding show got more discount.

Hi Caitou.
I think if you want abalone and willing to top up, I am sure they will be willing to do it for you. Like my mum wanted rice dumpling for dessert, though not in menu, but they say can do it for us.

Hi Tweety & Stef.
Me going. How about you both? Agreed with Stef that even not gging down for the sake of NCQ, can go down for the sake of the participating partners. Looking at customising my shoes from Leapin Lizard if they have great discount. And also the lucky draw too... who know what you might win. Haha!!!

Hi Tweety/Ann

Ya lor, only left 1 mth plus to AD, so better hurry arrange food tasting then can move on to concentrate on other stuff. After I've got home, emailed Jamie right away to confirm the menu and make some changes to the 1st dish. I think I took the $668 package last yr.

I got wine from a supplier (recommended by one of the forumer). Got 2 bottles of samples - Shiraz & Cabernet Sauvignon. Mine is waiver of corkage. My in-laws have lotsa praises for the wine & NCQ's food. I hired the band (one guitarist & one singer) at $800+ (forgot the actual $$) for a full set of songs (24 songs).

Got food tasting at NCQ meh? I missed it last yr, cos the queue for the free food veri long lor! In the end, me & hubby gave up.

Maybe we can organize 'NCQ wedding show outing' together hor... then everyone of us can go food tasting and rackey togther.

Hi Vanilla
Glad to hear the good feedback from you.
Really feel like going to their restaurant on our own to try the food. Heehee...

Ladies.
I intend to take 'Desire wedding package'. If I want to change one of the dish to abalone, about how much do I need to top up?

Hi Jiahui,

Should try!!! Maybe like wat Ann suggested, can go for the wedding show, then take the opportunity to taste the food. Heeehe. Oh ya hor, I oso curious how much to top up if change to abalone.

Hi Vanilla.
Very expensive for the band lei.. maybe I will ask my bro to sing rock music.. cheaper. haha!!!!

Yah.. we should organize such outing. Hehe!! Food supplied by NCQ.

Hi Jiahui.
Why not email Huiling/Jamie (not sure who is your coordinator) to ask about the top up for abalone? Or if you going for wedding show, on that day itself, then ask them to give you a rough estimate loh.

I dun really like abalone so dun mind not having it. My fiance's younger sister like sharkfins soup so it's a must to have for that.

glad to hear gd comments on the food tasting! actually i have attended a wedding dinner at NCQ last year. the food was really great! but the portion was a bit small.

think i will also be taking desire package. maybe can ask ask how much to top up to include abalone.

any of you superstitious on preparing for your wedding during the lunar 7th mth?

Hi Caitou.
For me, I am fine with preparing for wedding during lunar 7th mth ba. The elderly didn't say anything about not able to do any preparation work for wedding.

Ann.. i need to check with hb if he wanna go down leh.. hehehe...

Vanilla.. great that u have waiver for corkage.. I need to pay for that man.. haiz...

Caitou.. if can avoid, y not.. but then it maybe rush for certain couple whose date was near early 8thMth..

Hi Ann

For the price, though rather steep but at least my guest wun be bored ma. It's kinda tired for them (the guests) to travel down for my banquet on a wkday. So hired a band to entertain them.
I will also get a chance to listen to the songs while taking table-to-table photos. Maybe can 'pester' my hubby to sing a love song for me lei..Hehehe

Hi Tweety

Ya lor, maybe tat time I signed up is during the 7th month, so they are quite ok with the perks then.

Hi Caitou,

Me & hubby not really tat superstitious, we intend to send out our invitation cards this month. As long as no 'an chuang' or GDL for us, should be ok I guessed. It's up to the elders and urselves.

Hi Tweety.
Should ask your hubby to go, quite worth it. I went to grand copthorne one.. still must pay $30 per couple. When my fiance heard waiver of entrance fee plus reception, he immediately on liao. Haha!!!

Hi Vanilla.
Yours being on a weekday, maybe shld do something to "compensate" them. Haha!! I rather my fiance not sing for me (though his female friends say he should) cause I think I will have to start selling ear plucks at the reception. Think sales will be good. Maybe can cover cost too. Haha!!!

I told my fiance to play piano for me if possible. He had never play for me once even though we are together for 10 yrs liao. Think his fingers stone liao.

Wau lau, ur hubby knows how to play piano ah? So romantic. Too bad my hubby duno how to play piano lor. If onli he could be lik Jay Chou haaaaha, then I'll drool non-stop. LOL Biangz, I ask my hubby to sing for me, like wan his life like tat...So bobian lor, he dun wanna sing, then I ask him pay $$ to hire ppl to sing for mi lor.

Haha... your hubby dun wanna sing for you? Never tell him so bad.. for my hubby, he rather sing than pay $800 to get pple to sing for me... haha!! If your hubby sing like Jay Chou, then you should start selling concert tickets.. I bet sure sell like hotcake one. Hehe!!

My fiance know how to play piano but dun play for me also no use. He say his fingers now too stiff liao. Then I told him I bend it for him till it's soft again loh. He say I so wicked. Haha!! But he say if I could find the notes for the song i want him to play, he could still play for me during wedding dinner since he had one yr to practice. But I dunno Novotel supply piano or not. Later ask me to carry one there myself.

hey gals..i will be going for the wedding show too. cant wait to go back and see the ballroom again. we would like to taste the food and sign up the partnering companies too. we have never tasted the food before so its our first time.

joyce >> my apologies, only read your msg today. have u seen the ballroom yet? so far of all the hotels we have been, somehow novotel's took our breath away. simple modern and the entire foyer exclusive to ourselves.

our cordinator is jamie she is very prompt in answering our questions and also professional. we signed up with her in nov last year and everything has been great so far with the hotel..

Hi Ann

Aiyoh u bend ur FH fingers...so bad, *ouch* tsk tsk tsk :p Ya lor, ask my hubby sing, then he say I should keep my mouth shut cos other brides not like me, so thick skin, will request for it one! Hmmmphhhh :p Too bad he dun even sing like Jay Chou. Better not la, scarely he learn to sing Jay Chou's style, I oso dun0 wat he's singing. 'Lao kok kok' sumore. Hahahaa.

Ay, I think some forumers in here actually thought of bringing a piano to the ballroom lei. But duno successful or not. If I come across, I copy & paste here for u here to read.

Hi Vanilla.
Tell your husband that actually alot of brides asked their husbands to sing.. at least all my gal frens does that. Haha!!! Why you call your hubby lao kok kok? So bad... your hubby really look that old meh? You reminded me on an incident when I went out with my fiance. We were at a MaMa shop looking at the sweets. Then he bought one sweet for me. And the old Indian man say "Your brother dote on you alot. Willing to buy sweet for you". I laughed till my stomach ache.

Thanks lei... if really can bring piano up hoh, then I might force him to practise everyday so that he will be able to play for me during wedding dinner.

Hi Ann

He say I thick skin lor!!! From then on, I kept my mouth shut le, nv request anymore. LOL He looks older than mi mah, so I younger, tats y i called him 'lao kok kok' lor. Indian man mistaken ur FH as ur bro? Good ma, got 'fu qi xiang'. :p Look-alike!!

Funi thing is, yest we went for food tasting ya? Then while waiting for the last course to arrive, I excuse myself and head for the ladies. Then the chef came out and asked hubby & my sis-in-law for feedback and opinions. He mistaken that my sis-in-law is the bride!!! LOL Then the chef handed his name cards to my hubby and my sis-in-law! Ask them to email him, if there's any queries. I was still in the ladies then! My hubby relate the incident to mi, and i laugh till bang lor!!

Haha.... I think the chef just see one guy and one gal of about the same age then he will assume that it's the bride n groom liao loh. Sometime pple will make such assumption one.

By the way, for your food tasting, beside the crispy chicken with garlic.. any other nice food to reccommend? But hoh, hear the way you describe the chicken make me drool liao... i loved crispy chicken.

hello everybody!
i have just signed up for the wedding show.. guess will be seeing some of u there.. hehe.. enjoy reading all the comments abt NCQ here..

Hi Caitou,

I print inserts but i did not get from Javsy after doing some research. Firstly, heard that the person is not friendly and price is abit ex.
After doing some research, i have printed inserts from Speed technology located at Ubi. the price is anything below 400pcs is $80. You can print 400inserts for only $80. The lady is veryu friendly too.
Guess this is the cheapest + good service i can find in spore. If you gals need the contact let me know.

Hey Vanilla, Thanks. I think that is the card that caught my eyes.
Realy glad to hear that the food is nice. Thanks for sharing

Wow...now my turn to plan for food tasting, think will plan it on Sept ba.
Will be taking the 728 package.
Hey Vanilla, what dessert you choose huh?

Ladies, need you all to help me out here. Hai... My hubby needs to have some comments on his artwork(in order to prove his talent). Kindly let me know if his work is good and will anyone buy it. Thanks.

Wrist Corsage
517200.jpg

Butterfly Brooch
517201.jpg

Hi Ann/Belle

Besides the garlic crispy chicken, the dessert is nice lor. I chose the yam paste with gingko nuts. It's different from what I've ate at other restaurants. I'm surprised to see tat NCQ yam paste is not purplish in colour!! Hahaa, cos the rest I ate at other plcs, all purplish in colour one!!

Reali can't judge a 'yam paste by its colour' lor. This particular yam paste doesn't seems yummy at 1st, but i'm amazed tat it doesn't taste tat sweet and rich. I LOVE IT!!

Vanilla.. ya.. that's really a great deal lor.. i pester Jamie to give me that.. but she die die can not wor..

Ann.. my hb alr on.. he's planning to be free on that day... i signed up with Jamie alr too.. hahahaha...I miss last yr wedding show, so wanna go nKP..

Who's going to the wedding show??
1. Ann
2. Tweety
3. kc

Belle (belleteo) >> do they provide the golden strings too? is the price inclusive of GST? me would like to have speed technology contact too.

Hi Vanilla.
Your description on the yam paste sound delicious.. drooling liao lah... not purplish in colour?? I wonder what colour it came in.. not too sweet and rich somemore...my mum would love it. But wonder they use canned one or they really make it themselves.

My hubby made those brooch for the more elderly ladies cos we know they dun like wrist corsages. Yah... he thinking of selling in future.. (PS: actually i think he just wanted to boost his ego.) Haha!!!

Hi Tweety.
That's great. Then we can all see each other on that day itself.

Hi Michelle.
Why not sure? Go lah. It will be fun.

Hi Tweety

Ok la, maybe I signed up before their wedding show and maybe perks were better then due to low peak season.

Hi Ann

The colour is beige. You should try, its reali yummy lor. I think should be made one, cos the texture reali smooth. Oh no, I said I like the brooch rite? Then i mus be one of the 'elderly ladies' liao :P

Lemme go back n ask hubby if he wanna go too. Am tempted!!

Btw, me gonna collect wedding album next weekend liao. Happy and ready to burn hole in pocket again lor!! LOL Wan bring my dad & FIL to try on their suits at bridal shop, but my dad refused to wear suit! He say my AD, he no need to wear suit, but my bros wedding, he wore suit. So unfair. Chey.

VaNiLLa>> oic..but its still great your dad is around to attend your wedding. my dad no longer around n sometimes i do wonder what would he say n do if he knows i am getting married..

Hi Vanilla.
Not that you are an old lady lah... but it is more acceptable to an elderly than wearing wrist corsages, dun you agree? You might even be younger than me. Who knows. Haha!! Nowadays pple get married young.

Hi Divasan.
I think your dad will say he's proud of you and his little princess is all grown up now. He will be very very happy for you.

Hi Divasan

Dun be sad la, me oso like u, single parent. Mum not ard liao. I'm the youngest daughter (the only gal in the family), so it's really important to me that my dad wore a suit, as this is his chance to show me off ma.
I wanna be proud of him and vice versa.

Hi Ann

Me old liao lor. I only get '$3 change out of $30' Hahahaaa

Hi Vanilla.
Then you the same age as me loh... so still not old... cos if i say u old then i also the same.. so cannot cannot.

Hahahahahha Ya lor, damn sad la, just turned 27 last month. So sad la..I wan go back to 21 la....when watching R(A) movies is no longer a shh-shh thingy. It's legalized!

You are always 21... must remember that.. then you will look like that always. Haha!!!

I always loved it when pple ask me why I didn't go school today... haha!!!