Novotel Clarke Quay

hi merribell

so u've confirmed NCQ?? its quite a good choice considering the ballroom+recept size n price.

its the 1st hotel we seen in our hotel hunting n aredi my HB like it alot. however they're quite strict with their perks which other hotels readily gave me eg wavier of wine cockage, etc

so i just calculate the price diff btw these hotels n see whether these freebies are worth it anot.

fyi my mum did tell me the Restaurant is famous for the spring chicken, and chicken with ham n vege!! used to go there when i was young.. however bear in mind the yam ring got veges only, not the usual prawn n cashew nuts, tat one must top up another $30 i tink. Older relatives prefer tat from what i gather.

Hi charlie_cat,

Agree that its value for money... I went to have a look see at the ballroom on Sat and was plesantly surprised at the set up.. very nice place with dedicated reception area, high ceiling.. think the stage is a bit plain though but if u dim the lights and add candle lights, the place should be quite sweet... and yes, we are taking the package! Its also the first hotel we've seen and actually, its the only hotel we've liaise with the sales person... we also made a mad rush to look at the ballrooms for Carlton and Plaza Parkroyal (when the wedding dinners are taking place.. we just peeked outside) and we din really like the ballrooms... as for NCQ package, Not sure which one we'll be taking though cos frankly we are ok with the cheapest package (w/o yam ring) heh heh...

peridotitude, think they have 2 printers.

charlie_cat, i dun noe if you can exchange for other stuff if you dont want to use their printer... but frm what i know, the printer is an independent co., they just engage their service. you're free to engage other printers.

i haven't collect my cards so i cant tell you for sure...

merribell, you should try their yam ring! it's very nice. Theirs is the original yam ring, this dish is created by the master chef of the dragon phoenix restaurant (of cos now he very old liao).

the ring is very light & crispy, unlike what i've tasted before for some other restaurants.

eemoo, u r making me hungry leh.. but can I check if you need to indicate which package u want in the contract at this time? cos I think Jamie is preparing the contract for us.. she'll only send it to us on Wed... not sure if we need to indicate which package we want now... u signed with NCQ already? if so, we must we look out for in the contract ah? Thanks!

I am also interested in having my wedding dinner @ NCQ. I was told that we could tentative book the date that we want but dunno whether NCQ has this practice. Care to share on how you go about confirming ur booking, how much is the deposit you paid during confirmation and subsequent payment to be paid by when? Thanks in advance.

Hi maltese_lover

yes you could check with them whether the ballroom u requiry is available on yr AD, if so you can request to do a tentative booking.i suppose they cn hold yr date for around 1 to 2 wks then upon confirmation you will need to pay at deposit of 3k.

Hi malthese_lover

You r welcome!
Erm for the balanace i think is after we check out ba...cuz i oso have to double check wit jamie..my AD will be at 26th Oct 07..how abt yrs?

mine will be in 2008, but have nt decided on the date yet...

U book the phoenix or cinnamon room? As my guest number is small, so looking at the Cinnamon room.

hi... u onli payed at checkout time... for those interested in their bridal suite o phoenix ballroom... can chk out my website in mulitply... userid: jasmineloke....

Hi all BTB,

Congrats and think most of u hv signed up with NCQ.

Also, r u all also signing up with Santiago?

I wanted to sign up with NCQ but due to the # of tables issue be 20-30, the deal was off. Even the lady also said there is no alternative

I went to Santiago during Jan's fair and walked in to their BS yesterday.

So wanna check if you have any comments or threads on Santiago to share with me.

hi merribell
did you "book" yours for more than 2 weeks or so already?? If the date you choosen happens to be an auspicious date, then that could be the reason for her to urge you to make the decision.

for us, we drag for a month or so, i think....Basically the date we are looking into is a inauspicious date in chinese calender, but it benefit us in terms of the ba zi matching....
We just confirm our booking with NCQ previous week & i would say Jamie is a rather stiff lady to talk to as compare to her colleague.

But still, overall, we are pleased with their service & the additional perks we got..heehee..
If you compare with other hotel...personally i feel they are helpful & accommodative to your needs, atleast they try before saying no to you.

meribell, you dun have to confirm the menu now. in the contract, it will state all the 4 menu available.

just look out for the stuff that you've managed to exchange or get, cos once you signed, i dunnoe whether you can change again.

merribell, yah i m still waiting for jamie's contract. i m taking phoenix ballroom cos i required 25 tables and above so i chose phoenix as i like the high ceiling.
ya the package is extra night bridal suite and 1 free tables with 30tables confirmed.

no others freebies liao...even i wanted to get a helpers room liao.

denise, 21 Mar there is a wedding tomolo night, heard there is 50tables full in phoenix ballroom. I think almost every wkend there is wedding over there, can dropped by and see. It is different from picture one.

rachely, dunnoe if my date is aupicious or not leh... its 29 Mar 08.. we chose the date cos we want a '29' and I think in 2008 only got 2 months got the date '29' that falls on a Sat... u checked the 'tong shu' ah? heh can help check if 29 Mar 08 is auspicious? thanks ah... btw, when is your AD?

eemoo, thanks! will take a very close look at the contract once I receive it (supposedly Jamie will send today)

Bernice, looks like we may get the contracts at about the same time since your AD is just a day after mine! We'll be taking phoenix too cos we like the pillarless ballroom and high ceiling... will you be going down to the bridal fair end of the month at Tan Quee Lan St too? We'll be going there to make the deposit...

Mine is the Cinnamon room, not enough guest for the Phoenix room. I think you can check on ROM web site whther or not is a hot date or i actually saw from a local hotel web site which gives a list of date which are the popular date.

Nah...i don know how to check the Tong Shu, my mom went to temple to ask for the date (which is actually forbidden to get married one...so a bit confused as well, but anyway, don want to change already)

My actual is 24 June this year, ROM also the same, so we manage to bargain for a function room to hold the ceremony....Also got a free upgrade to bridal suite & food tasting for 6pax & the 80% free cards or something.....

oh, i saw on some recent bridal magazine that novotal got free 1 wine per table....something like that....you see see lah..:-)

b/w, you will be renovating your home now or next year? Mine all lang-ga together very tiring.

dear rachely,

wah your big day coming very soon orh! I ROM-ed already last year.. so next year is the customary... the printing of cards one how u bargain one? so good.. the one wine per table one is in the package i think, either free flow beer, OR 1 barrel beer and 1 bottle of wine per table confirmed... have u signed the contract yet? I just checked and Jamie just sent us ours.. so will look at it now...

and oh yah.. the home part, I haven't even gotten my flat yet leh... so sad... everytime ballot cannot get.. SIGH... we are "homeless" couple...

Just pop by today to take a look at the wedding hold at Phoenix ballroom. I find the recept area was nicely decorated, simple but nice. Table Clothes was red for VIP and brown for guest tables. A good news, realise they have changed their plate to a nicer design. The plate was green in colour and sligh clear in colour as before was abit oriental design.

And if i am not wrong, they have renovated the toilet abit also. Change to a nicer hand washed basin.

The couple uses Red rose flower theme. Every thing looks quite Ok, accept for the stage, rather plain. After viewing flower theme, i am really hesitating to stick with crystal or go for flower.

Any one have advise or idea to share?

hi babes... i have some left over ampoules after my wedding.... anyone interested???

Have the following nano ampoules for sale:
All selling @ $3 each.
Suitable for All skin types.
Available sizes: 3ml per ampoule

a) Whitening ampoule (10 ampoules)

Benefits: - diminish the appearance of discoloration, dark spots and freckles.
It helps to achieve lighter complexion that rapidly leaves skin healthy, relaxed and luminous.

Directions: - On clean and dry face, apply a few drops and massage gently onto the face with circular motion till fully absorbed. Recommend once every two days, Follow-up with a mask for best effects. Avoid eye area and if irritation occurs, stop using.

b) Enzymatic ampoule (10 ampoules)

Benefits - Ideal for softening and removing dead cells. It freshens up the complexion and keeps the skin breathing, liberates the pores and refines the cutaneous layer, therefore helping the renewal of young cells.

Directions - Use as a treatment basis, when skin is particularly fatigued. Apply a thin layer on thoroughly cleansed face and neck. Leave for few minutes then massage gently with fingertips in circular motions. Avoid the eyes area. Rinse off with abundant water. Use once or twice a week, it helps to recover a soft purified and blooming skin in a few minutes.

c) Hydrating Ampoule (10 ampoules)

Benefits - hydrate your skin while moisturizing it. It will make your skin look healthier by locking in moistures that your skin has lost due to environmental exposure. It increases skin hydration, resulting in luminous skin that feels smoother and softer.

Directions - On clean and dry face, apply a few drops and massage gently onto the face with circular motion till fully absorbed. Recommend once every two days . Avoid eye area and if irritation occurs, stop using.

d) Nourishing Ampoule (5 Ampoules)

Benefits - powerful skin revitalizer. Provides whitening and moisturizing benefits. It restores and reveals younger, healthier, more vibrant complexion. Immediate visible results in tone, texture and firmness. The appearance of fine dry lines is minimized and keeps the skin young and nourished.

Nourishing ampoule can be used as make-up base for a long lasting effect.

Directions - On clean and dry face, apply a few drops and massage gently onto the face with circular motion till fully absorbed. Recommend once every two days . Avoid eye area and if irritation occurs, stop using.

- an e.g. of how all the ampoules looks like

http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/dozo_23/album?.dir=/7062scd&.src=ph&.tok=phrkfeGB8HnV6Q29

Merribell,
hihi, the free card is actually 70% only, which i dont really bother abt it but my fiancee raise his concern before signing, as seems like not enough. So Jamie was quite nice & straight away change to 80% lo...:-)
so how is your banquet shopping so far? heehee, very fun . you looking at how many tables? Personal opinion & encounter, Holidayxxxx is a no no, as our experience with their wed co-ordinator is no good plus being there for dinner before, need to wait for 2 hours before can makan...*by the time finish is almost 12am

The one next to Bugis is fabulous but very ex. Their luncheon is almost 900 & only got 6 course. Very good customer service tot...

The Cxxxxx at city hall has good service too...you raise your concern with your pro, the co-ordinator will match & give you freebies. Very worth $$$

Being to TungL in esplanade, too noisy in the rest....very chaotics but nice place.

Also being to ManrinaM, Very grand lobby but stiff package. Want some more thiggy they will charge you

Its very fun to search for one package! heehee, keep me update on your package

hi belle,

can you recall whether the recept area ceiling are grid ceiling or noremal flat ceiling? i thinking of doing some DIY for the recept

hello ladies, i'm considering Novotel Clarke Quay - Cinnamon Ballrm... i've seen the crystal theme, not so bad... anyone has pics of Flower Theme? also pics of the Bridal Suite.
P.S - Jaz, thanks but I couldnt view the pics.. wonder why...

Dear rachely,
my package shopping stopped already! Have already signed contract with Novotel last weekend... will be paying deposit during the wedding show... frankly, I am relieved to get this over and done with ah... very tiring ah... Have chosen the Phoenix ballroom, cos we are looking at more than 30 tables.. heh and oh yah, we also asked Jamie for 80% free card and she agreed loh... heh, next thing I need to do is to look for a Catholic church for my wedding...

Hi Jaz, your bridal suite and food looked fabulous...i also confirmed my AD at NCQ. AD is jun08. Care to share what package did you took up? They are going to increase their price by $20 each table in 2008 and wine price to $23+++... =(

hi rac... thanks... do post some comments though....

wad package u like to koe??? i kind of customised my wedding dinner menu... some os the dish i didn't get the chance to taste...so, personally can't comment much....

but, my friends did comment the prawns, fish r pretty fresh... yam paste is thick n nice text... not 2 sweet... dink dats about it....

s for simHL, u try log in multiply website... user id: jasmineloke....

hi NCQ gals! i'm booking NCQ too! so joining u all here

i'm choosing dates now.. which are the dates and ballrooms u all have chosen liao? let me know ar so tat i can strike off my list le.. easier to plan la keke. thanks!

Hi Jaz, i am thinking of changing some of the dishes too. But can't decide what to choose leh.
Have not gone to the food tasting yet. Do you still have the menu? Can send to me?? [email protected]

Oh so their prawns, fish and yam paste are good! I also heard their yam ring is v v gd. Their signature dish, guess i will include that into my menu for sure lor...

Which beer/wine package you choose?
1. Free flow beer.
2. 1 barrel beer plus 1 bottle of wine per table.

Hi Jasmine,

I will like to take a look at your photos too but i can't log into the multiply website. Could u please share with me how to access it.

Many thanks

www.multiply.com

userid: jasmineloke

hi rac, i don't have the menu le... sorry, can't help u much in the menu.... i onli rmb wad i ate... haha

i chose 2... 1 barrel of beer n 1 bttle of wine per table......

but, make sure u prepare cash for 1.5 wine per table

Hi Maltese_lover, you can visit BOWS @ bugis this weekend to have a feel of the preparation work needed for wedding...

it's never too early to shop around. U be surprised that some ppl have booked for Dec08 already!!

Any updates? Would like to find out the confirmed booking at NCQ so that I can have more time to "shop" ard for venue. Very greedy of me, i know =)

Bruce Almighty's Bride 06-May-2007,Sun, Phoenix (50)
ambush 01-Jul-2007,Sun, Phoenix(50)
peridotitude 07-Jul-2007,Sat, Cinnamon
Rine 26-Oct-2007,Fri, Phoenix
Tweety 27-Oct-2007,Sat Cinnamon
Belle 03-Nov-2007,Sat Phoenix
Divasan 13-Dec-2007,Thu Phoenix
~bliss~ 03-Jan-2008,Thu, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008,Sat Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Lingadyang 21-Jun-2008,Sat, Phoenix (30)

Hi dreamer,

NCQ will have a booth at BOWS @ Bugis this weekend.

NCQ Wedding perks (valid for 2007 - June 2008 AD booking) for the wedding show includes:

Phoenix Ballroom (only for weekends booking)
- 1 complimentary table for every 30 tables & above
- 2 nites bridal suite

Cinnamon Ballroom (only for weekends booking)
- 1 complimentary table for every 20 tables & above
- Upgrade to bridal suite for one nite
- complimentary food tasting of 10 pax