Novotel Clarke Quay

Hi Tinkybell,

Dont think so much and stress yrself, actually the setup is really up to individual, as for the food wise, really depend on the chief and mostly hotel's food will not be as nice as restaurant food. Luck is needed also as all waiter are part timer. AS for decoration, i believe you can tell Jamie your concern and i believe she will try to help.

I believe Novotel will improved as time goes by.

Hi Ladies!

I am keen to held my wedding there also but look at the negative feedback very scare..

Anyone having their wedding soon?

Tinkybell..
I resent to u alr...
What Belle said is true... it's really depends on luck... Hopefully they will improved...

Joan... icic... I haven search for my PG yet..
that's great.. It's better to finalise early...

have anyone been liasing with the coordinator Huiling? Seem like most of you liase with Jamie directly but twice I fixed an appointment to go down it is Huiling who serve us.

She is nice but the thing is she is supposed to be Jamie's assistant so she can't really make decision.

hi lingandyang, i have been served by huiling b4... agree wif u she is nice but can't realli make much decision... i personally prefer to speak directly yo jamie...

hi all, can i just chk wif u per wine they r charging $23 (does this price inclde the corkage charge??)

Also would u b asking for 1 barrel of beer and 1 wine for 1 cnf table? or free flow of beer???

anyone has any idea 1 barrel of beer = ? glasses

Hi Jaz,

thanks for replying. Then did you get to speak to Jamie in the end? I haven't got the chance yet.

As for me, i think i'll be choosing free flow of beer. Think that most pple will be drinking beer.

hmm.... was act debating on free flow of beer o 1 wine per bttle s i read on other threads that nowadays pple drink wine more... is only sabotage, they will use beer....

yup, manage get to speak to jamie in the end... mayb u wanna book appt wif them n ask to speak to her personally???

congrats lingandyang.... whenu getto c her... can help me just chk the barrel of beer.. how many glasses can 1 barrel of beer give? n for the wines hor, issit $23 inclusive of the corkage charge???

thanks a lot

Hi Lingandyang... i'm also served by Huiling at the 1st visit.. we tell her what we want to get then let her communicate with Jamie then confirm with us lor.. but the final confirmation can be done with Jamie b4 signing the contract... Huiling's is nice n friendly, but as she's only an asst, she cant make decision...

Jaz.. i think $23 is nett which include corkage liao.. as for free flow or 1 per table is really depends on individual group... if yr guest mostly drink wine, then 1 per table is better...

If i didn rememb wrongly, 1 barrel is abt $600+++

Hi Tweety, yah hopefully can further discuss with Jamie before we sign the contract.

Jaz, no prob. will ask Jamie about your queries next Thur.

thanks a lot lingandyang....

wad do u suggest, free flow of beer o 1 barrel of beer n 1 wine per table for the whole dinner.... m not sure wad my guests would consume.... how ah.... btw, anyone has any songs in mind for the march in????

HI Winnie!

Can u pls advise the email of Jamie so I can email her? Me also consider having my wedding there...

BTW hw's the food ladies? Anyone tried before?

Hi Jaz,

finally meet up with Jamie yesterday. Asked her about your queries already!

One barrel of beer can serve 90 glasses. If we buy their house wine, it is $23 per bottle inclusive of corkage. But that is the price currently, she say might change a bit due to the GST, but shouldn't be too much difference.

I signed up with them le!

oh ok thanks a lots..... so, any perks did u take??? i m still debating free flow of beer o just 1 barrel of beer n 1 wine per table for my dinner... wad do u dink???

HI Jaz,

in fact did not really manage to bargain perks from them. Jamie is very firm. only manage to increase invitation cards to 80% and carpark coupon to 30% which is really not a great bargain, but still better than nothing bah. I asked for one more night also cannot.

i think i will most prob take free flow beer but that we dun have to decide now, Jamie say can decide closer to the actual day de.

hey ladies..

im new to this thread.. hope you girls dun mind me chupping in here..

having my AD at novotel on july next yr.. wld like to check with u ladies.. are most of you having a 8-course or 9-course dinner? coz initially i had wanted a 8-course dinner.. money aside..coz my AD will be on a sunday and most ppl will be counting down to the dessert esp on a sunday when monday is looming so near.. 9-course dinner will take up a longer time.. but my hb was saying a 8-course dinner doesn't look too good..

do you ladies think having a 8-course dinner is hmm..not too nice?

hi ambush... to me i personally feel dat 8 o 9 course dinner doesn't realli make much diff.... coz usus the dinner would start late.. by the time, u finish dinner... it would b quite late n u would b quite tired by then...

hi lindayang, i also gotto decide when my date is nearer but my AD is cuming soon... so m still debating.. haha trying to cut cost lah....

i got the complimentary food tasting for 10 over the weekdays but i don't have 10 person to attend... i got less den dat... was wondering can ask jamie to reduce the food portion n change it to smthing else s the food would b quite wastage den....

HI Jaz,

when is your actual day? Mine is on 21 Jun 08 still a long way down the road.

yah maybe can check with Jamie if can exchange for something else if you got less than 10 person for the food tasting.

hey jaz..

thanks..comforting to noe tt u share the same sentiments..haha..try to persuade my hb now..

hey lingandyang..

wow..you are planning early..tts good.. hmm..actually i find jamie quite strict.. gives me a rather cold feeling..

hi lingandyang, my AD is 27/01/07... just about a mth away... so, much things to settle....

haha.. agree wif ambush... u do plan quite early... so, have u selected ur BS????

Hi ambush, u r welcome...

Hi ambush & Jaz,

yah know i plan quite early in advance. Cos I tot maybe hotels will be booked up quite early, so i try to book earlier in advance.

Hi ambush,

yes i also find Jamie a bit cold, when we asked her something about the actual day, though we know it still too early, she just say " you're worrying too much..", which my bf and I were a bit suprise to hear her saying that. But she still explain to us after that. In fact before we meet up with her, I had seen some comments about her in this thread, and was feeling a bit strange. Because some commented that she is very good and professional, while there are also comments about her being very impatient. Was wondering why the comments can differ so much. But luckily she was quite neutral to us.

Oh Jaz, My BS is Seletar B.way. Yours leh?

hi lingandyang... my is La Bella Couture... like their service....

i e-mailed Jamie on our food tasting date... but, she is away, she will onli b back on 27/12/06... n huiling is on MC today... haz... can onli arrange wif her a date after she comes back...

hey jaz..

wow..you must be really excited now yah.. now you must be bz trying to tick off the list of things to do yah.. u still have some time..dun worry girl!

lingandyang..

yah..was quite surprised why the comments abt jamie were so a mix of good and bad.. hmm.. some how i find it kinda diff to relate to her..unlike my bs coordinators who are both really nice and ez to talk to.. think maybe diff chemistry.. i dun really dislike her lah.. just dun quite prefer her..

hey jaz..

hmm..one prob with novotel is tt..it seems so diff to speak to anyone sometimes..they all seem so bz all the time..haiz..

Hi Jaz.. U got 10 person for food tasting arh??? which ballroom did u choose?? she only gave me 6 person for food tasting eh...

I really doubt she will change to other perks eh.. i tried asking Jamie abt changing the invitation cards to other things, but she told me that she has given me all the things she can... kind of sad to hear that...

Yr AD coming arh... u prepare all the things??? do drop by to give yr comments after yr AD arh...

Hi lingandyang.. u plan quite early hor... but tha'ts better i think... my ad 27/10/07.. still got abt 10 mths to go.. heee...

hi ambush... kind of super worried now... haven given anything any invitation cards.... true... i agree wif u dat novotel seems quite difficult to reazh to anyone...

i got phoenox ballroom... i koe cinnamon room provides food tasting for 6 pple... but, i onli got 6 pple to attend... so, kind of wastage.

Hi ambush,

me shared the same sentiments too. think different pple have different expectation. hence some can accept Jamie, but some of us just feel a bit uneasy.

Hey Jaz, Jamie is back today as you mentioned. Have you got her?

Hi Tweety, yah i tried to plan earlier because hope to secure my date. Hee. Oh yours still got 10 months, now you busy with any preparation mah?

I know there are a couple of "hotel insiders - maybe Jamie herself???" who access this site. Thats y u will receive conflicting comments on Jamie. I am not trying to arrow her or wat but I know and thought should let u guys know. Anyway whether she's "nice & warm" or not we will all be able to see for ourselves.....

Hi Jaz.. i think this maybe the reason.. I'm in cinammon room.. so she gave me 6 lor... me also not many ppl will go for food tasting, so 6 shld be enough...

Jaz.. don panic k... list down all the things u need to be done with the date, then u won miss out anything...

u got yr PG n Vg liao arh??? u got the detail package with u??

Lingandyang... i just went to my BS to fix on PS date... so now trying to lose weight.. hahaha... will try to source for PG also.. hopefully can get one within budget...

anyone of u getting any animation montage??

hi tweety... my hubby would most likely give her a ring today.... if possible... i was hoping to have my food tasting tomolo....

haiz.... i trying not to panic but is 1 mth away... oh my gosh....

yup... got my PG & VG... the package is wif me....haha... manage to get a it within my budget. me on tight budget ma.... u found urs???

m getting animation montage... but, is mths ago when i signed up the plans wif them...

tweety, u have not gone PS??? got enulf time to take ur photos??

Jaz.. thanks arh.. but will check my mail again, the internet is down leh.. piss off...

is it?? that's great.. so u gg with yr family??? weekdays rite??? sian hor..
do update us on yr foodtasting k...

u done with other preparation??? like yr invitation card?? printing?? wedding favour??

Hi Jaz,

yah do let us know how is your food tasting session. How do you actually do the food tasting huh? Is it you choose the dishes you wan first, or they let you try everything then let you decide?

hey jaz..

nah dun worry.. still have time for the invitation.. hey hope ur food tasting will be great.. tell us the standard of the food k?

hey lindandyang..

hmm..yalor..hopefully my perception of her will change.. was trying to think more positively of her.. haha maybe i was too sensitive too.. have you done ur ps?

hey tweety..

wow.. i wish i could do my ps again.. it was so fun! i love looking and going thru all the beautiful gowns too.. hey i'm sure u'll have lotsa fun with urs..

hey dongdong..

hmm..ive heard some of the ladies frm the forum say the same things oso.. wonder if it's really true.. i sure hope not..

hi all.. my preparation ah... still in the midst of doing it... feel so tired... just v xianz esp after work....

i chose my food according to the package we wan.... den e-mail to jamie n inform her about it... if u r not happy on the dish... u wanna try others... u gotto fork out $$ to pay lol...

will inform u guys on the food tasting outcome, tried asking to have 6 pple for food tasting instead of 10... but jamie rejected saying that she need to show us the actual portion of the food... so, no choice lol...

aiya... jamie is act ok to me in person... she looks professional n friendly enulf to me... she is firm wif her decision.. i guess wad she give out to everyone in the perks shld b about the same. so, happy in a way lahz... fair mah... keke

s for huiling... she seems unsure in a lot of things...mayb, she is still new lol. so personally i still prefer to tok to jamie lah

Hi ambush,

you mean my photoshoot mah? Haven't yet. actually i dunno when should i do the photoshoot, is it half a year before the AD?

Hi Jaz,

yah, Jamie overall to me is still ok.

hey jaz..

okie sure! awaiting ur verdict on the food quality there.. wonder if novotel serves interesting desserts.. haha im a dessert person..

hey lingandyang..

yah ur photoshoot.. yah.. i think half a yr to 3 mths before ur AD is fine.. i had mine ard half a yr before tt.. it was so fun! ploughing thru all the beautiful gowns was oso very fun..

oh yah ladies.. are you all using the invitation cards from the hotel or coming up with ur own designs?

Oh ambush,

your AD is next year July hor, so you just finish your photoshoot is it? Which is your bridal studio?

Yah i think the photoshoot will be really fun. For me still got quite some time. Where did you take your outdoor shots?

hey lingandyang..

yupz..i did my ps last week.. haha so fun! hmm..i signed up with bliss.. actually wasnt my first choice..haiz.. was kinda hoaxed into it at an exhibition.. they cant really give me a lot of the things i want.. tried to make do with what we have though.. but so far so good lah.. my coordinator s a really sweet lady.. and the PG is great fun too..

i went punggol.. botanical gardens and little india.. hey i agree.. it was really great fun.. im very into photography.. hey girl.. think it will be great to look at the kind of ps shots u want and let ur PG noe before the actual shoot.. some places like little india offers lots of colours and character to ur pics.. hey it will be fun to get a pink london cab too.. its a lovely addition to the pics..

oh yah.. i went starbucks too.. hehe can take a 'cheers' pic with ur hubby at the last lap of the PS..

oops..sorry.. i always get very excited and carried away when it comes to taking pictures..hee..

lingandyang..
the food tasting is only those you selected..
if u don like the food n wanna change n retaste, u got to pay...

ambush.. u done yr PS??? when's yr AD?? can share yr Photos??