Novotel Clarke Quay

wow great to hear the new theme.. i had just signed up NCQ at BOWS this year... wedding AD will be on 3 dec2011.. coordinator:kevin.... still a long way to go.. hope everything turn out well..

My Wedding dinnner was held at Novotel on 23Oct2010 Pheonix Ballroom.Everything goes smoothly.Food is nice,room is nice.The Banquet Manageress Liz for me that nite was perfect n very very helpful. All my relatives,colls n friends oso said the whole place is very very good!! Feel free to ask me if need help

Hi felicia, if you are looking at around 25 tables, then perhaps the smaller ballroom which is Cinnamon ballroom. For Phoenix, you need to commit min 30 tables on wkends..

I also signed up with them for my wedding in Dec. Hope the themes will be nicer next year

felicia>> the smaller room (cinnamon ballrm) is min 18 tables, max 24 tables.

phoenix grand ballrm - min 30tables, max 50.

if im not wrong, the min. tables is applicable to both weekdays and weekends.

For the bigger ballrm, u can check out the ballroom layout inside the SGbrides listing.

cinnamon room can squeeze until 25/26 tables but not advisable cos it will be very cramped. mine was 18 tables, just nice, a lot of room to walk about.

Thanks ya Thomas..

Does this means that the small pillar is small till it doesnt blocks the view of the tables?
Is there any projector or live feed?

Havent go down to see as the dates I looking for is fully book but i have got some more dates to try. =)

My fiance and I are interested in NCQ after reading favourable reviews from most of you. Can anyone share with me what were the perks offered by NCQ @ their latest Super Wedding Sale on 9th Oct 2010?

Have a good day.

If I rem correctly, should be as follow:

- Complimentary one table with 20 tables confirmed
Free flow of beer from 8pm to 11pm OR additional bottle of house wine per table confirmed

felicia: it is small but if u have more than 21 tables, the view of the stage will still be blocked by the pillar. only 1 table is affected, the rest are ok.

hi all..long time no see..finally on leave for 2 wks..nw the final preparation liao...hehe...counting down...4 more days to AD...hehe..juz finished DIY my ang bao box..so happy..hehe..yeap..then also fininshed baking my door gift for the church..yeap..tml going to collect my marriage cert in adv ..hehe..fianlly more n more things settle liao..hehe..

thomas:..i get my cake fr pin garden for GDL..alot of my relative really likes the cake tat..hehe..thanks for ur comment..cos i confrim for selection of pine garden!

hannah>> jiayou! last lap to big day! hope u have real joy and fun on ur special day.. Have a blessed and joyful wedding!

simplelife>> projectors and favours are included in the packages.. aren't they~? we all do..

it not written in the package tt they sent me. is it possible to get extra perks if i am looking for weekend dinner in novotel?

simplelife>> frm my own observation, the "extra perks" comes along with the package u sign (e.g. destiny vs pleasure package).. =)

thanks a lot. what is the difference in the perks based on the package being signed? i went down to talk to the person but there is no mention of the difference in perks given based on package being signed. Can you give me some example?

hi all...i'm back from my short trip...really njoyed my stay at NCQ..cos the suite is really cosy..yeap..ya..then the rose n petal is really nice..hehe..my makeup artist actually use the roses NCQ provide in the suite to put it on my hair lor..so really cool..hehe..the food n servive is gd..my guest didn't complain..juz that there is 2 spillage of wine..but its was ok..only a bit lor..hehe..yeap..but due to the tourist buses stop at the lane to the carpark..there was a jam lor..so my guest was jam for like an hr..so my dinner started late..but..my guest is still happy lor..generally thumb up for NCQ..hehe..then LIZ my banquet manager is gd..she is really helpful lor..every instruction was clear..so really no worries..thank god!

Can anyone pls tell me, on the actual day itself, is it 1 waiter or waitress to 1 table or 1 to 2 table? Was worried about the service for my guests on that day.

Hannah>> happy to hear from u aft ur big day! I've been going to liang court these few weeks and the tour buses are really a big problem.. haha~ but I think everywhere has it's minuses..

guests always take for granted and come late.. =\

did she do a briefing the banquet staff? did one of ur friends pop by to have a look?

for vip tables..is 1 waitress for 2 tables for drinks...n 1 waitress to 2 tables for food..

the guest is 1 to 4 tables for drinks and another 1 waitress to 4 tables for food..the speed n service is quite gd..i haven heard any complains fr my guest lor..hehe..i have 45 tables..yeap..so i then the ratio is quite gd!

jolye:..yeap..she did do a briefing..but dunno is it wit the staff..but she did wit my hubby n my co-ordinator..including the sound system check up..cos the sound system is by my friend!

hannah>> was there a lot of space left with 45 tables? I was only planning for 30 tables, but the list is going towards 40 and I'm having a dancefloor.

thomas,

yeah excited! did a dry run few days ago. hope no hiccups on actual day. there are so many things to take care of tt everything has become sui-bian to me. haha.... most impt is i pretty pretty can liao... :P

Oh, the ratio is 1:4 for the guest tables ah? Thought should be at least 1:2.. best is 1:1. Is this the standard practise for all hotels? I'm worried that the service will be slow as this is what we encountered at some hotel dinner, where it took a long time for the waiter to top up our drinks. Can we actually request to have at least 1:2 for the guest tables?

joyle:..i feel the space is okie..dun have difficulties wit my photo taking..yeap..can feel is pack..but nt cramp..my guest dun have complaints on the space..but wit the dance floor..i'm nt so sure!

Kalyn:..hmm..that is depending..personally..i dun feel the service is bad..infact..my guest compliment that the service is veryd gd n fast..yeap..n the best is tat..the waitress is nt share wit food n drinks lor..food waitress is food..n drinks is drinks lor..so really gd!..*thumb up*..really gd impression by NCQ..even my guest also say so..plus the dance for the cold dish..is really cool..cute n nice..every guest laugh..n they really njoying it..=P

hannah>> I saw 30 tables set up with lots of space, so urs should be quite comfy!
i saw ur photos, the waitresses wearing veil for the first dish!

went for friend's wedding at Marina Mandarin, they also got the dancing first dish thingy, danced on stage summore!

I have already checked with Jack and the server ratio is 1:1 for VIP tables and 1:2 for guest tables for serving food only. Another team will be incharge of drinks.

Another thing to ask is can we actually squeeze 11 people into one table? Is it too cramp?

My wedding date is drawing near and I'm a bit gan chiong. Suddenly alot of things coming out from my head. So stress. Anyone also feel this way?

long time no see.... been really slack with wedding preps and also with a change in job, haven had time to catch up... :D

hope everybody is doing great....

Hannah,

this is coming really late, but glad u had a great wedding :D

am going to sign with Huiling for dec 2011 package. Was wondering if anyone else is also signing with them for 2011 wedding and told that we need to pay initial deposit of $5000 when we first sign and 2nd deposit of another $5000 few months later (I forgot when) and 1 month before the wedding 3rd deposit of $5000 and the remaining balance after the banquet. Its alot of money upfront and was wondering if any of you managed to negotiate deposit to 1 time only and the rest to be settled after the wedding? The other hotel that is slightly more ex than novotel which I considered only asking for $3000 deposit and the rest to be settled after dinner.

Hi Julia,

For our case, when we sign up last year Sep/Oct time, we came to know about the 2 deposits to be made, initial deposit of $5k upon signing, and another $5k a month before our actual dinner.

I have actually make a feedback to Huiling and asked her to talk to her management regarding this S$ 10k upfront before our wedding. I told her $10k for us was quite a sum as we need flowing cash for our wedding preparation. She explained to us was their Finance’s policy thus gotta adhere.

Surprise to hear now they changed to 3 deposits, gosh, are they afraid of us not paying after the dinner?

Julia, I think is best for u to negotiate down to 2 deposits, 3 deposits amounted to $ 15,000 is absurd!

if you have to pay 2 or 3 deposits, please use manhattan credit card to pay. each $5000 payment can earn u 5% cash back from the bank.

hmm wondering..... is NCQ really suddenly so popular that they can afford to do this?

This is making it more difficult for people to have their weddings at hotels... hope other hotels have not started to do this as well....

sort of understand if they do this for company events but for weddings i think is a bit off...