Novotel Clarke Quay

wentan>> how bout getting it the package during BOWs? Blissful Bride promo nv heard of...

Hannah>> hope everything is going well!

novotel is not participating in the coming BOWS. The blissful bride promo are complimentary free addtional 1 bottle of wine on top on the free 1 bottle and free complimentary helper room from 2-7pm. Must present the blissful bride magazine to be entitled.

Is Kelvin still around? Haha actually is my bf family side that seems very disappointed And upset on the food. For me, i just do nt like the way the manager put it, after all the defensive words he first put forth before the food tasting , when we feedback he dun even explain why and just tell us to choose another then.The worse is the dessert and appetizer which all of us agreed. I have cream of mango too and the content is rather little, dilute, and mango is

sour . He dun even tell about season all these and just said this is their signature dessert , alot ppl take this, Dun like choose other lo. We paid individual portion, for the yam and mango pudding, it taste even worse and weird and decide cream of mango but was afraid he is not addressing the issue cos his mindset and service oriented attitude is not there .For appetizer, jelly fish really not up to any expectation
n, got to change. Fish,lotus fragrant rice not up to my bf family expectation too , for me still average .to be fair, I din the seafood fish maw is not bad, we not taking the shark fin especially how he put it hehe

my point is I dun expect every dish to be up to everyone
expectation, but you should hear what I am putting across and explain or convince,assure me. But I am not getting that and feel so insecure about what wld turn up on my ad ,ESP some of my guests are international if the manager gg ard telling the same defensive words to my guest or brush them off if they comment abt the food, they wld not like it .
I wld try to inform my coordinator and put it across this time.

from what I know kevin (not kelvin) has been transferred to another dept. new guy jack has taken over his place. huiling is still there though.

quite a surprise that NCQ is not taking part in BOWS anymore...they used to take part every year. I signed up mine that time during BOWS too.

joejoy, like I said if u are really that unhappy with him, tell your coordinator that u wanna change ppl, thats all. why make yourself so stressed?

woo sounds bad.. I still thking of signing up with them for nx yr package. Is the food really that bad? I saw the pic of the ballroom from their website and it looks very dim and bare.Not much decor.

hi all..i have my food tasting on thurs..all of us is very happy wit the food..taste really nice wor..*smiling..*..everybody is happy lor..the appitzer..the jelly fish nt so nice..so we ask them to add more sauce lor..next.but the other is gd..the wu xiang n the popianh..nice2!
next is the shark fin..was gd too..the taste is great..dun add any vinegar or wat..the original taste is gd enough..

the garlic chicken was gd too..the skin was very crispy lor..ya..we find this dish "special"..as nt many banquet dinner hace such chicken..usually is roasted one..the steam prawn was very fresh..ya..i choose soon hock in hk style..the fish was fresh n the meat was smooth..we like the taste..

next is the yam ring wit vege stuffing..the yam was nice..we practically fininsh the yam..the vege was a bit more blend..but muz eat together wit the yam..then the taste will b juz nice..didn't regreat change my vege to this dish..cos its special n taste great lor..

next..we have the ee fu noodle..its delicious too..the "kou gan" was great.abit QQ one..the actually my dad dun eat this noodle one..but he finish all lor..he find it delicious..yeap..lastly..we have the mango pudding for the dessert..it is gd too..it wasn't too sweet..juz nice..the texture is gd too..sweet n sour..was cold..so practically having this is quite gd after tasting all the diff type of dish in front..

so the overall service n food tasting is GD!..thumb up!..=)..our parents is happy lor..cos its beta than wat they expected lor..so me n htb really very happy lor..really thank god!

joejoy:..kevin is still around..but apparently like wat thomas say he is being transfer..nw hand over to another person..but as he still hav a few couples that he handle halfway fot this yr wedding..so he decided or NCQ decided that he will cont to cordinates or to follow up wit us until our AD is over..yeap..so we r still wit him..but think those next yr AD one will b pass to the other person..yeap..really getting xcited...cos 2 months 2 days to Ad...today going to look for "shi dian jin" lor..woohoo..nice2!

hannah>> yam with veg, is the portion of veg ok? i also thinkin of changing my veg to this, jus afraid that no full veg dishes, like so overkill of the meat..

Joyle: this dish is gd..at 1st I also afraid tat my parent n my future in law will mind a nt so vege dish..but in the end they like it lor..n they say it's kind of special lor..they really like it lor..the vege portion was more than I xpected lor..usually u eat such dish outside..the stuffing is the same height as the yam ring..but NCQ their stuffing is like a mountain lor..overflowing kind..
N the vege they use is like really very colourful..so very appetizing..wun giv other a feeling like "it's meat dish" lor..really worth changing..thumb up!..but it's really up to individual too..cos tastebis subjective..I might say it's nice..but u dun find it nice lor..yeap..=p

hannah>> thanks for the review! i want this yam dish more than the "or ni" althou' I'm a "or ni" lover.. haha

u tried the or ni? it looks different when i check the previous posts.. its those with clear sugar syrup instead of the milky syrup..

the yam ring with veg, the veg is really a lot. my food tasting that time, we tried it also but changed to yam ring with prawn in the end not bcos its not nice but my MIL thought yam ring without prawns doesn't look good in front of our guests so we changed it.

joyle:i didn't try the "or ni"..cos i dun like to eat "or ni"..haha..yeap..

pris:..oh really?..tat's gd!..but prisc..gt to depend lor..cos taste of food is very subjective lor..depend on ur family n ur future in law taste lor..my was likre really thank god lor..cos my parents and my future in law all likes the dishes lor..yeap..ya..

kalyn: e function room doesn't hav speaker, so got to b loud when u speak... but i m not sure now hav or not... e guest r able to hear as the room (clove room) s quite small n e door r close...

wow... a lot of food reviews.... i had almost e same dish as hannah except for e fish, we had it in traditional sauce as we find e sauce unique... e aym ring wif vege stuffin s very nice... yummy yummy.. they slice up the vege, tink hav carrot, celery, etc... thus very colourful...

mm.. tink e restaurant manager n banquet manager s not the same person.. u can feedback abt e dish to ur coordinator when u mit up with them to finalise the details... when i had mango pomelo during food tasting, it was a bit diluted so we feedback to our coordinator n they took in our feedback, on AD my guest like e dessert n we find it thicker too..

Hi Julia,

Is it confirmed that the wedding sale is on 9 Oct? as I'm miting Huiling on 9 Oct as well? Have not heard anything from them as yet?

hi all juz my feedback on my recent visit to NCQ for a wedding dinner..FYI...
the 1st march in was weird cos the waitresses were all kneeling down along the narrow aisle waiting to pour hot water into plastic containers if dry ice. next our tables were short of the braised peanuts and no 1 notice it even the manger who were serving water or the waitress pouring tea. than after serving the shark fins, all the guest in the table realise tat there is only 9 bowls to start with but the waiter just rush off to serve the other tables but he quickly replace it. then the food serving were very messy in a sense tat they are bring the food from 1 corner then they need to run to the other corner to grab the utensil before running back to the table..yes they run cos each waiting staff was i/c more then 2 tables. then the drinks were not top on regularly..the food were commented by my table mates as below average, the cold dish were impressive, the shark fins can be pass off as tau suay, chicken were tasteless, the vege taste far better then the mushrooms tat comes w it and the waiter serve us all the red bean paste w/o the lotus seeds cos he forgot abt it...all in all the service from the waiting staff were all good and all others were good...this will add into my "Things to take note of" checklist for my own wedding..

hi all juz my feedback on my recent visit to NCQ for a wedding dinner..FYI...
the 1st march in was weird cos the waitresses were all kneeling down along the narrow aisle waiting to pour hot water into plastic containers if dry ice. next our tables were short of the braised peanuts and no 1 notice it even the manger who were serving water or the waitress pouring tea. than after serving the shark fins, all the guest in the table realise tat there is only 9 bowls to start with but the waiter just rush off to serve the other tables but he quickly replace it. then the food serving were very messy in a sense tat they are bring the food from 1 corner then they need to run to the other corner to grab the utensil before running back to the table..yes they run cos each waiting staff was i/c more then 2 tables. then the drinks were not top on regularly..the food were commented by my table mates as below average, the cold dish were impressive, the shark fins can be pass off as tau suay, chicken were tasteless, the vege taste far better then the mushrooms tat comes w it and the waiter serve us all the red bean paste w/o the lotus seeds cos he forgot abt it...all in all the service from the waiting staff were all good and all others were good...this will add into my "Things to take note of" checklist for my own wedding..

hi dreamies>> thanks for the feedback.. just wondering if the waitress dun kneel down to pour water to get dry ice, then where does the smoky effect come from? maybe u talking abt the plastic containers that dont look good?

not too sure what u mean by service and all others good cos' u said mostly -ve comments..

i think for service staff quite hard to QC cos' their mostly part-timers or cheaper non-locals alternative who do not work on daily basis.. can't please everyone.. just have to be more conscious when informing the manager of your concerns.

my wedding is over... i think food wise it have really improved after our foodtasting...

Kelvin who is our banquet manager is very helpful throughout the whole banquet.. thumb up....

but i think the only bad review is that is really very understaffs... which quite alot of my close friends have commented to me... but all in all i think Novotel did a great job...

oh another issue is for couples holding their wedding at Novotel, please do remember to tell your guests that are driving that Novotel is sharing the same carpark as Liang court.. cos i think quite alot of my guests went round and round to find the carpark.. maybe is good for u all to indicate in your wedding invitation...

Hi Yenyun, thanks for sharing..

carpark is always an issue, and i think it's an issue at all other hotels which share the carpark space with shopping malls..

I planning to also indicate alternative parking areas..

hah~ i think at least there's carpark nearby.. my ROM venue, nearest carpark is a 10mins walk! =X

Even 5 stars hotel, like Four Seasons, Goodwood etc are not asking that much.

Novotel really thinks people nowdays earn a lot. haiz.

most prob I will sign with them however, the 2nd deposit makes me very headache. I wonder if I have that much a month before my AD.

remember to pay by manhattan credit card and earn the 5% cash back on the deposit paid.

treat it as a positive way that each time u pay 5k to novotel, u earn 5% cashback from SCB. it is equivalent to getting extra $500 discounts (after 10k payment). it will definately be better than earning interest from the bank.

during your banquet, pay off the remaining balance using manhattan card again to earn $300 cash back for 1 last time. of cos u have to time your payment as the cashback is subjected to your credit card quarterly cycle.

Hi, I'm also using NCQ for my AD next Sept. My co-ordinator is Kevin. So far he has been quite nice and responsible.

Can I have some views/comments about him for those who have worked with him on your wedding?

Hi guys, i am one of the satisfied and happy couples of novotel in June 2010. My co-ordinator is Kevin and banquet manager is Kelvin. Both are prompt and helpful in their services. The food is really good. So far, positive feedback from my guests. Will definately recommend friends. =)

After a few tele conversation with her, realise she can be blur at times. Her answers to our questions could be irrelevant too.

But overall, she is a nice and patient lady. She will return calls and attend to our emails.

wentan>> huiling's quite prompt in replying mails.. but she kinda blur I guess.. I did not go down to hotel with htb to get the wedding package.. htb went alone. we split the job & banquet stuff he will liaise, but Huiling will sometimes call me to ask me about stuff, that she sent us the contract etc..

in fact I think my htb told her to liaise with him direct.

Huiling is already an assistant manager in the sales team. quite old bird so should be staying for long term with novotel bah.

Hi everyone, I am interested to take up Novotel for my wedding. However, is anyone able to share the pictures of the kind of themes they have? Does anyone knows whether there is a upcoming Wedding show or have I missed it? and how is the bridal suite? is it like the one that is shown in the singapore brides website? My email add is [email protected] Thanks!!!

Hi fangz, u just missed novotel wedding sales 2wks ago. the suite is really nice, call them up to view the suite. next yr novotel will have new theme and backdrop so it will be a fresh experience.

genie>> did they promise that there will be a new theme? seems like no news since the wedding supersale my htb attended end of last yr.. =\

i spoke to both huiling and the banquet manager, they told me they are already shortlisting some prototypes from the vendors which includes new backdrop, dummy cake, etc. huiling told me their management will decide on the new theme in jan11.