Novotel Clarke Quay

hi all...back fr KL yest...hehe..so tire..but njoyed myself..hehe....going to select my photo on 4 sep..excited wor!

thomas:..little maeh..i think alot liao...the lesser the beta..easier to choose n shortlist lor..cos i dun wan to add lor..hehe..ya..

that's good pris...

hannah, in view of those extra charges laid down by COMPASS, I think he already tried his best not to increase too much liao...don't forget his livelihood is at stake too if he increases by too much.

why u wanna know pris?

I think its their regular contracted one...no idea what name though. u may wanna ask HL or Jack to find out?

Hi BTBs,

Wanna warn you to be alert during your wedding because Novotel's service is really lousy. Our wedding in January was really a bad experience. Our coordinator was changed x3 and everything was messed up! Up till now, Novotel's management have not gave us a satisfactory reply nor compensation. We're very dissapointed with the service offered to us.

Before your wedding, make sure that the following items are checked:
1) March-in song. Make sure their system can play your song before your actual day.
2) Reception setups. Ensure that you/helpers personally check the reception setup is correct, including the banquet table setups.
3) March-in special effects. Remind the coordinator of the type of special effects you have requested.
4) Wine coordinator. Must follow up closely with wine/beer supplies.
5) Check if there's any ROM near your banquet. Else, the guests from the ROM will just mix into your reception area. Novotel's stuff will NOT do anything about the other guests mixing it!

So ensure that your helpers arrive early and help to do all the checks to ensure your wedding will run smoothly.

twinkle:..ur banquet is at cinnamon rm is it?..thanks for ur info..dun get to upset la..over liao..we human nt perfect..sure bound to hav some faults lor...even if hw much u prepared the things b4 hand..still..it might crop up too..like player cannot play..but juz nw is ok when testing..ya lor..cos nt without our control..as long we did our best lor..its okie..ya..so cheer up!

hannah>> yeap.. think everywhere will have problems..

but its a good reminder to be alert and get some help frm friends so that u wun get flooded with too many things to handle!

Ways to beat the problems!
1) March-in song - Get someone to sing for ur march in! Unless the person got sore throat..
2) Reception setups. - Best is get ur buddies to reach early to check, and to be there with when u liaise before the actual day cos' they nv noe what's on ur mind till they see u and ur expectations on site.
3) March-in special effects. - U are the best effect! dun need special effect!
4) Wine coordinator. - Get all the free flow package/ free wine per table.. no need to monitor..
5) Check if there's any ROM near your banquet. - get ur brothers to be the "cordon party" and have a dress theme so that u can identify ur guests (not applicable to uncooperative guests!)

joyle, u no need to sleep one ah? haha

twinkle, sorry to hear of your experience, I also had some teething probs during my AD also, I was pretty upset over it too.

Has anyone solemnise just before the wedding dinner at the function room or the outdoor area at Level 5?
I will be having my solemnisation at probably around 6pm before the dinner start. Still haven't decide to have it at the function room or the outdoor area. Anyone has solenmise before at the outdoor area? Care to share your experience? Thanks.

Was having a hard time to select the food for my food tasting. Look thru the forum,understand the yam ring is nice, beside this any other recommendation for other dish?

Also, for flower or crystal theme, what are the choice available for eg for flower can I ask for lily beside rose ?

hello all..hehe..hmm..went to meet kevin yest...thank god..he will follow up wit us until our AD lor..hehe..hmm..we set for our food tasting liao..will be on 23 sep lor..woo...so excited lor...this few days busy lor..cos need to settle things lor..asking our guest who can come or nt lor..the worst things is that my hospital annual d&d clashes wit my AD lor..hehe..ya..

joejoy:..i think can mix the theme of flower n cystal lor..cos the theme focus on the 6 stands beside the "the path" for us to march in lor..hehe..yeap..cos i saw the pics yest lor..

eve:..tht is great..once u decide..juz b happy wit wat u gt..cos sure gt pple will agree wit ur choice n nt agree lor..the most imp is u n ur htb like lor..yeap..i like their deco la..n the ballroom..yeap..

will b going ofr my food testing on 23rd sep lor..hehe..

hey hannah, how is your dieting going....got ur PS pics le mah? if possible, can i get a sneak peek... heee

eve, novotel is ok and menu is in the affordable range budget. I think the decor is quite ok.. u getting the cinnamon ballroom or phoenix ballroom? I think the stage deco for cinnamon is nicer, but both have the same decor for flower or crystal theme. u can get them to mix for u as well...

something nice is that they have place setting for all the tables, so it look quite special since most other hotels don't offer this... :D

So far, i found Huiling very helpful and patient with me although my wedding is only in May 2011 and I have been bugging her about alot of things heee...

after the hooha which happened on my wedding day, remember?? I gave her my feedback and told her I hope it won't happen to future NCQ couples again.

pris:...my dieting is so gd so far..nw 56..2 more kg to go..ya...gt 3 more months to work wit..oh my PS was gd..but haven choose photo yet..this sat going to choose..yeap..hehe..hmm..my is grand phoenix ballroom..both the stage deco is the same..that is wat i heard fr my co-ordinator kevin..yeap..haha..nw we calling pple whether they coming for our dinner..juz realise that our table might b more than 40 lor..luckily we ge the grand ballroom..hehe...

thomas, ooo she was handling yours? i think she has been pretty good so far

hannah, enjoy ur picking process, try to go early cos u could be spending a long time ... other btb feedback - 3-4hrs... :D

my fren formula - take off, deduct and continue to reduce... ahahahahah

shawnnkalyn: i had my ROM b4 e banquet.. initially we ask for e outdoor venue but after viewin it twice, we decide to do it in 1 of e function room (clove room was assign to us which s next to cinnamon room).. we decide to hav it indoor s bcos no sound system provided, got 2 big canvas @ e outdoor area which cant b remove, lots of leaves on e floor (dependin on season), 'hot' (afraid of sweatin cos e makeup need to last till nite)... so it really depends on wat u wan...

brandon: e food s by dragon phoneix restaurant.. generally e fd review s gd for most couples but sometimes they oso had bad food review or food serve s cold.. it really depends on e guest n chef tt day.. mine was gd.. i find cinnamon room cosy if u hav less than 25 tables..

depending on ur budget, tink crown plaza (@ T3?) s more x...

-> Cheer, infact we are looking ard around 20-21 table which is a pretty good number for cinnamon room. wanted phoenix but not enuff guests.

double check, will there be sound system for the function room used for solemnization.

Hi Cheer,

Thanks for sharing. Personally I quite like the outdoor feel. So tentatively told my coordinator to reserve the outdoor venue with the function room as backup. My wedding is in dec so we are also afraid that the outdoor area might be messy if the weather is not good. Anyway, we will decide on that day since we still have a function room for backup.
As for the sound system, I thought the hotel would still be able to provide basic system like the mic even at outdoor?

pris: yes, HL was my coordinator.

brandon: I took Cinnamon also, nice cosy ballroom. Food was good on my AD, my guests all loved it.

prisci11a: thanks girl! I saw the menu and like what is being offered hope it tastes as good as well. Friend showed me a video of a banquet in novotel and it looks kinda plain so I am worried. Maybe cos the wedding was in the afternoon so it might be too bright to see the effects. Somemore read about feedbacks from some pple here and thomas as well so kinda worried too.

plain? ok for me really but one man's meat is another man's poison.

mine was a wedding lunch also.

to be fair, mine was an isolated case I believe, can only blame it on my luck. NCQ has promised me to be more vigilant for future couples already. Other than that unfortunate incident, I was overall quite happy with how my AD went on that day.

u are welcome...no other place offers such a value for money package to be honest...I like the exclusive foyer area also.

eve, choose something that you are comfortable with .... think about your budget, your requirements for the venue and also how is the food.... what are the other places u have shortlisted?

there are always going to be some small hiccup...does not matter which hotel or restaurant u finally choose. all we can do is try to do what we can to cover all base and leave everything to your trusted jiemei n xiong di on the AD, and if something does go wrong, blame it on murphy's law....

**also ask both set of parents for theier opinion, so as to avoid headache from the parents side later... as i did with my mum.. about the hotel not having a proper lobby, about not having my wedding at a more atas hotel..

Seem like great feedback here.

i shld be planning for a wedding lunch as well but will include solemanization and customary all in the early morning. hopefully it will not be too rush.

any one here has a time schedule guide for me?

lunch with solemnization will be a bit rushed, I did my ROM a year earlier so timing for me just nice.

unless u wanna go gatecrashing/fetching of bride earlier? I did mine ard 7am+

oic, was thinking might have to leave home much much earlier like 5-6am, if not will be too rush and also wondering can the photographer and videographer able to do express service for lunch viewing not.

I left my house at 6.50am thereabouts, reached wife's place at 7.10am and proceeded to play gatecrashing.

most PGs/VGs can't rush out in time for express highlights, I've asked before but some claim they can. How true is that, I dunno.

brandon, i saw a rushed express highlights done before, is not nice... VG did a rush editing in 1 hr cos my frens really wanted the express, but he did warn them that it will not look as good as what he normally did... so i think better not to have express highlights... waste $$ and later u may not be happy with the product

yeah, I opted out of express highlights, got a small discount from my VG and ended up he took his time to do up a very nice normal highlights DVD for me =)

pris: thanks for your advice (: Haha I have shortlisted many - novotel, M hotel, Amara Singapore, copthorne king, mandarin orchard and intercon

eve, that one not call short list... that one call shopping around.... check out the menus and go see the places, i enjoy that best after choosing wedding gowns... ahahaha..... see which u love best ba.... sometimes, once u go to the hotel, it will just feel right for u

for me i like intercon & mandarin better, not counting NCQ lah... haven been to king, so i will not know... amara same complaint as NCQ for parking cos they share paring lot with a shopping center... if is weekend, Amara is ok cos not many ppl go there shopping ...ahahaha
but M hotel & Amara are impossible to get cab after dinner...

thanks for the feedback, in that case can only show the montage.

was wondering for the AD photography, maybe can show in raw format?

-> went to M hotel today and they mention that for montage clip, still need to pay music license if we DIY.

We chosen phoenix ballroom. But now headache on our tables. Not sure if able to reach 30. Die liao. That time when we book didn't really count how many tables. Roughly estimate that we had around 30. And I really like the ballroom. So we just book lor. Now some of my friends say they going overseas during that period as they already booked during the Natas travel fair recently. So guess we had to prepare a few $k lost...

hi all...wah..suddenly alot of pple..heh...hmm..2 months 25 days to AD...hmm..going to choose photo this sat...haha..so looking forward lor..

express highlight need at lesat 6 hrs to do lor..i engage my VG to do one..yeap..which mean by 1pm he hav to leave n edit lor..hehe..yeap..

brandon:..the DIY montage have to check wit compass..apparently they only represent certain recording body lor..have to check under the terms n condition part in the form..cos my HTB almost pay them..then realise the song we using..they dun represent the recording company lor..so we didn't pay..yeap..but however..we have to get permission to use from the recording company lor..luckily we use christian song..so dun need pay..

kalyn:..my situation is oppsite fr u..my is nw we hav more than 30 tables..luckily we gt the grand phoenix ballroom lor..may hav more than 40 tables lor..after calling pple whether thay coming to confirm our guest list lor..haha..going to ask more perks fr NCQ wit the increase of confirm tables lor..haha..

hmm..nw..going to print invites next wk lor..both church n dinner..