Novotel Clarke Quay

hi all...this whle on leave lor...juz finish packing my stuff..cos tml going for my church camp..4 days 3 nite at batam...hehe..yeap...will only b back on fri lor...take care everyone..cya on fri!

prisc and thomas:..thanks...i will jia you one...2months more to PS...ya..hehe..

wedding soon: hmm..i didn't get master la..but we choose that date is near our anniversary date lor..hehe..yep..then b4 we when to sign wit NCQ..we confirm tat the day is still available lor...most imp is tat u muz have a fewa dates in date..so u can have option lor..yeap...

danny: I consulted the resident master in this forum, David Tong. He's very fast and prompt in his replies be it emails or smses. U can look for him in "Advice from the Experts" column.

joyle: I attended one of my fren's wedding at the Regent...the food was horrible. For that kinda price, I feel he was ripped off.

janel: usually they will advertise in their website, just keep a lookout. link is above which I've cut and pasted.

thomas, how come regent food no good? I been to 4 - 5 wedding there already and always the food had been perfect!! That must have been a down day

special22, every hotel got its good days and bad days, I also got bad reviews about NCQ before also.... so hard to say ba...i picked NCQ cos the package was a budget.... Regent was out of budget for me.....

go take a look at both places, see what you like... and weigh what is impt to you ba...make sure you include both sets of parents in your final decision too... save u some trouble later on...

priscilla>> i wanted to comment that regent is abit too atas to compare with NCQ, but suprisingly, the 2010 package is comparable leh.. just that NCQ got 3 different packages...

my friend jus went for a wedding at NCQ, she say food not so fantastic, but i told her probably cos' she compared with another wedding somewhere else with like 10plus tables lesser..

So.. overall, many factors play a part i guess..

pris: ya that day the food was horrible...most of the dishes were cold. Plates weren't changed.

took me ard 3mths by sticking to a very intensive exercise regime and also dieting...not easy cos hunger pangs were terrible when they came =)

Joyle, are you sure, i saw the regent set was exceeding 1k leh...that was why i crossed it off my list leh....

thomas, pengz.... 3 mths and you already lost 7kg!! I now coming to 1 month and have lost nothing...
need to pound the running tracks harder....

pris: cos my regime very intensive...I doubt u can take it.

go easy on urself when losing weight...its better to lose it healthily than anything else. rem, dun overdo it otherwise may turn out worse.

Thomas >> Is it common for NCQ to have super sale promo during June every year? Cos my AD gonna be 2012 so I can't enjoy the promo yet
Care to elaborate your exercise regime?

ALL >> My hubby and I went to dine at Dragon Phoenix restaurant randomly. The food was good. But I guess it really depends on your luck hw's the food during banquet night

ctrus: no idea, but they seem to have it for 2yrs running so far. ur AD so far back?

my regime?

400 situps, 400 tummy crunches daily
weekends 3.2km run
no soft drinks, fried stuff
carbo foods cut
lots of plain water
no supper
half a bowl of rice at most once daily

that's all I can rem =)

danny: we did occassionally flip e ablum n oso use some of e pics to do up a calendar so every mth got chance to take a look... we onli top up $500 which s with our budget..

thomas: ya, enjoy my honeymoon jus like u enjoy urs
jus came back last sun...

mmmm, strange.. still unable to view e photo tab...

hakodate s a veri nice place, worth to visit... personally feel tt their nite view s nicer than HK... mornin market oso has lotsa stuff to buy n eat as there r eateries n restaurant nearby, we had a hokkaido crab there.. can consider self drive next time u go.. e road s easy to drive....

hope both u n lingling r ok now....

sunshine: its best to bring both parents chinese name character there in case u r unsure n oso to let them know if ur grandparents r still alive as they may 4got to chk wif u... we only happen to know when we ask where some inserts got sdditional wordings b4 parents know...

hannah: glad tt u found ur WG... hopefully u can find ur EG soon too... enjoy ur church camp!

me oso went to c master tang for dates... but understand tt his price has increase fro e last time i visited him....

Janel>> hi, I didn’t go, my htb went alone to get the date cos’ I wanted NCQ after looking at the ballrooms of those I shortlisted.

Most of the stuff are quite fixed, like maybe 5% more for parking, 10% more for cards. From what I observe, mine is Pleasure package, so didn’t get some perks which they gave to the Destiny/Eternity Package. But they upgraded my fish without extra cash, comparably, the rest of the dishes can be changed to be like the Destiny package (that is if you are looking at a cheaper package and probably LESSER perks).

I think another BTB got extra nite (Destiny Package)  Pris, issit you?

Priscilla>> I also thot so, so was quite curious how come special22 compared both.. their cheapest not as affordable as NCQ lah, the mid range is around NCQ’s.. hee~ but at least the price is somewhere ard NCQ, they do have 1k range as well.. I compared the 2010 package. Maybe 2011 increase by A LOT… =)

Ctrus>> my htb went for the oct/nov one last yr.. u probably will get to go for the next one within this year. Or just go and check things out.. they will show you the room too.. basically the super sale is kinda like those holiday fair.. just explanation and booking.. very lil’ to view.. not like normal bridal/hotel show.

thomas>> i think i need to report sick the nex day if do 400 tummy crunches.. =P

cheer: where are the pics!!! haha

glad u enjoyed ur HM...was it still cold there? ya, next time will self-drive there liao...prob go with my SIL and her hubby, then can share one car hehe.

joyle: LOL...wun lah...

danny: NCQ thread has got the most replies so what do u think? =)

Thomas : gd to have so many ppl sharing info at this thread...i actually got go view novotel. Location wise was kind of inconvenient for guest to reach so drop from our list.

actually quite ok...for those taking mrt, just get off from clarke quay station and walk...at most 15mins to reach.

budget and the private foyer area won me over in the end so I was willing to forego the location part.

Joy, yup i getting the destiny package.

perks i got extra at BOWS 2010: 2 free tables, cos i have 35 min table and an extra night stay at novotel.
the rest is std "perks"...... NCQ is super niao and hardly flexible for bargaining... :p

for regent:i was looking at weekend package for dinner with the big ballroom cos i have 35 tables...couldn't fit into the smaller rms....price the hotel gave was more around $1.2k a table ....

weddingsoon, i think the main pain for NCQ is the congestion to get into the carpark cos of all the tour buses that block up the area dropping tourists off at clark quay.... i think i have to say i hate tour bus drivers who happily stop whereever they like....

So pissed with them cos this morning there was a tour bus that stopped in the middle of the public bus stop and completely ignore all the horns from the SBS bus driver, end up the SBS bus drivers all had to make so much effort to turn out on the congested road at outram station..... and not like the stupid tour bus had a punctured tire, engine breakdown, accident or anybody feeling sick.. is just pure inconsiderate behaviour...

Weddingsoon, i took up seletar bridal... but i will reccomend to go Malaysia to check out as well...... cos they offer pkgs at the same price buy in MYR.... You can try the area around taman sentosa... alot of BS there!!!! I have a few friends that signed up for their package in JB and it turned out really well..... haiz.... if i only thought of thay earlier... :p

those BS at City Square also look good...saw when I was printing my invites there. Only if you don't find a hassle gg in and out of JB, thats all.

Hi NCQ brides,

My big day is drawing near and am going for my food tasting next week. I read in previous post that the yam ring is good.

What else is good?
Which dish isn't that impressive?

hi flower,

nice to hear from u again! haha

other than the yam ring, the roasted chicken with garlic is nice too! Dishes which I found so-so only during my food tasting were the dessert and noodles.

the rest basically were ok.

flower, no prob haha...wedding over liao, quite free also other than doing household chores LOL.

I think just leave the noodles as it is otherwise ur guests may feel hungry since there's no rice...I replaced the spinach with conpoy with yam ring though.

how's ur wedding preps btw? enjoy ur food tasting!

Thanks thomas! Replacing the spinach sounds like a good idea. I just hope my future FIL will NOT go for the higher price menu.

Can you recall how much it cost to purchase wine from the hotel and cost of getting a day room?

iirc, wine costs $23 from the hotel.

they offered me 2 types of rooms that time, one superior and the other deluxe (I think).

cheaper one is $180++ and the other is $205++. Rates may have changed now, do check with ur coordinator again.

on a sidenote, I still have quite a lot of red wine leftover after my wedding, if u are interested I can sell it to u cheaply since they are using the same type also (no mix n match so no worries haha)

let me know ya?

I'm holding my AD banquet next year at NCQ!
Actually I've never been there or experienced a wedding there but my bf had, and he was full of praises for that place. We even changed out wedding dates just to get NCQ.

Anyway, please share what foods are good. I haven't decided on menu or anything yet; basically just booked it only.

Hi Thomas, thanks for the replies. HL is on leave. Will call Jack tomorrow to ask about the rooms. I think a couple of my friends want to get the rooms too. It's their SOP to stay at the hotel and attend wedding. haha. I'll ask HTB abt the wines cos hotel corkage is already $15, seems cheaper to just get from hotel. i might be wrong.

brendancer - we have not attended any weddings there too. The generally good reviews about NCQ food was also a deciding factor. Cos our fathers are particular about food and felt 'face' will be lost if we didnt serve guests with good food.

flowerbride>> my friend jus went for a NCQ wedding 2 wks ago, she say the sharksfin not starchy, but nt much sharksfin.. hah~ u can comment that.. she said the steamed prawns was good, jus that it was a hassle to peel..

brendancer~>> welcome to the NCQ family... you got to check out the ballrooms, cos' for the space, pillarless and spacious ballrooms, its really value for money.. hah~ need to convince urself too...

thomas>> check with u.. u replaced the dishes before u went for tasting?

bren: hey welcome to the NCQ family! Think I've spoken to u before if u can remember

U've made the right choice, NCQ is value for money! My own wedding just over in March and I still have a lot of fond memories left behind

As for the food, u can take ur time to read thru the archives, a lot of feedback from us esp after food tasting and our AD banquets =)

flower: no prob...I also booked a few rooms for my overseas relatives that time too.

u are right...food no good u will be remembered for a long, long time...sad but true. Older ppl will also curse and swear hahaha...

joyle: I had the chance to taste the sharksfin during my wedding (one of the 2 dishes I got to eat haha), it was nice! loads of fins contrary to what ur fren said =) The steamed prawns was good, but we also thought it was a hassle to peel so in the end we changed it.

nope, I replaced the dishes after food tasting.

Morning!

Aiyah, my HTB already changed a few items with dishes from the Eternity package liao. He opted for the wok fried prawns instead of steamed prawns and some other fish. And so weird, for appetizer, century eggs is one of his choices. I don't know anyone who will like century eggs. hahaha. Maybe I'm the weird one. Okie, for the dessert, he actually chose the sweet tea!

thomas: too many pics so will need some time to upload.... e weather s still cold range fro 10 - 22 degree in hokkaido... tokyo s 10 degree warmer..

flower: e yam ring n crispy chix s nice... we oso quite like e fish wif traditional sauce... u can consider swopin e yam ring wif prawn wif e prawn dish if u wan to save e hasslze of peeling prawns.. but i find e steam prawn fresh n nice... or swop yam ring wif vegetable stuffin wif e vege dish but 4 tis option till need to top up $5... 4 us, we swop wif e vege dish...

joyle: if u confirm wan to change e dish, can let ur coordinator know n hav it 4 ur food tastin, if u r unsure then go wif std menu n swop later.. but then u wont get to taste the dish...

brendancer: weldome! believe u wil hav a memorable weddin @ NCQ too!

flower: tink elderly like century egg ;) younger generation either like it or hate it... in this case, s it cheaper to jus get e eternity package if u r to compare topping up e price diff?

when we want food tasting tt time, e manager was sharin abt dessert choice.. elderly like yam paste, youngster prefer mango pomelo sago.. 4 couples who dun hav tea ceremony, they will choose sweet tea, which has e meaning as serving 'tea' to e guest... jus 4 sharin

btw, e food s by 'long feng qui jia', an old famous restaurant brand in e 80s n early 90s... tink mos elderly wil know this name...

flower: ur worries are not unfounded...not many ppl like to eat century eggs. Sweet tea? haven't tried that before so no comments.

cheer: I understand hahaha...that time it took me quite a while also to upload all the pics. So got try for Hokkaido bb? haha

the yam ring with prawn is nice...I changed to that too. We actually had the yam ring with veg stuffing, find it not bad during food tasting but MIL wanted to change to prawn stuffing cos she found it like loss of face to let our guests eat, so no choice.

and yes, dragon phoenix rest quite famous in the olden days...the older gen love their food apparently.

hi cheer and thomas!

So I'm not the weird one
I'll ask him about his rationale for choosing century eggs and sweet tea. Honestly, I like yam so i dont mind yam paste but of cos prefer mango pomelo sago. maybe since we are having the yam ring, then don't serve yam paste.

Cheer: thanks for sharing the meaning on sweet tea. I somehow find it 'cheap', maybe cos it's not substantial, it's just water. Unless bubble tea with pearls. Haha. I'm going bonkers.

Oh, do you guys know the colour choices for table linen? I think I must tell either Jack or HL not to mention red linen cos my MIL n FIL loves all the red red stuff. I love red but for the entire ballroom to be red is not me. Red is my parents in law default colour. They even dictated red for wedding cards. Also dont know why they want to stick their arms and legs in my preparation. My family is more contemporary thus my wedding cards came in 2 colours. Red for his family and Creme for my family. For my own friends, I designed something different, just to better reflect my personality and make myself happy. So..I have 3 versions of wedding cards..

flower: yeah...too many yam dishes will make ur guests very full also.

colour choices got a few only, either red/silver/gold or bronze. LOL...older ppl sure like red cos its auspicious colour...wun go wrong with that haha.

thanks for ur compliments

thomas, very impressed!! you record everything leh.... i dun even remember half the things you updated ...zzzz..... and also photos to record the special memories... soooo sweet

flowerbride, i'm just opposite, i m thinking of going all red, red table cloth, red wedding cards, but yellow flowers for the contrast and also give fruit cake in little red boxes ... thinking of doing it super chink style... scared my htb & mum half to death..
cos most weddings we attend have a more up to date colour scheme... hahahah ... now need to work on hard to get a figure that can fit into a super sexy gold cheong sam and den i'm set.... ahahahahaha

pris: thanks...I like to remember all those important milestones in our lives so just 'recorded' them on our webby

hahahaha too red will look like fire station also...maybe u can mix some colours to diffuse the redness?

how far off are u to achieve ur hourglass figure? haha. I think my wife looked great in her pink CS that day...my PG was commenting how slim she was!

Back. Busy with my company exhibition for next week. Today Friday hope can ciao earlier after work. Didnt read finish what written inside. Seems like now more happening..

Thomas u have ur blog. I like to see. Can send me the link?

prisi11a, you are indeed the opposite
yellow flowers with red sounds nice. But, do we get to choose flowers? Or determined by hotel florist? I'm clueless. Your 'super chink' wedding sounds very va va voom and sexy! I'm more of the english garden party type of girl. But the parents in law want the big traditional sit down dinner type. Maybe at my 10th year anniversary I do my garden party celebration just to compensate for the wedding that became his 'parents events' hehe.

Thomas, your wifey is so slim.

HI ALL,

Thomas: Of Course I remember you!! Now I'm happily planning for my ROM (17/02/11) and AD (03/09/11) and the best thing: BF is participating! Hehehe. It was definitely great talking to you.

OK, if most people say food is good then I'm more assured. hahahaa. I'm also considering what colour theme to choose. I know there are flower stands vs crystal stands for the deco; think flowers are more popular?? THe crystals look abit "cold" to me, so definitely not my choice. I think they have a royal purple theme too-sounds good as well. =)

How about the wedding favours? I heard there are heart-shaped playing cards!! That's like freaking cool lah! I've had enough of key-chains, shot-glass and luggage tags. hahaha

flower: I think u can tell HL abt the colours u want...I rem my wife told her abt it also.

thanks for the compliments abt my wife...she eats like a mouse really.

bren: hey so happy for ya! see, we told u not to worry...all's well that ends well

dun worry abt the food...mine was wonderful during my AD. My guests all commented it was nice too...right now u can only choose btw flower or crystal theme, I chose the crystal one for mine. U can check with ur coordinator (HL or Jack?) if there are any new themes coming soon?

as for wedding favours, I chose the couple plate and matching 'xi' chopsticks...all my guests took home theirs! I was hoping for extras so that I can bring home to use but no more....hhahahahaha.....

flower: they have other favours to choose from of cos but we found this the most practical ones...somemore can bring home to use.

NCQ changes wedding favours from time to time...maybe by the time u get to choose urs, u will have even better stuff haha.