Novotel Clarke Quay

pris: ic.... if its ur mum, tink its easier to tok to her... mayb can let her know tt mos of ur friend know where u r havin ur weddin, ur in-laws r ok, etc... mayb u can take her to NCQ when there s a weddin n show her e banquet area, mayb her opinion may change aft viewin e place? cos rarely got hotel has ur own recep area esp if they hav a few ballroom...

hi all.so busy recently lor..hehe..hmm..yeap..thinking of going to New Zealand for HM..cos i like scecery ma..hehe...yeap..

Sunshine:...oh i go see their pics n deco..also went to discuss the menu...but haven decide or giv any deposit lor..hehe..juz looking...but more or less will go for mum's kitchen la..cos they work wit church sanctuary deco too..so i like..but we only book the date..yeap..mayb nearer to AD then giv deposit lor..hehe..

Pris:..i agree wit cheer...see beta than "imagining"..cos when see then they will know hw it look..at first my future in law and my sis dun like..later they find it okie lor...as my sis..i bring down to see the ballrm..then happen tat gt a wedding dinner..so see saw the place..n say its nice..n change her idea of NCQ..yeap..cos it really look veryclassic when they put up the deco lor..so juz bring them down to NCQ to see..n show them the prices of the "good" hotel they have in mind..to show that the prices is really ex lor..ya..

ctrus>> not too sure how much they spent. but they drove themselves, free and easy and were there for quite long!

sunshine>> take time to look through the menu first lor... dun stress! i also need to get caterer for my ROM, most likely 2, 1 halal and 1 not, but will just settle them bout 1 1/2 months before ROM.

pris>> u try to find out what she find NCQ lacking and tackle the issue? maybe she got some other concerns, like friends tell her some stuff or things like that...

Hi everyone morning....

Went for check up yesterday.Everything's good so can plan for Bb anytime if we want.

Cheer: thanks.. Looking forward now..

pris: yes joyle is right. Just check what she is lacking for. Previously my MIL oso, asking us abt the lobby whenever we select a hotel. She doesnt like NCQ but my hubby inform her that, "Are u choosing a nice lobby which you are going to stay there for 5 mins or a ballroom for 3 hrs?" Until she got nothing to say. Inform her abt ur budget. Let them know abt it.

lingling: ur medical report so fast know oledi?

joyle: mayb u can chk out e caterer promo if u hav keen ones... tt time i use neo garden, if book 2 mths in advance, got 20& disc compare to e promo if i book 1 mth in adv... so it wld b better to chk out now if u hav keen ones...

Having a healthy baby means making sure you're healthy, too. One of the most important things you can do to help prevent serious birth defects in your baby is to get enough folic acid every day — especially before conception and during early pregnancy.

cheer: i check on my previous case. yes fast but ex. went to thomson medical there.

ctrus: yes truth. i oso try to cut down on my coffee..

lingling, fwah......so fast already start, not going to enjoy er ren shi jie for a bit?

joyle, like lingling MIL, she also dun like the lobby on the ground floor and that there is no valet service...... as for budget, she suddenly decided to offer to help pay for the dinner expenses if we change hotel... but i dun want that as we already decided before that all the costs will be shared betw the 2 of us lor....

ling: then u can start takin folic acid every am now... me oso jus started takin...

pris: in tis case, mayb can chk wif her wat hotel she propose n e cost tt she s willin to come up wif... then aft doin e calc, let her know y u r not keen in changin n e pros n cons.. @ least show her tt u did make some effort to compare her choice n ur choice... mayb by then she s more willin to take ur suggestion aft seein tt u put in effort to source n compare... can oso let her know tt friends AP may not b able to cover cost if u all choose a high end hotel, @ least NCQ losses s within ur means..

believe ur mum oso wont wan u to b in debts aft ur weddin...

Morning all.. Lazy Monday Blue..

cheer: are u taking medicine for the folic acid or intake of food?

Btwn my finally long wait of photos are out.. But i'm too lazy to upload now..

hihi all:

Pai sai MIA for so long...wow thomas gg to hokaido...hmm so envy

hi lingling and cheer...u should start taking folic acid 3mth b4 and aft conceive shld take 4 another 3mth....ya i also went to thomson woman clinic to check up...hmm cost a a few hundred...
but still think it best to do check up...
gg for my 2nd gyne appt early next mth...

the folic acid is in a form of pill abt 5mg per day intake...

Cheer / lingling, if is just money... i can say i cannot afford it... but she offered to pay for the wedding dinner.. which would have been great to hear before i signed on with NCQ... but not now, when i already signed up lo...

anyway, i brought her to dragon phoenix for lunch yesterday... she say the food ok, but quite salty... but the ball room not bad.. only the chandaliers very old fashion...haven really said anything else, so maybe she will let us have it at NCQ .... hahahahah

shirley: yes yes few hundred but worth the price.so the pill is recommend by doctor?

pris: salty??? then when during food tasting u have to feedback and ask them take note. As what i said before, everyone taste is different. Some more on dat day there are like how many ppl, u cant suit everyone. But since she ok shld not be problem. Juz relax...

hihi ling...yes is recomm by doc...One of the most important things you can do to help prevent serious birth defects in your baby is to get enough folic acid every day — especially before conception and during early pregnancy

Shirley: Long time no see! Are you pregnant? If yes, congrats! hehe..

BTW Cheer/Shirley/Ling, what does folic acid comprises of? Is it to stabilize pregnancy condition? This is the first time i heard of folic acid

pris: from what you said, it seems like your mum is trying to compromise (though a lil' unwilling for now) and try to see in ur point in view, which is good news!
Hopefully soonish she will fully support your idea happily and willingly ^_^

hihi sunshine...yup yup

Folic acid, also known as folate or folacin, is one of the B group of vitamins, also known as B9. Your body needs it to produce red blood cells, as well as norepinephrine and seratonin (chemical components of the nervous system. It helps make DNA (the body's genetic material), which normalises the brain's functions, and is a critical component of spinal fluid. Folic acid is also one of the few nutrients known to prevent neural tube birth defects, such as spina bifida

lingling: dun understand wat u mean by medicine or intake of food.. but i understadn fro friends n e unity parchamist, tt if we plan to hav to get pregnant, we can still takin 1 pill every am aft breakfast... it can prevent birth defect... cos it may take us a few wks to realise we r pregnant... last time s take e folic acid when u r pregnant but e advice now s can start takin when we plan to get pregnant..

shirley: CONGRATS!!! how many mths oledi? thanks 4 e info!

pris: tt's gd news! @ least her perception change a bit... may hav a chance she will let u hav it @ NCQ..

ling n shirley: how much s e chk up package? me now sourcin which 1 to go to... hubby say its better to go to e 1 tt we plan to 'give birth' @..

folic acid can b bought from pharmancy, got mine @ unity.. a box of 100 pills cost few $, tink s less than $5.. but of course there r oso more x ones sellin @ GNC, etc....

hihi cheer

is 9week liao...but still consider lucky cos i dun hv any morning sickness but oni very bad headache and want to faint in the initial part where i still dun know tht i pregnant.
when 4 my 1st gyne check up end of last mth.Doc say the heartbeat is Ok and healthy(8.99mm). gg for blood test next week.

I think i pay aby 200-300 for the check up if i remember correct cos was in 2008 (1yr b4 my wedding). I went to tiong bahru thomson woman clinic.

wow cheer

u got the folic acid is cheap...i saw a GP 1st to confirm the pregnancy b4 i went down to a gyne...the GP give me 3mth supply of folic acid and chg me $15 (your 100pcs @ $5...mine $15 abt 90pcs)

Not sure abt you gals but majority of my frds/relatives all are Thomson Medical Centre's patients... ahaha heard they're good and price competitive to Govt hosp (or even better) too

pai seh busy this morning till now.. raining feel like sleeping..

cheer: oh i search internet some food got folic acid so wondering is intake by pills or food. Mine no package. I just go and check. Mine ard $250. Yes at thomson medical clinic and need to advance booking. Waited for 1 mth as i want that gynae. My frien recommend me. what brand for the folic acid u are eating now? Maybe weekend i go and take a look...

shirley>> congratS! so happy to hear ppl expecting.. my colleague also broke to me news that she's expecting when I tell her i very stress, like super stress-reliever!

Ladies, actually folic acid, cheap or expensive, the effect is the same, so the pharmacy ones are cheap and as effective! and yah! good for those prepping to become mothers!

actually taking folic acid normally also no harm, some docs prescribe to slightly mal-nutrition patients..

pris>> hope everything goes well for u.. go for the best Win-Win solution!

hi gal

hv u all heard of the chinese an tai yao = shi san tai bao (which my friend say is good for an tai)...hmm but i m a bit worry...is it OK???
nv try chinese herb b4

shirley, congrats !!!!!! happy pregnancy, glad everything has been going well with you

Lingling, jia you leh, hope we hear news from you next yeah!~!

Gals, i'm keeping my fingers cross....she did mention that she want to add suckling pig and she will pay for it... so maybe she ok with NCQ already just want to make the dinner look more expensive with a pig at every table... heeee

keeping my fingers cross and double crossed that she will not bring up change of hotel again.....

thk priscilla, lingling and thomas

thomas: how is your honeymoon??? is it fun???
must load pic for our see ho in FB....thanks
actually i m consider lucky...cos i dun hv any sign of morning sickness...saw some comment on the singapore motherhood forum..cos MTB hving terrible MS till throw out blood...cos she vomit too much till her throat can't take it...poor thing isn't it...let pray for all MTB hv a smooth pregnancy

shirley: oic... tink nowadays rarely heard ppl got am sickness...
wow... tt's x, mayb e clinic need to earn some $$ for rental, etc..

lingling: mine s bought @ unity (pharmacy by NTUC)... recommended by a colleague cos she say it doesn really matter which pharmacy i go n buy n e $ since their function/purpose s e same...

ling n shirley: e chk up tt u all did s more of e fertility chk up? or e pre-marriage chk-up?

pris: tt's s gd news for now ;) tink NCQ does hav package wif suckling pig... u may oso to show her e pic from NCQ weddin website... guest has their own personal menu n server plate as compare to most hotel, 1 big menu for all to c n onli change of eatin plate (no server plate)...

thomas: welcome back! u mus hav an enjoyable time there! me lookin 4ward to mine...

shir: it was loads of fun, we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly
I uploaded until I fell asleep last nite cos too many hahaha

dun worry too much, u will have a smooth pregnancy...thanks for the information on folic acid, will tell my wife to take also

cheer: thanks...yup enjoyed ourselves there...u will def enjoy urs too

some tips for u though...bring extra clothings there esp long john...weather altho spring now is very cold still...it rained on 1 day when we were in Sapporo...the rain + cold wind was like someone splashing iced water in ur face hahaha...

also drink lotsa water there cos weather very dry, my wife developed dry cough there and was coughing non-stop
our nose also bled cos too dry le...brings lots of moisturizer and sunblock also. Lastly, have some spare cash if u are planning to get blue/black label hahaha...

Thomas, welcome back
glad that you enjoyed your holiday ..... hokkaido beautiful hor, hope u took a lot of photos!!!!

cheer7, until you mentioned it, i didn't realise that they had that serving plates, thats very nice leh..... yup, i was already getting the menu with the suckling pig in the cold dish but she want to change to a whole pig..... hahahah

lingling, yeah must be relaxed n take it easy or else too stress cannot get pregnant also.... my frens before were so stressed with trying that nothing happened, but once the say forget it... 3 of them got pregnant.... hahahahah......

pris: thanks
yup it was truly beautiful, I even got chance to play with snow even tho it was spring already...yup took a lot of photos, last nite uploading in FB till fell asleep lol. see if tonite can finish then I share with u all

thomas: thanks 4 e info! hope ur wife s better now... did u went tokyo or jus hokkaido? wat s blue/black label?

pris: i oso onli realise it when i c my screen saver photo... hee... i wld say NCQ set-up s quite personalised even 4 guest which s wat we like..

cheer: ya I brought her to see doc the next day after we touched down spore...she's better liao, thanks for asking

we went just hokkaido only cos never been there b4...tokyo all those went before liao so not keen to go again haha. Blue/Black label is from Burberry, u can only get it from Japan

and yes, I ended up with 2 black labels hahaha...

Shirley>> dun stress too much.. my colleague now expecting 2nd one, but she totally different from her first one. 1st one cannot drink cold water, cannot anyhow eat… now she take everything~!

To me, Traditional Chinese Med can be good, but it’s good to check the contents of the medication cos’ different brands have different content. U can google for HSA and check on traditional Chinese medicine to see if the brands are established, remember seeing some pages where they will give u the batch number that has been recalled and things like that..

thomas>> welcome back!! that's a really long break.. haha~

Cheer >> pardon my ignorance but wat server plate are u referring to? izit the waiter will distribute the food portion individually instead of 1 main plate and the guests will take from there?

thomas: glad tt both of u r ok now..... oic... u mean cant pay by card, need to pay by cash? hahah... thanks 3 enlightenin on e blue/black diff... cos i onli heard can blue a available in jap... didn know got black oso...

ctrus: e server plate s a bigger plate where we put the white plate on top, food s serve on e white plate n e server plate more 4 deco purpose... most hotel hav it 4 e VIP table but not e guest table.... whileas NCQ provide it to all table.. not sure if u understand wat i mean.. mayb oso e trem i use not correct, u can look @ e gallery photo of e table setting... http://www.dreamweddingsatnovotel.com/gallery/index.html

cheer: can pay by card of cos, but the exchange rate wun favour u de so better to pay cash.

even if u are not a blue label fan, u can buy there come back then sell...sure got ppl want haha.

btw, forgot to mention there's only one shopping centre in sapporo which sells blue/black label and that's Marui Imai...Daimaru/Esta all those dun have, I asked the retail salesman liao so dun bother gg there to look for it haha.

wow i miss japan too. yes blue label is attractive over there and price is reasonable.

thomas: i cant view ur HM photos. Is it fb got problem again???