Novotel Clarke Quay

thomas - haha no la.. hubby on guard duty...
my dog.. din slp kip walkin ard d bed... din get to slp well... yawn...

the thread have been rather quiet the past few days hor

Thomas, touchwood! No morning sickness already :P Sometimes when i'm too tired, will feel nauseous or faint but managable. I will cry tears of joy when my AD is over...too many problems cropping up from both sides, v tiring to keep solving the problems and entertain them..zzz...Oei, why you go around asking people if they are trying for bb? LOL. Soon, it will be your turn, heh.

hannah, i've added you! I went for gown fitting when i was 5.5mth preg, ok leh...surprisingly don't look pregnant at all esp when i wear the gowns with can-can. But then hor, my waist was 31" lor. Now is 35" liao. Collecting the gowns a few days before my AD, i already called my BS and said now my waist much thicker liao ah, haha. They just told me nvm, go and try again, they will alter on the spot. My teadress is empire-cut thou so that one no worries. I reduced the 9dishes to 8dishes because now my parents want to take back their side of the angbaos, haiz. I worry not enough $ because i'm delivering after CNY already, need to prepare for bb's stuff. But i upgraded the Garoupa to Codfish because during food tasting, really everyone doesn't like the Garoupa lor. Hope i get to taste the codfish!

lilmspep, ya the thought of AD already makes me feel tired. But i will tahan lor...try to keep my mood light and happy so i can get through the whole day...really wish to greet my guests happily else it's like, people bother to dress up and attend your big day and you give an exhausted face, so not nice.

cheeky: lol...actually I wanna try for one asap after AD but wifey wants some private couple time to ourselves first

dun worry, everything will be solved by ur AD so just concentrate on being a happy bride

morn everyone!

Wow chickycheek, urs is just in 2 weeks time! :D try to get lots of rest and take things ez to look radiant on ur big day! If u r worried abt being too tired on ur AD, u can try to see if u can check-in earlier n catch a quick nap first?

morning all...

cheeky - dun worry... tings will fall into place.. Jiayou~~~

thomas - keke... ya i wills till pop in to kpo de heez.....

thanks snowangel for the advise! so glad to hear that man...hehe..

All: I attended a wedding at Novotel yday! haha..some comments and feedback as a guest...

The crystal theme...is quite dangerous lei...cos they have candles dangling at the aisle... so ppl walk pass the crystal and will tend to hit onto it... i was worried that my hair will catch fire...haha.. but i'm more worried when there are kids running around... super dangerous.. luckily yday not much kids...

there is also no floorplan placed outside the ballroom... when i entered the room, i was like looking at each table's table number and trying to find for my table..

food wise was ok... but the food during food tasting and AD is really different.... haha... shark fin was starchy!! during food tasting it was ok one lo... their prawns also not as fresh..

other than that, the rest are fine.. heard some feedback that the venue is quite good.. compared to other hotel ballroom.

I went to a dinner two days ago. The food was horrendous.

Shark's fin was very starchy and no visible shark's fin at all. Everyone tried a sip or two and left it there.

The red garoupa was hard even though it is red garoupa. Nobody cut and divided the fish for us.
Almost the whole fish was left there.

The braised abalone mushroom tasted like plastic. Almost the whole plate was left untouched as well.

Prawns were not fresh for wok-fried prawns.

The two only good food is ee-fu noodles and yam ring.

Nobody dare to tell the couple about the bad food.

Hopefully when it comes to my turn, it will turn out well.

ever - Keke on my weddin day i aso had d crYstal theme... i find it quite ok wor even though my side had quite a num of kids....

snow_angel - omg.. d food was tat bad?
mine still ok wor. alot of guest comment tat d food is gd... mine is rock garoupa n no1 comment tat it is hard at all...

ever: thanks for the FR! think I will settle for flower theme most likely...

snow_angel: that's the prob, very often food tasting and AD will differ. Just have to keep our fingers crossed that on our AD, it will be fine. Can't do anything much other than that.

hmm.. seems that NCQ's food kinda like lucky draw? sometimes lucky everything fine. if not sounds quite a nightmare!

hope to hear better comments on the upcoming weddings!

I think nobody will tell the couple when the dishes were really bad because we do not want to make the couple to feel uncomfortable and embarrassed. I am a person who is not so particular about food and I gave such comments. I can't imagine what my friends would say because there was one who spit the abalone mushroom out and almost vomited out due to the bad plasticky taste. I told my friends if mine is really as bad as that, pls inform me because I am not a person who is scared of embarrassment.

But I heard that her VIP table dishes were pretty good and the fish was literally hot.

hihi everyone m back...hehehe thomas not all married went missing lah...me n lilm still here la...LOL
nvn come in this few days cos is super busy with work...cos year end lor...

hi cheeky...think is better to try the grown again b4 collect...if any diff can alter on the spot...like me alter 1 time during PS then when collection loss weight again hv to alter...

hihi snow...hmm the food is really tht bad...maybe as wht u say guests will not give bad comment...as 4 me i m not very particular abt food most important is the place deco ect...NCQ really give ppl a very cosy feel...so far me and hubby had no regret abt it...

ya ever the candles light seem like quite dangerous...haha cos during AD my theme is red roses stand with mix crystal...the stage backdrop is also crystal deco...so when on the stage during yum seng...haha i notice my EG nearly touch the candles light...lucky saw it LOl cos my EG is also abit of can can feel(those say my FB will know)...

so my advise to all coming bride and groom is no worry and just asign all task to ur jie mei n siong di...just need to smile and smile...cos tht day my jaw nearly drop off....hehehe

shirley>> true.. ha~ most impt is the ambience, cos' we no chance to eat the hot piping food too!

thinking abt asking jiemeis and siongdis to help, but also want them to enjoy... so probably get more friends to divide the job and everyone can have time to catch up with one another...

Same as the others, I also like the ballroom because it's big and pillarless with high ceiling. It gives a warm positive feeling.

If the food can improve, that's the best!

hi everyone, i'm back!! Havent checked here for a long time cos i had a round 2 in KL last wkend. so just came back to work only...

Overall was ok, but there were some cok-ups that night which was quite upsetting. Havent sent my feedback to NCQ yet, been 2 wks :p Kevin was my coordinator. He's ok...but abit too rigid which my coordinators didnt like. Our program got to change becos of him. But overall still ok la..got room for improvement though. Food wise, my parents & relatives complain it was not hot enough. But my colleagues say the noodles, fish and yam paste dessert were very nice. My friends complain the flower stands aong the aisle were too high and block part of their view

To those soon to be married, fret not! NCQ is still a good choice. I love their private reception area and it's really value for money for its location

ixoral: can share with me what cockups u had which upsetted u? u shld send feedback to them and tell them to improve, I know I will.

and what do u mean by ur program gotta change bcos of him? dun get it

hi all, i just had my wedding lunch at novotel on 29th nov, sun. overall, i am quite pleased with their service, though the food standard wasn't as good as food tasting's one.

i especially love the ambiance and the cute dance the waiters and waitress performed during the 1st dish served.

hi wish4ever - congrats on ur wedding.. yes i do agree...

d 1st dish presentation is veri special.. so diff from other hotels.. =)

congrats wish4ver, nice to hear more gd things bt NCQ. =)

hmm... keep seeing ppl post abt the 1st dish "dance"... how's it like actually? my htb is afraid of cheesy songs...

wonder if anyone did first dance at NCQ stage?
probably need parquet flooring, but not sure if the stage can have portion of it with parquet...

hee... me wil oso come in occassionally... cos these few days busy uploading wedding photos so didn come in to chat...

wish4ever n ixoral: congrats!!! finally e day u had been plannin s over ;)

cheekychick: try to relax n hav fun durin ur BIG day... dun let e 'dispute' these few wks affect ur mood...

snow_angel: tt's sound bad for e food... hopefully it wil not happen on ur big day.. believe some of e guests r attendin 2 weddin in e same hotel... hope urs wil b a compensation of e previous round...

joyle_t: actually its just some simple dance steps when they walk in fro e main entrance... u can choose ur 1st dish song or leave it to e hotel... tink e stage will b big enuff to let u hav ur 1st dance as ur steps wil not b small steps..

morning all.......

j0yle_t - dun worry its not cheesy at all... bt hard to explain hw it is like aso lol...

cheer - hi hi cheer u're back keke

i am back!!!! was quite contented with what happened last sunday! the bridal suite was nice with a good view of clark quay! like the cute couple bears!!

our lunch banquet also went smooth, however not enough time to Yum Seng with all the tables, Kelvin who is our banquet coordinator that
day was really helpful and remind us to do this and that, he will help u to lift ur dress when u go up the stage, take drinks for us...
we forgot to take all our songs that we have compile and luckily Novotel have their own songs, if not will be so quiet!!

for the food part, i have some mix reviews from our guests! one say the fish is cold and fishy, one table says the fish is really fresh and nice, however many ppl commented that that proached prawns are really fresh! alot love the Eee-fu noodles!
i can say overall the food is satisfying!

hihi vivi welcome back..saw ur pic in fb...u look so lovely...ur hairdo is very special and nice...did u request fr u MUA or she design it 4 u???
as 4 the bridal suite did u hv the new set up 1???
hmm why is the timing not enough to yum seng with all tables?

hi shirley!! thanks for the compliments!! haha, ya my MUA design it herself, she is really talented! cos i also engaged for my msia banquet, and she try to create a different hairdo for me in the morning and evening!

however for singapore one, there is not much time, thus she just change the accessories for my 2nd march-in.

for the bridal suite, i dunno mine is new or old set-up le.. but mine dun have the ''net'' above the bed. but we like the purple theme, very nice and cosy!!

orh.. haha for the yum-senging, cos we spent too much time on the friend's table, dun have time to toast with my relatives..

wah vivi...nice to hear that everything went smoothly for u...hope mine will be too when my turn comes

just curious, since urs is also lunch like mine, what time did u finish? 4pm? wanna know roughly so that I can plan my 'activities' later hehe

welcome back vivi... =)

o.. light or dark purple?
u nvr request for 2010 theme????

saw ur fotos.. u looked great on tat day =)

Hi Thomas,i never keep track of the time le.. but hear from my collegues, they are at the entrance around 4pm. initially i also tot i can go for dinner with our friends after that, but we are kinda ''drunk'' and tired to go immediately, thus we slept until 11pm then we went out. good to stay in Town!!! no need to take cab home! wahahaah!!

i have not uploaded our photographer's photos and yet my friends posted theirs already. took so much!

hi limp, for the purple, i dunno light or dark purple le.. i tink its light purple. haha alot of pink and yam roses in the room..

drunk?? u drank a lot ah?? wah where did u go at 11pm huh?? go for supper ah? whahahaha

upload QUICK!!! I wanna SEE!!!

Hihi.. I am new here.. Plannning to hold my wedding banquet at NCQ or Orchard Hotel? will be having ard 25 tables.. cinnamon room will be a bit cramp and grand ballroom too big..

Any advice for small wedding banquet? I actually quite like NCQ but the coordinator dun seemed that friendly after all, ai mai ai mai.. Any advice??

hi giselle, welcome here

u are right, a comfortable figure for cinnamon room will be 24, anything more than that will be cramped...

who did u speak to? there's only 2 coordinators, either Huiling or Kevin...my coordinator is Huiling, so far ok

hi giselle... for 25 tables.. gd to find somewhere max 30-35 so that there's space to maneuver around... think NCQ not so suitable...

and orchard.. for 25 table... there may be 3 weddings at one go, so u need to share the reception area...

hihi morning..Giselle 25 tables will be abit cramp..cos my is 23 n feel cramp liao..cos walking around fr tables to tables for photo...my EG is abit can can..

hi joyle...can't really remember whether is the stage fully carpeted...but the first dish dance is really sweet and cute...really something diff...all my guest laughed...hahaha

morning all...

shir - me aso had d same prob.. had to squeeze abit cos of my can-can too

j0yle_t - i cant rem d flooring of d stage too haha..

sorry giselle, made a mistake in my post above...a comfortable figure will be 21 in cinnamon room, anything more than that will be cramped. It can hold up to 26 tables from what I was told.

I think the stage is not carpeted gals...dun rem having the 'soft' feeling when I went up to recce hahahahahaa....