Novotel Clarke Quay

ixoral/vivi: I signed during this yr's BOWS, not last yr...maybe last yr's rates higher?

maybe BOWS got special promotion for their rooms? I dunno, just guessing only

Queen: thanks for e food tastin feedback.. u r fast, me same day as urs but yet to arrange food tasting..

ixoral: sign up during BOWS tis yr same as thomas...

btw, any1 of u got idea whether T-dragon provide envelop wif e card even if we dun print there?

hi all, dun mention it. just sharing. Anyway i did not change to yam ring cos still think have vege is better. Anyway my dessert i change to yam paste le so ok lah.

im waiting for huiling to send me the rates of the standard room also. Also hor, they have how many bridal suites ah? all same de right? i need to ask her also.

now headache dunno wan to choose wat color for the roses. i think i should be going for combi decor but i dunwan red roses. am thinking either cream or pink...

my table cloth is the dark grey while VIP is red. then the aisle chairs sash as well as the drape i chose red.

any suggestions if i should take cream or red?

hello Queen,

thanks for the feedback =)

i feel like taking soon hock, i just had seafood dinner with my parents the other day and i just realize the fav fish that i love to eat is actually call soon HOCK WAHAHAHHAA so dumb!

hehee wait till my food tasting in Oct then i see how hahaha =) my dad kept nudging me soon hock cos he love soon hock also but in terms of presentation, red groupa will look so much better..

sigh sigh

Side note: i just finished my PS!!! is Awesome! wahahahaha =)

hi all, fyi, the quote for the extra room huiling quoted was ard $240++. but nearer to my wedding date, Novotel hotel have some room promo on their hotel website which was $150. So i booked the extra room thru the website & passed my booking nbr to Huiling so she can help me arrange when we check in.

Your can try to look out for any website with cheaper room & book from there. That is wat Huiling told me as well, if we saw any website that have cheaper rate just go ahead n booked it coz she can only offer us thta rate for the extra room & nothing she can help us.

Hope tis info is helpful to you.

yen yun: e ax for cinnamon room s 26 tables.. it wil b veri cramp fro wat i c e other time when they hav 26 table set up..

queen: tink cream wil giv u a brighter feel whileas red a more romantic feel? personally thots.. did they hav any photos to show u? @ least u can viusalize fro e photos...

those couples that have went to their food tasting... may i know what is the timing u went? are we allow to have it in the evening?

Thanks Cheer.

Hi guys, i'm seriously considering Novotel Cinnamon room. Other than carpark, any other negative views?

How abt food and service?

cheer: thanks for the confirmation...maybe u didn't ask? we asked whether got other rooms besides std or not that time, so they told us got superior room and quoted us the rates too.

queen: I believe all their suites are the same. Pink roses shld be sweet

winter: soon hock is nice but do take note that it's rather small, so most prob NCQ will give u 2 fishes on the plate, if u dun mind that is. Saw some of ur sneak pics of ur PS, really nice ur outfits =) where did u go for ur outdoor shoot?

silver: thanks for ur info!

yen yun: 26-27 will be too cramped for Cinnamon room. From what I saw during BOWS, 21 is the max they can accomodate w/o feeling squeezy. I happened to see 21 tables that day and it was just nice, no blocked view. Anything more than that, 1 or more tables will have blocked view of the stage cos of a small pillar on the right side of the ballroom (from the entrance). Mine will have ard 20 tables so I'm safe =) As for food and service, it's generally good based on the feedback of this thread, so u can rest easy. U can read up the previous archives to get somemore feedback. Hope u join us soon...

fellcy: extra room for our relatives =)

W&L: I believe it can be arranged, check with ur coordinator ba =)

cheeky: u shld go for food tasting roughly abt 2 mths b4 ur AD

All: good to see this thread getting livelier! Welcome all new NCQ btbs/gtbs!

Thanks Thomas. If taking Cinnamon then i will downsize my guest list. went down last sat and saw a setup of 22-23 tables. still quite ok to me.

Hi Thomas,

thanks! yes i am aware about the 2 fish presentation if i choose soon hock. So will think again, but i think most pple want to see red groupa haha. but seriously i nv like red groupa hahaha

Outdoor we went demsey hills and national library =)

winter: well, imp thing is that the fish must taste good on ur AD agree? so to me doesn't matter which fish is that as long as it tastes good...I will most prob choose soon hock also =)

dempsey hill is nice...national lib need to pay?

vgps: will wait for ur FR hehe

DCn33: thanks for e advice! collected my cards liao n went T&T to print inserts ytd...

my parents say tt soon hock s nicer compare to groupa but small n doesnt look nice wif 2 fish... so we r stickin back to soon hock...

cheer: how's the service at T&T? good? think I will go to them to print mine also since it's so much cheaper than SG...

DC: LOL

DCn33: T&T just notified me that my inserts are ready for collection too. But i'll most prob go collect only in late Sep..cos i wanna do it the same day as when i go check out the draft for my PS album artwork. Same one trip. hee. If by Sep, u still havent collect, i can do so for u..

Thomas: their service is great. just do it! haha

Thomas, thanks for the info! Time flies...i should be arranging my food tasting soon. By the way, i'm doing the printing at T&T too
I will review here when mine is done. I'll be going T-dragon next month to see the kind of invites they have. If they don't have anything i like, i'm doing my invites at T&T too. I think due to exchange rate, it's definitely much cheaper to do it there. I've asked before, a customised wedding invite (3 fold), print on the card (meaning no insert), full colour printing (they don't offer hotstamping thou) for 200 pieces will cost around rm250. I think it's cheap leh...heh.

No-one considering codfish? I'm most likely topping up to change to codfish.

vqps_goh, do review on your food tasting tomorrow! Hope you can share more on the choices for the ballroom deco and colour choices too...keke...

I din know that soon hock will b 2 fishes sial...

Cheekychick >> I tink the codfish is rather small...n it's rather risky coz if the cook din do it well it'll b v fishy..so we dun wanna risk toppin up n it din turn out nice..

cheekychick: they have silver, dark grey (they call it bronze though), red and gold (looks orange to me)

personally i think only silver n dark grey nice. red is no doubt for the VIP.

anyway decor wise i cfm with huiling le. Getting combination of crystal stands and ivory roses. 4 roses stands and 2 crystals stands. Going for crystal centrepiece for VIP table and rose centrepiece for the reception table.

i changed dishes so i told huiling to send me a list of the final dishes. As i will be having vegetarian guest so will need to know the menu as well.

Now stressed on guest list, like keep adding like dat

Queen: thanks for the update on the cloth colors
Your AD coming up very soon? Seems like u'r almost set to go!

I guess it's normal for everyone's guest list to keep on adding...haha. where is yrs held? phoenix?

cheeky: no prob...that's fast leh. Mine will be next yr haha. U also doing urs at T&T? wah so many here going to them lol. RM250 is indeed cheap...that's only abt S$100 after conversion. Now exchange rate quite favourable for us, SGD is strong hehe.

Codfish? not very popular for wedding dinners leh...seldom see ppl serving that also. Garoupa/soon hocks more popular def.

fellcy: cos soon hock generally is smaller, hence they have to give 2pcs otherwise not presentable to guests.

queen: lol...think when my time comes to the guest list I will be stressed too

DCn33: oops... so sorry, thot u oledi taken... was oso a last min decision, we rush down aft mitin our JP, mayb i can help u collect when i go down to collect? how any pcs did u print?

thomas: their service s gd.. we reach there ard 7pm chose n amend e wordings, then e gal ask us to go back an hr later to view e layout.. we printed a few times cos keep seein errors aft she printed e copy for us to vet... then told her we need to print home n chk wif parents, she say she wil wait for us to call b4 proceedin to print.. then realise mistake again in mrt, email her e next day n she re-do n send us to vet n confir b4 printin... tink its worth e trip to go down.. oso bought y ang pow box @ citysq.. consider cheap for a sq foldable box, onli RM13.90

cheekychick: t-dragon hot stamping cost $100 for e 1st 100pcs n subsequent s 40 cent per pc... but for every icon got to add $10

hihi, just finish my food tasting, overall the food i find it ok lah.

1st dish (octopus abit hard, drunken chicken, chicken smell too strong)

Sharks Fin nice alot of shark fin

Chicken with garlic very nice everyone like it

Fish in Hong Kong Style
a bit fishy

Prawns
very fresh

Braised Abalone Mushroom with Spinach
Spinach too hard.

Noodles nice

Yam Paste very nice not too sweet just nice.

cheer: thanks for the feedback hehe

vgps: fish a bit fishy? what fish did they give u?

I think it's the F&B Manager Kevin Rajan...why leh?

fellcy: as wat ixoral, it print directly on e invitation card.. so u dun hav to tie e insert to e invitation card but if u write wrongly, then u cant re-use e card liao....

oh i am one big sotong... i dun have soon hock in my menu cos i took the destiny package. so i am looking @ red garoupa or promfret... in hong kong or teochew style ... actually both sounds good :P any suggestions or recommendations??

vgps: ya sort of...anything wrong btw u and her?

ixoral: not really major prob lah, some nitty gritty stuff which HL haven't replied us that time. She replied liao

winter: I love pomfret...teochew style sounds good!

wah today so quiet ah this thread? where are u gals??????????????

lilmspep: can hurry go down to choose. cos they need abt 4 days before you can collect. Choosing very fast one..cos not much selection. haha.

vivi: u knock off so early. anvious leh. i can only go off 6plus.

Ya true! i started at 8.30am le.. but i wish the working hours can be shorten.. hahaa!!

Lilmspep: u confirmed ur tables already?? thus u can confirmed the no of invitation cards u want ah?? cos on my contract stated 22 tables confirmed, but after counting and counting, we might be getting 25 tables. max the space in cinnamon room. then have to inform our coordinators on the extra cards we need??