Novotel Clarke Quay

hello all, hope you guys had a good weekend...

Hey Pooshie, so nice! You got free hi tea voucher hahaa :P

Thomas, you are looking for flat? My HTB and I are very stretched as our flat arrives on coming Saturday and we had to handle both renov and wedding together. Really super discipline with what we are spending haha.. but wait for a while more, i think you can still get better pricing. But where are you guys looking at?

hi thomas: fr 10am - 4pm PS(indoor), 5pm-9pm outdoor at changi beach, a church at sengkang etc(some place i also dun know where is it..lol)

not really fat la...but hope the best ma...hahaha
is there any good way to diet pls recommend...share share la

winter: yup looking for one now...urs is a new one? agree that if handle both together very siong...

ya we also want to wait but time's running out for us, we have to get our place done up before our AD next yr so can't afford to wait too long. Looking at Central areas...prices also super duper $$$

shir: wow changi beach...nice place. u not fat dun diet lah...my regime I dun dare to intro u if not u sure say I'm not human lol

shirley: u still got nite shoots.. my PS was 2 days later than urs... if i wan nite shoot, my BS will charge additional $200... so we end ard 7pm... reach BS ard 8+ liao.. cos travel back fro ubin... u manage to take sunset view @ changi beach? we didn cos when we reach ubin, e sky s gloomy... but lota things to take there.. 2hrs of outdoor shoot was too short for us...

By the way, where can we go for nice night shoots?

Thomas, ours is a BTO flat @ Punggol. So we should be doing our renov by July
So i think still got a few more months to save.. hahaha actually no diff also... Ya central like the peak are bery ex!

Ubin is nice! Cheer must remember to share your photos :D

hi cheer..ya by the time we reach changi is already evening time...i tell u the view is so lovely..orange sky..ur BS charging u extra $200 for the night shoot???...then dun take not worth it..better save the $$$ 4 other thing
ur PS (outdoor) is only 2hr...too short not enough..okok once the PS pic out will share with u guy

me at first think to go bintan 1..but think of the distant..sian too tired..lol lazy

hi thomas: u r looking for central location flat..ya must be prepare super exp..i got my 4rm abt 400k..queentown area

winter: I see....so lucky of u

shir: we are looking at queenstown area too! so qiao! 4rm for 400k? where exactly is it? that's cheap already lor, we saw few units ard that area, all 4rm, cheapest also ard 480 to 500k...zzz

thomas: ya, we onli went 1 place but there s so many things to take there... got boat, bicycle, lallang field, old building, sea view, query, greeny, etc.... my PG say can spend whole day there to take photos...

winterpolaris: sure, will share e pixs aft we got it... my sis mange to snap 2-3 shoots from a far @ e ubin as the PG dont allow her to take when he s takin... we like e feel tt she has taken...

shirley: aft hearin e cost, we didn go outdoor.. too x, not worth it... n i may need to top up more pics if i go more places... hee..

ya, too short for us.. didn manage to take pic @ e lallang field
cos e PG went for a 45min lunch aft our indoor shoot... if not, we wil hav a longer time to take e photos...we left the BS ard 4pm n reach ubin ard 5pm..

thomas >> thanks! we signed liao..also dunno wat else we nid to change so jus signed..e food can decide later so nt too bad...we r also wondering whether to start lookin ard for flats too...ya...4rm for 400k is rather cheap leh..my friend checked out punggol 4rm changed to 2 rm (couple style) already 330k n it's super ulu punggol part...

hi cheer: ur PG went 4 45min lunch
my 1 dine in the studio..hmm i feel more pro loh..cos he really spend all the time 4 us..we really appreciated

hi thomas: i got the flat which is older in age(stirling rd) (if u dun mind lah)..cos those like strathmore is super exp exp

cheer: sounds good...all in one location hee

felcy: welcome...congrats on ur joining us here!

shir: oh my...stirling road??? my wife stays super near u! she's at mei ling st lol. how old is ur flat? we were looking at strathmore area last week leh...so qiao hahahaha...

HI thomas: the flat is abt 30yr, i choose this location cos it is super convenience...i drive to orchard is abt 8-10min...haha i think ur wife shld know it...hehe that why both of u 2 decide to get a unit in that area.
how is the viewing..any suitable unit??? i think u can try to nego below value(maybe 10-15K) 4 strathmore area (cos many value 2 high..very difficult to let go)

oh thomas...Felcy also sign up liao (welcome)..think we all make a gd choice..cos NCQ is my 2nd choice (1st choice is waterfront...but too exp liao..aft consider the present market..maybe will make a big lost)...aft seeing so many gd respond...now i feel better...lol

shir: I see...yup she likes her place very much too, same reason like u, go Orchard shopping super convenient LOL

the other reason also partly bcos my MIL staying there also lah, my wife dun wanna stay too far away from her cos she's getting old ler. Anything can just go back there also.

So far no suitable ones, asking price all too high. the unit we saw last week, owner asking for 505k, with the exception of the flooring which no need to hack, the rest all need major reno cos looked so rundown...owner never maintain I think zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

yup we all made a good choice, NCQ is really value-for-money if u compare with other similar hotels. We also chose them in the end after comparing a few hotels and till date, haven't regretted our decision

hi thomas:
ya lah..during the time i am sourcing 4 my unit ...is really headache...i saw kim tian, redhill, meiling, strathmore, bukit merah..all super exp..furthermore all the owner siao siao 1..think their house is super nice..asking 4 sky high price..their reno u see liao will faint..lol

intially, think to get new flat at sengkang, pungol but aft thinking of the travel distance..i give up..hehehe very lazy ar

i just call my PS yesterday..to check whether is the pic ready..they told me is ready and the result is v. nice..ask me whether wnt to purchase all the pic..omg..think will have a hard time..they will keep on pressing us to buy

shir: sigh...all the central areas all so exp...agree with u some of them think their reno super nice, one even asked for 40k above valuation. My wife and I told the agent owner must be crazy, good luck to them in selling their house lol

u still can choose btw getting a new flat or a resale, so good...we can only buy resale

hee share with us hor when u get ur pics...I'm eager to see them too! they will surely say all v nice one lah cos that's the only time they can earn...hahahahha....imp thing must be firm ok? hee

resale flat s still quite x 4 centralised area...

shirley: when wil u b gg down to select ur photos? mus b veri excited ;) me gg for selection next fri... hopefully wont top up too much...

Shirley, just continue to throw photos if they insist on prices that you feel its too expensive. You urself must have a budget in your heart first. They will try to confuse you so bring along ur calculator cos that's wat i did, haha. Everytime they re-quote, i press my calculator and frown, then continue to throw out photos. They will say things like those u dun select ones, will be deleted wor. Dont care abt dat, juz say delete then bobian lor cos i no $ leh, ur price so ex...U & ur hb must decide who will be the one to negotiate & stick to your plan. Dun say different things in front of them, 1 person talk enuf already. Up to a point, they will ask you wats ur budget. Dats when the ball is in ur court liao. Happy choosing!

hi cheer: yup gg to choose my pic next sun..they told me all turn out v nice(dun know is it true)...hahaha pray hard

Hi cheeky: thk 4 the advise...wow it really help alot..okok will use the way u teach..i hv no intention to but extra pic (unless it is super nice)..cos think to save the $$$ for the big day
house reno had already burn a big hole in my pocket..siannn....

anyone had try their yang zhi gan lu (the mango dessert)...is it nice????

i will chg the veg to yam ring with veg stuffing..at first consider to choose the yam dessert..will it be too much yammmm...????

Hi Shirley (belle_80),

the mango dessert is nice. i had that for my rom. my relatives all comment that its is very refreshing.. thumbs up ^^

Thomas...i got thick skin. Soo thick im always the one who do the talking. Whether it was my reno, buying furnishing, BS price...haha. My hb fully supports me.......mentally.

Shirley, must see who is more firm. U or ur hb? The firmer one should doing the talking...BSs usually attack the brides so just be prepared. They will say things like once in a lifetime lar, dun be so stingy to your wife lar, see so nice! how can dun take this one, u dun regret ah we will delete one etc etc etc. Tune them out. As long as u not hapi with the price, then DUN topup. And take your time to see the photos. Everything will look v nice when u first look at them. Go through a few rounds to eliminate photos. Once eliminated, dun look back, throw one side liao. And consider how the selected photos will look when done as layouts. 3 super nice photos may not turn out nice on albums when put together...the photos should have a link...or wat they call, in series. If a super nice photo doesnt seem right when paired with other photos, then don't choose that photo
Happy choosing...!

shir: dun worry, when our time comes we will feel ur 'pain' also hahahaha...

according to the majority here, their mango dessert is nice...u can consider that also. We are taking that too for our dessert cos if we take yam (or nee) as dessert together with yam ring, it will be too starchy and filling.

cheeky: u sound like my wife...she's also the one who does most of the neg cos she's firmer than me lol. Dun think that's considered as thick skinned lah, somebody HAS to do the talking mah.

genevia: jac is right, guest book got but not AP box.

Thanks guys!

BTW, attended a fren's wedding few weeks back in phoenix ballroom. Some comments. I noticed they decorated the chairs that are along the aisle with sash..which i think is very nice as i know that we hv to pay if we were to decorate all the chairs with sash. Hope the sash along the aisle come foc. Make a note to check with your coordinator.

Another thing is the food. The quantity is just nice for a table of 10, In fact, i cant finish tat bowl of noodles. Please do not order the wok fried prawns with celery and cashew nuts, the amount is pathetic and the prawns are sooo small. And oh, the shark fin is a tad too starchy for me.

genevia: e sash along e aisle comes foc cos its a replacement for e red carpet... when i visited e ballroom, e coordinator say tt all their ballroom does not have red carpet, so e sash act as e red carpet to guide e couple when they march in...

noooooooo...cheeky u r no thick skin lah..come to $$$ we must be firm..hahaha usually my hb is the 1 do the talking...

hi genevia: the guest book is provided but not the ang pao box...maybe we can try to make it ourself..i saw this 2 box in other forum (some idea)
1080593.jpg

1080594.jpg

thk thomas: think me 2 will choose the mango dessert..cos more refreshing..aft a full course

Oh, din know that sash along the aisle comes foc. Must be not paying attention to what the coordinator say. haha

AP box looks nice! Cham, both me and my htb do not hv arty hands..haha

Hi all, good afternoon!! how early in advance do u all plan to go for food tasting and selection of wedding cards/favours?? realise mine is just 5 months later and we did not do anything yet!

genevia: maybe u can go browse WTS threads? always see ppl selling their AP boxes after their AD is over

vivi: think ur coordinator will inform u when to go for food tasting/selection of wedding cards when it's nearer to ur AD. If I rem correctly it's abt 2 mths before ur AD.

hello people, long time no login (1 week only) hahaha

Anyway i tried to ask for AP Box before .. lol Huiling's expression look like "what-a-crazy-BTB" kekekeke! :D But anyhow i am excited to do my own AP Box. Maybe i do already will show your all mine creations

I am so happy! We got our keys to our new home! CAN'T WAIT to start renov :D :D :D

winter: nothing wrong with asking for that wat...maybe next time we tell potential BTBs here to go ask them for it wahahhahahahaha

ok sure, curious to see what u can come up with too

congrats leh...so good...where's ur new home? resale or BTO?

HI vivi: when is ur AD me 2 is also abt another 5mth to go..yaya thomas is right.. abt 2mth b4 ur AD shld go 4 food tasting...

kevin also give me a funny look when i ask for ang pao box...lol i dun know that it not provided ma...hahaha

guy...i'm so sad..i just inform 1 of my friend that i hold by banquet in Novotel..then she say...omg why u choose thattttt..cos it look so run down(the outlook of the hotel)

Aiyah, I shared the exact feeling as your friend when I first saw the hotel. However, the interior is really impressive. I really love the exclusiveness of the reception area & it's really spacious & cozy. Obviously, your friend has not visited the hotel before. Anyway, I signed up with GPCH in the end, as I think Huiling's really too rigid & inflexible. Don't worry, I believe your friend will be impressed on your wedding day!

vivi: mine s 4mths down e road but oso not done anything yet... so no worry... still got time... hee...

shirley: i rec'd even worst comment... durin 1 of my friend weddin, a gal was sharin abt e hotels tt she has went for weddin banquet... n e worst (in terms of food) she can remember s novotel... tt time she didn know i hav sign up wif novotel.. but tink novotel has improve a lot... as long as u r happy, dun hav to worry abt other comments..

chocolatepraline: wat s GPCH?

Haha... GPCH is actually Grand Park City Hall. Under the Grand Park City Hall thread, I was surprise that there were quite a few people who chose this hotel over Novotel, & Huiling's name was also mentioned a few times. I think Novotel needs to be more competitive in terms of perks & menus lah.

shir: hey gal, dun be bothered by their comments k? While I do agree that the exterior does not look that good but the interior more than makes up for it. Like what cheer and chocolate said, the reception area is really exclusive and also spacious. Best of all, u have the whole reception area to urself and not sharing with another couple/s. Not many hotels have this kind of reception area...most of them need to share and there's a higher tendency for ur guests to go to the wrong wedding hahaha...when we went to see NCQ's ballrooms during BOWS, we were swept off our feet when we saw how nice the reception area was hahaha...u made a good choice dun worry

choco: sad that u din join us here...agree with u that HL is a bit rigid but I guess she also has to go by hotel's rules, can't blame her. NCQ is not famed for giving out a lot of perks to be honest. However u will agree that pricewise they are one of the better hotels ard. All the best to ur wedding too.

thk thomas: ya i agreed...NCQ their exterior dun look gd...butttttt their reception is really spacious..furthermore don't need to share with other..i love the view fr their bridal suite (the night view of clarke quay and flyer)...dun bother with what other say...as long as happy will do..

oh choco: so sad u did not join us...how much is the package 4 GPCH

shir: yup...the night view shld be really nice cos it's overlooking CQ...I'm sure u are looking forward to ur wedding as much as I am hahaha...

hey thomas, ur wedding is in 2010 le.. how come u booked so late when u are looking so forward to it.
mine is in Nov and i already feel i waited too long liao.. haha

hey btw, did u all engaged a live band for ur AD?? pondering if want to engage 'a little dream' since we will have discount if we use this band.