Novotel Clarke Quay

peridotitude

Just went for food tasting last week. As Bruce Almighty had said Chris was really very pro! At the end of the food tasting, I just casually asked him to explain what were 2 of the choices in the cold dish menu that we did not understand. He told us to wait for him and awhile later, he came back with the 2 dishes nicely served to us. I was really surprised and impressed by his act. He patiently talk us thru all the dishes n really make sure we are satisfied at the end of the discussion. =)
My MIL wanted us to change the rice dish to noodle at first. But after tasting it, she changed her mind instead of the dish. hehe...
I must say that NCQ menu is really one of its kind. Some of the dishes are really its signature. Very unique n diff, unlike other hotels. =)

I have not seen the diff colors of table cloths yet. Can anybody tell me when do I have to confirm with NCQ my choice? =) Thks.

rene2803

The one that's used at Bruce Almight's banquet is known as bronze. Silver is much lighter. It's actually the same piece of table cloth and they flip to the other side which is a diff color! Interesting rite...

Glad to hear dat all who's held weddings there & went for food tasting are happy....

kelluvjer

thanks stef...

Actually wanted to go to the restaurant to try the food ...hahaha...to ensure that its really good...my mum suggested that..so think we will do that...

Any extra perks that they are willing to give...? Jus wondering..thanks in advance....

Hi Belle,

We opt for the free flow beer. Sorry didn't ask whether wine consumed more or the beer.The wine is @ SGD23 nett.

We choose the garoupa in teochew style... and my guests were very satisfied with my mango with pomelo (refreshing compared to those red beans and yam paste) and mango and pomelo come with tings of sourness (salivating your tastebud)

Our guests' tablecloth was bronze, MIL don't reallly like it, cos "dark".

kekkeke

Hi Peridotitude,

The selection of the wedding favours and table cloth is norm 2 weeks before the AD.

Don't worry.

Mine was done earlier, around 3 weeks earlier cos Jamie was going on a Holiday and had to hand my portfolio over to Huiling....

Huiling then follow-up with me for the misc things I further requested. All were nicely done!!!

I wish all the future bride-to-bes, Happy creating your Ideal Wedding Day!!!

eemoo

hi peridotitude,
i asked huiling abt the cost of the extension...she replied it'll be $300/- +++.

my hubby & I will be extending our stay..cos on the day & night itself, guess we don't have the time & energy to enjoy the facilities..

peridotitude

Hi eemoo,

Huh ah... $300+++?? Extend 1 more nite also muz pay so much ah?? No exclusive rates ah? Maybe can consider changing to the normal room. kekeke...

Hi Peridotitude

I didn't extend my stay, as I was given 2 nights stay @ the Bridal suite.

We didn't really enjoyed the facilities there cos 1st night my then New Hubby was drunked by his brothers, and after I personally sending off the group of brother and jiemeis already 3am plus liao... I slept thru to the next day 11am, without having taking the Complimentary breakfast. followed by busy counting AP$ so as to make payment over the counter ASAP @ 3pm.... not safe having so much $ on hand.

Then right after the payment we rushed down to our bridal shop to return our gowns/suits, we came back to hotel, already 8pm (my bridal shop @ Yishun), we met up his friends again to go for late dinner.. by time we settled for the night - 2am again. kekeke but wanting to enjoy the complimentary breakfast we have missed on the first morning, we forced ourselve to wake up @ 8am as he have to leave for work @ 10am.

When packing, we realised NCQ has done many little things for us but we didn't realise. There were 2 rectangle glass container at each side-table of the bed, since the 1st night... we thought were the decoration...then we realised those was Strawberry coated with Chocolate... hahahhah

NCQ set the bed with Top Chocolates and a Goodnight & Sweet Dreams card but swept away by my drunkard new hubby.

These were only realised when we started to pack up for leaving....

Btw, NCQ was thoughtful to run the water in the Jacuzzi Bath for you on your arrival @ the Hotel (assuming chk in time @ 2pm) if you are someone who prefer to have hot bath like me to wash away the morning's tiredness...do remember to know how to drain the water if you check-in later than 2pm....Cos I couldn't find the "activation" button so I ran to my JieMei's room to use their bathroom, leaving my then Hubby-to-be to figure out how.

To be frank, me and my hubby preferred our own lovenest than to the Suite,only thing we don't have in our house, is the Jacuzzi Tub & another plus pt is no need to keep the area clean and tidy like a house, kekeekek, guess other than these 2 plus pt...we think our house is more comfortable and spacious...maybe becos we don't live with our in-laws.

cho

can anyone comment on novotel's ballroom, service and food?

hoping to hold my wedding there.. n the price's q reasonable..

crayongal

hey bruce almighty's bride (hmmm.. so long.. kkee.. wat's yr name? maybe shld call u dat instead. hehe)
how u manage to get 2 nites stay.. ? did u chg some other perk away ? or was it bcoz of roadshow.. i heard roadshow giving 2 nites lor. hehe.. =)
so Kell, if u gg for roadshow..can get more perks.. else, dun tink so.

hmmm..so bruce's bride.. u opt for free flow beer den all the wine is bought frm the hotel? gosh.. den its quite abit.. hehe.. =)

Hi Stef,

Yes we signed up in Sept 06 Roadshow, which is why given the 2 night stay.

As mentioned, tat nite, total consumption of white n red wine- 74 bottle... but NCQ waived to a round tenth figure for us.

We were anticipating to expend 6 dozen of wines on the Actual day. Cos nowsaday most pple prefer wine to beer and hard liquor. Reason being not choosing the 1 barrel beer + 1 wine per table, becos if the 2nd barrel of beer was opened and not fully consumed, they still charge you with the 2 nos and will not waived what's left over...hope you know wat I am trying to say rite.

My Wedding Email Contact is : [email protected]...

guess you should able to guess my name is Pearl, in short for Pearlyne

To be frank, I started to wonder will my feedback n comments bring good or maybe negative influence for NCQ.

I did not expect 5-star services from them, all I wanted the Hotel to provide me is No Hiccups on Actual day... and food is as per my feedback. They've met my "expectations" plus the little sweet things they've done but discovered only at the point of checkout, so which was why I have good feedback n comments for them.
But all above feedback and comments are genuinely true, didn't take Spokeperson fee from them.

Just that hope my feedback didn't heighten your current expectation, lead to greater disappointment later.

How should I put it....Let's take a simple Singapore's typical Example....

You saw alot of pple que-ing up for Char Kuay Teow at a Hawker, and you have heard feedbacks that this is the best CKT you can ever taste in Singapore, you joined in the crowd and queued with high expectation.. however after tasting, to you the CKT is just like your downstair Kopi-tham's CKT, only diff- it have more Porkbelly lark. Some find tat Ji Pin, whereas you may find it "FATTENING".

Add on to what they have done for us:

Side track abit, my BM, Zul will inform you beforehand, that if your friends is sabo-ing you not... keke, cannot be avoided but at least be prepared....and during the going round table, he will prepare 2 glasses of "Martel" for both of u. But you won't be drunk with it.

Signing off:
Bruce Almighty's Wife!!!

crayongal

hey pearl...
no prob at all..... hehs...
im sure we appreciate all yr feedback and wonderful tips! keke...
it definite is good and beneficial for the btbs in the forum! hehe

thanks alot...
good wkends all! =)

hey77m

Just to share my personal experiences with all of you,

We had our wedding dinner at Cinnamon Room @ NCQ on 27 May.

My wife and I had a very wonderful experience with NCQ and we are thankful for engaging them for the wedding.

We arrived at 3pm and we were brought to the bridal suite by the hotel staff. NCQ is thoughtful to prepare snacks for us (ie. a plate of fruits, a huge tray of chocolates, some deserts and a 6pm light meal)

As i was doing a military wedding, Jamie gave us a temporary changing room beside the ballroom.

BiBin was the banquet manager(BM) and he met up with me to discuss abt the wedding at 1700hrs. He coordinated very well for our wedding dinner (this is inclusive of playing the songs timely, well spaced serving of food while we had to change to 3 attires (wife got 3 attire to change to :S)

Our guest were very pleased by the meals prepared for the dinner.

After the dinner ended, BiBin verified the bill with us and asked for feedbacks. He also made special arrangement to extend our check out timing to 4pm the next day after seeing how 'drunk' i was.

On that nite, We were busy counting Ang Pao monies. We tried the Jacuzzi Bath (for 2 pax) - this is a worthwhile experience. We were greeted by the bed with Goodnight & Sweet Dreams cards.

There were 2 rectangular glass containers filled with chocolate coated strawberries @ each side-table of the bed

Well, the only screw up of the day was that we requested for roasted pork (shao1 rou4) to be served in first dish (due to cantonese customs), instead char siew was served...... the chef clarified to us that shao1 rou4 is termed as roasted pork belly and he apologized for the miscomms, he also highlighted that he would give us the shao rou for distribution to our relatives complimentary. so we will need to follow up on this issue only.

Simon & Rachel

crayongal

hey simon.....
thanks for sharing... glad to hear dat u had such a wonderful experience. keke
in fact, we've been hearing pretty gd feedback abt them so .. ya... great stuff! hehe

hmmms... seems their banquet mgrs are all pretty gd and well-experienced....

btw.. did u pay straight upon check out or smthg ? =)
also... yrs was cinnamon room but u had the bridal suite too ? upgraded ah ? coz i thot i heard dat is deluxe room or smthg.. keke... =)

hey77m

hi stef,

we called the reception and check on the bill, prepared the amt and pay it upon the check out.

the bridal suite was an upgraded item due to some initial discrepency/miscomm we had in the contract. So it is purely an exceptional case for us to have the bridal suite.

Simon & Rachel

crayongal

hehs... i see...
anyhows. ya.. i guess overall their services are gd la. keke
hmmm... so, its paid upon chk-out ? gd la.. hopefully we get extended to late chk out too and den can jus settle evthg .. hehe..
thanks! =)

peridotitude

Hi Simon,

I'm using the Cinnamon ballroom n serving the roasted platter too. =)
Do u mean that the roasted pig in the roasted platter is actually char siew instead of slices of roasted pork from the whole pig?
I thought char siew is one of the items in the cold dish combination that we can select from?
Pls enlighten me on that. Thks. =)

hey77m

Hi Peri,

The platter does not include Shao1 Rou4.
We change one of the dish (Shanghainess Pork Terrine) to Shao1 Rou4.

Being a typical Singaporean, I thought shou1 rou4 in mandarin translate to Roasted Pork in English. (that's what I have seen in so many hawker centre and food courts...)

But the resturant definition for roasted pork is char siew.................... I think there is a need for you to clarify with the resturant for your wedding

Simon

ni_am

hi simon, my hubby and i will be going down to talk to jamie today and we're planning to take the cinnamon room too...just interested to find out if you managed to get any free flow of beer or bottles of wine ? did you also have to pay for the food tasting ?? coz seems like jamie is quite strict with her perks. appreciate the help ! thanks.

hey77m

Hi Janice,

I think the perks are really based on how much you can negotiate with Jamie.

I don't think it is nice for me to state the perks that were offered to me for my banquet.

Well, Good Luck for negotiating with Jamie though

Simon

crayongal

Hi Janice,
The package comes with btl of wine for each table confirmed so dat shld be the standard... tog with barrel of beer ( i tink ) .. so ya.. dats the standard perk~ keke
hope u managed to get wat u want... =)

crayongal

hey flora,
have you already signed the contract with ncq? btw.. how come we dun seem to have an updated list of the btbs using ncq for their AD ? heh.. we shld get one up ya? =)

Been missing for a while, here the updates...

mr & mrs 24-jun-2007, cinnamon
ambush 01-Jul-2007,Sun, Phoenix(50)
peridotitude 07-Jul-2007,Sat, Cinnamon
Shugar 29-Sept-2007, Sat, Cinnamon
Rine 26-Oct-2007,Fri, Phoenix
Tweety 27-Oct-2007,Sat Cinnamon
Belle 03-Nov-2007,Sat Phoenix
Caitou 23-Nov-07, Fri, Phoenix
Eemoo 25-Nov-2007, Sun, Phoenix
DiorSnow 29-Nov-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Divasan 13-Dec-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Crybaby 21-Dec-2007, Fri, Cinnamon
Michelle 30-Dec-2007, Sun, Cinnamon

~bliss~ 03-Jan-2008,Thu, Phoenix
Raycia 26-Jan-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bubble-bell 24-Feb-2008, Sun, Phoenix
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008,Sat Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat Phoenix (about 35)
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008,Sat, Phoenix (30)
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon

hey77m

Hi Joy, nothing in particular i can advise you as the package is quite standard compare to the other hotels.

anyway, congrats to u n bf

not_firmed

Tweety 27-Oct-2007,Sat Cinnamon (about 25)

Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008,Sat, Phoenix (30)

not_firmed

it's been a long time since I last log in here... how's everyone??

Bruce almighty.. thanks for the feedback...
really happy to hear your good comments abt NQC..

Simon.. thks for sharing...

crayongal

hi maltese_lover...
hehs.. missing for awhile and when mentioned no list of updates for btb.. u re-appear and post it! keke... so nice of u~~ =)
btw... i've added mine into the list

lingandyang 21-Jun-2008,Sat, Phoenix (30
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix

hey77m

hi Tweety, my engaged wedding photographer not ready to give me the photos yet, need to wait for 1 month for them to process........ but I can show u some photos that my bro have taken during that day & nite though
pls send me ur email as i cannot send the link in the forum............

p/s : it is incomplete as my bro was unable to take his own photos and those from the bride's home

rene2803

wow eemoo... my date just 1 day before yours... i shld ask my florist to leave my floral deco there for you until next day... haha

Rene2803 24-Nov-07, Sat, Phoenix

lingandyang 21-Jun-2008,Sat, Phoenix (30
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix