Novotel Clarke Quay

keke.. ya lor so excited n scared....

more or less ready i guess
nw tryin to make sure my list of to bring stuff is detailed enuff n tat i din miss anything out

that's good...enjoy ur big day as a radiant bride

me went down to see my ballroom last weekend...the private foyer is so nice and cosy! Can't wait for my turn to come hehe.

oh ya btw confirmed bridal car can park in front of the hotel le, I saw 2 cars in the VIP lots last week

yup yup.. been doing mask n slpin early lately.....

yalor.. i aso saw durin my last visit there.. keke.. wats ur bridal car???
mine is red beetle..~~~ =P

lilmspep: rest well n enjoy on ur big day... leave all e worries n coordination to ur helper... e whole day past veri fast without u realising it... do try to take some nap in e pm if u can.. cos nite mayb too excited to sleep or got last min stuff to do...

hi everyone!..hehe..hai finally can sit dwn lor..*pew*..leg so tiring after a day of work lor..then still OT for meeting..*sigh..*..=(..wah..today topic is ab wedding car har..wah..all ur car so cute one har..compare to all urs..my car like very "big" leh..mine is going to b mercerdes..yeap..hehe..

lilmspep:..wah..ur day so near..excited for u lor..ya..nw most imp is to rest well n sleep well lor..hmm.excited for u lor..muz load ur photo for us to c k..hehe..hmm..my AD is still long long lor..haha..slacking lor..only come to the forum..

thomas:..hmm..wah..urs lunch lor.gd2 har.can rest after that liao..our dinner..will b all the way busy lor..cos mine still gt church wedding..my ROM is together wit my AD lor..*envy..*

hi hi all... drop in b4 i go haf my beauty sleep...

cheer - thanks i hope i haf time to nap too.. bt seeing my itinerary.. i doubt so hahaha...

thomas - u shiok la.. after 4pm u free liao hahaha

hannah - mercedes is gd as it'd b more confortable for the bride... the big gown wif d cancan etc... bt i like beetle so no choice hahaha
super excited n stress at d same time lol... will sure load it up once i got it... keke

alrite time for my beauty sleep... nite all.. talk 2 u all again tml ^^V

hannah/lilm: haha that's the beauty of a wedding lunch, chop chop finish early so that me and wifey can get to enjoy the suite for the rest of the day. If we took dinner we wun have time to enjoy le, by the time see our guests off already 11pm to 12am liao, still have to shower after that, sure dead tired one. We planning to go out to Clarke Quay there to take some more pics with our PG after we see our guests off hehehe =)

ya, thomas... can enjoy e suite fully... me n my hubby, knock off aft jucuzza n eaten some of e heat up food... was too tired.. as e day b4 we didn get much sleep...

Yum yum... we just had our food tasting... here's the review!

1. Appetizer
Drunken Chicken - Still ok. nothing special
Gold Coin Meat - Nice! it's a bit warm when consumed
Mini Octopus - Not much taste. No sauce and a bit big
Prawn Salad - Ok. Normal
Jelly Fish - OK. Normal

2. Soup
Braised Premier Moon-Cut Shark's Fin with Crab Meat and Bamboo Pith - Not sticky, a bit watery in fact. A lot of fins!!! but then again... this is only for food tasting. Don't think it will be as thick during the AD.

3. Roast Crispy Chicken Flavoured with Deep-Fried Garlic - Nice. But some commented that it's salty. Guess some parts are saltier than others.

4. Fish
Rock Garoupa Steamed in "Traditional Clasic Style" - A bit rough and the presentation of the fish is not sliced like what they call "aeroplane". So got to flip the fish when one side is consumed.

5. Poached Live Prawns - Thumbs up for this. Really very very fresh.

6. Braised Abalone Mushrooms and Spinach with Conpoy - OK. Normal.

7. Wok Fried Ee-Fu Noodles with Yellow Chives and Straw Mushroom - Ok. Normal.

8. Cream of Mango with Pomelo - Very dilute. Taste is ok, but something is missing. Not enough Sago and mango... Pomelo is bitter too..

In addition, we would like to add:

9. Deep-Fried Yam Ring with Vegetables Stuffings - Thumbs up for this!! The yam is really sweet and crispy!!

We had 9 adults and 3 kids... portion is just nice (3 kids ate a little only cos they already had dinner).

So all in all, food tasting at Novotel Chen Gong! Ting Ting!! haha...

hihi everyone: m back...hahaha

tell u this is super tired and is like a war.

make up
i hv also engage my MUA to do the make up for mum and 2 sis...but my advise is dun..is better to engage some other...4 me we start to do abt 4.30pm...by the time all of us is done is abt 7.30...where some guests is already here...so my poor hubby had to attend to guests first..HAHAHA

bridal suite
is nicely deco...very very cosy...MUST Strongly request 4 the new bed set up...is something diff and super comfortable. the oni problem is i found that the bridal bear that shld display on bed is missing...so had call the housekeeping to send to us...LOL must take so that can keep as memory

confirm tables
hahaha..i had total 21+ 2 reserve tables...but all is fully fill up....so happy cos initial i thou oni hv 18tbles but as per my contract is 20 tables...thou the unopen hv to go back some other day to eat at own cost...LUCKY ME

Banquest
4 cinnamon rm the manager in charge is Kevin (alth i strongly request for liz)..bt kevin is very very helpful...cos my slide show of studio pic had problem to play but he really help me to slove the problem. He had help me with my gown whenever gg up the stage. Alway brief us on wht to do next...help us to control of opening of extra wine( therefore oni open extra 3bot)...thumb up 4 him...(but aft the whole dinner i had found that my glasses which dress in gown and suit is missing...those who show the pic i post some time earlier will know-tll now still can't hv not found ...so sad i had display it at the reception table...had specially found fr oversea..sob sob

Food
As u know this is very personally..bt most of the guests say is nice...but my hubby sis say that the standard is diff fr food tasting...hmm dun care lah whatever...hmm evergreen if u feel that the mango with pomelo is too dilute...ur comment is wht i comment during my tasting..I strongly recomm u to consider mango pudding with cocktail..very nice and refeshing...

Carpark
cos aft the whole dinner my dad went off immed together with all guest..cos my bro not feeling well so had to send him home first...his feedback is that thr is no jam or difficultive in exiting fr the hotel to the main road (maybe becos is sun)...but the problem is that the carpark really need to be very careful in turning as is very narrow...

morning all....

wow.. great to hear tat ur AD went really well shir.... makes me more confident in my AD =)

ever - wow.. not bad for ur food tasting... so u plannin on changing any of the dish'??

hi CH: ya we all make a very gd choice..NCQ really give ppl a very warm cosy feel...the afternoon buffer at the square is v nice too...thr also a complimentary choco and cake in the suite..tell u the choco is very very nice...yummy (choco lover)

hi lilm: had post some pic (from own cam) in FB

evergreen: wah very detailed, thanks for the FR! seems like u are quite pleased with ur food tasting hee hee

shir: wah u post until so happy, makes me wish that my AD is tml leh whahahahahahaha

glad to hear that overall its a success for u...agree with u that the carpark at liang court is very narrow esp the ramps...most imp question...did u make a loss? hope not

u tried the buffet at the square? is it complimentary for u or u have to pay? saw ur FB pics liao, u are really a babe...so pretty! ur qipao very sexy also!

Hi shir, glad to know that everything turned out well. Mine is this coming sunday and yet still busy with work..argh..

Oh, wanted to ask you if ur guests had any problems finding their way to cinnamon ballroom? Was contemplating whether to give specific instructions but my hubby say is too much information liao.

genevia: think better give them specific instructions for both taking mrt and driving cos I also got lost myself last week when I was checking the place out. It's quite confusing (see my field report above) so I think def they will get lost. For Phoenix ballroom no need cos it's pretty clearcut, direct access from carpark to 6th floor.

all the best for ur big day!

hi genevia: hmm think just insert the map together with some simple direction will be gd enough...as aft th whole event i feel that if ur guests who come will be sure to find their thr...cinnamon i feel is very gd i rec a lot of gd feedback for the huge reception area...the balcony for the smoker..saw many of my dad friend enjoying themself thr...family member say the bridal suite is very nice...as 4 me most of the thing i let the manger in charge settle 4 me...so no worry and enjoy ur big day...Total i chg 3 gown during dinner and the time is more than enough..

BUT WHR IS MY GLASSES....SO SAD

hi thomas: thk...hehehe LUCKY manage to beakeven and earn ...HAHAHA that is really unexpected...
The buffer at The Square is complimentary...hahaha dun need to pay...my whole dinner end at abt 10.30..so by the time i thk all guest, shake hand..aft all guest left is abt 11.30pm liao...is super rush and tired..therefore i sugguest not to hv actual day outdoor photoshoot...shld check in hotel as early as possible so that really can rest and prepare 4 the night (most important)...hubby lah say seen engage a PG must make full use of it...OMG

MOST GUESTS SAY MY WG AND EG IS VERY NICE>>especially the EG they say really suit my skin tone..so happy to hear that

more pic coming up later...PG say need abt 2week time

aiyoh shir, dun be sad...maybe can go overseas and buy again?

wah happy for u lah...hope I can at least breakeven also...dun suffer losses can liao. wah complimentary ah...u ate the next day before checkout? did u extend another night in the suite?

awaiting ur pics!

Hello all! Havent been logging as i have been busy with my exams and work..
Shirley: congrats! Can i add you in FB? would like to see ur pics!

lilmspep: counting down? how r u feeling now? Keke..

lilm:..ya..mercedes is gd for the brides..cos spacious ma..hha..but its nt i choose one lor..its provided by the bridal shop..hee..tml ur BIG day liao..really excited for u lor..ALL the BEST wor..rem to njoy ur day lor..ya..rem to pose ur pics har..muz log on to forum wor..hope to hear fr u soon!

Shirley:..wah..ur qi pao very nice n sexy leh..i like..but too sad.i can't weat qi pao lor..cos i too "fat" liao..then big shoulder n muscular lor..so wun look nice..haha..wah..gt break even n earn har...that is gd lor..happy 4 u!

winterpolaris:..oh..going for ur food fasting har..hmm..gd2..haha..looking forward to hear ur feedback n photo too lor..hee..

thomas:..wahh..u so cute wor..so fast ask shirely when plannig for bb liao..=)

Hi Guys, back from food tasting.

haha... really sorry i brought my camera and i wanted to take photos. But we started the dinner late becos my parents were caught in a traffic jam and I was really too paiseh to delay the food tasting. So guys, sorry no pictures! The food look don't change so is more or less from what you guys seen earlier! hahahaa

Alrighty here are reviews:

Package: Destiny

<u>Appetizer</u>
Suckling Pig + 4 Selections below

1) Jelly Fish > Bery Spicy! We wasn't expecting that! I din quite like it but the rest was ok.
2) Soya Chicken > I find it bland! HTB think it was not. The rest said it was normal
3) Gold Coin Meat > Oh is warm! Wasn't expecting that, so it was actually quite nice :D
4) Spring Roll > Not bad, normal looking spring roll.

Prior the food tasting, i was informed that the restaurant was not able to provide suckling pig for us to test cos it is only 1 table. In short, can't kill the pig for 1 table hahaha. Ok So we ate Prawn Salad instead. I was busy analyzing the spicy jelly fish and i didn't get to eat it! My HTB said it was not bad. We are thinking of changing gold coin to Prawn Salad.

===============================================
<u>Soup</u>
Braised Premier Moon-Cut Shark’s Fin with Fresh Crab Meat and Roe

I noticed when the food was served, there were quite alot of crab meat and roe on top and the waitress actually divided the top part first and followed by serving the shark fin. I tried first round without the vinegar and found it really nice. My HTB found very little fin. The rest are ok. When i added the vinegar, the shark fin became diluted and the taste changed too. If you ask me, i like the taste before i put in my vinegar.

The restaurant also explained why some time pple may find it starchy. He said is due to time factor. If you eat it immediately when served, you will find it nice and if take after some time to eat (example you keep talking to ur friends), you will find your shark fin turned starchy. hmm haha i dunno about this theory. Dilute is due to vinegar input which i think most pple already know.

<u>Poultry</u>
Roast Crispy Chicken with Deep Fried Garlic

Ok all time fav... we marked as "excellent" in our evaluation haha. Garlic was fried still so nice with mini chilli flakes. OMG, i want to go and learn how to cook this dish liao! *MUAHAHHAA*

<u>Fish</u>
Steam Red Garoupa in Hong Kong Style

When the fish arrived, i really got a shock! It is HUGE! Dunno why suddenly the whole table just turned quiet and stared at the fish. Quickly, I got the waitress to help us divide the fish instead of us picking and getting small chunks of flaky fishes. The waitress took quite awhile to divide for the 10 of us. But I had to say it was divided really well and the end product was 1 huge fish bone! She placed the fish head and other stuffs in one table which suddenly became a highlight cos my dad love fish head. hahaha. As we ate the fish half of the table think it was just nice while the other half said it was tougher as they ate.

The restaurant explained that fish is usually cooked till 98% and when they served it is 100% cooked so it will be just nice! During the wedding dinner, due to the quantity, they have to cook to 100% and thus guests will find it tough. I guess i can't change that right?

<u>Seafood</u>
Wok-Fried Prawns with Celery and Cashew Nuts

Ok after all your reviews about the steam LIVE prawns, i was really contemplating to get that. To be honest i am very lazy! I don't like to peel prawns! hahaha so i got this instead. It was nice yumm the prawns were fresh and got a "QQ" bite :D Love the cashew nuts that give the additional crunch!

<u>Vegetable</u>
Deep fried yam ring with vegetable stuffing

Ok the vegetable stuffing was soso for me but the rest love it cos it was very colourful when the yam was break open! The Yam WAS GOOD! OH MY GOSH! SO GOOD (X10 times) Ok guys, beside the roasted chicken, get this man :D otherwise you can get the yam ring with prawns for the seafood part. I am thinking of that and change this for the spinach and mushroom abalone instead. What say u guys?

<u>Noodles</u>
Stewed Ee-fu Noodles with Yellow Chives

Ahhh additional one more bowl pop up. Yummm. I think we were all bery full liao!!!!

<u>Desserts</u>
Sago with Honeydew

Ok call me stupid, i dunno what come over me and my HTB! We went to order this and everyone face just turned 180 degrees! The sago tasted like cough medicine! You know the pink colour cough medicine you took when you were young! So gross! ok i am going to take Mango pudding! I wanted to take Cream Mango with Pomelo but i do not find this in my 2010 menu?! So strange!!!! Then when I reached the restaurant, it stated it was available. Gosh

All in all, the food tasting was good except for our dessert!

Alrighty next my 2nd review... oh sorry so long ar bear with me... my vegetarian menu review!

Individual Vegetarian Set Menu (8-course menu)

<u>FRESH MANGO SALAD</u>
The presentation was gorgeous! I really wish I can take a photo and show you guys. It is so much nicer than our cold platter! I wish all my guests enjoy these and see this. It looked like an art piece by itself. My mom was impressed so did we! My mom said it was good!

<u>SWEET CORN SOUP</u>
Ok kinda of disappointing for this. My mom said very little corn and it was quite watery or rather very little ingredients.

<u>CHINESE LONG CABBAGE WITH BAMBOO PITH</u>
This was really quite a let down. Is just layers of cabbage with mixed peas, carrot and corn. Erm nothing special? Especially after such a high expectations from the first dish, we certainly didn't expect this from the restaurant.

<u>DOU-FU WITH CHINESE GREENS</u>
Normal. Nothing special. Just 2 tofus block and green veg.

<u>VEGETARIAN DE-LUXE</u>
More veg! This time the dish was more colourful. With a mixture of snow peas, mushrooms, carrot and greens.

<u>MIXED MUSHROOMS WITH BROCCOLI</u>
Haha the above title says it all. No need to explain and nothing to wow.

<u>BRAISED YI-FU NOODLES</u>
My mom said it was good! She was very full and she couldn’t finish! hahaa

<u>RED BEAN PASTE</u>
Warm dessert. It was nice. Especially after our disappointing sago honeydew, we looked at our mom’s one, we thought red bean was like God's sent dessert. hahaha...

Paiseh for the lengthy review. Hope it helps!

oh btw i also feel that the vegetarian review could also be bias and not of good quality. After all they were preparing for just 1 person portion thus certain things like presentation was not very attractive.

So perhaps will cut them some slack but i certainly do not hope this kind of food during our AD. That will be terrible! I can get decent vegetarian food from Ling Zhi and they are really good stuffs. Of course i can't compare as both restaurant are very different but at least and minimum to do is the hotel or restaurant should present a beautiful look to the guest especially so when you are getting individual portions for your vegetarian guests.

Just my tots...

wahahahahhaaa....winter u bery cute leh....u wanna learn how to cook the deep fried chicken ah? :P thanks for ur detailed FR! very helpful indeed!

I have oredi changed my spinach and abalone conpoy for the yam ring =P its their signature dish, so I think we can't be wrong =)

the sago so bad ah? haiz...was thinking of that cos I oredi got yam ring liao...orr nee wld be too filling and another yam dish also...think have to settle for mango pudding le if that's the case...

shir: btw forgot to ask u, I tot the new bridal suite bed setting is for 2010 weddings only? u mean u asked kevin for it and he gave u?

hihi morning all:

hi sunshine...no i did not block it...pls try again...

hahaha thomas: the factory is oredi in producton...pls wait for gd new ba....LOL
hmm think lilm is busy in her tea serving now..hope everything go on smooth 4 her..me very lucky that day 2 as they no rain during dinner or when i m gg here and thr for tea serving...oni a little rain when the time i check into the hotel.

ya the new bridal set up is up liao...anyone AD aft me...i strongly suggust to consider to choose the new set up...the bed sheet is very comfortable...think is silk material....sitting on the bed to count ur ang bao is very fun and secure as u can cover he whole bed with the netting....wowhahahaha

HAha Shirley, nice :D :D :D

Hi ixoral, sent u a msg on the veg menu some other things to take note :D

hi Thoma, YES I WANT TO LEARN HOW TO COOK THAT CHICKEN! IS SO GOOD!!!

shir: wah so fast in production liao ah...LOL. hope to hear good news soon!

wahahahhahahaa...u very cute leh, the way u described the bed lol. those whose AD is next yr I think they will automatically change to that right?

vivi: wah urs also coming soon...so excited for u!

winter: can send me also? wat is there to take note? not sure whether I have any veg guests or not...maybe my wife's side has

good day! studying at home for my exams later >_<

shirley i still cant PM you, could you add me? [email protected] thanks!
Good luck in your production!

hope lilm has had a good morning. it's a cooling day today! :D

winterpolaris: can u send me the veg menu too? Many thanks!

winter: thanks for the headsup!

sunshine: all the best for ur exams! saw u added me, I go home tonite and approve u ok?

yeah heavy rain just now, hope lilm's wedding wasn't marred by the rain