Novotel Clarke Quay

anyone can comment on the projector and AV?

i sent an email asking about the background music and such....understand their AV control is on another level...will the AV technician be there throughout?

Thomas,

No problem fully understand as to be fair to them too. no worries

they actually know u r active here??!! Gosh! And to think that thomas' so pissed must be sth really bad...

All the best!

cheer: thanks

felcy: they do read this thread quite freq. thanks

queen: think u must ask ur coordinator, haven't got to that stage yet so can't help, sorry

Queen:
I think they will set up the projector and screen for you. You should check before the banquet starts that all is working first though.

But you need to bring your own laptop to play it. They only provide a DVD player. Suggest you to try the laptop or DVD days before to make sure all is compatible?

Also, you will need someone to play and stop the video you are playing.

There will be someone in charge of the music and lighting. If you are not confident of that person, maybe get one of the brothers to supervise that person? Or maybe do a proper rehearsal and run through everything beforehand?

Hi guys, I'm holding my wedding at NCQ too. July 2010. Co-ordinator is Huiling aka Ms No No. We did manage to get slightly more perks, maybe cos we have a bigger attendance. But of cos, the subsequet promotion perks are much better. To think that we nego so hard.

Actually the main thing I dislike about NCQ is the lack of a grand hotel lobby. You know the type, where the guests can drive up to and enter a large spacious, grand lobby. NCQ just kinda look less than 4 stars cos it doesn't have that kind of lobby.

Anyway, most of the time, I received not very nice comments from friends and colleagues who know that I am holding it at NCQ. sigh. It's like, why NCQ, so small, its not 5 stars, its so out of the way, its so old, its just not grand.

Anyone received the same kind of comments? It comes to a stage that I dread telling ppl I'm holding it at NCQ and hearing their reply. sigh.

And i become sick of explaining to them that not many hotels can hold 50 tables, if they can, they are either taken up or too expensive like about 1400 per table and I know I have a lot of cheap friends who think giving $80 ang pow is doing the wedding couple a huge favour as it allows them to 'earn'. Cos they still think that a wedding dinner cost $500.

How would I dare to hold my wedding at a cost of $1400 per table if I'm lucky to receive $80 ang pow.

flowerbride: I can empathise with u, that's indeed lacking on their part. First time I went, it seemed weird to me also that their check-in counter is on level 7 instead of ground floor...I mean when ppl come inside, first thing they'd expect is to see a lobby right?

However despite the obvious shortcomings which u've mentioned above, I think u'd also agree with me that NCQ's packages are indeed value for money and not many hotels can actually match theirs. Also, the private foyers for their Cinnamon and Phoenix ballrooms are a plus too, at least ur guests wun end up going to the wrong wedding and also u will have more privacy with ur guests.

Dun be too bothered by the comments from ur frens/relatives, u are the one holding ur wedding there, not them. U can't please everyone at the same time also. Maybe u can comfort urself by telling urself that u got value for money deal?

getting married is a happy occasion, dun get bogged down by too many of these negative comments

suggest u to cut down on invitations to cheapo frens like these, I myself will also be screening off this type of frens. ask them to go find out the 'market rate' of hotel wedding dinners 1st if they still think it's $500 per table.

hi everybody,
jus heard from Kevin that they r going to change e carpet at lvl 5

for Cinnamon Room!!

Those wedding after Sept will have new carpet
yea yea

Oh DCn33 is it true....ohoh yesssssssss...haha still quite bother abt their old carpet..cos saw some tore part...that mean i got to enjoy it? mine in Nov...lalala...

thomas cheer up Ok...

flower: ya there r many ppl...they tend to give negetive comment...dun care...ya as long u r happy and comfortable with the package..it shld be enough...me 2 go thru the feeling as u= 1) outlook of the building so old 2)no grand lobby..but we must think of it pro 2...nice bridal suite view..huge floyer...competitive package price

o.. great news for those havin in cinnamon =)

flower - i have had frens who gave negative feedbacks aso.. most imptly is rem tis "YOU CANT PLEASE EVERYBODY" =)

its ur big day so relax n enjoy tat once in a lifetime event

thomas, thank you for your kind words. Though i have back traced the thread, i cant seem to find out abt your encounter w NCQ. Hope you get the answer u want too.

I do agree that NCQ is value for $. Even though there are 'lower cost' packages like park royal & Holiday Inn, to me they are somehow less appealing even though they have a proper lobby. I also do not understand why I dont like them. It's too bad I don't like Hilton cos the grand ballroom looks kinda old. (Yah, I am very fussy)

I was contemplating Marriott (not open for bkg at time of enquiry), Mandarin Oriental (too small), Intercon and Grand Copthorne (which was booked a couple of days before I requested for rate). I was prepared to suffer a few hundred loss for each table by going for a grander hotel, but my married friend jolted me from my thinking as the amount can snowball to a huge sum for 45-50 tables. I must admit I was initially pissed off with my HTB, if not for his parents insisting on inviting so many guests, I could do with a 20 tables wedding at a hotel of my choice.

Also, I was kinda rushed into booking cos HDB is chasing me for my hotel confirmation so that I can get my flat keys. My HTB knows I'm not in love with NCQ, and subsequently offered to forfeit the deposit to change to another hotel. After that lovely gesture from my HTB, I realise I can accept NCQ cos wedding is not just about the hotel venue nor is the wedding day = a life time of marriage. I just make sure that I get beautiful gowns, a nice overseas photoshoot etc etc to make us happy. And we promised each other to do a very nice 10th wedding anniversary celebration by renewing our vows with the people tat matters to us instead of catering to our parents' friends. So that is someting we have to work and look forward to.

No point getting stress over whether we can afford to cover the wedding cost at a grander place and if unable to, it's even more pointless to get into debt at the start of the marriage. If my friends are unhappy with my choice of venue, they can jolly well not turn up. haha. If they look down on me because of my wedding venue, I don think they are really nice friends too.

To all NCQ couples, sorry for my 'complaints', it's not my intention to pour cold water, but this is kinda therapeutic for me to finally let the unhappiness off my chest.

Let's all enjoy our wedding preparations and have a great wedding party!

Flower,

Me can't be bother too,if they are truely friend enough they will turn up no matter where the venue is.Even the best hotel have pros n cons.

shirley & lilmspep, thank you for the kind words. Didnt know you ladies receive these type of comments too. seems like people dont look up to NCQ. But hack care them. hahaha

ahcheng, the contract is with my HTB. will share with you when i get it from him.

flowerbride: ur married friend was wise enuff cos she went thru it before, it's good that u heeded her advice cos like what she said, ur potential losses cld be huge due to the sheer number of tables u have. that's the reason why I told my wife to cut down on the guest list so that the lesser the number of tables we have, the lesser the potential losses too. No point holding it in grand 5-star hotels with each table costing 1.5k but end up we get back $80 AP on average. I'd rather spend the $$$ on my house or a nice honeymoon. Afterall, after ur wedding is over, who will remember?

u are right again, those 'frens' who look down on u just bcos of ur wedding venue dun deserve to be ur frens at all. A true fren will turn up at whichever venue ur wedding is held at like what jeffrey mentioned.

it's ok, it's good to let go of steam sometimes, dun bottle it all up inside u, not healthy.

Cheers to our wedding!

Don't care, don't bother as long as we r happy

Happy to walk e red carpet with e person we love can liao

Yam Seng

yes i agree wif dcn33..

dun let negative comments affect our big day~~~ no wedding is perfect.. there's bound to b complains for any wedding...

flower. dun haf to apologize for complaining here.. tis is wat d forum is for.. share info n grumblings =)

one thing me and my HTB learnt is that no matter what other says - we must stand together as one. Wedding is only ONE DAY! Marriage is a LIFETIME. I rather have a lousy wedding day than a lousy marriage of a lifetime. I am going to face my HTB for the rest of my life, built my new chapter with him. That's more important for all couples out there.

There will always be people saying negative comments because in their minds they had painted a "perfect wedding" that is different from ours perspective. Whether perfect anot, then it is up to us to make it beautiful that day!

So ..... look forward to the bright side of the day. Whether we paid more or less for our wedding, pillar no pillar, got carpark no carpark... these are not contributing factors to a beautiful marriage. =)

Cheers to All of us getting married *woot woot* (M1 background music echo)

I agreed what all of you said here. We dun have to bother what other peoples said and we cannot pleased everyone. I believe as long both of us are happy with the hotel, we should go ahead with it. Most importantly to me for choosing a hotel is within my budget.Knowing that we have to spent alot of money on wedding preparation,it is good to work up a budget list.For me, i will save money for future use such as renovation and buying of furniture.I have one friend spent $6k on the wedding car (Ferrari), which he is willing to spend and i believe not alot of people will spent this kind of money.

flowerbride >> I have the same situation as you. We have a huge guest list as well and most of the hotels like you said are taken or too ex or simply cmi. We actually approached PR, Plaza by the park, oriental, conrad...either too ex or got pillar etc etc..I was actually very keen to have it at oriental but after much consideration (and I din wan to burden my HTB too much) I gave up my first choice =(..in the end we settle for NCQ coz it has no pillars and it's cheaper.Like your friend said, we gauge is 1 person avg give $80 Ang bao we would have a huge loss due to the extra expenses like wine etc..n my consolation is it has no pillar, on pictures it looks not that bad. So i rather pay a little more to get a better PG to take nice pics for keepsake den to splash huge amt on that 1 day ambience where most ppl prob cannot remember anyway. I was even asking my HTB if we should spend a bit more to deco the place nicer. These little money spent could make the place better yet it won't b as huge as sum as the losses if we choose grand hotels. The money saved can go elsewhere without sacrificing on a lousy ambience or food either.

hihi morning

wow wow...winter..ur hubby and ur word is so touching and meaningful...."Wedding is only ONE DAY! Marriage is a LIFETIME.have a lousy wedding day than a lousy marriage of a lifetime"....i must go back and tell my hubby...

one of my friend had her in a 5 star hotel in orange gove rd (better dun mention the hotel name--u guy shld know which 1 am taking right)..per table cost $1.2K+++..in the end they make a lost abt 50%..their house reno is abt 100K and the bridal package is abt 10K ..now gg to divorce

morning all~~

omg.. shir... ur fren spent so much on havin a nice wedding n nice hse bt it still end up in divorce..

agree wif winter.. marriage is a lifetime while wedding is jus a day...

OMG.. shirley, ur friend's wedding thingy v exp.. wedding package $10k is alot.. and hse reno $100k.. cant imagine.. her hse must b like a palace..

nt intending to spend so much..

shir: omg...sorry to hear that. This reinforces the fact that no matter how grand ur wedding or how nice ur hse is done up is immaterial, it's how u sustain ur marriage in the long run which is. Hope we all here will enjoy a blissful marriage till old

vivi: hi hi...long time no hear from u le, u ok?
yup a lot of new NCQ customers here now since u last logged in...

sort of, but still waiting for her reply on something else. thanks for asking

felcy: ok I will grant u access to my ROM pics cos it has been set to private mode

Cheng: my AD on 14 March 2010. Have u decided on ur venue? or still considering?

shirley, oh.. ur friend really spend a lot... its sad to c couple break off... esp when they spend sooo much to have their prefect weddin...

like wat mos of u mention... marriage s a lifetime commitment whileas weddin s onli a day... so we shall all cherish our marriage wif e 1 we love n always remember 'y we chose to marry tis person' when things dun get smooth in e yrs to come...

i'm gg to jb city sq's T&T to print
I intend to go select the wedding cards next week! Do we have to make appt w them or can just pop by? U gonna print the NCQ map in yr wedding card?

The ppl at t-dragon will determine the no. of cards to give us by whatever is printed on our wedding contract right? So if i intend to increase my no. of confirmed tables, i shd approach HL first? Hee sry for so many qtns. TIA!

hi ixoral:

ur Ad is on 21 nov..mine is on 8 Nov..so shld choose the card now right..cos me very blur dun know where to start...LOL

ixoral,
u hv to get an authorise letter fr ur coordinator, HL.
with tat letter den u can choose e cards.
yes, e no. of cards will be given based on wadz written on e letter.

i jus pop by t-dragon, choose e card i want.
wen iz ready, thy call me to pick e cards.

i presume my guest know e place so..
i'm not going to print NCQ map on e card

DCn33: u made me realise smthg.. so the day we choose is not the day we can collect ah! haha...omg i actually thought i can choose and just collect on the spot. blur me.

Shirley: very nice! i think the backgrd color is very well chosen! i love the train and the high thigh cut. Is this cheongsum yrs or the BS one?

Shirley/lilmspep: dont worry u guys are not alone. we are all on the same boat actually. haha. Recently been bugging my mom to confirm with the relatives who are coming and how many.. I read in general ppl print like 3mths b4 AD. so i guess now is the time to start!

hi ixoral..cos i call kevin yesterday..but he not ard so HL take over..when i told her gg to print the card she give me the feeling like wow so early..that why i thou still got time...sign..think better dun listen to her..

The qi pao belong to the BS....