New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date

Hi jen,

Im not too sure yet.. Just started to tink of gog to NZ for HM in Jan. My AD is 21 dec.. Actually I tote tat of only booking my trip after my AD, is tat too late??

As you mentioned Jan is Peak season is NZ...

sharky_siak, maybe u shld book ur accommodation in advance.. peak season .. quite difficult to get the accommodation u wan.

Hi tannabe

Jan is super peak period in NZ, u better book your accommodation before you go or you may ended up paying very high price for your night stay. even activities can be fully booked too.

if you thinking of flying in jan n booking after your AD in dec, from wat i know is way too late. I wanted to travel with SIA so i booked my april flight tics in feb to get good deals ($1k for tics) and fly direct to NZ. dun forgeting NZ is getting very popular with tourists ard e whole so alot of westerns will be traveling there in the summer as well.

Hi lyesha

no wonder you can finished all your itner cos i can't, we stop at most walk unless is more than 2 hrs rtn.

they ve very nice waterfall at e end of the walk.

normally if there aare alot of cars parked at e side of the rd will meaning e walk is very nice :P but will be very tiring cos 1 day can walk a few walks leh

jen
when u booked SIA flight, did you get a NZ plane instead? cos i know of people who pay for SIA price, end up get Air NZ ones

Looking at the pics made me wanna go NZ for HM also. Btw we're planning to go for our HM in mid-Oct, is that a good time? What is the temp around tt time huh?

Haven't really plan any itinerary yet but likely to be a 14-day free&easy trip. Most imptly, we don't want any rush for our HM. Just wanna wake up whenever we like, drive to wherever we like and stop for the night. So booking accomodation in advance will be quite restrictive in tt sense. Is tt risky in terms of availability of ad-hoc accomodation in mid-Oct?

Actually got this impromptu-style trip idea from my friend. He said he drove in NZ, saw someplace nice but can't stay bcos he already booked accomodation further down the road liao. So quite wasted. He also said it's quite easy to drive in NZ and finding ad-hoc accomodation shouldn't be a problem. Impt thing is that you get to enjoy the scenery without rush. Any comments from seasoned NZ travellers? Thks!

vinmiche
mid oct is a nice time. is spring ranging from anywhere 10 degrees to 20 degrees depending on location. Mid oct is not peak season, so you may be able to get motels at some of the places.

i've been NZ only twice. first trip was HM where it was so rush. 2nd trip was 2 years ago. and relax trip.

if u are going rotorua, u have to visit the polynesian spa. world's top 10 recomended one.

hi vinmiche,

what yr friend say is true. no pt pre-book since you are not going in summer (peak)
also given the option of impromptu means that you get to change yr route anytime.

initially, we have some thoughts of visiting greymouth (west coast of south island). while at christchurch, the news forecast says it will be raining several days at west coast so we change our driving route.

but try to book one if you happen to visit a popular town and falls on public holiday. we did not booked our accomodation. on the day where we reached at Pahai (bay of islands), it was easter day (fri). everywhere is showed "no vacancy". so we had to make do at a wulu town (Kawakawa) which is 20mins drive away.

btw, when you are at the airport, grab a book of jason or aa accomodations. you can find the price range and phone no of places to stay in almost every town. most of them have toll-free line. you can do yr adv book by making phone in nz.

i strongly recommend impromptu trip.. no pt rushing.. take time and enjoy the works of mother nature in nz..hope this helps.

cheers,

Hi Mngo

no, e plane from SQ. Is it? i have any heard of this. The code will have both NZ n SQ fllight no but e plane should be e one you have purchased yr tics from.

I bought e tics from SQ online, choosing e cheapest tics before i choose e date n ended up in e easter holiday. Din realise it till we got there :P

hi mngo & dolphin,
many thks for the tips. think will most likely do an impromptu-style trip. ok we will read up more on this thread before our HM...
can't wait

vinmiche
u r most welcome. all of us here can get so excited and passionate abt NZ tat we will be so willing to help you

wyy
oh, tats cheap. twice, i used airnz and each time it cost me abt 1100SGD inclusive of 200SGD tax. i regretted so much tat i did not visit polynesian spa. i went to QE spa instead. but the place is a hospital! so bit errie......

mi tinking of gg to NZ for HM in Jan too.
But looking more at package tour rather than self-driver (mi no sense of direction), any good tour agency to recommend?
Was intending to have 1 or 2 day farmstay as well.. does agency provide this kind of service or i have to book it separately?

Any1 can advise pls? thanks =)

hi mngo,

thks for your info =)

which car rental co. would you recommend for renting car from?
what are the charges like for a 2 week trip?
coz we are intending to self-drive hehhehee

mooniie, i strongly recommend Anzed Car Rental. Great and friendly service.. i went on a 18-day trip to nz.. car didn't break down at all.

hi lyesha,

how much did you pay for the car during your 18-day trip?
you used the same car throughout?
don't have to return the car back to the same point when you first picked up the car rite?
did you book online before you fly over or did you book from them only upon touching down NZ?

sorry for the numerous questions... thks for your help =)

smilez

maybe you want to go to "New Zeland Specialist" at Merdien. my hubby uncle is the MD there.

they did a f&E Backpack tour for us.

mooiie
we got from ezy car rental. www.ezycar.co.nz
our car was cheap. 30 over dollars only lor.
we got car at auckland, retn it in christchurch. we did not get anyone to play for our trip cos my hubby stayed in nz for a good 6-7 yrs.

hi mooniie,
I think the total rental cost is about NZ$794 approx. NZ$47 per day. Yes, I used the same car throughout and it didn't give us any problem. It is best to rent a car from a trustworthy car rental company.

Upon arriving at Christchurch, Teddy will meet you at the airport and drive you to his office, which is just 2 minutes away, and also provide a drop off service at the airport on departure. The arrival procedure is that when you come out into the arrival hall at Christchurch airport, you call them on their free number 0800 8ANZED (0800 826933) using any of the many public phone. You do not need any coins or phone card to call their free number. Teddy will pick you up within 2 mins of your call as their office is nearby.

I made the booking thru email. You can contact Teddy via email [email protected] Anzed website is www.anzed.co.nz

Oh yah, btw he also lend u a hp and rice-cooker if you need one.. you can request for a car with cd player.

Hi Smilez,

I just return from NZ last friday. You may wanna consider taking a transport pass from magic bus. It actually takes you from town to town on their buses and you enjoy the flexibility on the number of nights you would like to stay in each town. They can also help in the booking of accomodation and activities at special prices. The drivers are really friendly!

Highly recommend them if you do not wanna self-drive. Visit them at www.magicbus.com.nz

I just came back from South Island last Thurs. Very relaxing road trip. A glitch in our itinerary so we didnt get to do the fox Glacier helihike and also didnt do the Hooker valley walk at Mt Cook. It's very easy to drive around.

As for photos, me and hubby are not keen on photo taking so we took about 100 pics only. If you are going to Queenstown, remember to go Deer Park Heights. At the western summit, you can have a beautiful view of Lake Wakatipu and Queenstown. It's also very quiet and peaceful up there. You can feed some animals on the way up there. Forget about the gondola, it's a ripoff. Just a cable car ride.

I took anzed rental too. Teddy is ok. But the Mazda 2L I got from him was very noisy but no breakdown. It's one of his newer cars. In the end we didnt even use the CD player he provided because it's too noisy to appreicate the songs while driving. I think can get better deals elsewhere. Try ezy, europcars, omega perhaps.

We also spent 2 days in Greymouth which is a waste of time. It is an empty and characterless town. We went to Punaikaki rocks, it was not bad, abit like 12 apostles in melbourne.

Hanmer is very quiet and relaxing.

hi mingles,
we took toyota corolla. Din give us any problem. hmm.. it also requires good driving skills to drive in new zealand ie. the correct technique of driving on the slopes.. otherwise the brakes might wear out very quickly.

Yes, hanmer springs is very quiet and compared to other parts of south island.. it wasnt cold. In fact, it was rather hot.

hi mngo,

you mean your car only 30 per day?
that's cheap, coz i heard from some frenz their car rental about 70 to 80 per day =(

hi lyesha,

thks for the info =)
wow i didn't know there's such a thing as "free no." to call in NZ hehhee
teddy will lend us a hp?
for calling him while in NZ when we have probs or for international calling (call back s'pore)?

which reminds me.... do you all bring HP there?
auto-roaming?

oh, i read some of the archive posts and came across room rates.... the price stated, such as "NZ$130 per nite" means $130 for the whole room/lodge/cottage?

for farmstay, usually we will be given 1 room izzit? or the whole house and the owner stays elsewhere?

hi mingles,

i tot a new mazda is rather quiet?
but i know pick-up quite slow for mazda cars

hi mooniie,
Teddy will lend you a hp. However, I brought my hp with me and it has auto-roaming. As such, I don't think there's a need to loan the hp from him. To call back to SG, simply dial 65 + the phone no.

NZ$130 per night means the whole room. For farmstay, you will be given a room.

Hi lyesha, mooniiie,

We were given Mazda 626, not that new but it was his newer fleet of cars. We drove on straight roads and at first we thought the handbrake is not fully released but was not the case. It was pretty noisy, striaght, uphill, downhill even when we change gears. My hubby is a seasoned driver so it's the car, probably it's an old car by Singaporeans' standards, haha.Yes, pickup for mazda is quite slow. I got the hp from Teddy too but didnt get to use it.

Hi Joying,

I am sooo glad to know that finnally got someone who's not driving in NZ and take coach instead.

btw, did u use magic bus only throughout your journey or u drive on certain area? Do u mind to share your itinerary and roughly how much you spend in total (just for my reference for allocate my budget)

thanks ^_^

Hi Joying,
Thanks so MUCH!!
I bet u must have a fun trip.
How long r u there?
Do you happen to have the itnerary and the cost for where u have been? can share wif me pls? ^_^

wongyy, thanks!

Hi am_blessed and smilez,

I used magic bus throughout my trip (2 weeks).
Spent a total of $3.7k (incl. food, accom, activities). Attached below the itnerary: <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_zip.gif

Magic Bus 2.zip (38.3 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Was staying at YHA hostels during my trip. Rem to get the YHA card in STA Singapore ($25 for a year membership). If you get it in NZ, it costs NZ$40.. so much more x...

If the both of you have a bit more time, might wanna consider taking up the tpt pass with 2 train rides, sound so much more fun lehz...

Hope the above helps....

Hi joying, thanks for sharing your itinerary. Just curious, the 3.7K u mentioned is per person or for two? it excludes the air ticket ?

wat made u finally settle on magic bus instead of kiwi experience? i find that kiwi experience oso not bad =)

sorry trouble u wif so many qns. thanks =)

Hi am_blessed,

its ok
...$3.7k is for 1 person including air tickets and all... If I am not wrong (coz' all planning was done by bf), the Kiwi experience's itnerary did not had some places we wanted to visit. So i guess magic bus was better for us in that sense...

hi mooniie
it depends on the cc of the car and i think the brand. we took a daewood 1.6litre one. thats why cheap lor. in my 2nd trip, we got nissan primera for abt less than NZD 50 per day.

hi mooniie,

i rented from both local (anzed) &amp; thrifty car rental co. for thrifty (other international co), their fleet of cars are newer. the insurance premium is higher though. but the insurance excess that u will need to pay if things happen (*touch wood*) is very much lower. the term and conditons is less complex than lo car rental.

anzed- the owner provided added services. shared similar comments as what other brides here has mentioned.

at the end of the day, it depends on yr driving experience and cost factor..

cheers,

really appreciate that you gals really give a details out of things to look out for in NZ. Am planning to fly on june holiday for skiing so it will be real cold. Any advise?

hi Serene,
I was in NZ last year June. Skiing is not open yet. u might want to check out the opening period for winter.

Saw some snows along the road in the morning. more like frozen ice..
it was fun anyway..

i'm oso tinking of going to NZ for HM. but cant decide whether to go by F&amp;E or by package tour...
will b going ard 1st week of Oct since my AD is on 30 sept. is it a good time to go?

have booked my tix to NZ in mid Oct, going with another couple. Planning our self-drive itinerary at the moment... looking thru some of the itinerary posted over here
Just wondering if there's a need to pre-book accom during spring? Can anyone advise?

gotta look for a reliable car rental as well...

Lyesha,
Your photos are really lovely!

Btw, i was at the NZ tourism board at Taka, they have lotsa maps and brochures plus self-drive itineraries (but the itinerary can only be referred to at the tourism board). Quite useful for those planning your trip!