New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date

Hi all, Finally come out with some draft itnerary. Pls see attach and give me some comments. Sorry for the long posting:

Day 1 (26th Mar) - Depart from Singapore
Board SG – AKL (NZ82) @ 7:30 PM (ETA – 9:10 AM next day in AKL)

Day 2 (27th Mar) – Christchurch (http://www.christchurchnz.net )
Free Shuttle Bus Transfer from International – Domestic Airport
Board AKL – CHC (NZ 525) @ 11 AM (ETA – 12:20 PM)
Travel by Super Shuttle Bus to CHC City (45 MINS – 1 HR)
Check in: Thomas Hotel Double Ensuite @ NZ $99 (36 Hereford Street)
Lunch: Food court in the malls?
Activities: Visit Christchurch Cathedral; Botanical Garden; Avon River; Christchurch Casino
To note: Shop for groceries – Pak n Save Supermarket (cheapest)

Day 3 (28th Mar) CHC- Lake Tekapo (http://www.laketekapountouched.co.nz/)
Activities: Hot Air Balloon @ 5:30/6 AM (4 Hrs) (http://www.ballooning.co.nz)
Lunch: CHC (Food court in the malls?)
Collect Car from Car Rental Co
To note: Pump full petrol
Travel Routes: SH73-77-72 (230 Km / 3Hrs 21Mins)
Stop By: Berry Barn /Bakers @ Talbot Street Geraldine (Buy fruit juices, jams,etc)
Travel Routes: SH79-8
Recommended Check in: Tekapo Tailor-Made Motel?
Activities: Visit Church of the Good Shepherd; SheepDog; Walk around Lake Tekapo & Star Glazing at night

Day 4 (29th Mar) Lake Tekapo – Mt Cook - Twizel – Omarama – Oamaru
Travel Routes: SH8-80 (102 Km / 1 Hr 29 Mins)
Stop By: Mt Cook Salmon Farm @ Sign-posted route (SH8) Down Canal Road;
Lake Pukaki - Mt Cook LookOut & Peter’s Lookout
To Note: Bring Gloves for the hike; Bring Food & Water
Activities: Park near the camp and start Hooker Valley Track (1st / 2nd Bridge -2 Hrs return) (http://www.doc.govt.nz/Explore/002~Tracks-and-Walks/By-Region/010~Canterbury/Aoraki-Mount-Cook/012~Walks-from-the-Village.asp)
Travel Routes: Mt Cook - Twizel SH 80 (64Km / 56 mins)
Lunch: Twizel Fish & Chips
Travel Routes: Twizel – Omarama SH8 (27 Km / 25 mins)
Omarama – Oamaru SH83 - 1 (113 Km / 1 Hr 35 mins)
Check In: Omaru ?
Activities: Evening Penguin Viewing @ NZ $18.50 (6 PM) (http://www.penguins.co.nz )

Day 5 (30th Mar) Oamaru - Dunedin
Travel Routes: Oamaru – Dunedin SH 1 (115KM / 1 Hr 40 mins)
Stop By: Moeraki Boulders; Shag Point
Activities: Cadbury Factory Tour @ NZ$15 (1¼ Hr) (http://www.cadburyworld.co.nz );
Baldwin Street - steepest street in the world
Speight Brewery Tour @ NZ$15 (1.5 Hr) (http://www.speights.co.nz );
To note: Pump Full Petrol @ Dunedin; Stock Up supplies
Travel Routes: SH1 (151Km / 2 Hrs 10 mins)
Check In: Dundein Farmstay??

Day 6 (31st Mar) Dunedin - Gore – Te Anau
Acitivities: Farm Activities
Travel Routes: SH1 (151Km / 2 Hrs 10 mins)
Stop By: ?
Travel Routes: SH94 (139Km / 2 Hrs)
To note: Buy Chocolates at Te Anau Supermarket
Check In: Te Anau Alphenhorn Motel ? / Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers?

Day 7 (1st Apr) Te Anau – Milford Sound – Te Anau – Queenstown
Travel Routes: Te Anau – Milford Sound SH 94 (121 Km / 1 Hr 45 mins)
Activities: Milford Sound Scenic Cruise @ NZ$50 (1Hr 45 mins) (http://www.redboats.co.nz)
To Note: To bring food on board cruise; No Petrol along Milford Sound
Travel Routes: Milford Sound-Te Anau SH 94 (121 Km / 1 Hr 45 mins)
Stop By: Mirror Lakes
Travel Routes: Te Anau – Queenstown SH94 – 6 (170Km / 2Hrs 25 mins)
Check In: Earnslaw Lodge (Living Room oversees lake) / Thomas Hotel / Flag Inn Lomond Lodge / Aspen Lodge ?

Day 8 (2nd Apr) Queenstown
Activities :
• Gondola & 1 Ludge ride @ NZ$26 (http://www.skyline.co.nz/index.cfm/gondola)
• Shotover Combo @ NZ$? (http://www.combos.co.nz/prices.asp)
• Visit Deer Park Heights@ NZ$20 (http://www.thedeerpark.co.nz )
• City Tour
• Shopping (Malls opened late)
To Note: Top up petrol

Day 9 (3rd Apr) Queenstown – Wanaka – Haast – Fox Glazier
Travel Routes: Queenstown- Wanaka (via Arrowtown and Crown Terrace)
(117Km / 1 Hr 40 Mins)
Stop By: Arrowtown ; Lake Hayes
Activities: Puzzling World @ NZ$10 (1 Hr) (http://www.puzzlingworld.co.nz/) ; Visit Lake Wanaka
To Note: Wanaka Shopping malls opened late
Travel Routes: Wanaka – Haast SH6 (145Km / 2 Hr 5 Mins)
Activities: The Salmon Farm Café
Travel Routes: Haast - Fox Glazier SH6 (122 Km / 1Hr 45 mins)
(Winding esp Knight Point)
Check In: Fox Glazier Lake Matheson Motel ?

Day 10 (4th Apr) Fox Glazier – Franz Josef Glazier – Hoktika – Greymouth - Punakiki
Activities: Morning walk around Lake Matheson (1 Hr); Glazier Helicopter Ride @ $225 (30 mins) (http://www.scenic-flights.co.nz/fox-franz-josef-glacier.html )
To Note: If taking Glazier walk, need to eat some food and bring water
Travel Routes: Fox Glazier – Franz Josef SH6 (23 Km / 20 mins)
Travel Routes: Franz Josel – Hoktika SH6 (133Km / 1 Hr 55 mins)
Travel Routes: Hoktika - Greymouth SH6 (40 Km / 35 mins)
Travel Routes: Greymouth – Punakiki SH6 (44 Km / 40 mins)
To Note: Pump petrol at Greymouth and stock up supplies; Check the tide tides for Punakiki
Check In: Punakiki?

Day 11 (5th Apr) Punakiki – Westport – Nelson
Travel Route: Punakiki – Westport SH 6 (57 Km / 50 mins)
Travel Route: Westport – Murchison SH6 (101Km / 1 Hr 25 mins)
Travel Route: Murchison – Nelson SH6 (129Km / 1 Hr 50 mins)
To Note: Pump Full Petrol
Check In: Nelson?

Day 12 (6th Apr) Nelson – Picton – Blenheim - Kaikoura
Travel Route: Nelson – Picton SH6 (110Km / 1 Hr 35 mins)
Travel Route: Picton - Blenheim SH1 (28 Km / 25 mins)
Activities: Visit The Marlborough Wine Trail

Travel Route: Blenheim - Kaikoura SH1 (129Km / 1 Hr 50 mins)
Check In: Kaikoura ?

Day 13 (7th Apr) Kaikoura – Hanmer Spring
Activities: Whale watching @ NZ$125; Visit Lavender Farm; Visit Sheep Farm?
Travel Route: Kaikoura – Hanmer Spring SH 70 - 7 (141Km / 2 Hrs)
Check In: Hanmer Spring YHA?

Day 14(8th Apr) Hammer Spring – CHC
Activities: Soak in Thermal Pool @ NZ$17 (2 Hrs)
Travel Route: Hanmer Spring – Christchurch (135 Km / 1 Hr 55 mins)
Check In: Christchurch Thomas Hotel?
Activities: Shopping & Arts Centre Market

Day 15 (9th Apr)
Depart from CHC - AKL @ 7:10 AM (NZ 504) (ETA: 8:30 AM)
Board AKL – SIN @ 10:40 AM (NZ 81)

babe
good itinerary.... i remember we did not book any motel/hotel in dunedin and then... we had to drive to Omaru to stay for a night! 1 hour drive away cos all accomodation in dunedin has been fully taken up.

but the motel i stayed at omaru (thomas court) is 5 mins drive away from the penguin viewing place

You may stay in Bleinham cos the motels there are very clean and nice. and also the next morning you can start your journey by going to the vineyards and winery. You may also visit Montana Winery ... to see how they make wine!

Hi anfield,

Actually I am already covering the penguins at Omaru so I was thinking of skipping Otago Peninsula as I tot there only got penguins. What is wildlife paradise ? U have any website address so that I can find out more info?
Hence in Dunedin, we were more interested in the chocolates and beer.

Do let me know which area is too rush or too ambitious so that I can amend. Thanks in advance.

Thanks mngo. looks like accomodation in dunedin are selling like hot cakes. Is Thomas Court (Omaru) nice?

Hi mngo,

I wanted to cover the whales watching in Kaikoura so I cant stay at Blenheim. Have to stay overnite at Kaikoura so as to catch the morning cruise.

Babe
yes the room (thomas court) is damn nice. in fact, it has a hall, and a separate room for us to sleep in. Knight lodge motel at Bleinham is also same kind
. very clean, neat and nice :D

babe.... you are not far away from your trip. have you booked any accomodation yet? If not, better settle it quick and fast

Hi mngo,

Except for the first night, I have yet to book the accomodations, activities or the car rental yet. For accomodations, i've intended to go over there then book. As the itnerary is a draft one, there may be places that I might want to skip so I've decided to confirm over there. Do u think its very risky?

For car rental, still waiting for hertz to grant us membership before we decide

Hi Babe, think it's ok to book accomodations , activities when you reach NZ. if you encounter the same incident as i did - unable to get any accomodation ,then you may need to have another alternative. but if you do not mind bed and breakfast or budget stay house with shared toilets, then i think is quite ok.

esp when there are only 2 of you. so is easy to find accomodation.

Normally you can book the activities like on the day itself or the day before, so not much issues.

the sky darkens at abt 8pm, so you have a long day light

Thanks mngo.

I tot now that is autumn, the sky will darken around 6 - 7 pm. Anyway, will continue to refine my itnerary and fix the accomodations over there.

babe, last night i chked with my hb who used to stay in NZ for a number of years, he told me darkens at 8pm ... unless the climate change or maybe he had forgotten

Do u all think is it a good ideal to buy the trans-apline train tics online here or should i get it over there?

i ve abt 1 mth left n still can't decide on my itner...

Gd news gals,

The exchange rate has been falling. Jen, have u exchange any? I think the rate now is around 1.6. Maybe it will fall further..

babe
you mean 1sgd = 1.60nzd or 1.06nzd?
or 1nzd = 1.60sgd or 1.06sgd
yes you are right, it will fall further :p... <<insider>>

Oops sorry it sld be around SG$1.06 = NZ$1. I have actually changed at NZ$1 = S$1.095 and S$1.08 previous weeks...

Lugi a little bit lah... but I think I will change more $$ later on when it drop further.

I am not wrong. Actually NZ$ is now slightly stronger than SG$. If u check the spot rate today, its oreadi NZ$1 = SG$1.04. But of coz when u exchange at the money changer, they will charge a slight mark up to approx. SG$1.06. Hence my advice is, you may want to change nearer to your travelling date.

Hi Babe

me still got 1more mth to go so i think i will hold on till later than change. but me not bring alot cos i think i will buy thru credit card more safer. think i will bring abt $2k in cash then e rest credit. enough right?

Babe
you are right , NZ is slightly stronger than us. now the rate is so low!!! when i went in year 2002 it was 1nzd to 80cents singapore dollar.

How many days are u going? I was doing my budget and gosh everything inclusive of air tickets may boom to S$7K. Hence, we intend to change more cash n use less credit cards so as to reduce foreign exchange rate risks. So whether $2K is sufficient, will depends on how many days u r over there.

mngo, looks like u went in 2002 was a right time. Now everything is so expensive.

Hi Babe

me going on 16 days include flight. me only lose abt 1.5 days for flight traveling.

me leaving on the 13th night n coming back on the 28th afternoon.

hubby worked on a rough calculation n including everything (accomm, car rental, activities n food), less than 5.5K.
my 2k is buying goodies (honey n souvenir) :P

as for homestay, i search thru the new zealand website..

i do want to change more $$$ but i worried abt security lei

Wow Jen, i must say u guys are very good in your budget controls.. For us, although we are on a 15 D 13 N trip, oreadi the budget burst by quite a lot. Hence I m trying to cut cost esp accomodation. But I cant find any that are good and cheap.. maybe u can share with me where are your homestays and the prices?

I've just confirmed my car rental... Getting fr Hertz a mazda 6 after all.. cant help it, since we are spending so much time in a car, we would prefer a nicer n sporty one..

Jen,

how come it's so cheap? does this 5.5K include air ticket?
Mine is 13D/11N..and most likely we'll spend NZ$6K for ALL (fyi, the transport based on coach pass will cost me ard NZ$800 for 2 person...as a comparison to the car rental+petrol fee)

Care to share the breakdown of your calculation?? Thanks =)

am_blessed
during year 2002 i went NZ, we spent abt 5.5 k in total too. 14 days.

2 people
air ticket : 2000
accomodation: 90X13days = 1170
Food: 600
car : 600
Petrol : 200
Tourist area : 500
Others : 500 (groceries and adhoc spending)

Then my 2nd trip even cheaper. less than 2k. cos we went in a gp of 5 adults. car and accom shared among 5 pple. then every dinner also cook.

Hi mngo, intend to go NZ F&amp;E too.
may i know when is the season u went? i intend to go during FEb nxt yrs and knw that thats fell in the golden holiday seasons. so need to check how u book ur transport and accommodations. Thanks alot.

Hi Babe/ am_blessed

Sorry , i forgotten abt the petrol :P, but our budget is only an estimate la.
furthermore, we going for 16D/15N

Not sure abt yr car rental but Hertz is e most X compared to e rest of the car rental i checked out.

My homestay are ranging from $79 to $90

i did a rough calculation:

2 people
air ticket : 2460
accomodation: 90X15days = 1350 (max)
Food: 600 (maybe more cos we into seafood
car : 588 ($49*12)
Petrol : 200
Tourist area : 600 (not so much)

Been
year 2002 i went in november. tat was spring.
year 2004 i went in august. tht was winter. if you intend to go in Feb , it is good season, cos summer. i booked my car via internet during 2002 trip. we got from ezy car rental. as for the 2004 trip, my sis in law got it done for us as she was living there.

as for accomodation, you can refer to www.jasons.co.nz.

may i know the price for air ticket to NZ during their peak season (i.e. end of dec/1st week of jan).

and where to get a good deal for this air tix? I was thinking to go to NATAS fair this coming weekend..but not sure whether the rate for Dec 06 is out and whether they're charging cheaper rate

may i know the price for air ticket to NZ during their peak season (i.e. end of dec/1st week of jan).

and where to get a good deal for this air tix? I was thinking to go to NATAS fair this coming weekend..but not sure whether the rate for Dec 06 is out and whether they're charging cheaper rate

new zealand dollar is falling pretty fast since Nov 05. Today on yahoo exchange is 0.994 liao, the lowest so far!

I shall start accumulating NZ$ when it falls to 0.96! hehe..although I'm only planning to go in Jan 07.

am blessed
i paid about 1k sgd for the two times i went NZ. it include tax. basically the air tix price not much diff i think.... no harm checking out at Natas

Me &amp; hubby oso tinking of gg NZ for HM... anyone can advise when is a good time to go? We are tinking of Nov-Dec this yr... but i understand it's turning summer? Will it be warm? We're both suaku.. never visit any cold countries except HK (cool only) &amp; would like to xperience it together...

Hi Poohgy
Nov-Dec is a nice time. I went in the month of Nov - early november. It was mid sprng-late spring but then cool weather. climate ranges from 9 degrees to 20 degrees.

halo all.. i was in NZ last year June.. is winter time..get dark very early bout 5pm and day light bout 630am.. it depend on which part of NZ .. north not tat cold south is colder ..

i just back from NZ....i went for central north backpack HM......is not cold in the north ....can say onli aircon temp of abt 20 deg. But i have to say for rotoura, is cold at night and the early morning abt 10deg....

wyy
wow... 10dgree is really nice cold weather! I went in 2004 aug - winter. it was north island and at taupo , it got as cold as 5 degrees at night. tat year, in dunedin , there was heavy snow and the cbd was filled with snow! thankfully i did not visit south island then, else really dunno how to drive in such weather condition

hi mngo...

yeah 10deg really nice....5 deg ...hmmm...not tried before but may try next time....

hubby and i may be planning another trip to NZ again....still have to go for the black/white water rafting, skydiving, swimming with dolpins....etc....all happening in the north.

only complete North, we will think about south.....but visit NZ in winter....must be something to consider again esp there is taupo hotspring .....

wyy
yea 10 degree is nice. have u tried rotura polynesian spa? i went to QE spa and i din like it cos very hospital atmosphere. dun have a nice ambience.

true lor.. if u wanna try hotspring, then going in winter... err.. better reconsider.

i went to Bay of islands... to cape reinger. did u go?

i went to rotura polynesian spa....i love it!

i got the private pool for 30min and i can adjust the temp to my liking.....

heard is rank 10th in the world for spa.

oso at poly spa, got public pool where they have pool starting from 36 deg to 42 deg if i not wrong oso the spa is open air...can see star as you sit in the pool.....

I like rotoura.....temp good and the smell of sulphur is nice.....everywhere is steam from ground....but have to confess, i dun like the shopping in NZ...so boring.

Bay of Island.....not yet.....i just went central North from Auckland - Rotoura - Waitomo -taupo - Napier - taupo - Auckland

next may be going North again ....and would like to spend more time in rotoura.