New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Hi Kite,

I "copy" the ideas from your itinerary ;) hehe

How do you check for hostel reviews? I also looking for those rooms with ensuite.

Also, is it cheaper to book those tours direct from the company or some 3rd party agency or the hostel hosts. I am taking the same "Peninsula Encounters" as you. You book direct with Elm Wildlife tours?

Hi Babe,

I also "steal" the ideas from Kite, Yours, etc

SQ has promotional price of $1000 (without tax) to CHC. But the date you want is more expensive. Think if you can return later, the price is $1000

Hi babe,

u might want to wait for ANZ oct/nov promo. I remembered i booked during oct/nov for my Jan 05 air tickets (but only starts on 10 jan, that y i went on 10 jan)
I got the tix at $899.

Hi snoopy,

U can go to BBH for reviews on backpackers or budget hostels.

I booked the peninsula encounters through my accommodation. The owner is very kind to help us book. Remember, no need to pre-book activities. u can book it when u reach there. One thing i must say about peninsula encounters. Alot of steep climbing up and down the hill, very very hectic n tedious to me cos i rarely exercise one. Not sure whether u can take it.

Hi Kite,

You will need to have a BBH card to logon to the review, am i right? You bought the card? So far i seem to make my choice based on the % rating.

Ok, think i will start to do some exercise from now ... haha

hi snoopy,

Hmm actually its not really review, just a short description of the accommodations. Usually i wil base on that. No, i do not have the BBH card but if u hv, it wil be cheaper during booking. At BBH website, u can stroll down the web where u see the NZ map and u can select the BBH regions like for example http://www.backpack.co.nz/chch.html to read reviews of CHC's backpackers/budget hostels. HTH

hi, babe,
i have booked my free and easy trip (6 Jan) at Chan Brother during natas fair, $1288 4 days drive and 4 nite stay at golden chain, u can check with them if u r interested?

Hi Kite,

Thanks a lot
I like to seek your opinion on a few places :

Queenstown, Aspen Lodge - I understand that it is quite new. Is it within walking distance to town? I was deciding between Aspen Lodge or Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park.

Dundein, Ramsay Lodge - The picture you posted look very cosy. But it look further away from the central. How far it is away from the central?I am considering Hogwartz and Kiwi Nest.

YHA Hanmer Springs - Is it far from the spring? I am also considering Le Gite Backpackers.

Need to check if you have encountered any hostel when you need to bring your luggage to the 2nd storey. Sorry, kite, i have so many questions.

Hi snoopy,

Aspen Lodge - Yes it is indeed very very near to town, just cross a small road and there, u can access to all the busy shops there.

Ramsay Lodge - Its not near to town, must drive there. One thing i like abt it is the very big cosy room, quiet n clean.

YHA Hanmer springs - Its very near to the Springs, i cant remember we walked or drove there.

The accommodations in yha hanmer springs are on the 2nd storey so hv to drag ur luggage up. 1st floor is kitchen n resting areas

Hi JovialGer,

We spent about average NZ$30 on petrol per day.

Thanks pretty sandy and Kite.

Actually din go to NATAS after all, coz I heard the promo prices were until Dec 05 only so no point paying $3 bucks each pp to go in.

BTW, may be postponing the NZ trip to Mar instead after the peak period n going for a short trip to Koh Samui instead. Coz my wedding is on 31.12.05 and my FH dun wan us to tired ourselves out planning for wedding n the trip together, moreover Jan is the super peak period. A little bit disappointed as I have been reading so much info, but I also agree its better this way.. Anyway will wait for airline promo prices later on and continue to read up at the same time..

Me and my husband gg to New Zealand on Dec 26 - 4 Jan (total 10days 8 night). We have book the fly and drive package from one of the agency at $1276/person excluding tax.
Now we are looking into accomdation and also the itinerary. Any recommendation? anyone done activities like skydriving or river ralfing there?

Hi Gal,

Are you going South or North island? I have not been there yet but going in Jan 06

If it is South island, can consider :

Christchurch
- Christchurch Cathedral, Canterbury Museum, Arts Centre, Botanic Gardens, Avon River, ChristChurch Art Gallery, International Antartic Centre, Christchurch Casino

Lake Tekapo
- Trekking to Mount John Observatory
- Church of the Good Shepard
- Try to catch the sunset with golden mountains at Lake Tekapo

Mount Cook
- Hooker Valley Track

Dundein
Activities at Dundein
- Speight's Brewery Tour (1.5 hour)
- City Centre
- Penguin Tour

Te Anau
- Glow Worm Tour
- Milford Sound

Queenstown
- Shotover High Five
- Deer Park
- Horse Riding at Dart Stables
- Skippers Canyon
- Shopping

Wanaka
- Puzzling world
- Lake Wanaka

Fox Glacier :
- Fox Glacier Helihike or half-day guided walk
- Lake Metheson

Hanmer Springs
- Thermal Pool and Spa

Hi Snoopy,
I be gg to the south part. Is 10 days enough to cover the above places? Wat can we see in these places? Accommodation? where to stay? do i need to buy the motel chain pass?

I don’t think so you can cover the above places in 9 days. Think too rush liao… they are for your references only. I think places like Queenstown and CHC can stay longer because they have more activities.

A good start in your planning is to read all the previous postings. There was much valuable info, which had helped me tremendously in my planning
This distance and time calculation website is very useful http://www.aatravel.co.nz/tourist/southisland_travellingtimesdistances.shtml

You may want to take a look at mint’s itinerary.
http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=next&topic=4&page=238138

Kite’s itinerary and NZ trip report
http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=next&topic=4&page=242246

Yours’ NZ trip report
http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=next&topic=4&page=262563

I think you may have to plan your itinerary first before you look at accommodation. Anyway, if you plan to stay at budget hostels, you can look at YHA / BBH hostels (doubles).

Another few good links :

http://www.combos.co.nz/shotover.html#highfive
http://www.realjourneys.co.nz/Main/DaytimeCruises/
http://www.discovernz.co.nz/driving/smlcalc.html

Hope this info helps. Happy planning

Thanks snoopy.
How much do u think u will spent there? I have just check with my tour agent and was told that the golden chain motel blue pass will be sold at $150 per night if we will to book it from them. So we are considering getting a cheaper one.

hi gal,

its better to book the accommodation yourself, cheaper. yes plan your itinerary 1st, n then u can concentrate on which to stay for accommodation
happy prep.

Hi Gal,

I am going for 16 days. Think i will spend abt 8.5k or more for 2 pax. Mostly i am staying at budget hostels. cheaper lor. Quite a lot of $$$ will be on rides and also bugeted to take the Heli-Hike at Fox Glacier, which costs $265 per pax.

Hi Kite,

Can i just check what is off-street parking? Park by the road side? Does it belong to the hostels? Is it safe? I was told it is free.

What are the parking charges for those proper public car park? Where do you park your car at those places of interest? Thanks.

Hi Gal

I will also be going for 10 days (ie 8 full days for sight-seeing). We took combination of motels, hostels with double ensuite, so costing aver of $80/night for accomdation.

We will be going to CHC -> Lake Tekapo -> Mt Cook -> Queenstown -> Wanaka -> Fox Glacier -> Greymouth -> CHC

Hi snoopy

Off-street parking means they have their own private spaces for parking of guests' cars. Parking by the road side means NO off-street parking available, since that is ON-street parking! ;D

Hi Jovia,

Any idea what is the parking charges? I am thinking of staying at hotels at Queenstown. But the car park is not free at hotels. So thinking of parking my car at public car parks.

Hi snoopy,

off-street parking is where they have parking lots for your car and it is very safe. as long u dun leave your belongings inside the car will do, just bring your luggage n stuffs with you inside the accommodation. I wld suggest u find an accommodation which has off street parking. Parking in the public is costly, not worth the $ at all. Most of the accommodations will hv parking lots since u staying overnite there. dun worry.

Hi snoopy/Gal

Most of my accom are at motels, so they provide free off-street parking, except at Queenstown (we are staying at McFees, the new YHA there) and another place, but they indicated they can direct us to free public car parks around the accom area.. so that's ok with us.

All accom are pre-booked already, plus car rental. Will not be pre-booking the activities though.

Hi Kite,

One more question : If we do not pre-book the activity, is it difficult to get a place since Jan is the peal period. Also, any idea if it is cheaper if we book our activity here or in NZ?

Hi Jovia,

That is great news for me. I am also looking for free public car parks in Queenstown. I have free hotel vouchers and am thinking of staying at Sofitel Queenstown. But they do not have free carpark.

Just went to take a look and saw that you going in Oct 05. Please share the location of the free public car park when you are back. Thanks

Can i check with you on certain things. Please advice.

Hubby n i thinking of going on a free n easy trip to NZ (self day) abt 14 days.
so e following are e Qs:

1. when is e best time to go (no school holidays or public holiday)??
me thinking either mid jan or in feb? suggestions?

2. car rental??? reading from e thread, is teddy good n where can i find out more regarding his services?

3. do all of u booked yr accomm here n fly there?? hubby thinking of getting there then look for B & B, do u all think is a good ideal?

4. we thinking of booking SQ (they maybe having promo on 4 pax traveling) anyone interested?
no worry just for e tickets only, won't be traveling together.

5. lastly, which is better, north or south island?

sorry for the lenghtly Qs.

Hi JEN,

1. Primary school holiday - From 20 Dec 05 to 7 Feb 06
Secondary school holiday - From 9 Dec 05 to 7 Feb 06.
u can check out this website for the NZ school holidays http://www.minedu.govt.nz/index.cfm?layout=document&documentid=3767&indexid=1010#P105_4316
Hmm how about going in Nov where spring season is nice and its not peak period.

2. You can check out Teddy's car rental website here http://www.anzed.co.nz/ he is nice n friendly.

3. I booked my accommodation in SG, all through online cos i went in Jan which is most peak period. Depends on which period u go. If off peak period u can go there n book. However for high peak period, its advisable to pre-book in SG

5. Definitely South island. Since u hv only 14 days, just concentrate on south n u wont regret

Happy Planning. Feel free to ask me any qs.

Hi Kite

not dat i dun wnat to go in nov but my AD in nov n i just change job so can't go in nov lah, new boss will 'kill' me :P

so i think i will go in mid feb then, this way i got more time to plan.

can tell proxi how much $$$ u spend on yr HM n how long did u go for?

Hi Kite,

Thanks a lot
You have been a great help

I am going in Jan 06 for 16 days. So far, a rough estimate of $8.5K, exclude buying sovenirs.
Quite a sum of $$$ has been budgeted for those fun rides including the costly Heli-Hike at Fox Glacier.

sorry to barge in this thread. as i will be going to auckland for work next week, i need an advice from those who have been there. what type of plug do i need to bring there to charge my hdph and camera? do they use the same plug as in australia?

also roughly how much is an estimated normal meal cost?

also does the hotels come with a electric flask? i am quite particular becos i know some hotels in europe do not provide that and we have to order room service for hot water all the times.so is the hotels in new zealand the same too?

Hi Snoopy,

u're welcome

Hi cin,

NZ is using 240V. NZ is the same as Aus. U can buy a NZ adapter from Best connection or any other electronic shops.

Estimated normal meal can be quite costly roughly above NZ$10. Unless u are talking about sandwich or chicken/fish burgers, around NZ$4 to NZ$5 if i remember.

Hi Gal and JEN,

Here’s a summary of accommodations I have shortlisted. I looked mainly at those accommodations with ensuite rooms. Hope it helps in your planning.

CHC
* BBH - Foley Towers (83%) : $56 per rm (ensuite)
* Stonehurst Accomodation : $75 per rm (ensuite)

Lake Tekapo
* BBH - TailorMade Backpackers : $64 per rm (ensuite)

Oamaru
* BBH – The Hall-Coastal Bpkrs : $75 per rm
* BBH – Olive Grove Lodge : $60 (ensuite)
* YHA – Red Kettle : $54 (no esnuite)

Dundein
* BBH Hogwartz (84%) : $66 per rm (ensuite)
* BBH Kiwi Nest (78%) : $60 per rm (ensuite)
* BBH Ramsay Lodge (81%) : $64 per rm (ensuite)

Te Anau
* YHA Te Anau : $70 per room (ensuite)
* BBH Te Anau Lakefront backpacker (69%) : $66 (ensuite)

Queenstown
* BBH Aspen Lodge (77%) : $70 per rm (ensuite)
* Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park : $82 studio (ensuite)

Wanaka
* BBH - Wanaka Bakpacka (80%) : $58 per rm (ensuite)

Fox Glacier
* BBH Ivory Towers (74%) : $80 per rm (ensuite)

Hokitika
* BBH – Blue Spur Lodge (88%) : $70 per rm (ensuite)

Hanmer Springs
* BBH – Le Gite Backpackers (82%) : Double $60 per rm (ensuite)
* YHA – Kakapo Lodge : Double $70 per rm (ensuite )

Akaroa
* BBH Akaroa – Halfmoon Cottage (95%) : $60 per rm
* BBH Akaroa – Chwz La Mer (85%) : $66 per rm (ensuite)

Hi Kite,

I have booked most of my accomodations except for 2 places where they have yet to open for bookings. Most of the places i would be staying are similar to yours

CHC
* Stonehurst Accomodation : $75 per rm (ensuite)

Lake Tekapo
* BBH - TailorMade Backpackers : $64 per rm (ensuite)

Oamaru
* BBH – Olive Grove Lodge : $60 (ensuite)

Dundein
* Mercure Hotel Dunedin (Using complimentary vouchers)

Te Anau
* BBH Te Anau Lakefront backpacker (69%) : $66 (ensuite)

Queenstown
* Sofitel Queenstown (Using complimentary vouchers)

Wanaka (Yet to book)
* BBH - Wanaka Bakpacka (80%) : $58 per rm (ensuite)

Fox Glacier
* BBH Ivory Towers (74%) : $80 per rm (ensuite)

Hokitika
* BBH – Blue Spur Lodge (88%) : $70 per rm (ensuite)

Hanmer Springs
* YHA – Kakapo Lodge : Double $70 per rm (ensuite )

Akaroa (Yet to book)
* BBH Akaroa – Chwz La Mer (85%) : $66 per rm (ensuite)

Hi Snoopy,

Glad that u manage to book your accommodation fast
Like you, i also prefer Ensuite, more privacy, got ur own bathroom and bedroom. no need to share.

Lake Tekapo
* TailorMade Backpackers : Nice & Quiet place with a nice garden. The ensuite room is new and clean. Shared Kitchen facilities.

Te Anau
* Te Anau Lakefront backpacker : Find it not bad since u got ur own kitchen facilities inside the room.

Fox Glacier
* Ivory Towers : $80 (ensuite) considered expensive since i find their room quite small. Have to go through a few rooms (drag luggage)then wil reach ensuite (deep insider corner). But they hv very big kitchen facilities. If i remember i paid $75 for the ensuite room.

Hokitika
* Blue Spur Lodge : I love this lodge. Very quiet n nice accommodation although abit remote. Owner got keep some pets, dogs n etc n let them roam around. Very clean, big n spacious.

Hanmer Springs
* YHA Kakapo Lodge : The rooms mostly on 2nd storey. Have to drag luggage through the stairs. hehe. Level one is shared kitchen.

Most kitchen facilities i didnt use cos normally we dine out. too lazy to cook.

I jus came back from a 12 day HM in South Island -self drive it was fun! Found lots of useful info fr this thread - thks to all who shared!
Things are expensive in NZ - adviae if u wanna buy chocs and honey buy fr supermkts v cheap. The same type of stuff found at the souvenior shop is 3 times!
Like to also share my itinerary. If u got any queries I can try to help to ans cos still fresh in my head - hee!<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
South Island Itinerary
NZ Itinerary.doc (32.3 k)</td></tr></table></center>
U can see some of my NZ pics at my site: http://poochi77.multiply.com/photos

Sumiko its per rm.. not pax.
These are Backpackers lodge but very clean and affordable. They've got shared kitchen so u can cook and have ur breakfast etc.. which is cheaper than eating out.

thanks poochi.

I went to NZ 2 yrs ago on package tour and was thinking of going again on free and easy to visit other places that were not covered during the tour. but hubby don wan to self drive and those land package at NZ website oso quite ex.

How do u find driving in NZ?

Sumiko,
For NZ / Aus definately no worries abt travelling on ur own. Driving is very safe in NZ, most of the time u'll be taking the highway so wun get lost. We always try not to drive for more than 2hrs and take shortbreaks when we need.
But the roads may be abit winding at certain highways but as long as u dun speed and slow down when necc its ok.
Jus to share, my husband rides a bike in spore and ocassionally drives and he handled the driving pretty well so...
Alternatively u may want to try travelling by bus/train via travel passes on ur own, most backpackers do it that way. If u go by land package in NZ no diff fr taking package in spore?

Anyone tries travelling by bus/train in NZ?

Poochi,
My hubby drives everyday. so he wanna take a break and relax.

cannot open ur link.

Hi Sumiko,

Thanks for the report

I am going NZ in Jan 06. This is our first self-drive. I would like to know the parking charges in NZ? Are there free public car park? How do we differentiate from those car parks that need to pay?

Hi Poochi,

Thanks for sharing your photos, it reminds me of my NZ trip in Jan
The season u went is nice, going to spring where flower blooms (can c fr ur pix). Ur pix seems to upload 1/2 way, hvnt upload after Day 7?

Nice to see u did the hooker valley walk too. Where did u stop and u-turn? me stop after 2nd swing bridge n u-turn back cos too windy. btw do u feel the 2nd swing bridge as if going to break anytime? hehe

btw i dun think u wil expect to be snowing rite?

During driving, did u all chain up your tyres during ur way up to milford sound?