New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
kite~,
i'm leaving on 2 Dec .. back in SG on 20 Dec ... really looking forward to the HM...
hmm.. we used the same hotel for our banquet and same honeymoon venue

kite~,
i must thank you... cos I was going thru the archives and read that you borrowed lonely planet to plan out ur itinerary..
i went to search for it and because of that book i'm able to plan out my itinerary and settle my accommodations quite easily..

Hi Littleger,

I m excited for you too and i m sure u will love NZ very much. Lonely planet is a very great guidebook. Highly recommend.

kite~,
yah.. by looking at ur HM pics, I already love new zealand so much.. cos of the nice nice scenaries.. do u have intention to visit north island?
btw, did u go for any injection before ur trip?

Hi littleger,

yup NZ got lots of nice scenaries
Yes maybe later part, will visit the north island + south island.

Nope, didnt go for any injection. But i got sore throat on 3rd or 4th day when i was in NZ cos it was summer n weather turned warm plus most of the time, we have western food for meals. I bought their NZ apples from supermarkets, really very fresh, sweet n nice n it helped to cure my sore throat.

Litterger,

I bought myself NZ manuka honey body lotions n body baths, NZ thermal mud face masks, lipbalms, bottles of NZ manuka honey UMF10+, chocolates, fridge magnets, bermudas, pauashell earrings n bracelet, motherpearl & beef bone necklaces, last but not last, some cute ornaments and colourful pauashell plates showing NZ maps to decorate our own house.

For frens, bought them chocolates, keychains, lipbalms.

When we were there, we actually bought some nice NZ postcards, wrote down what were we doing that moment and sent it through NZ post office back S'pore address. Once we were back in spore n opened the letterbox, the postcard really remind us of everything

waha.. that's a lot of things.. ask u har.. is it very cold there?? cos i'm afraid of cold.. 16 degrees i cannot take it le..

hi littleger,

i went in early Jan and first few days very cold, then 3th to 4th day onwards, very warm. But as days went down n the more we travelled to downsouth (milford sound) area, its real cold n freezing. Then after milford, went to Queenstown n then west coast, very warm again. At hokitia n hanmer springs, very cold again. The weather really siao siao one. no one can predict also.

Hi people, I'm thinkiong of going South NZ for HM end sep. Not gonna drive, most likely take coach. Would you advice joining independent tours or just book air tics and join local tours? I've never planned my own itineary before so am sort of worried, plus I have only abt a month to prepare.

I'm keen on staying at minaret lodge, where they have a 'hobbit' room.

kite, can I find out how much did u spend on your trip, coz I'm on a tight budget as well, so wanna prepare myself for the cost.

Hi littleger,

Actually i also afraid of cold too. I wore long john underneath my clothing, and then a sweater over it, thus i feel comfortable n warm. If i never wear long john, even with any thick sweater, it doesnt help to keep warm.

There was this day where we travelled along scenic route 72 and the weather was real crazy. At Rakaia, it was so hot! but after driving a few hours to Fairlie, it was freezing. Next moment it was hot again and i just changed out my thermal wear inside the car (provided no cars passby see it) hehe. :D

Only first and last day i wore jeans. Throughout i wore cargo pants, more comfortable.

kite~,
i dun wanna my skin to crack .. else very itchy and uncomfortable.. think i will go get a few pieces of cargo pants and long john..

litterger,

actually its good to bring along sunblock or moisturiser as the UV rays is very strong in NZ. It wil cause skin to sunburnt n drying. I got sunburnt during the days where weather was very hot as i was wearing spag strap.

hi.
thanks little for the accomodation. but my budget a bit tight.. can't afford it. must find around NZ$75-90 only :P

No wonder, i can't find the lonely plannet in the library.. haha.. actually i borrowed the LP also because of Kite..unfortunately the time was up, so i had to return it. now i want to borrow it again but can't find in bukit batok lib. i'll try to find it somewhere else..

kwan,
u let me know the places u intend to spend the nights.. I help u find good and reasonable priced accommodations.. convenient location..

Hi kwan,

LP is really a good guide. It helps planning in my australia trip 2 yrs ago

What u can do is, u can actually go to elibraryhub online, then u can search for NZ LP and do a reserve and ask them to transfer to the specify library location u want (near your house) and collect the LP guide from there. Cos not every library got NZ LP and all u do is to reserve but i think there is a small little sum to pay.

Littleger,

Hehe i only wear spag strap on warm weather cos my period in NZ was in Jan, summer.

Dec weather shld be nice n cooling.

Hi kite,

Can u share ur photos with me ? [email protected]

Can i chk the price for the NZ manuka honey body lotions n body baths, NZ thermal mud face masks, NZ manuka honey ?
I'm going to south island only on package tour. Where can i buy ?

Thks.

hi kite,

my bf manage to get the LP from other lib. Here is my itinerary. Sorry for the very long message...

Day 1 (Mon, 03 Oct 05) – Depart from SIN-AKL-CHC @ 8.20pm

Day 2 (Tue, 4 Oct 05) – CHC – Lyttelton - CHC Cost: $100

CHC http://www.christchurchnz.net.
Arrive 2:20pm
Collect Cars from Teddy (Anzed)
Lunch @ Nando’s BECKENHAM; 145d Colombo St, Christchurch 3 332-3207

Lyttelton (12km from CHC)
Arrive 5pm
See old buildings and some good café-bars.

CHC via a tunnel called Tunnel Road
Stock up supplies
Dinner @
Stay overnight @ Stonehurst $75 http://www.stonehurst.co.nz/backpackers/starter.htm
OR Thomas Hotel $85 for Budget Rm http://gaanz.co.nz/thomas-qtn/index.shtml

Activities in CHC:
• Botanic Gardens visit Mona Vale , Avon River, The Arts Centre,
• Christchurch Cathedral
• Canterbury Museum
• Cashmere Hill
• Shopping
• Christchurch Casino Victoria st next to Crown plaza (smart attire)

Day 3 (Wed, 5 Oct 05) – CHC – Scenic Route 72 – Lake Tekapo –Mount cook – lake tekapo Cost $100

Christchurch – Lake Tekapo (226 km/ 2 hrs 50 mins)
Lake Tekapo – Mount Cook (99 km/ 1 hr 15 mins)
Lake Tekapu – Queenstown (252km/ 3hrs 25Mins)

CHC
Depart 8am

Geraldine. Country-village atmosphere
Stop by @ Berry Barn www.barkers.co.nz to buy juices and bakery.

Lake Tekapo www.laketekapountouched.co.nz
Church of the Good Shepherd (build of stone and oak in 1935)
Four Square Discounter supermarkets (7am-9pm) to stock up supplies
Kiwi Treasures to buy souvenir
Pump full petrol
Depart 12pm

Mt. Cook
Arrive 1.15pm
Lunch @ Glentanner Restaurant ($11-$17) for burgers.
Hooker Valley Track (2hrs track to n fro 2nd bridge or 4 hrs return) across a couple of swing bridge. Catch Hooker glaciers.
OR Tasman Valley Track. Popular for their views of Tasman Glacier.
Depart 5.00pm

Lake Tekapo via Fairlie (a gateway to the Mackenzie Country)
Unobstructed views across turquoise water, with hills and snow-capped mountains.
Dinner @ Pepe’s ($12) for pizzas or Kohan ($13) for sushi or tempura OR Reflections ($15) for the salmon roulade (eat outside table that looks down to the lake)

Queenstown
Depart to Queenstown
Stay overnight @ Thomas Hotel for Budget Rm

Day 4 (Thu, 6 Oct 05) – Queenstown – Te Anau Cost $150

Queenstown – Te Anau (172km 2hrs 25 mins)

Queenstown. Don’t forget to apply sunblock lotion, the UV rays was very strong.
Activities:
• Bungy jumping (43m) jump-off the Kawarau Bridge (now has a bungy theatre and museum)
• Shotover Jet. www.shotoverjet.com. Fun and Shocking especially when the boat spinned 360 degrees. You will b drenched. (60 mins; NZ$84 per person).
• Spot rainbow over the remarkables!
• Enter the Deer Park (NZ$20 per car). Self feed the animal there. The food is NZ$1 for 1 big tin. You will be surrounded by goats and horses looking at us with their hungry eyes. Panorama views of Queenstown.
• Kiwi and Birdlife Park NZ $23 (http://www.kiwibird.co.nz/)
• Ride Gondola (NZ$18 per person). It is beautiful up at the Gondola with great views over the remarkables and lake wakatipu.
• Do some shopping for food to eat in Fox Glacier.
Depart 3pm

Te Anau
Dinner @
Te Anau Glowworm Caves @6.45pm (choices :2pm or 6.45pm) (NZ$49 pp) Duration: 2hrs 30 mins. (http://www.realjourneys.co.nz/Main/GlowwormCaves/),
Stay overnight @ Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park. Ensuite units NZ$75

Day 5 (Fri, 7 Oct 05) Te Anau – Milford Sound – Te Anau – Queenstown Cost $150

Te Anau – Milford Sound (121 km/ 1 hr 30 mins)
Te Anau – Queenstown (170 km/ 2 hrs 10 mins)

Te Anau
Depart 8am
Pump full petrol before to Milford Sound.

Milford Sound.
Milford Sound is 8th Nature Wonder of The World.
Depart for 10am Red Boat Cruise www.redboats.co.nz (NZ$55 pp) Duration: 1 hr 45mins. See big giant waterfalls that will make us drenched.

Te Anau
Arrive 1.30pm
Lunch@
Walk around the peaceful and calm lake.
Buy chocolates in Te Anau Supermarket! Very cheap!

Queenstown
Arrive 6.40pm
Dinner @ Japanese restaurant for Ramen. Highly recommended
Shopping til late.
Stay overnight @ Thomas Hotel for Budget Rm

Day 6 (Sat, 8 Oct 05) – Queenstown – Wanaka via Crown Range – Fox Glacier via Haast Pass Cost 150

Queenstown – Wanaka (117 km/ 1 hr 25 mins)
Wanaka – Fox Glacier (262 km/ 3 hrs 17 mins)

Queenstown
Depart 8am

Wanaka http://www.lakewanaka.co.nz/index.cfm/spring via Cromwell
Stop by @ Cromwell to Mrs. Jones’ Fruit Orchard
Arrive @ 9.30
Puzzling World (2km from Lake Wanaka) www.puzzlingworld.com and its maze (NZ$10 per person). Try maze challenge. Though the maze was frustrating initially, run here n there sweating like mad but its fun.
Drop by Salmon farm café (near Lake Paringa). They open til 7pm.
Dinner (before fox glacier) @

Fox Glacier is a very small town. Most restaurants are mainly bars, nothing much to eat.
Stay overnight @ Ivory Towers (NZ$70)

Day 7 (Sun, 9 Oct 05) – Fox Glacier – Franz Josef – Hokitika Cost $200

Fox Glacier – Franz Josef (23 km/ 15 mins)
Franz Josef – Hokitika (136 km/ 1 hr 45 mins)

Fox Glacier
Walk around the lake Matheson and have breakfast @ Lake Matheoson café.
Fox glacier walk NZ$35 (http://www.foxguides.co.nz/trips.asp) (2hrs) to ice terminal.
Sentinel Rock (20min) to have overview of Franz Josef.
Fox and Franz Glacier are very similar.

Hokitika. A very quiet town. Wonder city of the Southern Hemisphere
Lunch @
Stop for Jade factory.
Boy Souvenir.
Dinner @ Priva Indian Restaurant
Glowworm Dell. Admission free
Stay overnight @ Blue Spur. Quiet and peaceful. (NZ$70)

Day 8 (Mon, 10 Oct 05) – Hokitika – Greymouth – Punakaiki - Arthur pass – Kaikoura Cost $50

Hokitika – Greymouth (41 km/ 30 mins)
Greymouth – Punakaiki ( ? km/ ? hr ? mins)

Hokitika
Depart 9am

Greymouth
Lunch @ Subway Mawhera Quay, 174a Mawhera Shopping Centre (Ph: 3-768-9029)

Punakaiki
Pancake rocks

Arthurpass
Scenic view along the Arthurpass

Kaikoura
Arrive 8pm
Dinner @
Stay overnight @ Colonial Court Motel $85

Day 9 (Tue, 11 Oct 05) - Kaikoura – Hanmer Springs – CHC – Lyttelton via Summit Rd – CHC Cost $350

CHC – kaikoura 184km / 2hrs 25mins

Kaikoura
Whale Watching www.whalewatch.co.nz NZ$125 @7.00am
Lunch @ Kaikoura Seafood restaurant – Craypot (70 Westend)
Lavender Farm
The Point Sheep Shearing show ($10) 1.30pm & 4pm - 4km from Kaikoura town Centre
Depart 2.30pm

CHC
Arrive
Lunch @ the food court.
Complete all the activities on day 2.
Dinner @ (there is plenty of food around)
Stay overnight @ Christchurch City Central YHA - Christchurch ($60/ night)
http://www.stayyha.com/hostels-ind.asp?id=48

Day 10 (Wed, 12 Oct 05) – CHC – AKL – SIN Cost $50

Christchurch
Last minutes shopping
Return the car at the airport
Depart 14:00 pm

Singapore
Arrive 19.50pm

hehe.. hope i dont kena kicked by the moderator for the long message.

gals, should i wait for the NATAS? do they have promotion for free n easy? will the price cheaper if i buy the ticket only?

Hi Low,

u got mail. let me know after viewing

I cant remember the price for manuka honey, i think each item around NZ$15 to NZ$20....Best to get all these from Queenstown, more shopping.

Hi kwan,

if u really got the time, go ahead n book everything urself cos it will be cheaper than go through an agency.

Basically, ur itinerary is quite rushing n to think that u squeeze alot of places within 10 days as its quite short. From ur itinerary, most of the time, it seems to me that u will be driving on the road, touch n go instead of enjoying the scenary.

Hmmm just some advise on ur itinerary.

Day 2 : CHC - Lyttelton - CHC
Try not to drive on the day of arrival esp. after 12hrs of long tiring flight, its better for u to take a slow one n hv a good rest. By the time u touched down CHC airport n picked up e car from Teddy, that wld be abt 4pm. Its better to just tour around CHC city area n hv a good rest...

Day 3 : CHC - Scenic Route 72 - Lake Tekapo - Mt Cook - Lake Tekapo - Queenstown
Too ambitious liao. Lake Tekapo is very beautiful. Y not stay 1 nite over there? Or either u can choose to overnite at Twizel. Not advisable to continue your journey to Queenstown, not realistic. If let say, after the hooker valley walk, it will be very tiring n driving all the way to queenstown wil be hectic. Remember, pls do not drive at nite, its quite dangerous.

Day 4 - 5: Queenstown - Te Anau - Milford - Tne Anau - Queenstown
There are alot of things to do at Queenstown. It would be better to just enjoy the rides n adventure stuffs there. Even 2 days at Queenstowns for us is not enough.

Day 8: Hokitika - Greymouth - Punakaiki - Arthur Pass - Kaikoura
From Arthur Pass to Kaikoura is way too far (4hrs).
Suggestion: Hokitika - Greymouth - Punakaiki - Hanmer Springs

Day 9: Suggest Hanmer springs - kaikoura - CHC

Hi Ladies!

Need some opinions here... I have two itineraries from two different agencies. One is offering a 12 days NZ package which covers Lake Taupo and Huka Falls. Another one is offering a 14 days package which covers Bay of Islands. No Lake Taupo and Huka Falls. Which has a better scenery?

Hi KK,

hey remember me? we discussed at Melbourne thread before in Dec 03. We went there ard the same time, but of 1 week difference. hehe.So now u planning to go NZ?

U joining tour? its better to self drive in NZ and u shld concentrate on south island as it is more beautiful.

Both FH and I are interested to go NZ on Jan 2 - 14 (13 days). Not joining tours but were interested to self drive (though only FH driving coz I dun have licence). Xp

Anyway was reading the forum and have some queries. Seems like South Island is very nice. But everyone are flying fr Spore direct to AKL then to CHC. Is this bec all flights from Spore only fly direct to AKL?

Coz I am thinking of getting those F&E packages from Tour agencies which offered Flight, Accomodation and Car Rental for maybe 4-5 days, then extend on my own. Understand that Chaxxxx offer 1 multi-city package which includes 2x domestic flight (to n fro) so was wondering do I need to take tat up or juz the normal one.

Also is it worth waiting till Nataz??

Pardon my ignorance.

Babe,
Singapore Airlines have direct flights to CHC.

I have backpacked with my mother to South Island, and it is really very beautiful. I would suggest that you take the bus instead of renting a car. Driving distances are very far, and you will feel very tired after driving for many hours. The bus is very convenient between the major cities, and the best thing is they will drop off and pick up from your hotel or hostel. You can just sit back, relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. When driving one of you will always have to keep an eye on the road and will not be able to enjoy the scenery. Try counting the number of lambs you will see ! It is like dreamscape.

Also don't forget about the dangers of driving on foreign unfamiliar roads. Especially the road from Te Anau to Milford Sound. When driving for many hours you may fall asleep and don't even know it.

babe,
i am doing a self-trip round south island for 18 days.. will be flying direct to CHC on SQ.. cheaper to book online thru SIA website..

only my fiance is driving.. many loves to do self-drive in new zealand as you get to see more things and the pace is really relaxing... you only need to plan your itinerary well and dun be too ambitious to cover too many places in a day..

I'll choose self-drive if you FH is able to drive long distance. Taking bus to major cities simply misses out all the stops that you can do as and when you like along beautiful places that pop up out of nowhere in the southern island.

But be careful on some of the routes, do read up more on self-drive in NZ before you go.

Anyway, driving style is dependent on driver. Like for myself, i can drive 12 hrs straight and still feel relaxed. provided its not at night.

hi babe,

We self drove in NZ south island in Jan 05 too. It was really fun and enjoyable. Basically the roads there are quite ok but there r some parts that u have to drive carefully around esp in Milford sound, crown range, lyttelton harbour. other than that, all roads r fine to me and my hubby.

its better to self drive in NZ esp in south island. Most importantly is to plan your itinerary well. Self drive allows you to travel places where tour doesnt bring u go, its more flexible, fun n relax though it might be tiring to drive on your own. Bear in mind, do allow only 3 to 5hrs driving per day or even lesser so that ur hubby wont feel so tiring.

Hi Kite!

My hubby and I will be taking up a package, instead of self drive. Reason being we dun drive often in Singapore so lack the confidence to drive in a foreign land

Yah, from all comments i gathered, it seems like South island is really very beautiful. But there are places in North Island which i would love to cover. But are they really worth the time and money? They are places like Agrodome, Thermal Reserve, Glowworm caves. What do you girls think??

I really need some advice here. U know kite, when it comes to NZ, i am really BLUR Haha!

Hi Tamarind,

Do u mean that u took the public buses there? Or u actually pre-booked a package with hop on and off coaches online?

Gee Thanks a great deals pals....

Currently both FH and I have juz decided to go NZ for our Honeymoon n so is starting to read up on places of interests n only 1/10th thro the forums. Hence still in a blur blur infant stage...

Guess I will be getting a mixture of both... Coz my FH dun drive long distance maybe Public Transport like buses n trains in cities such as CHC and rent a car for few areas.. or maybe join some local tours for some places too..

So actually only SQ flying direct to CHC while Air NZ flies to AKL first.. Coz rite now the px fr Air NZ is $970 per pax (wo taxes).

Actually was wondering is it cheaper to buy Air Tickets Separately or take those F&E packages like from Chan Bro... which include flight n 3 Days accomodation or / & car.

Well I guess I have to wait till NATAZ to find out whether there r any promo going onz..

South island is really beautiful!!! Go slow, dun rush to visit places, that's my advice. Queenstown took away my breath one morning coz we stay on the hotel on a slight hill (forgot name liao). Then breakfast was early at 7am (already v. bright). It overlooked the lake and was a cloudy & cold morning and then the sun suddenly broke thru the crowds and shine into the dining area. It was like "WOW, is this heaven?". Can see the rays of the sun and the lake suddenly turn sparkling shiny. To-date, I've nvr seen anywhere more beautiful though I'm hoping Rockies, canada will be just as nice (planning to go there)

i've booked my ticket from 3 Oct - 13 Oct'05 by ANZ. and booked the car (Teddy).

Hi kk,
There are gloworm cave and thermal pool as well in the South.

Hi Kite,
I've revised my itenerary.. Thanks for your advise.
btw, did you booked the car through Teddy as well? When did you return the car to him? the day before your flight or on the day you depart to SG? Where?

My fight on 13Oct back to SG will be @ 9am. So, i still dunno whether i should rent the car until 12 or 13 morning.

My husband-to-be birthday will fall on the Day1 when we arrive @ CHC. Does anyone of you has a suggestion where to have romantic dinner or what can i do over there?

Hi babe,

i've compared all those Dynasty, SA, Chan Bro, or any other package from other agency.. and like kite said, it's cheaper to buy your tix yourself and arrange your accomodation.

Chan bro only allow you to return the car back to CHC so if you want to extend your car, you can only go through them which i find quite expensive compare to Teddy.

And i noticed that Dynasty Travel, SA, Chan Bro road show only give discount for group tours not on FnE

Thanks Kwan,

Looks like u have done much homework.. Guess I could tap on all your advice n will just start buying my tix and arranging my own accomodations.

Understand from ANZ, the plan departs fr SG at 825pm and reach Auckland the next day at 1130am ??? 15 Hrs of flight journey??
And to reach CHC, still need to take another flight from 1pm n reach at 2 pm.. Gosh.. it seems quite tiring but the return journey however is only 6 hrs from AKL - SG. Do u know why is there such a drastic difference in the Hrs? Is it due to time difference?

BTW, when r u travelling to NZ? Have u planned yr itinery?

Hi KK,

Since u will be joining tour, that will be quite rushing to go both north and south island in 12 to 13 days n places cover will be quite limited esp in south island. Even 2 weeks is not enough to explore south island. Well, i hv not been to the north island so i cant comment on those places u mentioned. But anyway, do enjoy your NZ trip. When are u departing?

Hi Idono,

me too, i wish to visit Canada Rockies n its as beautiful as NZ, that place is not to be missed.

Hi Kwan,

u're welcome
Yup booked my car rental from Teddy too, he is a very nice guy. We returned the car to him on the day where we were leaving NZ which was 8am. Our flight was 9.30am. When we first reached CHC he picked us up from airport w our rented car and then when leaving NZ, he drove us back to airport again.

U can rent til 13 oct and return him at about 8am like what we did.
FYI, his car rental company is just 5mins away from CHC airport

Hi babe,

If u travel by ANZ, total hours from Spore to AKL is 10 hrs. Another 2 hrs on domestic flight from AKL to CHC. Total : 12hrs. Time difference is 6hrs. We reached CHC at 2pm+

Thanks Kite.

Oops jus notice Kwan had actually posted her itnerary above and she's going in Oct.. Blur me..

Anyway still trying to fix my itnerary... seems like so many things tat I want to do.. but too little days.... Would like to enlist the helps of u gals when I have draft it out n post it up later.. Thanks

Just want to say a big "Thank You" to all those who contributed to this forum. Really make my planning for my first self-drive trip easier.

My FH and me are going for our HM in Jan 06. 16 days including flight. Taking SQ flight direct to CHC.

Here's my tentative itinerary. Please give your comments.

Day 1 - Depart Singapore at 2105 hrs.

Day 2 – Arrive in CHC Airport at 1105 hrs.
Activities at CHC :
Christchurch Cathedral, Canterbury Museum, Arts Centre, Botanic Gardens, Avon River, ChristChurch Art Gallery, International Antartic Centre, Christchurch Casino

Day 3 (CHC via Scenic Route 72 – Lake Tekapo)
Sightseeing during the drive via Scenic Route :
Rakaia Gorge, Mount Hutt, Mount Sommers (Lily Farm), Farlie (Fish & Chips)

Activities at Lake Tekapo :
- Trekking to Mount John Observatory
- Church of the Good Shepard
- Try to catch the sunset with golden mountains at Lake Tekapo

Day 4 (Lake Tekapo - Mount Cook - Twizel – Omarama – Oamaru)
Activities at Mount Cook :
- Hooker Valley Track

Sightseeing during the drive to Oamaru
Lake Benmore, Lake Aviemore, Waitaki Dam, Maori Rock Drawing and Shag Point

Day 5 (Oamaru - Dunedin – Otagio Penisula – Dunedin)
Sightseeing during the drive to Dundein
Moeraki Boulders

Activities at Dundein
- Speight's Brewery Tour (1.5 hour)
- City Centre
- Tour To Penguin

Day 6 (Dunedin – Gore - Te Anau)
Activities at Te Anau
Glow Worm Tour
Shop around and buy chocolates

Day 7 (Te Anau - Milford Sound – Te Anau - Queenstown)
Activities at Te Anua, Milford Sound
Mirror lake, Board Friendship Cruise at Milford Sound

Sightseeing during the drive to Queenstown :
The Remarkables

Day 8 (Queenstown – Deer Park - Queenstown)
Activities : Shotover High Five, Deer Park, Shopping

Day 9 (Queenstown – Glenorchy – Queenstown)
Activities :
Glenorchy (The River Wild Horse Riding at Dart Stables)
Skippers Canyon
Shopping

Day 10 (Queenstown – Arrowtown – Wanaka via Crown range)
Activities at Wanaka
- Puzzling world
- Lake Wanaka

Day 11 (Wanaka – Haast – Fox Glacier)
Sightseeing during the drive :
Lake Hawea, Salmon Farm (Buy Salmon for dinner), Knights Point Lookout

Activities at Fox Glacier :
- Self walk at Fox Glacier
- Lake Metheson

Day 12 (Fox Glacier - Franz Joseph Glacier - Hokitika)
Activities at Fox Glacier : Fox Glacier Helihike
FJ Glacier – 20mins Sentinel Rock walk to have an overview of Franz Josef

Day 13 (Hokitika – Greymouth – Punakaiki – Greymouth – Hanmer Springs)
Sightseeing during the drive :
Shantytown, Punakaiki (Passing by Pancake Rocks & Blowholes)

Activities at Hanmer Springs : Thermal Pool and Spa

Day 14 (Hammer Springs – ChristChurch - Akaroa)
Sightseeing during the drive : Barry’s Bay Cheese Factory

Activities at Akaroa : French Settler’s Landing Place, Dolphin Experience, Old Custom House, Daly’s Wharf, Main Wharf, Church of St Patricks, War Memorial, Garden of Tane

Day 15 (Akaroa - ChristChurch)
Activities at CHC :
Lyttelton Port, Cashmere Hill, Free & Easy

Day 16 Depart New Zealand at 1400 hrs

Hi babe,

Yes
4 Jan 06 - 19 Jan 06. I have bought my air tickets (SQ) and have also confimed my car rental with Teddy. Now, i am deciding on the accomodation.

How about you?

hi snoopy,

u have a nice organised itinerary
almost similar as mine. hehe since u hv planned out your itinerary, do book ur accommodation fast as Jan is a super peak period.

Hi Snoopy,

U r real fast... I am still planning my itnerary.. most prob stealing both yours and Kite's ideas.. I planned to go there fr 2 - 14 Jan 06... Was waiting for promo tickets. Saw ANZ having sale but only valid for travel till Nov 05..so disappointed.. Maybe I will wait some more for SQ or any airlines later on.