New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Hi Deremi,
Thanks. Dont mention it. Glad u enjoyed viewing my pics

I went to South Island during Jan 05 which is summer. Long daylight hours and u are free to do alot of stuffs. We did a free and easy self drive.

Yes it is safe to drive as long u stick to the speed limits and slow down along winding bends. But remember do not drive at nite.

Hmm it would be better if u do a free n easy self drive. hmm unless u are not confident in driving and reading maps then it better to stick to day groups. But then advise is to do a f&e, can go anywhere u like. The road signs in NZ are easy to read and navigate around. Very straight forward unless u are in town area. Anyway, it's up to you

NZ is definitely a great choice for Honeymoon! Romantic and relaxing n not forgetting the beautiful scenary. I m sure u wil love NZ
I wil definitely go back again.

Hi Mint,
Nice to see you here again. How are you?

Hi Yours,
LOL. The two huge animals that always stick together are called "Bison and Llmas". hehe :D

hey kite,

of coz i enjoy it. love it man!
hope i can fly there straight away now. hehe!

i oso think NZ is a wonderful place for HM.

thanks for ur informations...

Hi Bluegrapes,

I have sent my HM pics to you. Check it out

July in NZ is winter. It would be better to go after winter. U planning to self drive or join tour?

Hi Deremi,

welcome
happy preparation n planning. Let me know if u need any help again. :D

Hi Jenny,

U got mail. check it out
March to April is autumn, turning into winter season. Will be cold.

Spring season is from Sep to Nov and best time to go shall be Nov where flowers bloom

For 2 weeks, u can tour around south island as south is of beautiful scenary, lesser crowds. Advise to go F&E self drive, more relaxing

U can do alot of things in NZ. U might want to refer to my earlier post of my NZ itinerary trip report on what i did and places not to be missed.

Hey Kite,

Thanks a lot for ur photos. It's lovely.

I like it that ur pics focus on some little details of the surrounding like flowers, little duckies etc cos most of the pic taken by other couples are generally scenaries only.

Btw, do u have a bigger file of the 'See Red Line - The Route We Travelled' photo? Is it possible to share with me? Sorry for being so troublesome as I am seriously of thinking of going to NZ after viewing ur pic. However, my honeymoon is in July.
Wintertime.

Hi BluBells,

May i know are u jenny? cos i havent send any of my NZ pix to your email yet cos busy w work. I only sent it to Jenny. How did u manage to view my pics?

Hi Blubells,
Its okie for the confusion, at least now I know Bluegrapes is you. Really scare me. Hehe

Well, thanks for your comments. Actually I love taking small details and close up of flowers (abit hua chi) hehe :D Yes I can send you the bigger file of my route photo. Actually I downloaded that route pix from website (let me know if u want the website) and I used Photoshop to draw the red line. Its mainly for our memento

Probably if u n ur hubby can wait, y not wait til Oct – Nov? Wil be nice weather n not as cold as winter. For 13 days f&e self drive, we spent estimate $6k in total for everything – all DIY (booked from online) thus cheaper.

So u planning to self drive or join tour group? It might be dangerous to drive during winter as some roads will be close and u need to chain up your tyres.

Let me know if u need any more help.

Hi yours2lynn,

Sorry for the late reply... I've been busy with work to clear my stuffs before I go on leave..
I guess you must have lotsa fun and enjoyment on your NZ trip..
I'm so looking forward to mine now.. Will be departing this Sunday nite..

Thanks for your advice... I've already prepare winter clothing for myself just in case.. It seems like the weather is sometimes unpredictable.. Can be very cold sometimes or warm.. Not to forget about light weight pants too ..

Hi Jovialbliss,

Enjoy your trip and remember snap alot of photos n share w us
must be excited right? :D

Hi Jenny,

no problem. let me know after viewing.

Thanks kite!

The red line is very well drawn.
Can email me the pic? Sorry for the trouble.

$6K estimation is for 2 pax right? Wow, $6K for 13 days is very reasonable. U must have planned ur budget well.

We are definitely planning for self drive. It's definitely more fun and relaxing. Had a 10 days self drive in aust not long ago and really miss it. Am sure NZ will be even more exciting!

U r right. Driving in winter can be dangerous plus it will be raining a lot?
Well, guess I juz have to wait till Spring so that I can also get to admire the flora and fauna.

Hi Bluegrapes,

Will email you e pic when I m back home cos at office now

Yup just a rough guide $6k for 2 pax. Yes before we fly to NZ, I have actually planned and booked everything n try to fix into our budget.

Which part of Aus u went? Me too, went Aus f&e self drive before back in 2003. But NZ will be nicer!

Hmm not just raining but also snowing. But then u can do skiing activities there! U planning this year rite?

Thanks Kite!

Went to Melbourne, Sydney and Adelaide in Aust. I'm sure NZ will be much more beautiful.

Yeah, thinking of going this year. Now I am really concern cos since we are going for self drive, it will be dangerous as the weather is going to be pretty bad and unpredictable. Uhm...tink gotta postpone our trip.
Sob sob.

We are also back from our honeymoon! NZ was so nice...nice scenery, nice people, good food and wine everything was very pleasant.

We spent $9k in all for 16 days. Didn't do much cooking except maybe for 3 meals. Stayed in a mix of motels and B&B. Things that would remain in my mind for a long time to come about NZ, besides the beautiful and amazing scenery is Cookie Time cookies, Grain Wave chips, "Good As Gold", meat pies, Helen Clark (PM of NZ) - we met her at the mall, and the B&B accommodations we stayed in!!

Sure all who are planning a trip there would love it!! We didn't want to come back!!

after reading everyone's reviews of NZ, i can't wait to get there myself!!
however, my honeymoon will be in Mid Oct, and i have heard that the weather prob won't be conducive (too cold!) for quite a few outdoor activities. is that true? am only interested in white water rafting and the jet boat thing.

also, i was thinking of using queenstown as a central hub and travelling southwards from there, would it be too inconvenient to rely on coaches and trains to get around as me and my hubby can't drive?

would appreciate any advise i can get. thanks!

Hi Bluegrapes,

I went to Melbourne too n did a f&e self drive and along the Great Ocean Road. Fantastic but NZ is more beautiful! Do keep me update which mth u confirm going to NZ.

I have sent the copy of my route pix to you. check it out.

Hi G,

Welcome back! Nice to hear you enjoy yourself so much. Hey remember to share your NZ pics with me.

Hi Jules,

I have sent you my NZ Pix. Check it out.
Happy viewing.

Mid Oct - Nov will be nice as its spring season but weather will still be cold.

hi kite,

may i know roughly how many degrees it will be then? cos if its like 10-15 degrees i can still take it. =) i thought it's spring season thats why it will be ok to go, but everyone keeps telling me it will be cold!!! why leh??

Hi Kite,

I guess it wld b around 10 degrees n above.
However it will still have to depend on its weather. In NZ, the weather is very unpredictable. It will still be cold cos winter has just ended n entering spring season.

Like i went in Summer, i encountered almost 4 season in 1 day. hehe
Thus, its better for u to bring along a winter wear.

Did u manage to receive my NZ pics?

hey kite,

me too. I went to Melbourne too n did a f&e self drive and along the Great Ocean Road. Fantastic too...

keke........hope to go NZ soon...

Hi Deremi,

If you find driving along Great Ocean Road is okie, i guess driving in NZ will be fine but definitely NZ roads will be slightly more challenging.

kite, have received your pics!! they are SOOO nice!!! everywhere looks so bright and with blue skies!!! u mentioned u went in dec right? are u or your hubby professional photog? the pics are very well taken!

Hi Jules,

We are not professional at all. LOL, we are just normal users though we were using a digicam with 3.2Mpixels

We went during Jan 05 which is in summer.

Hi Deremi,

ic. nvm, do ur research 1st which is more important

Hi yours,

ur NZ pix ready? cant wait to view leh. hehe :D

Hi Deremi,
Can leh, I just tried the link and it works.

Hi kite,
Ya long time no "see" liao. Have been super busy no time to come in to chat... sigh!!

hey mint & yours2lynn,

saw u both links liao...
beautiful fotos...i luv it...
kao_love.gif

i like the mountains, rivers, sea, buildings...the everythings...

Hi yours,

saw ur pics. nice nice
Can see from ur pics, mostly are buildings and cliffs n rocks though not much lake pics.
:

Hi yours2lynn,
Can let me take a peek at your photos? It's been a long time since I last logged on so I think you took it off public viewing liao. Can send the link to me instead? Thanks.

Hi kite,
Where are you planning to go next? I may be going to Shanghai in June.

Hi mint,

wow u gg to shanghai for holiday? must show me photos.

for me, now dun hv plans yet since NZ honeymoon trip, maybe planning end of this year. hehe.

Hi kite,
Yup, if I do go, will definitely show you photos. But I think I'll be shopping most of the time. hehe!

So where are you planning for end of this year? My hubby and I planning for places Spain, Greece or Turkey.

Hi yours2lynn,
Thanks for sharing your pics. Very nice scenery. Made me miss the place all over again... hmmm! I wonder whether it was the same bison that we took photo. hehe!