New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Hi Yours,

wow. so ex! it was 1.16 to 1.175 during Jan.

Nope. didnt visit the 2 mentioned places. Bcos basically wineries to me are all the same, visited those wineries in australia before.

U must not missed out Deer Park Height, drive up behind The Remarkables in Queenstown.....allow 2 to 3 nites at Queenstown. Suggest 3 nites as there are tons of things to do. I find even 2 nites was not sufficient for us. :D

Oh ya, if you have the time n $, go for the Skipper's Canyon tour in Queenstown! Basically, i dont have much time to go for the Skipper's Canyon tour. Will do it again if going back!
Hehe

basically, no rented cars or vehicles are allowed at Skipper's Canyon as it is too dangerous. It is known as "the SCARIEST road in the world". However, there are professional tour in 4-wheel will bring you up there, really exciting n adventurous!
However, there is a tour on mountain biking....if u are more adventurous enough...

Hi kite~

We will most probably take the 11 or 13 days tour. I went for the SA Tours and Anada Tours last Sunday at Suntec. They say it is okie to go there in winter. but what my friends all say is got nothing to see. Is it correct? N it's so cold that certain things/places you can do/go.

Hi G,

Le Bons Bay is one of the several bays around Akaroa. the pleasure in staying at the bays is to enjoy the tranquuility of the beaches, the first sunrise and the possible boat trip to see wildlife. As a day trip, it is probably sufficient to just visit Akaroa township.

Hi Winner,

Personally i think winter is nice too though it will be very cold. Though the flowers n trees are not as nice as spring/summer but its so great to see lots of snow during winter. Plus u do sking activities there which i cant do in summer. I guess every season got its own beauty

Since u will be joining tour, u wont hv to think n worry too much about driving. cos driving in winter is quite dangerous as some roads are closed and u need to chain up your tyre.

however if u can wait, u can wait til Spring season like what Yours has mentioned.

Hi yours,
must be counting down to the days for your NZ trip. hehe!
I did white water rafting with queenstown rafters and the bus ride to the start point of the rafting was via Skippers Canyon. It was quite fun and the bus driver is really skilful!

If you bring instant noodles, chilli, etc, remember to declare it. Also be prepared to throw it away if they ask you to. I suggest you go there and buy. The supermarket there very nice to shop around... hehe! Plus things not ex.

I went for the Gibbston winery and did the summer sampler. Didn't go cheese factory cos went to one before when I was in Amsterdam. For the summer sampler, we got to visit 2 vineyards and to try the wines there... I'm now hooked on Riesling... haha! Also, there were some cheese for tasting at the first vineyard.

Agree with kite. If you have the time, do make a trip to Glenorchy. I did my sky-dive there.

Gal,
I went to that Pig restaurant and yup! the lamb shank is really good! Actually my hubby and I only wanted a light snack... then we just wandered into the restaurant and ordered a lamb shank to share and both of us were "fighting" over who gets to eat the last piece... haha!

Hi Mint,

I'm thinking of bringing in some instant noodles (my hubby swears by the brand), chili sauce (he has to have them with his meat/fish), soya sauce and cooking oil. So does it mean I have to pack the foodstuffs in my handcarry? What's the possibility of them asking us to dispose of the stuff?

hi ellen,

its better to self drive. more flexible n fun.
Generally, the roads there are safe, just that need to slow down on winding roads n bends.

We are seriously thinking of signing up with Aoraki Balloons for Hot Air Ballooning at Methven. Anyone been on this tour? Is it really worth the hunderds of $$$??

Hi G,

Thanks. Well, i have no problem accessing pics from jade city n onwards. Perhaps u can try again
Let me know again if u got any problems viewing the photos

Hi yours2lynn,
Chances of them telling you to dispose it is quite high... No harm bringing but just be willing to part with it. When I was on the plane, the crew told us that we were not allowed to bring the airline snacks off the plane.

I have $1800 worth of vouchers to let go. Willing to sell off at $1.7k. The vouchers are valid till 24 Feb 2006.

If there is anybody who's keen, please feel free to contact me (through here or PM preferred)

These vouchers can be used to offset any packages from SAFE travel. I am nt too sure if their website is updated though, but u can feel free to ask them. I am not sure if they sell air tickets alone either.

Address:
Sales2Travel Pte Ltd
3 Lim Teck Kim Road #01-04/05 & #02-02
Singapore Technologies Buildg
Singapore 088934
Tel: 6823 3000
Fax: 6226 3711

URL:www.safe2travel.com

Anyone just came back from NZ, south island? Because my auntie flying to NZ on this Wednesday!
Keep me update. Thanks.

Hi kite~ & yours2lynn
If I go rite in the heart of winter (i.e. middle of jul) then daylight will be very short and does it nt mean that i will nt get 2 c many things or do things like balloon flights or glacier walk,skyline gondola or jetboating?

Hi Winnie,

Yup u r right, day is very short during winter, if i m not wrong, the sky gets dark after 5pm.

I went in Summer, Jan 05. The sun sets only at 10pm completely.

I wil advise u to go during Springs.

Daylight hours are shorter but you can still do all that you mentioned in winter. However, if you are booking a tour package, you may not have the time. Do check what is the F&E time included in your itinerary. I believe they usually give you F&E in Queenstown. Not sure about the other places.

Know wat! today, i just received a FINE from NZ traffic police for Speeding though my trip was in Jan 05! sigh. Luckily, not much, costs only NZ$80....phew...the spot where we sped passed was at Oamaru and its really stupid to say we drove at 64km/hr which exceed only 15km/hr of its 50km/hr speed limit.

hi yours,

wow! i guess its bcos of the school holidays....probably wait after school holiday ends, i guess e rate will go down.

Hi Kite,
I'm curious as to how the traffic police got your mailing address. Did you have to give it to them?

My hubby got a speeding ticket when we were there last Dec. The officer just took down the driving license number and told us to pay the fine at some station (can't remember exactly where). When we told him we were in a hurry to catch our flight, he hinted that it was really up to us whether we wanted to pay the fine, since we were travellers. Anyway, we kept the speeding ticket as a souvenir. So just curious how they managed to track you down.

For your information, when you rent your car you have already provided your details to the rental company. The fine will be deducted automatically from your credit card (as I understand from some travellers.)

Probably, in Kite's case it was a speeding camera and it's registered in their system. While CP is caught by a traffic police and issued the ticket, and he may not have submitted his record? (Just a thought)

Kite, when does the school holidays end huh? I going to fly next week leh!

Hi CP,

We were actually caught by the speed camera, not the same case as you were caught by the traffic police on the spot.

Actually the letter was sent by NZ traffic Police from Wellington, think their headquarters is in Wellington. The reason why they knew our address is because during the time when we rented the vehicle, the vehicle was under our name, so able to track us down.

Anyway the expiry date will be 1 month for us to pay the fine. Dont think we can ignore the letter n fine right? hehe

So at that point of time, how much was the fine u all got? And what is the speed you n ur hubby exceeded?

I hope not to receive more letters for speeding. Bcos my fren went to NZ too, and got 3 ticketings for speeding n end up paying NZ$300+.

Hi Yours,

Next week is school holidays mah thus alot of ppl sure take a short break n rates will go up.

Huh? i thought u departing exactly on 25 Mar (Good friday)? The week after next right? hehe anyway feel so excited for you. Must snap more pics for us to see.

Hi CP,

btw any pics to share w me? if u want view mine, u can give me ur email......hehe

Our speeding ticket was NZ$120, exceeded the speed limit of 100km by 17km. Actually we were coming off the highway entering a town, and my hubby wasn't alert enough to slow down to the speed limit. So far we haven't heard anything, no credit card deductions, no letters. So until we hear something again from them, if not I would just keep the speeding ticket as souvenir.

Hi CP,

wow NZ$120, thats quite alot and u n ur hubby are lucky to escape it n keep it as souvernir. hehe

Hi Yours,

May i know which airline u booked ur air tix from? Ya better change soon in case it goes up higher.

So my advise is to slow down and do not speed over the limit especially when reaching each town else you will come back with fines like us. hehe Though we already tried our best to adhere to the speed limit. hehe :D

Hi yours,

If you are with Air NZ, u can select your own seats. Try to choose those seats near Exit where u will have large leg room, thus will feel more comfortable.

We managed to get seats near exit with large leg room and was enjoying during 2-way return. :D

I too got a speeding fine when I was there in Dec03. But I ignore the 1st ticket and they will send you another one.....and after that no news from them already....maybe I am blacklisted liao...haha

My hubby also got a speeding ticket. The fine was NZ$500. Hubby exceeded the 100 speed limit by 35km. Got caught at the greymouth area. Be careful along that route. Lots of traffic police cars. Didn't pay for it and still have the ticket for souvenir. hehe! I guess we're blacklisted now for the next few years. The traffic police didn't copy my hubby's name or our home address properly on the ticket so I guess no way he can trace us. Unless he's really hardworking and go through Singapore immigration to check on the IC number. hehe! And we also got a parking ticket which was NZ$40 in queenstown. We paid for that cos it was a small amount.

Oh ya, i also got a NZ$12 summon at Christchurch, forget to put coins into the carpark meter. hehe anyway we gave NZ$12 to our car rental co. n they helped us to pay.

hi halo,

u mean e speeding fine was mailed to your house? so even if u did not pay, there is nothing they can do? wont create a big issue rite? hehe

Hi mint,

Wow! how come so much? NZ$500??? incredile!!! hehe So u also mean that the fine was mailed to your house n u actually ignored it? Or u 2 were caught on the spot?

Bcos now right, my situation is the fine is mailed directly to my home address leh.

Hi kite,
Ya lor... dun know why so much leh? But my hubby was driving at 135km/h so maybe that's too fast. We were caught on the spot so the traffic police gave us the ticket and told us to pay at any natwest bank. But we didn't pay lor... hehe!

Maybe you could ignore it first and see what happens. Did they request you to mail a cheque out to them to pay for the fine? I don't think they can ask the car rental company for your credit card number cos it's confidential.

Hi mint,

NZ$500 is really alot! dont tell me they can name their own price? oopsss..hehe

Yes the letter requested us to pay the fine by cheque leh.....hmm dunno how leh. my hubby said must pay leh...hehe

<font color="0000ff">Tornado hits Greymouth
10 March 2005</font>

A tornado has ripped through the West Coast town of Greymouth today.

Police confirmed a tornado went through the town and officers were dealing with the situation.

A woman answering calls at a Radio Scenicland ZM said she had been told a large truck was overturned, parts of an engineering business demolished and a service station partially unroofed.

"I watched it out the window, and saw all these sheets of glass and iron flying around," she told NZPA.

Meanwhile, the AA reported that high winds were hitting State Highway 73 between Arthur's Pass and Springfield - a major route to the West Coast - advising drivers of high-sided vehicles to take extreme care.

St John's Ambulance in Greymouth said they had had two calls for people with minor injuries.

No details of the injuries were immediately available.

A staff member at the Caltex service station in Tainui St, Claire Murphy-Klempel, said a nearby video shop had been "destroyed".

She said part of the service station forecourt was blown off, windows blown out, cars damaged, a fence demolished and branches stripped off a pohutukawa tree.

"It was huge – massive – I could see the iron flying around."

A Grey Hospital spokesman said staff were expecting "one or two" injured people.

Around 100 residents of Kowhai Manor retirement home were being evacuated.

"It's got half its roof off," Grey Mayor Tony Kokshoorn said.

"There's a lot of destruction – the tornado's come in from the sea and it's gone right through."

Mr Kokshoorn said the roof of Dispatch Engineering – one of the biggest buildings in town – had lifted and came flying through the air towards him as he drove away from council chambers.

"I couldn't believe it – I just dived into the back seat."

In June 2003, about 20 businesses were damaged when a tornado cut a swathe through downtown Greymouth and caused damage costing more than $300,000.

One building, in Albert St, was suffered such severe structural damage in the June 16, 2003 tornado that it was made unusable with the winds causing the back wall of the business to bow.

The 2003 tornado swept in off the Tasman Sea at about 9.45am, wreaking havoc on the western end of the central business district, snapping concrete power poles and knocking over street lights.

A similar tornado ripped through Greymouth in the early hours of March 28 2001, wrecking houses.

No one was injured then, but glass shattered and iron buckled in some homes.

<font color="ff0000">Widespread damage in Greymouth</font>

Greymouth Mayor Tony Kokshoorn says tornado caused no serious injuries or loss of life, despite incredible damage.

There is disbelief at the widespread damage caused by a tornado in Greymouth this afternoon.

Several people are understood to have been injured after the twister ripped through the West Coast town around one o'clock.

It has ripped rooves off buildings, and completely destroyed several businesses.

Grey District Mayor Tony Kokshoorn says he cannot believe that no-one has been killed.

He says you have got to see the devastation to believe it.

Mr Kokshoorn says he was driving away from the council when part of a roof flew towards him.

He says he dived into the back seat of the car and hung on while it smashed into the vehicle.

Local man Donny King says everyone is walking around, stunned at the damage.

He says there are sheets of roofing iron lying around, and cars have been smashed.

Chief Fire Officer Alan McEnaney is stationed in Blaketown, where he says there has been extensive damage.

Mr McEnaney told Newstalk ZB's Danny Watson that 12 to 14 houses have been completely demolished along with a number of businesses.

However he says the good news is that at this stage only one person has been sent to hospital.

He says all the places where people may have been who might have needed assistance have been checked, and they believe everyone has been accounted for.

He says the same cannot be said for the buildings.

Alan McEnaney says up to 100 elderly people have been evacuated from a rest-home in Greymouth as a result of the tornado.

Mayor Tony Kokshoorn says residents from the Kowhai Manor retirement home have been forced to leave.

He says they are all ok, despite receiving a terrible fright.

The Grey District Council is not, however, planning to declare a civil defence emergency.

Tony Kokshoorn says there appears to be no serious injuries or loss of life, despite the incredible damage.

He says emergency services have worked very hard to take control of the situation.

However, he says the cleanup is going to cost millions of dollars.