New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Hi bodyshop,

i just came back from NZ last 2 weeks. Weather is really crazy, can have 4 seasons in 1 day. But during the time when i was leaving South island, it was sooo... hot at Christchurch. Bcome tanned when i came back to SG, until now ppl stil say me tanned. hehe.

If u going down South, like milford sound, its really cold manz...during my drive to milford, it was raining. south wil be cold.

I brought my winter wear but never use at all. Most of the time, when cold, i use long john. Else if warm, i wil be wearing spag strap.

Haha know wat, i can even change in and out my thermal top inside the car cos nobody can see mah. hehe....

hi kite,

am i correct to say, it's sufficient for the ladies to wear short sleeve, and polo shirt or round neck for guys. the windbreaker comes in useful only when raining and it's VERY rare now.
how's footware /

is there anyone else who just back from NZ, can describe the weather and attire. How about footware ?

hi bodyshop,

hmm overall for me i wear either 3/4 long sleeve blouse or spag strap. if cold, then cover with a sweater or cardigarn. And if sweater/cardigarn not enough, will then put on thermal wear for body, not bottom.

Footware: I brought 2 kinds - sandals and tracking boots. Most of the time, i wil be wearing boots as u need to walk in every part of NZ just to see e beautiful scenaries. Pls. get a good hardy, waterproof and comfortable boots.

so when u departing? self drive? how many days?

Hi yours2lynn,
Sorry for the late reply. Hv not logged on for a long time liao... been so crazy at work.

Anyway, the wetsuit does give you some buoyancy but not much. You still won't sink because you'll be in seawater and density will help you float. However, if you're not a confident swimmer, I would not advise you to go for the trip because the current can be quite strong. You definitely need to know how to swim for this activity. It's safer too!

Initially, we wanted to go on the whale watch cruise but we were told that if we get sea sick easily then better not go. So we chose the flight when we were there.

kite,
Only half ready, the other half haven't upload yet. Really very busy at work. Reach home dead tired and no mood to face computer. sollie!!

Hi Mint,

saw ur half of ur pics uploaded, thanks, really appreciate that. so nice u did the skydive, must be an experience for u n ur hubby.

Hi yours,

so hows ur preparation for ur nz trip? when exactly wil u be going?

how i wish i can go bk to NZ one day again. Hopefully to visit Northern part of south island n north island (wellington) the next round. hehe

Hi kite,
Yeah! It was really a fantastic experience. I never thought that I would one day do a tandem skydive. Quite proud of myself... keke!

Ya, me too... it's really so nice there. almost cried when the plane touched down in Singapore. Sigh!! Holidaying is always the best!!

Hi Mint!
I've booked on the 7.15am whalewatching trip. If the weather doesn't allow, we'll then see if we can go on the dolphin viewing at 8.30am.

Where to see your photos eh?

Hi Kite!
I'm going in mid march. Not doing any preparations these few weeks.
Your photos leh?

Hey Mint!

Thanks for the link. You and hubby got "fu qi lian" leh
[see photo of you two in the heli - I was figuring out which is you and whether the other is your hubby or sibling....pardon me.]

How did you take the photos of the tandem dive? Those jumping out of heli shots should be purchased from them right? It sure looks like fun....but I've not planned for this cos I'm afraid of heights and jumping. kekeke Did you close your eyes when you took the leap?

Hi Yours,

Very busy these days since started work, no time to upload leh. U still want the accommodation pics? see one of these days, i shall attached in this forum.

So have u booked all ur accommodations?

Hi yours2lynn,
Hehe! I think we look at each other too much liao that's why got same look...keke! We've been together for 9 years liao.

I didn't close my eyes but in the photo it looks like my eyes were closed. The lady in the heli was my photographer. She jumps first then I jump and she starts snapping away. It really is fun. Everyone has fear of heights but you should tell yourself to go for this. It's an experience you'll never forget. Paid NZ$165/pax for photos. They burn into a CD for us. About 30 photos in the CD.

Hi Mint,

wow u really spend a bomb on skydive! cool manz

Hi yours,

u shld try since Mint described until so fun! somemore ur budget is $9k, shld be more than enough for skydive! Haha!

Hi Kite and Mint,
Still, dun think me brave enough. Will see when we'll there.
My hubby is more keen to do the hang gliding over sky diving. Aiyo Kite, you keeping thinking I got huge budget meh? Anyway, I've booked all my accomodations except for my last two days. And I haven't change my booking at Queenstown. a bit lazy to write... hahaha

HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR to all

Hi Yours,

LOL i didnt keep thinking u got huge budget, its u who burst it out. Haha. Which accomodation u booked in Queenstown? U might want to consider Aspen Lodge? Not bad, nice n clean.

When u r back, u let me know whether northern part of South island (nelson, malborough sound) is nice n fun anot. okie
Happy CNY to u in advance.

just checking whether wat is nice up in the North island? which places are not to be missed? Thanks

Hi ALL,

I am NEW to this thread. Wondering anyone can advise if New Zealand is a nice place for honeymoon in end June? I am having my wedding on 25 June 2005. Planning to go for honeymoon straight after. How is the weather there in New Zealand during then? Winter? Very cold? how many degrees? WHat is the price of normal package for abt 7 - 10 days?

Hi ALL,

I am NEW to this thread. Wondering anyone can advise if New Zealand is a nice place for honeymoon in end June? I am having my wedding on 25 June 2005. Planning to go for honeymoon straight after. How is the weather there in New Zealand during then? Winter? Very cold? how many degrees? WHat is the price of normal package for abt 7 - 10 days?

Hi SP80,

June in NZ is winter, very cold. Are u going on self drive or tour? U have to be cautious when driving during winter and u hv to chain your tyre.

hi kite,

Thanks for yr reply, I am thinking of going on package tour. But wondering whether the cold weather I can tahan anot.. Also wondering if there is any activity there during the winter season.. like ski-ing etc? Is it dangerous?

If drive ourselves.. have to chain tyre? How? Paiseh, I dont understd leh..

Hi SP80,

Hmm if u are going on package tour, then u do not have to drive. But do u or ur hubby knows how to drive? Just remember to bring winter wear during winter. Yes there will be alot of ski-ing activities in NZ during winter, like Mt. Hutt and etc. Personally i never try ski-ing so cant comment.

Meaning u hv to chain ur tyre else wil be slipper or skid on ice. If u intend to drive, the car rental co. will show u exactly how to fix.

Hv u booked ur air tic?

Hi yours,

Hows ur NZ preparation? all done? u must be looking forward to ur trip? Well, promise u to attach some of the accommodation pix in which i stayed during my stay there. HTH

Hi Kite,

I haven't been logging in recently. Thanks for the photos. Among the above, I'll only stay at Tekapo Tailor Made. So that means I will have new photos to share.

Hmm.....I'm still deliberating if I should change my booking at Queenstown Pinewood. Thought of changing to Alpine Lodge, but Pinewood got free spa to use.....

Hi Yours,

dont mention it. Remember to share your pix after u are back. So exactly when are u departing? so settle all ur accommodations n everything? ur itinerary?

Hi Yours2lynn,
I think maybe you should change ur booking at Pinewood.
Anyway the spa..have to pay $2 or $10..cant remember.
We tried one of the Restaurant along the sea-called Pig someting. Its somethin like Brewerkz where they make their own beer. Quite nice. Must try the lamb shank. Big portion

Hi Gal,
The spa will be free to us due to some promotion. Have you tried it? Do you have any photo of the "stuffy" room you stayed in Pinewood? Also, what type of accomodation did you stay in most of the journey? How's the price of the restaurant?

Hi Kite,
Me departing exactly one month away....on this date next month.....yup 18 March. Itineray has slight changes, I'll be devoting time to do the Southern Coast route and stayover in Kaikoura for morning whalewatch - this means I will not be staying in Akaroa (SOB! SOB! I had wanted to stay in Le Bons Bay - heard about the nice quiet environment and wonderful dinner.)

Hi Yours,

wow great! 1 more month, so u must be feeling excited abt ur trip rite
May i know hows ur itinerary like? try to stay longer in Lake tekapo, queenstown, mt cook and central southern part. its great!

Great to hear u wil b driving along the Southern scenic road. try to allocate more time for this road (lots of gravel roads).

also remember to bring some CDs along cos most roads that u wil be driving along, has no signal or reception at all. does ur rented car come with a CD player? urs from Anzed rental co. ?

If you bring instant noodles, chili, etc.... do you pack it in your checkin luggage or handcarry? What about hiking boots? Heard they check for mud....Do they really open up all luggage to check?

Hi everybody

My HB n muself r planning 2 go 2 NZ in mid July after our customary. I understand tat it's winter n day is very short. So many places might not be open. Any1 planning 2 go or hv gone 2 NZ at this time pls advise me whether shld I postpone my HM till end sept when the whether is better n I can go 2 more places. Also which agency offers good deal. We wil be taking the package tour as HB dunno hw 2 drive.

Hi Yours,

We wore our hiking boots from singapore to NZ. In another word, we packed our sandals/slippers inside our luggage and thus free more space.

We rented our car from Anzed and Teddy is a very nice person who gave us alot of free maps and even lent us his personal detailed CHC's map in case we were lost (during our 1st day). He also gave us advises on my itinerary too.

Initially he also told us tat he wil try his best to get a car with CD player and he really make his promise to us. Not forgetting the 15% discount on the car rental too. Thumbs up!

Hi Yours,

are u intending to go to Mt Aspiring national park and Glenorchy? Heard both are nice with great scenaries

Hey Kite,

the X rate now 1.196....very high hor....wonder if it will fall.

BTW, did you visit the Gibston Valley Winery and Cheese Factory in Queenstown?