New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Hi Toberlone,

Ya I have checked out Carlton hotel and it is soo ex! almost about $200 for a night. Gee! rich har u couple. Anyway, i will check our Rydges Hotel but guess it will be another bomb as well.

hahaa...oh thanks for the reminder on the GST.
Ok, I have decided that I will stay at City Central Hotel in Auckland. It is a stone throw to the sky city and it is amazingly reasonable at NZ 79 per night. So I guess we will settle for that then.

As we will be there for almost 20 days. We cannot afford to spend many nights there in high class hotels..but maybe some. So I checked out Rydges, you make it sounds so lovely. I will make a point to be there if it is not ex. Moreover it is our honeymoon..must enjoy a bit.

Oh yes, did you do any shopping or is there any thing worth buying?

And sorry, so many qns...is the water there safe to drink or must we carry waterbottles wherever we go?

Thanks again!

Hi Toberlone,

thanks for yr info. Then we consider other alternative like America, or Europe, hopefully that be a good time to visit in May.. Any idea?

Hi Fang,

Nope, we are not rich, the opposite i should say for now
Guess it's our honeymoon, and really want to pamper ourselves abit, who knows when is the next time we travel so leisurely again...

City Central Hotel sounds great! You can have more to spend on the South island, things abit expensive in NZ.

Yap, 20 days is a long period, we were there for 2 weeks only and the bills are shocking!

Guess you should check Rydges out if it's within your budget, but along the stretch there's many other budget motels and hotels too, so dun worry. I'm sure you will be able to find something good or even better than mine.

Yes, we did quite abit of shopping there, but not really on clothings, the fashion there abit "outdated"

Honey
=======
You can buy alot of honey there, some very good ones like Manuka honey which cost around $30 per bottle in S'pore, it is cheaper in NZ, only around $15? It's really good for sore throat, ucles and healing purpose. I bought alot of manuka body lotions and beauty products, which is hard to find else where. Honey products are the best buy!

Kiwi Sweets & KiwiChocolates & Kiwi Jam
========================================
Best to give to families and friends, and extremely yummy!Anything to do with Kiwi, buy:p

Ice Wine (dessert wine)
=======================
Hard to get in s'pore ($80??), cost only 17.50 per bottle there at Duty free, buy a few back! Definitely worth the $$$, the wine is sweet and lovely.

Fudge
=======
If u like sweet stuff, the fudge is yummy and u can buy at low price at Fudge cottage in Christchurch art centre.

Soft toys/ Magnets/ Keychain/ Postcard
======================================
Must get the Bungy Sheep (23-24 NZ), super cute! U can also get cute little sheepies toothpick holder, salt and pepper set. Or u can buy alot of cute magnets with kiwi bungy....or nice little keychain.
Postcard is a good investment if u are keen in photography type, we bought alot and very nice postcard cost around 1 NZ per piece to cheaper ones like 0.4NZ.

Hardrock
=========
There's ONLY one hardrock in Queenstown, so grab whatever u need to buy cos' u can't find another else where, u can get nice color scarf which cost around 18NZ.

actually, most of our $$ are spend on activities rather than food or gifts. I sugggest u buy those wine, lotions and honey products at Duty free shop cos' it is so much cheaper, others little stuff u can buy along the way, the prices are almost standward everywhere in NZ, no need to do comparison much.

WE carry water bottle, those mineral water bottle everyday in our bag, we do boil water in hotel. Better to be careful, even though the water looks "clean".

One thing about the toliet, it is extremely well kept and in good conditions almost everywhere!

hope this helps, cheers!

Hi Fang!

u decided on hotel for auckland liao? sorry but fren is quite busy these few days so haven't reply me yet.

& thanxs for the contact for cheaper air tickets! but my ah boy now like quite keen m'sia airline liao....much cheaper & got own TV! but downside is the transit in KL lor. so me considering which one now.

toblerone,
thanks for the recommendation of accom in queenstown! me going there so will go check it out! Oh! & thanks for the breakdown of things to buy

Hi Toblerone,

Thanks for the details....it helps!

Hi Skye,

Malaysia airline does not go to Christchurch. so you will have to board the flight from auckland.
That's what i heard from them when i enquire and of course the transit.

You check out and let me know if what I heard is right.

Hi kk,

I think Europe would be ideal destination in April/May, just avoid the summer in July...hothothot.....

As for US, i would really suggest you to go California!
In May, should be spring....weather should be quite nice. Just dun go during the winter time, cold and short daylight and avoid the crowded summer.

I wish i have the budget to go this year....

hi Aug,

my hubby did most of the "recording" work, me just remember the rough estimate we spend in cash, should be around $6k for the flights(includes domestic),accomodation, basic meals, activities,gifts...etc.

Hi SKye,

Same as me. But when you come back?
Are you departing from Auckland or Christchurch?
Malaysia airlines don;t go to Christchurch so if your last stop ends at christchurch...there won't be any malaysian airline.

Fang,

After the south island touring, i'm actually going back to auckland for a couple of days more. haven't decided if i want to go to places like wellington. but will definitely be boarding the plane from Auckland. so the m'sia airline ticket is ok for me....just a matter of whether i want or not :P

hi skye,

perhaps u can consider Rotorua as compare to Wellington for your north island touring.
Rotorua have plenty of places to visit and it's a beautiful town itself.

Hi Skye,

I see...as for me I am touring AUckland first and then drive down to Rotorua and then to Taupo and to Napier to Wellington.

Take a ferry across to Picton and then to Nelson to Greymouth to Fox Glacier to Queenstown to Dunedin and lastly Christchurch where I will board my plane.

Hi Toberlone,

Where did you stay over in Rotorua? Any nice accomadation to recommend? Also did you go to the Waitomo caves? Any package you know of?

I got the Rydges hotel rate at NZ110 per night. Quite reasonable. And may stay there for 3 days.

Hi Fang!

i think i stayed in Millennium Hotel Rotorua, u can check that out, quite a nice place and near to those places of attractions.
Yes!!!!! we went to Waitomo caves,if u like to see those worms that glows in the dark and cave formation, that's the place to visit.
Can't remember the tour package now.U can find out more about the packages in the hotel, the staffs are pretty helpful. we took brochures at the hotel lobby and all hotels have full range of brochures on the places of interests in Rotorua.
Probably u got to drive yourself to Waitomo caves and join the touring there. But no camera and video allow throughout the session.

Try the Hangi Feast if u are there, get the hotel to arrange the pick up for you , and taste the food and enjoy the concert by the Maori people, we really enjoyed ourselves alot that evening, especially over the dining entertainment they provide, the performance and the holy ceremony took place on your arrival, u get a taste of maori lifestyle for the 3-4 hrs visit. Plus we get to mingle with other countries visitors on the coach and for the entire nite.
Another few good activities to recommend here,
Go up to the Gondola at Rotorua and play the "Luge",soak yourself at Polynesian Spa, see the Geyser and the maori culture at Buried Village, u are like animals there's a animal farm and show called "Agrodome" something..

I think 3-4 days at Queenstown is perfect! u get to play alot of things, and visit most of the places nearby. Do enjoy the evening walk......just the 2 of u
check out those cafes there, we love the hot chocolates and cookies....esp. in the cold weather. If u are a pizza lover, there's pizza hut there and buffet spread is good. But please, no japanese food at the one and only foodcourt.....not nice. But do try out the others stalls if u are on budget, cos' anything else there is expensive other than KFC and MacDonland. There's a supermarket in the town where u can grab some fresh fruits and tibits. We bought alot of crackers and chips to eat along the way..

Hi Tob,

Thanks for the info.
Hey i just checked out that the hotel you recommend, Rydges Hotel in Queenstown is fully booked. So sad...

How about other hotels in other parts like Wellington, Napier, Dunedin?

Advise and more advise

Hi Fang,

sayang....dun be sad, i'm sure there are still other better options available around Queenstown, i remember the stretch of road along the Rydges hotel has a numerous others hotel & motel. Try checking them out:

A-Line Hotel
Parkroyal Queenstown Hotel
Gardens Parkroyal Hotel
Novotel Queenstown
BALMORAL LODGE
Lake Edge (http://www.lakeedge.co.nz/)
Abba Garden Motel (http://www.abba.co.nz)
Alpine Sun Motel (www.alpinesun.co.nz)

as for wellington and napier i didn't went to these places so can't give any good advice. sorry.

As for Dunedin, u might like to check the following:

Cargills Hotel(www.cargills.co.nz )
Bentleys Central City Hotel([email protected] )
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Skyline Leisure Lodge(www.leisurelodge.net.nz)

how long are u staying at Dunedin? actually this part of the country are pretty relax and slower as compare to Queenstown which is full of life.
Dunedin can be describe as Historical and Nature.

btw, when are u leaving for nz?

Hi Tob,

Thanks for the details.
I am leaving on the Mar 11th.

Btw, I had tried booking a few hotels and are fully booked. DO you think I can book at that time or better to book before hand?

Also are the rates better if I book there at the hotel or via the internet?

Any comments?

Hi fang,

no problem, i would be glad to help if i can

actually it would be really an experience to book when you are there, my suggestion is do the first few nites of booking thru internet and source for accomodations while u are there, it should be quite easily to get one.
As for rates, internet booking sometimes do have better promotional rates but it all depends, not much of a different if u go and book directly at hotel/motel.

So march should be autumn, guess the weather should be really alright for travelling. But bring along wind breakers, gloves...etc, it can be really cold at the Southern part of NZ, esp. u are going for water activities.....hehehee.......take care!

here's some picts i took during my trip

15030.jpg

Hi fang,

sorry, can't get the picts upload properly due to sizing problem :p

wanted to show u the glaciers photos initially....hahaha......

Hi Tob,

I managed to see one of the pics. So beautiful and clear the water.

And thanks for the advise. In fact I had already booked my first night stay in Auckland. I am just worried that i had to sleep in the car where all the hotels are fully booked. Will it happen? hehee...just being kiasu..

Btw, did you booked all hotels before gg? Or shld I take the risk?

hi fang,

glad u can see the pict..hehehee...
it's even 10 times more beautiful if u were to be there! :p The sceneries are really No.1!

Oh...hehehe......dun worry, i think u can get accomodation quite easily unless u are looking into very "high end" type, like popular hotels might need advance booking.

We got the hotels arrange beforehand. since it is thru a agency.

actually i would suggest u book for those more popular places first, like hotel in Queenstown, Christchurch. No, u are not being KS....to secure a place to sleep in is important after a hard day of driving...

i hd booked contiki tour, but i can only book flight that reach Christchurch one day late to join the tour. that's why i need to take transport to Lake Ohau to meet the tour group on the first night. (miss the first day tour...but really got no choice)

can anybody advise me what's the best way to do it? both of us can't drive...

thanks a million!!
would really appreciate any advice. (take cab or coach or ??)

sorry i think i need to clarify that on the day of arrival at Christchurch around 10.30am, i need to be at Lake Ohau on that night.

thks!!

I m planning for honeymoon in NZ-Christchurch. Any recommendation on places of interest & if driving is safe, given that I am not a good driver. Otherwise, how abt a local tour package there, is it easy to find & if expensive?

like jojok. We are also thinking of having our honeymoon in New Zealand then going to europe.

However, is there anything really special in NZ that i can take note off during planning.

What wld all recommend? do our own driving to the destination. Im afraid cos we have never being to the place like Australia and NZ before.

Any places is a must go places?

Hi Everyone!

My husband and I went NZ last yr... (at that time he was still my bf). Must Go place: Queenstown! This pl is absolutely beautiful. Besides the adventure sports (which we only tried a few, cos not THAT adventurous), we spent many evenings taking a romantic stroll by the wakatipu lake to the queenstown bay. We stayed at a motel-like place called the Sherwood Manor which is very nice. The best part of the trip was the trip to Te Anau and then to Milford Sound. We spent a nite on board the mini ship and it was just fabulous! We had the chance to launch our canoes and go kayaking in the lake... then we went back to the ship for a nice hot bath before we were met with home-cooked lamb chops cooked by the crew!! We really enjoyed that part of the trip!!! Besides that, we also went to Fox Glacier... there's nothing really much in that small town.. a few shops only... stayed there for 1 day to go glacier climbing... but thats abt it.

Enjoyed the Queenstown and Milford Sound part the most!!!
We also dropped by Christchurch but there's also nothing much there... though its the stop-over if you wanna go Mt Cook and the near by places.

Hope this helps!!!

my hubby and i have planned not to go to NZ but instead heading for Maurtius. Mainly because NZ is too ex. And we are afraid we do not have the budget. And since we both love the sun and sea, we cannot resist the promo for Mauritus.

It is way way cheaper as if we were to go to NZ, we plan to self-drive.

I know NZ is a nice place, so we will try to save and head it by yr end if possible.

I had done most of the homework in fact, so any qns u can ask me too!

hi fang,

Are u refering to me? Thanks! i havent start planning. Is going to NZ expansive? How much do u plan to spend there? comparing self drive, self help with the motel / hotel than taking up a package. which is more worth it?

I havent really started my planning. will NATAS offer cheaper rate?

Hi Pausini,

Yes u can ask me anythg on NZ although I will not be going as I have done homework way months b4 i decide not to go after all.

my thinking is that since NZ is a nice place and easy to access. It is recommended to get a car and self drive from North to South.

However, car rental is about on avg $50 per day depending on which car you want. And you can always drop ur car from Wellington and then take the ferry across to the south and pick up another car from Picton. Of course all these need to be plan.

And accomodation i heard was very cosy and nice. U can expect about NZ100 for a day for a better hotels. And all the activities are all from NZ75 to NZ200 plus depending on the activities you want.

I have check out some hotels and if you want, u can let me know which region you are gg to and I can pass you the hotels list that I have on mind which is good. hehee...

Oh and air flight, Air NZ is the cheapest! coz if you want to depart from Christchurch , note that Malaysia airline does not go to Christchurch. So of coz minus Garuda, Air NZ is the cheapest abt $900 plus per person. Try centurytravel. The best rate so far!

My last advice is to PLAN PLAN and PLAN first!
Unless of coz u go by tour. But i dun think it will be as carefree as following the tour like a missing ducklings!

I am planning to visit NZ in April/May,May I know what's weather like during that period?

thanks..

Hi fang,

U are very helpful. Thanks.I check up the coach services provided by aug. Btw, i heard from my FH's bro that is it true that the drive need at least 5 yrs of driving experience b4 u can rent a car or is it more expansive if u dun have 5 yr driving experiences?

aug: once i got the coach passes does it mean it is valid for 3 months? So i can used it what ever i like as long as it is within the month and the destination i wanted to go. Am i right to say that. Anyone to advise me on the coach. it seem very good and cheap.

Hi Pausini,

About the cars experience, i didn;t come across about the 5 yrs experience. However it may differs from each company.

as for coaches, i understand they have their own point to point destination which are cheap and good but sorry i do not have any info on that as when i planned i actually planned on self drive.

hi chopstick.

the weather is autumn season.
check out:http://www.purenz.com/ for more details!

my FH and i are planning on going to NZ for our honeymoon and planning on going to NATAs fair. any recommendations on travel agencies which provide good rates and good service?

would you want to just grab the tickets and then F&E by yourselves - self drive?

it will be more fun and meaningful in this way.

We'll be going to NZ in July. Flying into Christchuch and driving to Queenstown.
We only have a week and I plan to have at least 1 day learning how to snow board.

Any recommendations on where to stay in Christchurch?

Hi Gawain,

I have been to NZ several times, both North and South Island. I have also recently came back from a trip to the South Island, mainly Christchurch, Kaikoura and Queenstown. If you have any questions, feel free to ask and i will be more than happy to share.

As for hotels in Christchurch, i stayed in Quality Hotel Autolodge, Heritage Christchurch and The George on 3 separate occasions.

If you are on a tight budget, Quality Autolodge will be a good choice or any of the motels/hotels on papanui road. It is about 8-10 min walk away from the town centre. It is clean and each room has a balcony, but do not expect much as the rooms are rather bare and the carpet is a dark red colour. Another hotel along Papanui road which you can consider is the Scenic Circle Cotswold.

If you prefer something a bit more luxurious, you can try the Heritage christchurch. it is located right at Cathedral Square. Building and deco very lovely, albeit a bit old fashioned as the building used to be the Old Government building. You can also consider Scenic Circle Fino Casementi All Suite Hotel which is at Cathedral Square or Rydges Christchurch along Worcester Street.

If you want something much more luxurious, to relax and enjoy, i highly recommend The George. It is a boutique hotel located near Hagley park, about 8-10 min walk from Cathedral square.

I have included the links for the hotels i mentioned. Hope they help

http://www.heritagehotels.co.nz/heritage/heritc_index.htm

http://www.autolchch.co.nz/

http://www.thegeorge.com/

http://www.scenic-circle.co.nz

http://www.rydges.com/

Hi gawain!

NZ beautiful!
you lucky gal!

I was there this year...late feb - early mar for 2 wks!
i wish i was still there!

If you're looking for something quaint in Christchurch I'll recommend Country Glen Lodge Motel
the folks there are very nice & friendly and the room was clean and neat and everything was provided for
We took a family unit as there were 4 adults and it costs us 180 per night. I'm not sure of the cost for single/double rooms but you can check it out online

http://www.glenlodge.co.nz/

queenstown is pretty at night
if you have the chance take the gondola ride

we stayed at Wakatipu view apartments in queenstown and it was nice also
certain accomodation in queenstown can be a little bit more expansive by 10 - 20NZ more
but Wakatipu is still affordable

http://www.thomashotel.co.nz/wakatipuview/index.html

http://www.thomashotel.co.nz/

advise: if you don't travel well, try not to pack too many places to visit during the trip
it'll be gd if you could at least spend 2 nights at 1 place.

YOu'll have a great time!

hi toblerone, i dunno if u still log on to this thread.. but just wonder which tour agency did u go to? did u get those standard pkg or do ur own pkg??

Those thinking of going to NZ should check out SIA's offer, air tickets is only $800 on SQ flights !! Normal price is ard $1000.

Hi NiC and Ava,

Thanks for the advice.. I guess our budget is about NZD 110 per night or in that area... is that reasonable?

The Wakatipu Apt look really lovely. In a way, we are looking for accomodations like that, where there is a full service kitchen so that we can do some cooking seeing that NZ have rather sort hours.

Heard a lot about the Gondola, but I think as we are there in the middle of winter, it may not be too good an idea.

I've heard about the scenic circle hotels.. NiC, is the one in Christchurch nice?

We are trying to spread the trip between Christchurch and Queenstown and do some skiing as well. Where do you think we should go?

Hi Gawain,

Yah, the Scenic Circle Cotswold is not bad. The Quality Hotel chain also not bad; singapore travel companies usually tie in with Quality or Scenic.

When we went to christchurch recently, we drove down to Kaikoura for whale watching. Then, we took a domestic flight to Queenstown where we stayed a couple of days. Are you the adventurous sort? If yes, Queenstown is just the right place! The scenery is very beautiful; our hotel was just along the lake. We went hang gliding, hot air ballooning, winery tours, jet boating and even wanted to go kayaking in the middle of winter, but alas it snowed that very day, so our kayaking trip was cancelled. I listed some links for you below..

I stayed in Quality Resort Terraces in Queenstown. If you are on a tight budget, i highly recommend this. It has one of the biggest rooms in Queenstown, and the view is perfect from the large balcony. Also, the shuttle bus stops just outside the hotel. The hotel is about 8-10 min walk away from the town centre.

Another occasion i stayed at the Eichardt's Private hotel. This is by far one of the most luxurious hotels i have ever stayed in. it is right smack in the middle of town. Gorgeous!

Part of the joys of travelling is sampling the different types of cuisine/food each country has to offer. I usually dissuade people from buying groceries to cook when travelling, because you will miss out on a part of that country's lifestyle. and Queenstown has some of the nicest food around! try the restaurant/pubs like the Loaded Hog, hard rock queenstown, roaring megs, The Cow and many more... and the beer! must try!

in christchurch, i recommend you the HoneyPot cafe at Lichfield street. The food there is amazing! Especially the starters/appetizers and dessert...yum yum... For dessert, you definitely must visit Strawberry Fare at Peterborough Street. The portions are huge and dessert so delicious! If you have time to drive to the suburbs, try the Ruptured Duck at Wakefield Ave. Fantastic pizza...

i have included some links below, of the activities and operators we were
considering. I put an asterix beside those we signed up with:-

car rental - this website is good.

http://www.rentacar-newzealand.com/fleetnz.htm **

hotair ballooning
http://www.ballooning.co.nz/flash_gallery_link.html **

http://www.nzballooning.com/

Coach transport, Christchurch/ Queenstown day excursions to Mt Cook etc.

http://www.newmanscoach.co.nz/sightseeing-mon.html **
http://www.cookconnect.co.nz/ **

Queenstown Winetrail etc

http://www.queenstownwinetrail.co.nz/ ** we went for the winetrail (you can
try the designer days)

Shotover Jet
http://www.shotoverjet.co.nz/booking.htm **

Hang-gliding
http://www.antigravity.co.nz **

Kaikoura
http://www.whalewatch.co.nz/ **

http://www.dolphin.co.nz/

you can try the kayaking, or fun yaking as it is called... i will definitely
visit queenstown again...i want to Fun Yak!! You can also check out the dart
river safaris... http://www.dartriver.co.nz/ click under options...

this thread is really very useful.

We are going to NZ for photoshoot next year
start to plan early. Where is the most grand scenery you can find in New Zealand. We are not the adventurous sort so we just want nice strolls with nice scenery for photoshoot

Hi NiC,
Thanks for the wonderful tips! I'll definitely take down the places to eat at.

Don't know why, but I always like serviced apartments best because I like to do some cooking on my own when travelling. Esp since I am travelling with my husband, it's a good time for me to pamper him a bit. Totally agree to try the food, but I am still most comfortable with accommodations with a full kitchen just in case.

Can I enquire which tour agency did you get your accommodations from?

Hi NiC,

Can I just enquire how much did you pay for a night's stay at the Quality Resort Terraces in Queenstown?

Where did you get the rates from?

I do like it very much but the listed prices are about NZD150, and that's a little high. Given those rates, I can stay at the Rydges.

Appreciate you help.

Hi Gawain,

The Quality Resort terraces was part of a Free & Easy package with Air Nz.

Accommodations were either booked ourselves online or through Air Nz's free & easy package.

Hi Psyduck,
When will you be going? Different seasons, different places better... you want snowy shots, spring, autumn, winter?

Hi travellers,

Actually, overall expenses in NZ is not as expensive you think. I found most of the daily products are much much more cheaper than Singapore. To be frank, I stayed in NZ for almost 5 years for my further studied. SO better listen to me ok

Well, you can get a plate of fish and chips for about NZ5-NZ12. It depends where do you eat. Of coz, restaurant would charge you more. Place like food court is around NZ5 you can have italian, Chinese, Japanese and more.
The Best thing I like in NZ is their wine, superb cheap compare to Singapore. Believe that or not, I can buy a 1 litre white wine at only NZ7.95 while Singapore selling at SGD20+. If you like wine, that's the best country you should go.
For me, I self-drive with my wife from Bay of Islands to Dunedin with a rented Daewoe hatchback car. The car was NZ35 per day and we rented it for 14 days. The distance I drove was 5000+KM. Although, it's abit tough but its secenery and fresh air did make me awake all the time. My stops were Cape Reinga, Pahia, Auckland, Hamilton, Rotourua, Taupo,Palmerston North, Wellington, Picton,Blenheim, Kaikora, Christchurch, Wanaka, Queenstown, Dunedin, Oamaru and back to Christchurch. We also took the ferry from North Island to South Island.
Talk about motel, we had a good bargain. I could get a 4-star motel at NZ85, 3-star at 65-75.
There are too many things to mention. If you have any questions, I will happy to answer your questions.