New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Hi G!
you are also going to NZ in Mar (over Easter) right? when's your departure and itinerary like? Perhaps we may collide into each other leh.

With which company did you rent your car, at what rate?

Hello yours,

Yes, we may bump into each other. The trip should take us about 16 days.

My itin is as such:

- Arrive Christchurch
- TransAlpine / Greymouth /FJ
- FJ/Wanaka
- Wanaka/Queenstown
- Queenstown / Milford / Queenstown
- Queenstown / Hanmer Springs
- Hanmer Springs / Murchinson / Nelson
- Nelson / Kaikoura / Christchurch
- Christchurch

I opted for NZ Rental Cars. They offered me a rate of $56 per day.

Hi G,

you are doing a similar route as me ya? Just I more adventurous to cover Dunedin.

Your dates not confirmed issit? must share our dates of travel so, we can meet coincidentally / purposely.
I arrive in CHC on 18 Mar, depart on 4 Apr. (see my itinerary in earlier posting for where I'll be.)

Hi G,

you are doing a similar route as me ya? Just I more adventurous to cover Dunedin.

Your dates not confirmed issit? must share our dates of travel so, we can meet coincidentally / purposely.
I arrive in CHC on 18 Mar, depart on 4 Apr. (see my itinerary in earlier posting for where I'll be.)

Any1 took air nz fr singapore -> auckland -> christchurch? Also, vice versa for departure back to singapore?
Juz wanna find out do we need to change airport at auckland when we do the transit there? Or is it juz walk over to the other terminal row for the domestic flight to christchurch?
And for declaration of food stuff, where do we actually got checked? Auckland or Christchurch airport?
Just wondering how long will all these checking take as we only have abt 1 hr in between to catch the domestic flight fr Auckland -> Christchurch...

Thanks a lot in advance!

I recall CHC domestic terminal are adjacent to international. But your bags are not thru checked so U have to collect your bags and RE-CHECKIN. 1HR doable (airport relatively small) but very tight...did your agent do this connection? Slight delay sure miss one. Call the airline to confirm as most airlines minimum requirement is 1 hr if you are thru checked.

Food stuffs - don't risk it. Penalty is severe and checks are conducted routinely. There is this cute little dog that comes round (including sweets) while u are collecting your luggage to sniff you out already! His sniff is worse than his bite!

Hi XYZ,
These 2 flights (spore->auck then auck->CHC) were all thatz reflected available for our booking thru the Air NZ website previously. Hence we obviously chose these 2 timings that are only available for our booking.
We will be arriving at auckland at 11.30am and the flight from auckland->CHC will be at 1pm.
I thought this should be quite a common combination of connecting flights for tourists gg to NZ?

Erm, what kinda penalty? We are thinking of bringing cooling tea sachets/honey...these are not encouraged too?

Would appreciate your prompt replies, thanks!

From the Auckland international airport, you'll need to take a free shuttle bus to the domestic airport.

You can bring food, just remember to declare all. Don't let them find out themselves. If they say can't bring in, just throw away on the spot.

Hi askabride,
I took the same flight combination as you in Nov, and boy did I miss the flight! Our plane took off from Singapore 20 minutes later than scheduled, and when we arrived at ACK, there was a long immigration line, by the time we got cleared thru' immigration, we had only 10 minutes, so for sure we missed our flight.

We were then directed to the domestic terminal check-in counter to rebook our flight and get new boarding passes. The lady who directed us told us to walk and follow 'the blue line' which would lead us to the domestic terminal, but that walk turned out to be about 15 minutes away and we were still having our luggage with us.

Instead of being sympathetic, we were met with rude service by the NZ staff at the check-in counter. We told ourselves never ever to fly on NZ again.

Anyay, for your question, you go thru' customs at ACK, so if u are in a rush, better not bring any food at all, so there wouldn't be problems with your customs. I would suggest trying to change to a later flight if you can, if not got to pray that there's no delay at all, and be ahead of the crowd before you go thru immigration.

i took Air NZ too and transit at auckland. For me, our connecting flight to CHC was cancelled and we managed to get an earlier flight to CHC instead, so was quite happy with that. Yes, it'll be better to take the free shuttle from the international airport to domestic airport cos of the lugguages.

However upon returning to S'pore, there's no need to collect the lugguages at auckland, they'll transfer the lugguages directly back to Spore.

Thx for all your advice/comments. I'll like to enquire further for the vice versa way (CHC->Auckland->Spore). Domestic flight arrived at Auckland fr CHC at 11am. Then international flight from Auckland back to Spore departs at 1pm. So I'll have 2 hours gap in between. Is this comfortable too?
Else, i'll have to call up to change both these 2 flight connections...any advice please?
Thanks a lot!

The return flight itinerary is ok cos you do not need to go thru' customs and immigration. So it's hassle-free. Do remember that you need to save up NZ$25 each for the airport tax at CHC.

Hi CP,
Thanks for your commments.Noted.
For the airport tax of NZ$25, do you mean each person gotta pay twice (to CHC and from CHC)? So NZ$50 for a round-trip?
Thanks once again!

I'm planning to go to NZ on Mar 9 to 19. Any recommendations on where to go? Still wondering whether to just view one island or do both islands. Was told die die must go milford sound, which is south, so maybe just south island.

We intend to go there and look for B&Bs/farms. do u think that's ok? is accomm easy to find? Will probably get first and last night confirmed in sg in the arrival and departure cities, but other than that not planning anything in terms of accomm. How about car rental? book in sg or in NZ?

Pls advise!

May be planning to go NZ for HM. It seems that most people do self-drives but my FH and I do not drive.

Anybody have recommendations on itineraries without self-drive or tour packages? I have zero knowledge about the places to go in NZ, not even familiar with where the major cities are located.

If we will to extend stay for a few days, which place is the best place to be in such that we can go for day tours to sightsee? Of must be able to make it back to airport easily too...

Hi Karen
If you do not drive, do not want tour packages, then you may want to consider F&E with coach provided, whereby the coach will fetch you to and fro from hotel/motel.

i should have check this forum earlier. i am going to christchurch tomorrow. i am just curious if there is anything that are like "must buy" from the city? i will be staying at crowne plaza so i don't know what's around the area or what's good for meals...any suggestions? for those who have been to christchurch, how's the shopping there? any good suggestion for places to purchase manuka honey? thanks

hello gals!!

me back from NZ last thur!!! trip was fantastic!! it was fun & enjoyable...

basically i was there for 9 days, dropping by Queenstown, Wanaka & CHC.... but a shame me & HB stayed there too short a time, din manage to go round to a lot more other places.....

summer there now..... but it was COLD..... burrr..... abt 16 - 17 degrees!! it was oso raining & cloudy on certain days too..... some outdoor activities we booked were cancelled last min..... sigh!!!

crowne plaza is the best hotel in town..

Opposite it is a chinese restaurant that serves so so food.

Area is mainly business district but close enough to most of the to-do things in CHC. Get a tourist map and you will see.

i feel that 17 degrees is just nice, unless there is a wind chill factor, maybe it might be slightly chilly! my husband told me that summer in NZ is nothing like the hot summer we have in Canada, it is more like Spring, i guess. i hope that i will bring the right clothing, if not, i guess i will freeze my butt off.
i hope that it won't rain much when i am there!

XYZ, CP is alright, i supposed, at least it is quite central according to my husband. thanks for the suggestion but the last thing i want to eat in a foreign place is chinese food, unless there is something special about it. but thanks!
i guess i will have to rely on the tourist maps for suggestions. i don't know what to expect in NZ, just maybe lotsa country, rather than the city.

During the times I've been in NZ, me & FH actually looked for chinese restaurants & ordered macham like "zi char" to eat... Haa...

Can't stand eating bread & fast-food & pasta all the while... Hee...

Yah, there's a lot to shop around in CHC. One of which is the City Mall where it contains a lot of retail shops selling a variety of stuff... Get a CHC map & walk around... Shopping there is good! Bought a lot of apparels there...

Hiyee all!!!

I just came back from my 2 weeks NZ south island trip!! It was great w beauitful scenaries and Thumb up (FUN)!!! Weather was really SIAO SIAO (switching between cold n warm) and both my hubby and i got sunburnt!

The 12hrs flight was real tiring. We managed to stick to our itinerary and roads there are not difficult, just that need to slow down n be careful on bends n winding roads.

Alrite, need to unpack luggage and sort out more than 1000 photos! Will share a more detailed trip of mine with u all. Missing NZ now. wish it could be longer!

Talk to u all later!!!

Hello hello, welcome back!

I was expecting you to drop in ....
Let's see what you've done when you're more settled. I believe you need to recuperate. LOL

Hi Mint, Yours and All,

NZ is really beautiful and missing it now. I have written my detailed trip here as want to keep it for memories too. hehe alrite, hope its not lengthy, enjoy reading.

Any qs, feel free to ask me since my mind is still fresh.

Day 1 – Depart from SIN-AKL-CHC

Day 2 – CHC

Begin our trip with 12hrs flight on Air New Zealand. At AKL airport, we took a shuttle bus (5mins) from international to domestic airport. From there, board a domestic plane to CHC.

Reached CHC at 3pm. Teddy from Anzed car rental picked us up from CHC airport. Reached Achillies Motel within 5mins by car. Nice, spacious, decent motel. As Pam & Cam knew that we were there for honeymoon, they welcomed us with a complimentary small bottle of champagne & a wedding card. So sweet of them.

From our motel, it is a 10mins walk to the Cathedral square. Weather was very cold. Tour around Botanic Gardens, Avon River, Arts Centre n did some shopping. We went to a food court there, reasonable price. Also went to a Japanese takeaway to grab some teriyaki sushi, yummy! It’s just opposite the food court.

<font color="ff0000">*Accommodation: Achillies Motel – NZ$75 ensuite</font>

Day 3 – CHC via Scenic Route 72 – Lake Tekapo

Drove up from CHC to Cashmere Hill &amp; Lyttelton Port. It was breathtaking. Lots of steep uphill roads therefore we need to drive slowly around the bends. We went back to CHC via a tunnel called Tunnel Road.

Back to CHC again. We have a quick lunch at the food court again. Yummy. Haha I went for a hair trim at 1 of the hair salons, cheap cheap only NZ$10. Cos I simply cant stand my messy hair being blew by strong winds. Hehe

Begin our Scenic Route 72. On our way, saw lots of sheeps crossing the roads with a sheep dog chasing behind them. Passby Rakaia Gore n Mt. Hutt along the way. Stop by Rakaia Gore, it was beautiful with crystal clear waters. Went to Lily farm at Mt. Somers too. We stopped at Farlie for dinner, had nice fish and chips at the restaurant before proceeding to Lake Tekapo.

Lake Tekapo is beautiful….Blue turquoise lake….It was very cold that evening though I had an ice cream after dinner. Managed to catch the sunset with golden mountains, awesome!

We stayed at Tailor-made backpackers. Our ensuite room is so new and modern. Cool. Quiet and nice environment with lovely garden. At about 11pm, we drove to the lake and went star gazing. It was beautiful.

<font color="ff0000">*Accommodation: Tailor-Made Backpackers – NZ$60 ensuite</font>

Day 4 – Lake Tekapo – Mt Cook – Twizel

Saw a Japanese couple holding their wedding ceremony at Church of the Good Shepherd. It was so sweet and memorable to get married just besides the beautiful lake tekapo.

Start Mt John tracking via the forest instead of the lake. Took us 1hr + to reach the top. However we didn’t continue up to the observation point

Drove via Salmon Farm route to Mt. Cook. Canal Pukaki to Tekapo is pretty! NZ seems to have lots of beautiful lakes.

Despite it was drizzing in Mt. Cook, we went for the Hooker Valley Track. You must not miss it. Catch the ice blocks and glaciers. It was an experience. Strong wind was howling which nearly blew us off and we were walking on sharp edging rocks and stone. After we crossed the 2nd swinging bridge, we u-turn back. It was scary as the 2nd bridge was swinging left and right vigorously, as if going to fall apart and we had to hold tight to the railing. We were glad to reach the starting point after our 2 hours track. Complete track required 4hrs.

Feel shagged after the Mt john &amp; Mt cook tracks. We have dinner at Twizel, yummy fish &amp; chips with strawberry milkshake. High Country Holiday Lodge was so-so. The layout was so odd and room was small.

<font color="ff0000">*Accommodation: High Country Holiday Lodge – NZ$66 ensuite</font>

Day 5 – Twizel via Omarama – Oamaru – Dunedin

Drove pass Lake Benmore, Lake Aviemore, Waitaki Dam, Maori Rock Drawing and Shag Point.

Stop by Moeraki Boulders. Wondering how the rocks are formed by the beach. Saw a wedding couple taking their outdoor photoshoot in their lovely wedding suit n gown.

Began our Penguin and wild animal tour (NZ$55 per person) at 3pm. Pickup location at our Ramsay Lodge, Dunedin. We could see overview of Dunedin, beautiful blue seas before reaching at Tairoa Head on Otago Peninsula. One of the attractions here is the Albatross, one of the largest seabirds.

We were divided into 2 groups led by the guide at Penguin Reserve. Watch out for the endangered Yellow Eyed Penguin (Hoiho meaning Noise shouter), Hooker Sea Lions
and Fur seals. Saw 2 cute yellow eyed penguins blocking our path. Hehe. Not forgetting the climbing up and down the steep hills. Really pay $ to torture my legs. Urgh but worth it. Haha

By the time the tour ended n it was 10.30pm when we reached Ramsay. Went to a 24-hr supermarket to grab some cup noodles n food as restaurants were closed. We have a good night stay at Ramsay. A really beautiful, clean and spacious house.

<font color="ff0000">*Accommodation: Ramsay Lodge – NZ$60 ensuite</font>

Day 6 – Dunedin via Southern Scenic Route – Invercargill via Lumsden – Te Anau

Have you seen the steepest street in the world? Yes it is at Baldwin Street in Dunedin. It is really steep, like 90 degree angle. Tour around Dunedin city, very historical. Have yummy pasta for lunch at The Courtyard Café before proceeding to Dunedin railway station.

Began our Southern Scenic route. It was a long long journey, lots of driving on gravel roads. In fact, Inland scenic route 72 is better in my own opinion. Nugget point (take note have to drive uphill gravel roads), Purakaunui falls, porpoise bay, curio bay, Florence hill and slope point (most southernly point in South island) are along the catlins coasts. Feel that the coasts are of quite similar to Australia.

Have a sumptuous chinese dinner at Invercargill. It was a 5 to 6 course menu.

Finally reached Te Anau at almost 9pm. The sky was still bright. Have a walk around the peaceful and calm lake.

Te Anau frontlake is spacious and quiet with own kitchen facilities.

<font color="ff0000">*Accommodation: Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers – NZ$64 ensuite</font>

Day 7 – Te Anau – Milford Sound – Te Anau – Queenstown

Remember to pump full petrol before to Milford sound. Since journey from Te Anau to Milford takes 1hr 45mins, we departed at 8am sharp to board our Friendship cruise at 10am. Weather was bad, it was raining quite heavy along our drive. The drive to milford sound is not that dangerous. Just that after the Hommer Tunnel, pls. slow down along the winding bends.

Board our Friendship cruise by Real Journey (NZ$48). It was misty and fogging around Milford sound. It was fun to see big giant waterfalls which made us drenched, have to run inside the cruise n hide. The waterfall is heavily than the rain. Haha

It was a pity that the rain only stop after the cruise ended. Passed by Mirror lakes but not as peaceful as in the morning.

Had spaghettic for lunch at Te Anau. Buy all your chocolates there. Its so cheap at Te Anau supermarket! Cheapest I could find in south island.

It was so sunny in Queenstown, the UV rays was very strong. Remember to apply sunblock lotion. There was a rugby tournament going on. Queenstown is very happening and lively, favourite spot for tourists n you can go jet-boating, rafting take a bungi jump or a helicopter ride, dine on the old ferry as it cruises the lake or at the top of the chairlift over- looking the Remarkable mountains and Lake Wakatipu.

Had Ramen for dinner at a Japanese restaurant. Yummy. Highly recommended.

Shopping closed til late. Went back after 10.30pm. Bought souvenirs, manuka body wash &amp; lotion.

Aspen Lodge is new n clean, just renovated. It was still under renovation outside our lodge. Overall, quiet lodge.

<font color="ff0000">*Accommodation: Aspen Lodge – NZ$75 ensuite</font>

Day 8– Queenstown

Suppose to go for Shotover combo (shotover jet, helicopter ride, luge, movie, gondola ride), but it was cancelled due to raining. What a disappointment. We longed for a helicopter ride but too bad.

Still, we went for Shotover Jet by Kjet. Wow it was fun and shiok man especially when the boat spinned 360 degrees and we were all drenched. It was a 60mins ride which costs NZ$84 per person. From our jetboat, we managed to spot Rainbow over The Remarkables!

Entry to Deer Park Heights costs NZ$20 per car. We were able to self feed animal up there, just paid NZ$1 for 1 big tin of food. We were surrounded by goats and horses, looking at us with their hungry eyes. Haha! Great 360 degree panaroma views of Queenstown!!!

Ride the Gondola skyline at NZ$18 per person. Saw those daring guys screaming haha Bungy Jump! It was beautiful up at the Gondola with great views over the remarkables and lake wakatipu.

Hungry and went back for dinner at the same Japanese restaurant before turning for the night.

<font color="ff0000">*Accommodation: Aspen Lodge – NZ$75 ensuite</font>

Day 9– Queenstown via Crown Range – Wanaka via Hasst Pass – Fox Glacier

Left Queenstown. Drove to Wanaka via Crown Range. Crown Range is not difficult just that bit winding n we drove slowly around the bends (no barriers).

Had delicious Bacon and egg breakfast at lake Wanaka before proceed to Puzzling world and its maze (NZ$10 per person). We did the difficult maze challenge. Haha though the maze was frustrating initially, we ran here n there sweating like mad but was fun. Haha.

Don’t miss out the beautiful Lake Hawea as well. Drove pass through gateway of Hasst. A lot of ppl mentioned Hasst roads are difficult but its not as winding as crown range and milford sound, quite an alrite drive (depends on individual experience drivers).

Drop by Salmon farm café (near Lake Paringa) but too bad all their salmon sold out despite they opened til 7pm. Also, have a glimpse at Knight’s Point view.

Overall, find west coast is not as great as southern lakes and central south island (queenstown, lake tekapo, mt cook). So my advise is to have a longer stay at central south island.

Fox glacier is really a very small n tiny town. Most restaurants are mainly bars, nothing much to eat. Therefore went supermarket to buy some cup noodles n food.

Ivory towers lodge is quiet n nice but one thing you can to walk pass the lounge n a few rooms to reach our ensuite room. Abit inconvenience as we have to drag our luggage in.

<font color="ff0000">*Accommodation: Ivory Towers $70 ensuite</font>

Day 10– Fox Glacier – Franz Josef - Hokitika

We did the Lake Matheson 1hr 30mins circuit walk around the lake. We treated ourselves to a sumptuous breakfast at Lake Matheson café after the walk.

Took a glimpse of Fox Glacier n snowcapped mountain at Peak Viewpoint before beginning our 1hr Fox glacier walk to its ice terminal. Beware and keep your eyes and ears open! Along the way, we heard n saw falling rocks. U can see lots of ice blocks along the glacier river. We even carried those huge ice blocks. Haha

Also, did a 20mins Sentinel Rock walk to have an overview of Franz Josef. Both fox and franz glacier are very similar.

Hokitika is a very quiet town. We had a great dinner at Priya Indian Restaurant before having a stroll at Hokitika beach. The curry is really great and spicy. Bought souvenirs n maori beef bone pendant there.

Blue Spur is the best lodge I have ever stayed throughout. Very quiet and peaceful, u can hear bird’s singing…. It is situated up on a hill if I m not wrong.

<font color="ff0000">*Accommodation: Blue Spur Lodge – NZ$70 ensuite</font>

Day 11 – Hokitika – Greymouth – Punhakaiki – Hanmer Springs

Nothing much at Greymouth, considering it is a big and busy town. Passby the scenic train which departed for Christchurch.

Next stop – Punakaiki Pancakes. Its strangely how these are formed…hmmm..

Drove to Hanmer springs via Lewis pass.
YHA is clean n decent. Quiet.

<font color="ff0000">*Accommodation: YHA Hanmer Springs – NZ$66 ensuite</font>

Day 12 – Hanmer Springs - CHC

Hanmer springs thermal reserve was great after so many days of walking n driving, its time to soak in the water n relax. We booked a private thermal pool just for both of us for ½ hrs (NZ$17 per person). After ½ hr, we went to the sulphur, thermal and cold pool to enjoy further.

Finally, our last stop at CHC. For dinner, we went to Riverview buffet restaurant for buffet. NZ$22 per person. Serving international food. Did some last min shopping n strolled back to motel.

<font color="ff0000">*Accommodation: Achillies Motel – NZ$75 ensuite</font>

Day 13 – CHC – AKL - SIN

<font color="ff0000">Note:</font>
-During summer, sun set at 9pm, darkness came in completely only at 10pm.

-Remember to wear hardy, waterproof n comfortable tracking boots as you are most likely to do a lot of long and short walks in every part of NZ.

-Most of the time, we dine out. There are only 2 occassions where we bot cup noodles when restaurants are closed. Too troublesome to cook.

-Petrol rate varies from 1.118 to 1.135

-Remember to bring a compact drive. Took more than 1000 pics.

also, i have taken pics on accommodations. Let me know if u are interested to view n i shall attach here for reference.

hi kite,

I m new to this thread.
may I ask if your price for acomodation is for 1-couple or per pax?
All your stay are ensuite?
Me going 11th Mar, any other advice?

hi triston,

price for accommodation is per room (double bed for 1 couple). Yes all our stay are ensuite. hmm hv u plan ur itinerary? gg on tour or self drive?

Hi Kite,
thanks for the wonderful report.

My trivial questions (if u don't mind):
1. did you do the star gazing with Hide? if so, how much does it cost?
2. how much time you spend / should allow in Puzzling World?
3. how much you spend in total? seems a fair portion of your budget is on food.

4. which penguin and wildlife tour u went with?

Hi yours,

Dont mention, u're welcome.

1) I didnt do any star gazing with Hide, just did it myself.

2) Allow at least 3 hrs in Puzzling world. we did the difficult challenge maze, After e maze, u get to visit puzzling world, lots of interesting puzzle stuffs for u to wonder. hehe

3) Hmm hvnt sum up yet, but ard $6k in total. Yup we prefer to dine out n hv a good meal.

4) We booked with Elm Wildlife.

HTH

btw saw alot of jap tourists there, but mostly join tour. they cant self drive cos language problem. for those who went NZ, were u mistaken as japanese? We were mistaken a few times as japanese. LOL.

Hi kite, we be self-drive.
itinerary:

Day1: reach CHC via AUCK; collect car and head for Lake tekapo via route highway 1.

Day2: proceed to Mt Ck to do the hk-valley walk; then to Dunedin via Omarama.

Day3: going on the Southern scenic route to Ivercargill.

Day4: Drive up North to Te Anau via winton and lumsden.

Day5: morning drive to Milford for the cruise, then head straight to Queenstown.

Day6: Activities in Queenstown: Bungy,shot-over river rafting.

Day7: head up to wanaka for the maze;then to FJ thru Haast.

Day8: do the FJ walk beore on the road again to stay at Punakaiki (any advice?)--will it be too long to drive straight to Nelson after FJ walk?

tentativly is:
Day9: will go to Nelson or Bleheim.( prefer to stay at Bleheim so that next morning can drive straight to Kaikoura for whale watch and have a stay there.)

Day10: if stay at Nelson on day9, then today will go to Bleheim.
if stay at Bleheim on day10,then today will go to kaikoura for whale watch and overnight.

Day11: depends on the aboves.

Day12: free n easy at CHC; return car.

day13: return Singapore

Hi Triston,

I've not gone on my trip yet but here's my 2-cents worth.....i think it's very rush to tour so much in 12 days, esp. it takes a lot of driving and there's so much to do along the way.

Kite only manage as far as Punakaiki and Hanmer Springs in her 13 days. Don't forget that it's now Spring, so daylight hours are longer (till 10pm). In March, sunrise is at around 6.30am (7.30am daylight saving)and sunset 6.45pm (7.45pm daylight saving). This means you will face the disadvantage of shorter light hours for sightseeing and driving.

For myself (going in March too), I had planned to cover as much as Kite in 14 days plus Akaroa, until I extended my trip to 17 days to cover the Golden Bay, Tasman and Marlborough regions plus Kaikoura.

Day 2: do-able but tiring. The total drive will take about 7 hr , plus allow time for hooker valley walk (min 2hr return upon 2nd swingbridge)and stops at Moeraki Boulders, etc.......

Day 4: you will not need a full day drive from Invercargill to Te Anau. takes less than 4 hours including stops and you will have ample free time in the afternoon and evening at Te Anau....now what do you intend to do? As for the Scenic Route (your Day 3), the more interesting drive is in the portion from Balcultha -Invercargill, where you would really want to devote more stopping time, particularly at Nugget Point, the waterfalls, Cathedral Caves, Porpoise Bay, Curio Bay and Slope Point. Assuming you want to spend a good full day on this portion and start out early, you don't have time to explore Dunedin and Otago regions on Day 3. However, important!! check the tides to make sure you can truly enjoy the catlins. The Jackson Blowhole requires high tide. Cathedral Caves is open only 2 hr before and after low tide. You will need low tide to see the petrified forest at Curio Bay too.

Day 8: The drive from FJ to Nelson will take 8hr. So, if you intend to hit the road after a half day glacier hike, ie. after 1pm, consider breaking your journey somewhere, like Greymouth (2hr 45min drive) or Punakaiki (another 45min drive) or Westport (another 1hr 30min drive).

Hi Triston,

Day1: Your Day 1 is too rush n hectic. What time does ur flight gg to touch down at CHC? After the 12hrs flight, you wil be feeling extremely tired. Pls. do not drive on the 1st day n rush to Lake Tekapo. Take a stroll at Christchurch city n rest for the next morning. Suggest Day 2 then start driving.

Day2: Frankly speaking, we started our journey from Twizel (10am) to Dunedin (2.30pm). During 10 - 2.30pm, we only stop at Moeraki boulders. Unless u do a Hooker Valley walk n stop at e 2nd bridge. I read a guide book advising it's better to stop at 2nd bridge. Further up, u might need radio n sound equipment just in case something happens. We stop after 2nd bridge, wanted to proceed but wind was extremely strong n howling. Saw no one after 2nd bridge except us and an ang mo couple.

Day7: U did hv the same route as mine from queenstown, wanaka via Hasst Pass to FJ. Be prepare for a long drive. We left Queenstown at 9am+, reached FJ at 6 -7pm. Along e journey, we did puzzling world, took some breaks, stop at Hasst bridge n its town (pump petrol).

Day8: Too ambitious liao. R u doing a self walk to FJ ice terminal or join 1/2 day guided walk? If u r doing e guided walk, suggest u stop at Hotikita (quiet n nice town). If u drive fr FJ to Punakaiki pancakes, its very tiring. Even worse if drive to Nelson.

happy planning

Hi Mint,

You went swimming with dusky dolphins? did you also see whales? Is the swimming with dolphins tour less prone to cancellations due to bad weather? when was your trip ah...forgetful ...

Hi Kite,

think the Alpine you saw (far far away) is not the one I refer to. Just realised that there's at least 3 accomodation that goes by 'Alpine'.

I refer to Alpine Lodge - that's on the same street as Aspen Lodge, think the one u saw is Alpine Sun Motel along Hallenstein St. near York St. (That's a good 600m/700m away from Aspen Lodge.) Alpine Village Motor Inn is outside Queenstown central.

thanks yours2lynn,mint and kite!

me will go back to the drawing board and see what I can do to the itinerary..
will keep u'll updated.

Hi yours2lynn,

Yes, I went swimming with the dusky dolphins. It's an experience that I'll never forget. The dolphins really swam very close to us. I went to NZ last month. The swim with dolphins is very popular and need to book in advance. When we were there, they told us that they are fully booked up till Jan. So we just tried our luck and asked to be put on waiting list. And we got it! But it was the 5.30am trip. The water was freezing cold (13C) but they told us that was the best time cos will get to see lots of dolphins and true enough! We did 5 to 6 dives altogether. Usually they will only do 3 to 4 dives. After our dive, the weather became bad and the next trip after ours was postponed. We were so fortunate!

I went on a flight for whale watch and in the end only saw one whale. Quite waste money cos the whale came up to surface for a very short time only.

Hi Mint,

Me and hubby are real lousy swimmers and cannot tread water. (better make that non-swimmers)
Is this a problem? They say the wet suits will give us buoyancy and we will not SINK. Does that mean I can just jump into the water and float in vertical and face-down direction?

Actually, I have done snorkelling in Redang before in swimming costume and life jacket. But the dolphin trip don't recommend life jackets and do not have life jackets.

Have you heard about a "noodle" to attract the dolphin?

I re-read your itinerary and thought you went on the whalewatch cruise. Maybe that experience would be different, supposing you do get out to sea.

Anyway, a note to Triston and G and others who intend to do whalewatch or swim with dolphins, try to book and get on the earliest trip as the waters usually calmer and trip cancellations due to weather are more prone for the later morning or afternoons.

Hi yours,

haha i went Redang snorkelling b4. chio xia. Went bintan and tioman snorkelled too. all was 3 to 4 yrs ago. LOL

Hi mint,

ur photos ready? cant wait to view urs. hehe
so do u miss NZ? i quite miss it though been back 1 week liao.

Hi yours and everybody else,

Thanks for all the good advice. Really looking forward to the trip...counting down already..less than 2 months more to go...

I need to check this out with you all...are the electrical sockets the same as those as they use in Australia? Meaning that its usually the 2-pin slanted ones? Need to bring the right adapter to charge the batteries and mobile phone.

me going 2 weeks later on a tour package.

can someone tell me how's the weather there now ?

for a guy and gal, what's the daily attire now ?
so that we can bring the correct stuffs. short sleeve ok ? or is long sleeve all the way ? or windbreaker all the way ?

thank you.

Hi Mint,

I'm so very the confused!

Some people say the wetsuit will not give the bouyancy enough for a non-swimmer.... yet some say i don't need to paddle AT ALL as the wetsuit is VERY thick and will not sink. Aiyo, who to believe?
&amp;

Plea! My main concern is the vertical upright position....you see, bodies sink in this position when you don't tread water, unless there's a life jacket which is designed to keep floating in this position, right?

Take to the extreme, suppose I'm totally crippled in my arms and legs (or less extreme....maybe suffer leg cramps), will the wetsuit keep my head above the waters in a body upright position?

wetsuit is just to protect your body from the extreme coldness, that's all. as i'm quite skinny, the guide advised me to wear 2 wetsuits. even though i can swim very well, i still wear the life jacket most of the time. life jackets keep your face up although not comfortable.

don't think so much, just book &amp; go!!!
i din plan my itinerary when i was in NZ for 3 weeks. 2 weeks in south island and 1 week in north island. went there in feb/mar a couple of yrs back.

hope the above helps.

nelle