New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
My itinerary will be as follows:

Day 1: Arr CHC afternoon, tour city centre
Day 2: Christchurch - Arthurs Pass - Franz Josef
Day 3: Frans Josef - Fox (shall I do the FJ half day hike or Fox full day?) - Lake Mathseon
Day 4: F.J - Haast - Wanaka
Day 5: Wanaka - Queenstown (some jetboating, rafting, gondola & luge)
Day 6: Queenstown (Glenorchy, Arrowtown, Kevin Heights) - Te Anau
Day 7: Te Anau - Milford Sound (cruise) - Te Anau (glowworm cave)
Day 8: Te Anau - Dunedin (incl. Spreights Brewery and Olveston House guided tours)
Day 9: Dunedin - Otago Peninsula (Larnarch Castle, The Chasm/Lovers track) - Moeraki - Oamaru (penguins)
Day 10: Oamaru - Omarama (agrodome)
Day 11: Omarama - Mt Cook (Hookers Valley Track)- Lake Tekapo
Day 12: Lake Tekapo - Geraldine - Akaroa
Day 13: Akaroa - Christchurch (Antartica Centre) - Hanmer Springs
Day 14:
Hanmer Springs - Lewis Pass - Greymouth - Punakaiki - Westport, Cape Foulwind - Murchison
Day 15: Murchison - Motueka - Takaka (Hawkes Lookout, Pupu Springs) - Farewell Spit, Cape Farewell & Whararika Beach - Nelson (enroute visit Harrington's Brewery & Hoglund Glass Blowing)
Day 16: Nelson - Havelock - Picton (via Charlotte drive) - Koromiko (Johannesdorf Cellars)- Blenheim
Day 17: Blenheim (more wineries) - Kaikoura (not going on whale watching trip) - Christchurch
Day 18: depart CHC

It is a long way from the carpark to the mountain face @ FJ. I estimate abt 3Km plus over moderate terrain. Takes 45 minutes at hiking pace one way.

U still have to go upwards. I recommend heli hike weather permitting. Worth the $$$.

PS : I saw everyone come down shack out look. Also some angmoh fainted/short of breath on the path.

Hi Kite,
have you exchanged the currency? What's the rate now?

Hi XYZ,
so you tackled the FJ 1/2 day also? wah! sounds really shag.
Helihike X siah...

hi yours,

i hvnt change yet. now is S$1 = NZ$0.85

Well, i still hvnt settled my accommodation.

CHC - Achilies Motel (Thanks to you)/ Vagabond Backpackers (may stay on last day)

Lake Tekapo - Tailor made backpackers

Twizel - Aiya. this high country holiday lodge never replied me since i want to confirm
now hv to search again. any recommends?

Dunedin - Ramsay Lodge

Te Anau - Te Anau Lake Front Backpackers

Queenstown - How u find Aspen Lodge???

Fox Glacier - I thought dont stay at fox, where can i stay nearest to fox? matherson? matherson got any accommodation?

Hokitika - Blue Spur Lodge (aiya they so blur. after i provide my cc details, they told me it's twin room with ensuite. nvm loh, i wil stick with it with 2 separate single beds since so diff. to find liao.

Hanmer springs - hanmer resort motel....still awaiting from others.

Those places that i hvnt settled accommodations, probably can do a farmstay. Any recommends? tks.

Hi Kite,
nearset to Fox will be FJ (about 20min drive). That's what I'll be doing, stay in FJ and travel to-fro Fox for the glacier hike / walk to terminal face. Thee's more places to stay in FJ too.

Achilies Motel, they confirm got room ah, what rate?

Aspen Lodge - do they have room? frankly, if it's so difficult to get a room now cannot be too fussy. But it's near the supermarket. Otherwise, Alpine Lodge is just next door [email protected]

aiyo...the NZ dollar going stronger and stronger leh.

Probably you ain't keen to stay at Pinewood, but i checked from a internet online booking and they still have double rooms (shared facilities)for 16 Jan onwards.

Hi yours,

Thanks for ur help again.

Achilies charge me $75 per nite ensuite. Hv decided to book with them.

As for queenstown, which one is better? Aspen Lodge ($75 ensuite) and backpackers Downtown ($70 enusite)? both available at this point of time.

Hi kite,
The self drive is alright. The roads are easy to manage. Just keep to the speed limit and if tired, must take rest stops. My hubby drove thru out the trip cos he dun trust my driving. hehe! So we would stop for rest at the same time take photos.

In queenstown, you can go deer park heights, do extreme sports or just chill out. It's really a great place.

like what yours2lynn said, the blue penguin viewing is after sunset. The yellow eyed penguin at otago peninsula can go anytime in the afternoon but the behaviour of penguin is such that they only return back on land towards the evening. so if go too early may not get to see too many of them.

Personally, I find the FJ hike damn siong. I dun exercise a lot so my fitness level very lousy. That's why cannot tahan climbing up anymore. Wanted to do the Heli hike initially but it was fully booked.

Milford sound is scenic. I took the morning cruise. What we did was to stay overnight at Te Anau then first thing next morning travelled up to Milford Sound. But a guy we met on the trip told us that the Doubtful Sound overnight cruise was spectacular. Better for you not to miss either the Doubtful sound or Milford Sound. Go all the way to NZ liao then dun go for the cruise like very wasted leh. hehe!

Will share my photos soon. Now busy doing up my album first cos my colleagues pestering me to show them the photos. Sigh!!

Perhaps you could do a farmstay in twizel?

Hi yours2lynn,
(1: die die must see, 2: not bad, worth the time/money, 3: doesn't hurt to miss it , 4: go if only to pass time)

In Queenstown:
1. Kevin Heights Deer Park : LOTR film site
2. Shotover Jet: 3
3. White water Rafting: 1
4. Gondola: 2
5. Luge: Not sure, didn't do it
6. side trip to Glenorchy: unless you are going there for skydiving with vertical descent. If not, nothing to see there.
7. side trip to Arrowtown: I skipped that but if you are interested in heritage and history, I guess no harm going for it.
8. Gibbston Valley Wines: 2

In Te Anau / around:
1. Milford Sound: 2
2. Te Anau Glow worm Caves: 2
3. Lake Manapouri

In Dunedin:
1. The Octagon & Cathedral: just to take photos
2. Speights Brewery: 1
3. Cadbury Factory: I didn't go for this.
4. Olveston House: dun know
5. Otago Museum: dun know
6. Balwin St.: to take photos
7. Dunedin Railway Station: to take photos

In Otago Peninsula:
1. Larnarch Castle
2. Penguin Place: 2
3. Albatross Centre: 2
4. Taiaroa Head

Hi mint,

thanks for ur advise. I will be going to view Yellow Penguin and albatross from Dunedin. hv checked that there is a tour on it.

hmm difficult to make change to go milford sound in e morning cos my itinerary quite packed. or u got any suggestions? thanks.

btw how was ur itinerary like?

Hi Mint,

Thanks for your input. Did you take the tour to see the albatross? any sighting of them flying? It there a good chance to see penguins at Oamaru? Up close? 'cos thinking of skipping the Penguin Place.

Hi Kite,
Downtown used to be a hotel....maybe the rooms are bigger??? They have changed management in Feb 04 , under the old management Downtown had v bad reviews. Not sure if the new managment renovated the place. But it's a very central location. Aspen is a bit further out of the central area (about half way between the supermarket and the town centre). My feeling is that it's less rowdy?

Hi Yours,

so far i hv settled most of my accommodation except Twizel (fly kite, never reply) and Fox Glacier. Think wil try FJ as u suggest.

I hv revised abit of my itinerary, will from Dunedin via Southern Scenic route to Te anau. then next day morning, go for Milford sound cruise. not so rush. wat u think?

Hi kite,
My itinerary was:
13 dec: Arrive in Christchurch
14 dec: Travel to Mt Cook (overnight farmstay at Timaru)
15 dec: Travel to Dunedin (see penguins, albatross, visit speights brewery) en route to te anau (moraeki boulders)
16 dec: Te Anau (Glowworm caves + Milford Sound)
17 dec to 20 dec: Queenstown (sky dive, shotover jet, whitewater rafting, deer park heights, gondola, winery)
21 dec: Travel to Franz Josef (overnight stay) en route puzzling world. Did the hike on 22 dec morning.
22 dec: Travel to Hanmer Springs (overnight stay)
23 dec: Travel to Kaikoura (whale watching + swimming with dolphins) (overnight stay)
24 dec: Back to Christchurch for souvenier shopping; flight next day morning.

from your itinerary, you could do the milford sound in the morning before driving to queenstown cos it's not far to queenstown anyway. That was what I did.

Hi yours2lynn,
Ya we saw the albatross flying. As the animals are very protected, we were in a glass enclosure to just watch them. It wasn't really a tour... just a guide to take us to the enclosed area and talked to us more about it. Not sure about penguins at Oamaru but I think that probably can only watch the penguins from a distance as the new zealanders really protect their animals.

Hi mint,

thanks for ur advise and typing out ur itinerary for me
so is ur pics ready? eager to view. hehe

Seems like we are driving almost the same route. So on the left side is sea (along e cliff) and right side is mountain rite?

Wow u stay 3 nites at Queenstown! must hv spent a bomb rite? hehe

seems like i got problem changing NZ $.....lots of place dun carry NZ notes....now e rate is 1.85 to 1.9.........

mint n e rest, what was ur rate tat time? tksk

Hi Mint,

Which farmstay u overnite at Timaru? how much? good? thanks.

Hi Yours,

Which is better in hanmer Springs? Le Git Backpackers or YHA Hanmer Springs? thanks.

Do u actually pre-booked Milford sounds and Glacier walk? need to book in advance?

What is the difference between nature ($63) and scenic ($48) Milford sound cruise? which one shld i go for?

How much does the Puzzling world costs in total? cos i couldnt find any pricing from its website.

Also, normally where u all changed for NZ notes? cos some places dun carry it.

Lastly, wat kind of clothings u all brough there? Did u bring winter wear? or wear thermal wear inside? gloves n etc? thanks.

May i ask how far is the deer park heights from the Queenstown town area? Also, for ppl who dun drive, how do we get there? Is there any entrance fee of some kind or juz nature walking? Any day tour available? Whatz the duration like? Any1 knows?
Thx alot in advance!

PS : I saw everyone come down shack out look. Also some angmoh fainted/short of breath on the path.

- they didn't look that bad to me
ppl were naturally tired after the glacier hike but not that bad. we did the full day, and FJ Guides actually split us up into 3 groups depending on fitness level. we joined the 'national geographic' group, so pace was more leisurely. i can't even jog for 5 minutes without panting like siao so i guess you don't have to be really fit
but for those going to the glaciers, the hike is an absolute must-try, whether you do heli, half or full day

Hi kite,
The CD is ready but need to put up on a website first. Will try to do it this weekend. When are you leaving?

Only when you are driving along the coast then you will see the sea on one side and mountains on the other. If driving inland, of course only see mountains lor.

Yup, stayed 3 nights at queenstown. I stayed at Queenstown lakeview holiday park. For ensuite room price was NZ$82 per night. Quite ok actually. Didn't buy much things at queenstown. Only did the touristy stuff.

When I left, the exchange rate was S$1.23 to NZ$1. Can try the suntec fountain money changer. Heard from the other gals in other threads that it gives quite good rates.

The farmstay was really good. Yvonne and Barry were my hosts and they were really hospitable. I really enjoyed myself there. I was recommended by a friend to contact them. We paid NZ$240.

You could try this site for farmstay. They have quite a huge list: http://www.rth.co.nz/

No need to pre book milford sounds cos there are a few operators doing it. I did the nature cruise but dun really know what's the difference. The lady told me that the cruise time is longer than scenic. But we saw dolphins and fur seals along the way.

Puzzling world costs NZ$10 per person.

I was packed for summer because I tot it was summer time. But it was quite cold in certain areas and I only had 1 fleece jacket with me. So what I did was to layer my clothes. I wore my spaghetti strap tops like vests and wore my T-shirt over the vest. Better to bring some warm clothing and some summer clothes.

Hi askabride,
Deer park heights not far from queenstown. I think it's about 20 mins drive. The entrance fee is NZ$20 per car. I dun think can do nature walk cos the track is only for cars. You may like to check it out with the information site at queenstown on how to get there if you dun drive. The kiwis are very friendly and will help you as much as possible.

Hi mint,

thanks for so helpful

Ok let me know when ur pix r ready. Me flying on this coming monday.

Hmm which mean sea on left, mountains on right?

At Queenstown, i thinking of doing the Shotover High Five : Jetboat - Helicopter - Skyline - Movie - Luge and Deer Park Heights. What activities u did?

hmm do u find it silly if i bring 1 winter wear jacket? LOL.

Btw all my accommodation booked except Fox glacier/FJ and Twizel. awaiting for replies.

sorry typo error. I have checked the currency rate now. It should be S$1.18 - S$19 to NZ$1.

Hi mint,

ur rate is considered very high tat time.

Hi askabride,

u flying next wk rite? hv u changed ur $?

After reading on about the helihike and sleeping on it for days, I'm really tempted to go for it. fortunately (or unfortunately) $$ is holding me back.

dear Cassie
, me also leh.....v weak at jogging. I used to able to run 2.4km at 16min, now 1km in 20 mins.....hahahaha I never like jogging, and no determination. so when I feel my heart beating fast and legs tired, I'll tell myself to stop. Distance always seem so long and destination far away when i jog, even for 1km.....but ask me to walk 5km, sub-sub-water.

For Kevin Heights Deer Park, car entrace is $20 (no admission charge for persons). No car, join the scenic tour http://www.thedeerpark.co.nz/scenic_tours.html

Alpine Taxis Queenstown offers services for sightseeing around queenstown http://www.tourism.net.nz/new-zealand/transport/taxis-and-shuttles/queenstown/alpine-taxis//?&enquiry=20916

Milford Sound with Real Journeys:
The Scenic Cruise is a 1 hour 40 minutes highlights cruise with a multi lingual commentary. The Nature Cruise is 2 hr 30mins and the Friendship Small Boat Cruise is 2 hour Nature style cruise with the boats skipper providing the commentary. The Observatory is an option only on the Friendship Small Boat Cruise and the Nature Cruise.
* Red Boat also operates at competitive prices.
(i'll be going for the scenic with observatory with Red Boat or Small Boat cruise with observatory)

Puzzling World is $10.

Aye...keen to know where to exchange NZD at good rates too! BTW, what's the limit you can bring in or must declare huh?

HI yours,

i booked with Aspen. Downtown seems overfriendly liao. prefer aspen, more quiet.

For twizel, i m deiciding between Pukaki Homestay and GlenMac Farmstay. Which one u think is better?

how much is the scenic with observatory with Red Boat or Small Boat cruise with observatory?

hey, thanks for the link

You can compare the prices here: http://www.milforddeep.co.nz/info-contact.htm

Hey, GlenMac is at Kurow right? that's an hour plus drive from Twizel leh. Pukaiki is like 15-20min before Twizel? Ehh..you have to plan your trip properly leh....

Thought I will choose Aspen over Downtown too.
Perhaps, you can help me see see how Alpine Lodge is when you are there? it's just next door.

thanks for ur email. Anyway Glenmac just replied all fully booked
Pukaiki Homestay is available, $85 ensuite. what do u think?

But since i hvnt settled Twizel and Fox glacier/FJ accommodation, thought of settling it as farmstay. seems like not much farmstays available leh.

oK wil check out Alpine for u

Below is Pukaiki homestay pic which they email me.
238721.jpg

Hi Yours,

most likely wil fix on Pukaki homestay in twizel since no farmstays seems available leh..... how about Lake Ruataniwha Homestay in twizel ($150 including breakfast)? thanks.

Hey,

thanks for ur PM. will send enquiry to them. Are they farmstays(those u email me)? hmm i think i desparately looking for a one at twizel leh...

seems like milford sound cruise + observatory is good. thanks for e info.

what is the difference between:

* Red Boat Cruises 10.30 am (Scenic Cruise & Observatory) $70

* Cruising Milford Sound 9.30 am (Scenic Cruise & Observatory) $65

hi yours,

btw i would like to travel from Dunedin via Southern Scenic route to Te Anau. Want to visit slope point, bluff hill, nugget point (heard this route is the worst?), thinking twice whether to drive up.....

Hi mint, gal C&C and all,

any nice n reasonable price FOOD/res to recommend while u were in NZ? thanks.

Must i pre-booked Milford scenic cruise + observatory? booked online or watever? or rather can i say all activities (Shotover High Five combo at queenstowns, penguin watching n etc?) i must pre-booked 1st to avoid disappointment? thanks.

Hi pple,
those of you who have charged to your credit crads i n NZ, would u say that the rates forex rates by credit cards are very different from the local money changers? which provides more favourabe forex rates: Masters / Visa

Hi kite,
No problem.
I think maybe can only see my photos when you come back from your trip. hehe! At the rate I'm doing my things... sigh!! better dun count on it. keke!

I think it should be sea on left and mountains on right.

No, it's not silly to bring a thick jacket. The weather does get pretty cold so it'll come in handy.

In queenstown, I did tandem skydive, white water rafting, gondola, kawaru jet, deer park heights, winery, kiwi bird park (cos just next to my lodging)

Ya the rate very high when I went. Maybe it's peak season.

Take a farmstay. I think it'll be more fun. Homestay just only get to know your hosts. Farmstay can see their farms. Did you try the link that I sent you? I think they have quite a number of farmstays in twizel.

No need to prebook milford sound and the queenstown high five combo. Reach there then book.

Ask the locals there to recommend you on what to eat. They often give quite good recommendations.

yours2lynn,
I think it is NZ$10K and above then need to declare.

The rates by credit cards are dependent on the banks that issue the card not whether it's visa or mastercard.

Hi Mint,

no prob. take ur time, no hurry. i will see it after i m back.

ic sea on left, abit dangerous hor.....cos i heard some rds no barrier

ok shall bring 1 winter wear jacket...did u wear any thermal wear? i m gg to buy tmr....can keep warm. Cos i get cold easily, i ever thot of hving a flu jab b4 i go.....silly hor...hehe

wow u did so much stuffs in queenstown...must hv spent a bomb.

we just went to suntec n exchange, got e rate of 1.175, not bad hor..

hmm tks, i did try the link u gave me but very limited farmstays in twizel leh.

u mean at e spot then book milford sound, high five combo n penguin tour? scare fully book leh...

Hi Mint,
Citibank says when pay by Visa, the rates are determined by Visa International. Which means it's the same with any banks, right? Din ask about Masters card.

did u all go for the penguin tour or watever? i thought of booking this Otago Peninsula tour with Elm Wildlife....3.30pm to 9pm for $67...

"some walking through amazing scenery is required to reach the isolated homes of some of the animals. The tour is a wildlife trek enabling close, secluded viewing of the unique and world-renowned wildlife living on the Otago Peninsula. In addition to the 15-20 species of marine and wading birds, the main ‘stars’ are the Royal Albatross, Hookers sealions, Blue Penguins, NZ fur seals and Yellow Eyed penguins.

We start our tour with a lagoon wildlife then a visit to Taiaroa headland to view Royal Albatross. We then go on to our private conservation area where the results of our strong conservation ethic are displayed. Here we see Hookers Sealions, Yellow Eyed Penguins and Fur Seals and occasionally Elephant seals, Leopard seals and dolphins in a truly unique environment."

Do u think worth it?

hiyee,

hehe yup, just came back from last min shopping at suntec. oh ya, we went to Peninsula n exchange $. Wow the currency is better than Suntec, 1.16, we went to change some since changed at suntec for 1.175.

aye, looking forawrd to your report when you come back! remember take photos of the places you stay and show us how good/bad they are hor.... I'm sure it will help many of us make an informed decision on where to stay. muahahahaha!

You still driving to Bluff? If I plan it in, it'll take me another 4 hours at least to get to Dunedin, then left not much time there.

yup will be driving to Bluff. Hopefully can cover e southern scenic route 92 in 1 day. else i wil divert using a shorter or faster route rather than route 92.

Dunedin - Balclutha via Southern Scenic 92 - Invercargill via Lumsden - Te Anau

Hi yours2lynn,
Then I guess mastercard and visa's rates shouldn't be too far off from each other.

When are you leaving?

Hi, thank you all for your advice. I had pre-booked my TransAlpine, so there is no turning back. Also, managed to secure my one-way car rental from Greymouth to CHC.

Now, can concentrate on looking at other aspects of the planning.