New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Hi yours,

For CHC, how come i couldnt find the Warner Central Christchurch website on the net? that time remembered u did email me a list of accommodation. thanks.

hi yours,

i have shortlisted Foley towers ($50) and cokers backpackers ($60) at CHC. wondering which one is better? But foley towers doesnt guarantee my room to come with ensuite so i was thinking of choosing cokers as all their rooms are ensuite.

but i thought of doing some minor changes to my itinerary. i hv difficulty in booking at Lake Tekapo. Which town besides it is less popular?

i shortlisted Grumpy's backpackers at Te anau (ensuite - $60). any feedback on this? thanks.

do u think 1/2 day at Christchurch is enough? or shld i plan to cater 1 or 1.5 days at Christchurch?

Initially Plan:

Day 1 : Depart SG
Day 2 : Reach CHC at 2 to 3pm
Day 3 : CHC via Ashburton to Lake Tepako – Mt. Cook - Twizel (Hooker Valley track)
Day 4 : Twizel via Oramara - Oamaru
Day 5 : Oamaru - Dunedin - Te Anau
Day 6: Te Anau – Milford Sound – Te Anau
Day 7: Te Anau – Queenstown
Day 8: Queenstown via Arrowtown – Wanaka
Day 9: Wanaka - Hasst – Fox Glacier
Day 10: Glacier – Franz Josef – Hokitika
Day 11: Hokitika - Greymouth – Punakaiki – Hanmer Springs
Day 12: Hanmer Springs - Kaikoura - CHC
Day 13: Depart CHC at 8am

I have revised the itinerary cos i find initially the timing at Christchurch is not enough time, too rush.

Pls. give me comments and suggestions. Do u think is there any difference in taking between Milford sound morning and afternoon cruise?

Revised Plan:

Day 3 : CHC via Scenic Route 72 to Methven and Geraldine
Day 4 : Geraldine - Lake Tekapo - Mt Cook (Hooker Valley) - Twizel
Day 5 : Twizel via Omarama to Oamaru - Dunedin
Day 6: Dunedin - Te Anau – Milford Sound (take afternoon cruise) – Te Anau
Day 9: Wanaka - Hasst – Fox Glacier
Day 10: Fox Glacier – Franz Josef – Hokitika
Day 11: Hokitika - Greymouth – Punakaiki – Hanmer Springs
Day 12: Hanmer Springs - Kaikoura - CHC

we will be in auckland first week of feb for 2 days. will be driving. learnt it is expensive to park car in the heart of auckland.

could you advise where we can stay for night, and yet does not incur huge parking fees. tks

Hi yours,

Yup... we took the half-day hike and the intensity was just about right. The climb up the glacier was tough but once you're on the glacier itself, it's worth it. Quite a fun experience.

Hi Kite,

Thistle was good. Although it was shared bathroom, it was clean. For $60, we aren't expecting much but it was well within our expectation. There was also a complimentary airport pickup. There was coffee making facilities in the room and we didn't cook in CHC. Bascially, there are a shopping mall and a 24-hr supermarket in the vicinity and our meals were settled there.

I saw that you are keen on Grumpys... we saw it on our way up Milford Sound and it is quite a distance away from town, probably about 15-20min drive. Trips n Tramps actually delivers newspapers to the various out-of-reach places and Grumpys was one of it. Pretty fun as the guide goes on his round.

Have fun planning!

I paid $66 NZD for the room at Twizel,same price. You can use their common kitchen if you want to.There is a few cafe and a supermarket opposite the lodge.Overall,same town. The salmon farm we went to is just 3-5km before reaching Twizel town from Wanaka. Its called High Country Salmon.Think they closed quite late.. coz we went back around 6pm..they stil opened. The daytime in NZ ends quite late.. the sky turn dark only around 8.30 to 9pm. You can actually plan to stopover at more places.

When driving to Milford Sound,there are a few roads that are merging into 1 lane. Take note of the road sign. The road sign there is pretty good..they will indicate the speed limit,the type of road to experience-winding or curve. In town,pls note that the car turning on right into the right side road get priority first not like singapore.

Think 1/2 day in CHC is good enough, nothin much there. We just shopped around the shops mostly souvenirs and went to the casino at night. They have transportation to send you back to hotels if you are not driving in town. Can go see the cathedral and the clock tower (cant remember the name).
Nothing much in Dunedin, the restaurants closed quite early like 10pm. We arrived there quite late..so ended up having chinese food at a chinese restaurant that closed at midnite.

If u have the chance, should go check out the penguin walk..heard that its pretty good. You get to see the penguins real up close.

Hi C&C,

We will be doing a 1/2 day guided walk at Fox Glacier too. Hope it wont be too tough for me as i rarely exercise n do work out. Is it very cold up there? Guess need to wear thick clothings? All boots and accessories will be provided by them rite? how much u paid per person?

How does Grumpy's look like? ulu ulu kind? Hey i just realised Grumpy's Backpackers is at Te Anau Downs, not at main town. Wondering should i book? anyway i wil stil wait replies from others at Te Anau.

Hi Gal,

I have booked High Country Holiday Lodge ($66 w ensuite) in Twizel as recommended by you. The lodge is clean n comfortable rite? not noisy? Glad that its near to town n facilities.

Dont think we have time to go to High Country Salmon as we will be travelling from Mt. Cook and by the time reach Twizel wil be late and next day wil travel to Oamaru. Hopefully wil spare some time there.

Thanks. Wil take note that car turning right hv priority first as i didnt know that.

Btw the Penguin walk u mentioned is at Dunedin or Oamara? cos in my impression, it's seems to be at Oamara.

I have problem booking at CHC and Queenstown. Replies not very good.
Panic cos left 1 more week.

Hi Kite,
Sadly Bumbles do not have a website or email that I can find.

Bumbles Hostel:
2 Brunswick Street (corner Lakes Esplanade), Queenstown
Tel: (03) 442 6298 or 0800 428 625
Owner is Mrs Bumbles...Heard their rooms have nice views over the lakes and quite spacious.

Hi C&C,
are both of you very atheletic type? any muscle ache after the hike? I'm interested in the full day actually, more time on the ice....but I'm afraid I'm not fit enough....do you book for your hike when you arrive at Fox or earlier? And, is it cold to to wear just bermudas (not recommended to wear jeans leh) or what's your attire like?

Actually, can see penguins at several places along the coast. At Dunedin, you need to travel to the Otago Peninsula.

Revised Plan:

Day 3 : CHC (cashmere hill/lyetton harbour n etc) via Scenic Route 72 to Methven - Geraldine - Lake Tekapo
Day 4 : Lake Tekapo - Mt Cook (Hooker Valley) - Twizel
Day 5 : Twizel via Omarama to Oamaru (Moeraki Boulders) - Dunedin (Steepest rd in Baldwin street)
Day 6: Dunedin - Te Anau – Milford Sound (take afternoon cruise or morning better?) – Te Anau
Day 7: Te Anau – Queenstown (deer height park/Gondola Ride/Shotover Jet n etc)
Day 9: Wanaka (Puzzling World) - Hasst – Fox Glacier
Day 10: Fox Glacier (1/2 day guided walk) – Franz Josef – Hokitika
Day 11: Hokitika - Greymouth – Punakaiki (pancakes) – Hanmer Springs (thermal pool)
Day 12: Hanmer Springs - Kaikoura (whale watching/eat seafood) - CHC

As for accommodation, pls comments too.

1) Christchurch - ???
2) Lake Tekapo - Tailor Made Backpackers (book)
3) Twizel - High Country Holiday Lodge (book)
4) Dunedin - Ramsay Lodge (book)
5) Te Anau - Grumpy's Backpackers???
6) Queenstown - havent confirmed (any suggestions?)poor replies........
7) Wanaka - Bullock Creek Lodge (ensuite) or Wanaka Bakpaka (which is better?)
8)Fox Glacier - havent confirmed, thought of staying at Matheson
9) Hotikita - Blue Spur Lodge??(any more suggestions?)
10) Hanmer Springs - Hanmer Resort Motel???(any more suggestions?)

Any comments? thanks.

For the Te Anau accomodation, you may want to book YHA. I find the place good and clean. Price is $70 for an ensuite room (with toilet). Quite easy to find.
The country lodge at Twizel is clean and nice. Not noisy.They have coffee and tea in the room.Self heating bed.
I think its better to take the morning cruise at Milford sound. I took the morning 10.30am one after which we had more time to drive down to Queenstown. U can choose to drive down to Queenstown instead of staying at Te Anau.That way u can spend more time in QTown.

Hi XYZ,
So did you leave any behind to join in the fun? Hhahha..we did.

Hi Gal,

I did email to Te Anau YHA since last week but no replies. Jiat liat, i sent alot of emails to queenstown too, poor response.

Hmm how m i going to alter my itinerary if i were to take a morning milford cruise? cos it wil be a 4 hrs drive from Dunedin to Te Anau.

Hi Kite,
See that you have taken some of my recommendations.

For your reference, I'll be staying at these places:
1) Christchurch - Vagabond Backpackers (initially wanted to book Chester Street, but they were already filled. The Old Country House sounds good too, may stay there on our last day.)
2) Lake Tekapo - Tailor Made Backpackers
3) Dunedin - Ramsay Lodge / Chalet Backpackers ?
4) Oamaru - Empire Hotel backpackers
5) Te Anau - Barnsyard Backpackers (This is also not in the town centre, about 10mins drive. All doubles ensuite.)
6) Queenstown - Pinewood Lodge (may change since Gal and C&C gave poor reviews)
7) Wanaka - Wanaka Bakpaka (it's a tie with Purple Cow .... but we decided on WB cos it's nearer the lake and we asked for room with lakeview)
8)F.J - Glowworm Cottages
9)Hanmer Springs - Hanmer Backpackers (Can walk to the springs from hostel. Le Gite sounds good too, but it's slightly further from the town.)

Hi yours,

thanks for ur email and recommendations. I emailed those accommodations at queenstown before but no reply
guess i wil re-send my email again to them.

The old country house is great but i find its abit far from town. Also you hv to make a phone booking, i simply cant find any email address around. u book thr phone?

Hi Kite,
I have not book the Old Country House. Thought we'll check out the place when we arrive and book for our last day if it's good. Otherwise, we are also thinking of spending our last night at Sumner (20min from city centre and 40 mins to airport) at The Marine Backpackers.

If really cannot find cheap accomodation, how about these? about NZ$100 (plus)

Blue Peaks Lodge www.bluepeaks.co.nz
Adelaide St. Guesthouse www.adelaidehouse.co.nz
Blue Gum Lodge www.bluegumlodge.co.nz
Four Seasons Motel www.queenstownmotel.com/queenstown_motel_studio_units.html

Hi C&C,
did you visit the FJ glacier too? I mean, maybe not glacier hike but walk to the terminal face or something?

I'm now considering whether to do the Fox or FJ hike. 'cos while the FJ hike is more expensive, you actually have more ice time since Fox needs to walk through the forest which is the more tiring part. But, terrain on FJ is steeper than Fox.

I'm thinking maybe I'll walk unguided to the terminal face and take tracks around the glacier for either glacier and do the hike on the other.

Any comments?

Hi yours,

wow thanks so much for ur help. will email to all of them now. hopefully will hv reply from them.

actually for christchurch, initially i shortlisted:

1) Foley Towers ($50 ensuite) - but they emailed me say no guarantee they will reserve an ensuite for me so i skipping that.

2) Cokers backpackers - bad comments through online reviews - so i skip it too.

3) Highway Lodge - $70 ensuite. i thought of booking this but then its abit far from e town. wat do u suggest?

for others in CHC, either too ex or full or no ensuite.

Hi Gal,

meaning u all drive directly to milford sound n park ur car at e carpark with all belongings n luggage inside e boot rite? will it be dangerous if let say i skip staying overnite at Te Anau and drive straight to queenstown.

Hi yours,

u really smart leh. how u manage to find all these? btw i tried thomas hotel. they charged me $90 per nite, too ex liao.

Hi Kite,

think I flooding the tread with too many listings.

Something just occur to me, that you have to check that the rates include GST. As far as I know, BBH and YHA hostels' rates include GST. Hotels' rates usu. do not include, not sure about motels or B&B.

Hi Kite,

think I flooding the tread with too many listings.

Something just occur to me, that you have to check that the rates include GST. As far as I know, BBH and YHA hostels' rates include GST. Hotels' rates usu. do not include, not sure about motels or B&B.

Hi yours,

no at all. u are such a great help to me
let me wait for their replies. hopefully they will.

For Hoki, birdsong n watersedge all fully booked

So, did you manage to get Blue Spur Lodge then?
Where else have you no place to stay? 'cos I quite free i can help search search lor

hi yours,

wow i got reply from blue spur lodge ($70)leh but then it so far from the lake so isolated leh. Dont know whether its good? i was thinking twice. wat do u think?

1) Christchurch - As mentioned. Foley Towers (no guarantee give me ensuite), Cokers (poor comments), still awaiting for other replies.

2) Te Anau - Grumpy's Backpackers ($60 ensuite) and Te Anua Backpackers ($64 ensuite). Between these 2, i cant decide which one to book. wat u suggest?

3) Queenstown - Worst of all. No response at all
so sad either fully booked

4) Wanaka - Bullock Creek Lodge (ensuite) or Wanaka Bakpaka. EMail both n e rest, no replies also.

5)Fox Glacier - Lake Matheson ($100), too ex....the rest no replies

6) Hotikita - Blue Spur Lodge $70 ensuite. Is it really ulu cos i see e map like far from lake?? isolated?

7) Hanmer Springs - Hanmer Resort Motel ($85). thought of booking this one for 2nd last nite to enjoy a good rest. hehe no replies fr e rest....either fully booked

Hello Kite,
Christchurch...suggest you confirm with Foley first and if something better comes along you can cancel it (no charge for cancellations before 48hrs).
other Budget Motels:
www.avalonmotel.co.nz
www.earnslawmotel.co.nz

Te Anua...No idea on them both. You referring to Te Anau Lakefront Bkprs? Hmm, i'll go with my own personal selection at Te Anau.

Wanaka .... as I mentioned, Puprle Cow is worth considering too.

Fox Glacier... what are "the rest" you wrote to?http://www.accommodationz.co.nz/foxglacier.html
has a comprehensive list. Note that Fox has less accomodation than F.J.

Hoki....Ya, Blue Spur is outside the town, more inwards the mountains. In town can try: Mountain Jade [email protected], or Just Jade [email protected]

Alternatively, you may stay at Ross at The Old Church www.theoldchurch.co.nz It's highly recommended in BBH. You will reach Ross before Hokitika.

That's the best I can help for now.

BTW, Blue Spur has high ratings in the BBH too. It's supposed the best choice in Hoki besides Waters Edge (which shares the smae ratings but has no ensuite). From the map, it looks like a 6min drive away from town.

And i just realise that Just Jade does not have ensuite.

okie....going to bed now.

wow u nite owl ah. hehe i stayed up late too just bcos of this.

Well, okie then i better booked with Foley towers 1st just in case.

As for Te Anua, i m referring to Te Anau Lakefront backpackers. any idea whether its' good?? else will book with them liao.

For hokitika, i decided to book with Blue Spur lodge.

Now left Fox glacier, hanmer spring, queenstown (the worst) and wanaka.

I'm back from my trip. It was fantastic! Weather was siao siao... cos 1 minute was like summer, all sunny and warm and next minute, it rained and became gloomy. So my photos shows me wearing my jacket at one place then no jacket and sleeveless in another place.

Gal,
Ya, I also saw those bras en route. It was so funny. Hubby and I tot they were campaigning for something.

Kite,
I stayed in queenstown lakeview holiday park. It's a new place and it's convenient too. I paid NZ$82 per night ensuite, shared kitchen. It may be cheaper now cos it was super peak when I got to queenstown. I also saw your itinerary. Looks very rushed to me. I was also there for 13 days and my schedule was already very packed. You are only planning to stay 1 night in queenstown? there's so much to do there. also, your Day 11: Hokitika - Greymouth – Punakaiki (pancakes) – Hanmer Springs (thermal pool)... it's going to be a long drive. Hanmer pools closes at 9pm but the last entry time is 8pm. Also I think no need for you to stay overnight at wanaka cos nothing much to do there except for puzzling world.

There are 2 penguin walks. 1 at oamaru where you'll see the blue penguins. the other at otago peninsula where you'll see the yellow eyed penguin. It may not really be up close cos it depends on where the penguins are at the time when you are there. Dun miss out on the albatross too.

yours2lynn,
I did the Franz Josef glacier hike... regret man! Pay money to suffer!! Halfway up the glacier, I gave up! Too tired to carry on already. so hubby waited with me till the group came down. Need a guide to take us up and down the glacier. The company will provide overtrousers, boots, thermal socks, ice talonz and raincoat. so can actually wear bermudas but wear warm tops.

Hi Mint,

Welcome back! Glad u enjoyed ur trip so much. Remember to share ur pics with us.

Since u were there for 13 days, how much all in all u spent and how was ur self drive? dangerous?

actually i wil be doing the thermal pool on Day 12, made a typo error, shouldnt be Day 11.

Day 11: Hokitika - Greymouth – Punakaiki (pancakes) – Hanmer Springs

Day 12: Hanmer Springs (thermal pool) - Kaikoura (whale watching/eat seafood) - CHC

Hey u recommend i shall skip Wanaka (since i also hvnt book my accommodation), then i can hv 2 nites at Queenstown hor. What are the so many things to do in queenstown? hehe. care to share? thanks.

As for penguin, is the journey far from oamara cos i wil be travelling from Twizel - Oamara - Dunedin. enough time to catch the penguins?

Oh really? i very lousy in sports one leh, rarely exercise, dunno shld do the Fox Glacier walk. both franz josef and fox glacier r e same kind of walk rite?

so u tried Milford sound cruise? worth it? thanks.

Revised Plan:

Day 3 : CHC via Scenic Route 72 to Methven and Geraldine

Day 4 : Geraldine - Lake Tekapo - Mt Cook (Hooker Valley) - Twizel

Day 5 : Twizel via Omarama to Oamaru (penguin watching/moeraki boulders) - Dunedin (Baldwin st)

Day 6: Dunedin - Te Anau – Milford Sound (take afternoon cruise) – Te Anau

Day 8: Queenstown (deer park heights/gondola/jetover shot n etc)

Day 9: Queenstown - Wanaka (puzzling world) - Hasst – Fox Glacier

Day 10: Fox Glacier (walk)– Franz Josef – Hokitika

Day 11: Hokitika - Greymouth – Punakaiki (pancakes) – Hanmer Springs

Day 12: Hanmer Springs (thermal pool) - Kaikoura (whale watching/seafood) - CHC

I feel like taking milford sound morning cruise but i dunno how to amend my itinerary leh.........FAN. help!

Don't worry too much abt the milford sound.

Frankly, I feel milford sound is kinda of over-hyped. The drive in/out is nice. Basically this is a sea channel out to the sea surrounded on both sides by high mountains/greenary.It is tourist must do thing I suppose. I have done Milsford Sound twice. 10 years apart.

Tip : Parking lots are limited and congested in the Milford Sound area so if you can, go first thing in the morning.

If i were to suggest, I would say do the doubtful sound overnight cruise from Te Anau (nice).

Hi XYZ,

cos some feedback milford sound afternoon cruise is not that beautiful. so i trying to think wat i can do to my itinerary in order to go for morning cruise.

wah doubtful sound overnight cruise must be ex!

ya, heard that the West Coast and the sounds rain a lot. Some website said there's "only two weather there, either gloomy and going to rain or raining".
And usually early Spring weather is more unsettled.

Hi Mint,
You took the 1/2d hike? you are the second person I heard who has difficulty with the FJ hike. My wedding car driver also went for the FJ hike with his girlfriend and she was also tired midway and they rested until the group came down. He was saying that Fox could be a better choice because it looked less steep.

I have also the reply from FJ guiding co. that the terrain is very different, FJ is advancing so more steep and Fox is retreating so more flat.

Therefore (dear Kite), the hikes are not the same.....that's why I'm worried about my fitness and which hike offers better experience of the ice features. Although Alphine Guides(Fox) assures that a full day hike is achievable and it's only the tracking up through the forest that's more demanding and once you get pass that, it's ok.

hmm....so what do you gals suggest? I'm considering 1/2d for FJ or 1d for Fox (discounting that I'll be more tired from the FJ hike and it actually cost almost double).

Hi hi.
Am inviting a survey on which are the places not to be missed. (1: die die must see, 2: not bad, worth the time/money, 3: doesn't hurt to miss it , 4: go if only to pass time)

In Queenstown:
1. Kevin Heights Deer Park
2. Shover Jet
3. White water Rafting
4. Gondola
5. Luge
6. side trip to Glenorchy
7. side trip to Arrowtown
8. Gibbston Valley Wines

In Te Anau / around:
1. Milford Sound
2. Te Anau Glow worm Caves
3. Lake Manapouri

In Dunedin:
1. The Octagon & Cathedral
2. Speights Brewery
3. Cadbury Factory
4. Olveston House
5. Otago Museum
6. Balwin St.
7. Dunedin Railway Station

In Otago Peninsula:
1. Larnarch Castle
2. Penguin Place
3. Albatross Centre
4. Taiaroa Head

Where else?

Hi Kite,
for your Day 5 at Oamaru, pls note the time for penguin watching: penguins arrive in the late afternoon before sunset to the Bushy Beach and after sunset to the Blue Penguin Colony.