New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date

Pls do be extra careful when you drive. I am feeling very sad now. Just heard it from the radio that a couple who went for their honeymoon in New Zealand died yesterday. Their car collided with the oncoming vehicle. The lady is a teacher.

I have actaully wrote to her before in this particular thread to share itinerary. I just felt so upset because although we have not seen each other, but we share ideas via email before.

Pls ladies, let's pray for her and do drive carefully.

http://home.nzcity.co.nz/news/?id=45763

New Zealand Post truck carrying hundreds of packages involved in horrific fatal crash near Taihape

11 December 2004

The truck involved in an horrific fatal accident near Taihape on Friday night was a New Zealand Post vehicle carrying hundreds of packages.

Two Singaporean tourists were killed instantly when their rental car veered into the path of the truck.

Police believe the truck driver then lost control and plunged about 90 metres down a gully, and was also killed.

New Zealand Post spokesman Ian Long says the truck was carrying mainly courier packages from Palmerston North headed for Hamilton and Auckland. He says they are now working with a haulage company to recover the products.

But he warns that due to the seriousness of the accident, it is likely to take some time.

Ian Long says it is likely much of the post will be damaged. He says security personnel will stay at the crash scene to ensure what is left is kept safe.

He says they have also put contingencies in place to ensure there is not any delay to other mail.

Anyone concerned about the post can contact the customer service centre on 0800 501 501.

Mr Long says the company's thoughts are with the victims' families.

Wreckage of NZ Post truck involved in fatal crash not expected to be recovered until later in the week

12 December 2004

The wreckage of the New Zealand Post truck involved in a fatal central North Island crash is likely to stay where it is until later next week.

The truck's driver and two Singaporean tourists were killed in a head-on collision at Mangaweka, south of Taihape, on Friday night.

The truck ended up about 90 metres down a gully.

Police say it is unlikely work to retrieve the vehicle will begin until tomorrow at the earliest.

New Zealand Post security staff are watching over what is left of the freight.

For all members here :

Don't drive at night (or evening in Winter) unless absolutely necessary. This is typical of pple trying to save money on accomodation or trying to rush from one point to another.

Also refrain from driving much immediately after arriving as u will be tired from the flight.

It's sad to hear of the news... Nevertheless, gals here who are planning their upcoming trip to NZ, dont worry, the roads there are really ok and safe

From the news, the accident happened at around 815pm. By that time, the sky is still bright. The sun sets at around 9. I came back from there last wk.

Need to seek some advice on driving directions?
Have anyone drove from Franz Josef/Fox glacier to Arthur Pass before? I tried to gather infor on arthur pass but nothin much from there? Its seems that the drive will take about 5hr.What is the nearest stop at Franz Josef? Cant find on map.
Anyone tried the guided tour by nzguide on the ice walk? 70NZ/pax

Is it worth goin to Arthur pass? I am thinking of either AP or Farmstay at Canterbury.

For those who book ANZED..any idea what kind of player do they have in the car? Tape or CD?

Need to get these details before I travel early next week

Thank you in advance.

For AnZED, it is a tape deck (re-confirm with Teddy as he might have upgraded his cars).

U can bring your CD player (get rechargeable battery) and get a CD-tape converter ($1 I bought).

Note that due to mountainous terrain, radio (incl handphone) is intermittant. So, listen to CD/tape is very nice.

You play your CD as normal except that the output now goes to the tape-converter.

Slot the tape convertor (based a tape with wire) into the cassette player. Wire will stick out and go into the headphone/out sock of your CD player.

As this used to be very popular in the era of CD-cassettes conversion, it may not be easily found.

By chance, I got it from a junk bin from Sim Lim Square.It cost $1. I haven't seen it recently though anymore.

You can try best Best Denki/Harvey Norman (the bigger ones) and see if they have. Or your local HDB audio shop.

Hi Gal and yours2lynn,
we booked our car with ANZED when we went NZ in Sep... the car had a multi-disk player, so you just need to bring your cds along.

but to be safe, its still better to confirm with Teddy whether they have cd player for all their cars...

Hi ninikiki,

Ye, I know Anzed have cars with CD players or they can provide car kit if you bring your own CD player. However, I did not rent with them. My rented vehicle will only have tape cassette player. But I think it's ok, cos I can bring tapes along.

Think it's quite troublesome and hard to find the tape covertor. Thanks anyway XYZ.

Hi yours2lynn and everyone,

My wedding was just over on last sunday! now busy settling my post wedding stuffs. tok to u gals later. cheers.

Hi yours,

thanks. seems like this thread is so quiet. i hvnt start to book my accommodation, goin to do it soon. wil keep u upate.

I m back from my trip..Its really a nice place with great scenery.All the mountain scenery were like pictures.Its been raining on and off since I was there.We got to see hailing (small drops of ice)too! Driving for hours to destination everyday is tiring but fun. We managed to cover all our itineary as planned.
CHC-Dunedin-Te Anau- Milford Sound-Queenstown-Mt Cook-Ashburton. The roads were pretty okay except for Milford Sound and some of the scenic drive where we need to drive thru valley.

One thing gross is that you get to see dead posses (hopefully i spell correctly)and animals on the road..They were knocked down by speeding cars.

Went Queenstown to do the Combo package shotover-heli-whitewater. I would recommend that if you have the $$. $289NZD. If not, the whitewater is the one to go to!

The farmstay was abit disappointing as we din not get the chance to touch the sheep. Raining everyday. Shld have given that a miss.

Oh ya.Do drop by some salmon farm when u r driving along Twizel or Mount cook. We stopped by to buy some fresh salmon sashimi..Yummy!! Cheap and good!

For those who need the tape converter, you can buy them at Mustaffa for $5.90.

Hi Gal, can tell me roughly how cold is the weather? Can't really gauge from the weather forecast i've been monitoring from the different sources. Any advise?
Thx

I stayed at
YHA at Dunedin and Te Anua
(Te Anua one is good)
Queenstown- Pinewood lodge
(not a very nice place ..abit far..must walk abt 15mins to the shops)
Twizel - Holiday Lodge ( nice and cheap)
CHC - YMCA (location abit far but price okay)

The pics had not been downloaded yet. Wil try to put up some nice pics this week. Weather wise is like 15 deg and windy in CHC. Better to bring sweater and wind breaker as its been raining. Oh ya..bring umbrella. Food wise quite expensive,dinner range from 23- 30 for main dish.Should try the lamb shoulder..very big portion.

For milford sound..we did the 2.5hr cruise. Was pretty okay. Find it abit too long.The drive along Twizel was nice.. the lake is nicer than Lake Tekapo as the water is blue in colour..due to the glacier nearby.
Dun forget to drop by to Wanaka- Puzzling World. Quite fun. Had our try at the maze and the puzzle games.

Hi Gal,

thanks for ur details. Hmm seems like my fren who lived in NZ told me that the weather is unusual cold. It should be summer n be quite warm now. these days, the weather is quite funny.

Did u drive directly to Milford sound or took a coach there? i m still deciding.

Well, how many days u stayed n spent all in all? shall look forward to ur pics

Hi askabride,

So when are u departing?

Hi Kite,
A new Agrodome Centre in Omarama is due to open during the month of January, depending on when the tradesmen finish their job. Remember to check it out.

Hi Gal,
Thanks for your info on where to get the tape converter.

Coincidentally, I had arranged my stay in Queenstown at Pinewood Lodge. I read a review that compliment it on being 'a town within a town', and I rather liked the holiday park layout.

i intend to travel with my hubby to nz across chinese new year, is it good time to go auckland/christchurch?

also, could i reach there and then book accomodation? or i should do all bookings in singapore?

I spend about 10 days in NZ. Quite short but not bad ..still managed to see most of the Southern Islands. We drove up to Milford Sound..drive was pretty winding but with nice views. Get to see the Mirror Lakes along the way.
We were initially deciding whether to drive or take coach but due to the hotel arrangement at next destination, we drove. If take coach wif Real journey..will cost $35 per pax. Might as well save tat on food.

Hi Lynn,
What kind of room did u book wif pinewood? We got the shared bathrooms and kitchen..so room was very small.

Hi Priscilla,
For the accomodation, I wld recommend u book those tourist spot wif limited accomodation like Mt Cook, Franz Josef Glacier and Lake Tekapo. We had problems booking for Mt Cook and Lake Tekapo so ended up stayin in Twizel. Queenstown and CHC shld be fine..no need bookings.

Hi Yours,

what is an Agrodome Centre? hmm u know wat, i stil hvnt book my accommodation yet. stil very busy w many work n stuffs. sigh. u think m i able to do it on time? anyway i wil do it this week cos new hse just subscribe to internet! phew!

hi gal,

so do u find driving to milford sound from te anau is dangerous?

Hi Gal,

Sorry and paiseh i got so much qs to ask you. cos quite alot of ppl kept warning me that NZ road are dangerous n etc, hv to be careful. Furthermore, i wil be leaving for NZ the week after. looking forward.

Well, need to ask u on some stuffs.

1) Did u book with anzed? u brought ur own CD player n bought the tape converter? Cos i dont hv a CD player. How does e tape converter works? Btw i booked with Anzed too.

2) Care to share which farmstay u stayed at?

3) seems like i have to try the Salmon Farm, love salmon!

4) Issit very crowded with ppl esp now is peak season n summer?

5) Basically do u find driving even on main roads dangerous? my fren who used to stay in NZ told me hv to be careful, like need to cross a single lane bridge n there are lots of tights bends n corners.

6) So i guess u booked ur Milford sound cruise from Real journey? i intend to but stil deciding whether to drive directly or take coach?

Ok ur itinerary looks alike to mine but i further extend up to Punakaki pancakes as me hv 2 weeks there. Since we are travelling like clockwise direction, do u find e routes okie?

Many thanks n look forward to view ur beautiful pics.

Seems like when Kite is back, this tread statrts to get alive again.

Hi Gal,
I booked the cheapest: Budget(Double)standard (NZ$50). From their website, I read that it's in one of the older cottages. Is that same as yours? How did you don't like about that place?

Hi Kite,
There's an Agrodome Centre in Auckland. www.agrodome.co. It's like a sheep farm / theme park. Not sure if the new Agrodome at Omarama will offer the Zorbing or fun adventures, but you should be able to see sheep shows, maybe shearing too? If you manage to visit them, fill me in with more details.

The BBH hostels (www.bbh.co.nz) reply via email rather promptly, so you should be able to secure your room quite fast. When's your departure?

Hi Pris,
Recommend that you secure your first night stay before departure. The least you want to do upon arrival is to search for a roof.

Hi yours,

LOL u made me luff. hehe cos i got so much qs for all of u, feel paiseh *blush*. after i come bk fr NZ, wil definitely share info w u all

Btw ur Pinewood accommodation, does it comes with an ensuite bathroom? :p

wow u really do ur research very well. for me, due to lack of time, i m lagging. Anyway i wil be departing on the week after (mon). i wonder i hvnt book my accommodation yet, hopefully wont sleep on e streets.

Could any one advise me on which car rental company could allow a car drop-off in Christchurch and a pick-up from Greymouth?

Reason is that I will be spending 2 nights in CHC, thereafter, board the TransApline to Greymouth. Would like to pick-up a car from there and continue on with the honeymoon.

Are there any additional charges for this kind of arrangement?

How much do you spend on petrol for a 14-day tour of South Is?

You can try another website http://vip.co.nz/

Btw, is there alot of unsealed road in NZ? difficult to drive?

Also, those backpackers accomocation, are they noisy, rowdy n unclean? cos i heard feedbacks some backpackers accommodation r like tat. hope to avoid those kinds as i prefer quiet n peace.

back from my trip and it was really fun! Although it is summer now but the weather had been really cold... average about 8-12 degrees...

Just a few pointers to note... Pinewood Lodge at Queenstown is really bad. We got a small room with kitchenette and bathroom facilities and you cannot imagine how bad it was... we don't even have space to lay out our laggage. We were booked 3 nights but decided to check out after the first night. We look around for a better place and found it... Colonial Village... though it is about 5 mins drive away from the main city, the room has a view of the Remarkables and we don't mind paying more for it. Btw, Pinewood Lodge was $80 while Colonial Village was $105.

I agree that Milford Sound is a little hyped up... we didn't drive there but joined a tour instead. Funny... we actually enjoy the ride up than the cruise itself... The company is Trips 'n' Tramps (http://www.milfordtourswalks.co.nz/) and I strongly recommend those who are keen to try them. Unlike some tours which put you on big coaches, this one only cater for up to 12 pax and the guide we got is very knowledgeable and entertaining. Ask him anything and he is sure to come up with a witty reply. Very fun!

now busy with work... will try to drop in every now and then... Happy New Year!

Hi C&C,

wow u just came bk from NZ. glad u enjoyed ur trip so much. how many days were u there?
remember to update me on ur accommodation n other recommendations cos i wil be flying the next week after. Cheers.

Hi Kite,
We drove from Te Anua to Milford sound,like what i mention about the drive. Its pretty okay.
Yup,we took the Real journey milford cruise. Cheaper compared to the other co. We rented our car frm Anzed,its a casette playing. Brought my Discman along.. The cassette converter is a cassette wif an external plug that u can connect to ur Discman. Push the cassette into the cassette deck and u can listen to ur CDs.Simple.

I took the same as yours for Pinewood, $50NZD for double. Well, its really bad..shared bathroom and kitchen. Very small room and stuffy. We paid for both 2 nites...so got no choice had to stay there.
I stayed in the bunk for 1 nite.4pax in a room at backpackers accomodation..well, its really difficult to sleep. I din sleep well due to the on-going snoring concert at nite!! Better to be well equipped with ear plug and eye shade.Not really noisy place coz everyone wil be doing their own stuff and cooking.

The salmon farm is nice..fresh salmon straight frm the sea! U shld drop by some winery if u have time. We stopped over at one of the winery on our way to Arrowtown from Queenstown.

We spend abt $250 on petrol for 8 days travel since we din really drive alot in Queenstown and CHC. The drive on main road is pretty easy and super straight,may make u so sleepy. Mostly of the time, my bf will drive and I will take over the wheels for straight roads. One thing to take note,

Oh ya! On our way to Wanaka, we came by a stretch of road that hangs all the underwear and bras left by travellers,it stretch a long way... some people even left cute message on it.. We took some pics of them as well but its on my bf's camera. He hasnt download em' yet.

Hi Kite,

Just a quick note before knocking off... we stayed at the following places:

CHC: Thistle House ($60)
Fox Glacier: Lake Matheson ($95)
Wanaka: Alpine Motel ($95)
Queenstown: Pinewood Lodge ($80) & Colonial Village ($105)
Te Anau: Alpine View Motel ($90)
Dunedin: Sahara Guesthouse ($85)
Twizel: Mountain Chalet Twizel ($85)

Except for Thistle and Sahara, the rest comes with kitchenette and bathroom facilities. Those guys at Pinewood refunded us for the 2 days but need to inform them by 10am. Guess if a refund was not possible, we would have stayed on. Thank goodness!

We were there for 13 days and probably spent about S$7k... will be looking forward to receiving our credit card statements. Oh... we rented a 1.5L from Auto Rental(http://www.autorentals.co.nz) at $56/day. We took the Transalpine so we picked up the car at Greymouth and dropoff at CHC. No extra charge.

Hi G,
I went for the tranzalpine from CHC to Greymouth. Rented a station wagon (cos 4 pple travelling) from this car rental company New Zealand Rent-A-Car http://www.nzrentacar.com/index.html
No extra charge for 1-way drop-off. Car was pretty reliable, and return was fuss-free.

But personally I felt that the tranzalpine was a disappointment. The scenery was nice, but not fantastic, given the price that we pay. Cos you'll prob be able to see similar sights through your journey in NZ. My 2 other friends felt so bored that they dozed off during the 4hr journey. But that is just my personal opinion.

On Autorentals:
Hi C&C,
I'm also renting from Auto Rentals. So far I've enjoyed their very prompt responses and helpfulness. May I know how's the condition of their cars? And are they very fussy about the return condition of the vehicle?

On Pinewood / alternatives:
wow....Pinewood sounds cramp. But are hostels typ. like that - tiny rooms? I can reconsider Southern Laughter, Butterfli Lodge or Scallywags Travellers....any idea on these?
Kite, what's your pick for Queenstown?

On Tranzalpine / alternative:
Hi G, you can consider rent the car at CHC and drive via Arthurs Pass to Greymouth. It's much cheaper than taking the Tranzalpine and you can stop for a little tramping and picnics, makes the drive more interesting.

Others:
Hi C&C,
did you go on the Fox Glacier hike? can describe which hike you took and how's the experience?

Hi Gal,

lol at the undergarments. hehe so cute. saw ur pics but quite small leh.

hi c&c,

how do u find Thistle House at CHC? quiet n clean?

Hi yours,

me stil scouting.

Hi Yours,

u mentioned u wld like to travel up to Nelson n Golden Bay right? My fren told me there is warmer n nice!

how abt Catlins & Invercargill? worth to visit?

is there alot of unsealed roads without barriers at the side? dangerous?

hi gal,

hey i managed to book High Country Holiday Lodge at Twizel at $66 for a double room with ensuite bathroom as recommended by u. really good n clean, not noisy rite? thanks.

btw u mentioned the salmon farm? exactly where is it n what is e name of e farm? cos we wil be arriving at Mt cook in e noon to do e hooker valley walk (4hrs) and by e time we drive bk twizel overnite wil be in e evening. wonder wat time the salmon farm close? thanks.

Hi Kite,
The Mt Cook salmon farm is at the Pukaki-Tekapo Canal. There's another salmon farm enroute Haast to Fox Glacier (open 7am - 7pm).