New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Hi Mint, if you looking for accom in Queenstown, I recommend you to Top 10 Holiday Park (Creeksyde). I booked a 2 bedroom motel and I must say it's lovely. It's also near the town, say within 10 min walk, very convenient. And it is the cheapest among all other motels in Queenstown that I've checked out.

C&C, I'm not sure rafting is a must-do. But before I went for the trip, I also told myself must try. After going for it, no regrets but not as thrilling as I've expected it to be. I went for the rafting at shotover river. Before I book, the guy at the counter told us the water level was very high and we need to be good swimmer. We were scared by what he said that the raft will capsize and we need to be good in the water and all that. Initially we were a bit worried, but I insisted on going for the shotover river cos I've heard many good ratings about it. After going for the raft, I tell you, it's not as scary as what the guy sounded. All the rafts in my group never capsize at all. But of cos, they jus wan to play safe to make sure you are comfortable with the water. Good experience for me cos I've not raft before.

Hi Little Lamb,

Finally u are back! when were you back from NZ? hows weather n trip there? must be very nice right? hehe

how much does the 2 bedroom motel costs (Creeksyde)? cos me got budget on accommodation. look at hostels n yha. Maybe will mix farmstay, motels n hostels kind......

hi kite,
why dont want to try luge? it's is not bad, cheap fun!

hi mint, u can try The Loft Apartment at queenstown. it's less than nz120 and with kitchen, however not sure abt peak period rates. It's right in the city center where all the shops are!

Hi ginn,

u tried the luge, how long is e duration? cos i got problem in driving or controlling a go kart. LOL dun wan embarrassed myself.

Do u have any recommendations on hostels or backpackers? which one is good, prefer those ensuite, quiet kind, dun like noisy w bar or pub within.

me also wanna try the shotover jet and white water rafting combo as I thought both experiences are different? but thinking after the 1/2d activity, both of us will be poorer by $500, xin tong ahhhhh.....

Little Lamb, I believe that even capsized, got life jacket to stay afloat. If water is so rapid, being a v.good swimmer may also have trouble.

Hi Kite,
oh u not sure too? But i understand that the insurance only covers for accident and not damages to the car, such as tyres, windscreen, etc. correct? My hubby thought: then not necessary to pay the extra prenium since accident is accident, how to know will happen to us? Maybe will not leh....what for pay extra. Dunno lah.....maybe see the condition of the car then can guage if we got confident in it a not.
perhaps can share your experience on the car after you come back.

Never hear of the diamond lake b4. I'll like to atempt the Hooker Valley Track if got time.....

Hi yours,

wow so many qs....and gd that u prompted me too, probably we wil check w teddy. Or i can ask my hubby as he is more familiar with tis kind of stuffs as he drives in SG. will keep u update.
hv u book ur accommodation? its gd that u start early unlike me.

I came back 2 weeks ago... but busy with work so no time to PM :p

I got the Creeksyde apartment at $155/nite. That's the most ex among all my other motels. But no choice loh... Queenstown is very ex.

You are rite yours, life jacket can help you stay afloat but I guess they dun wan you to panick in the water loh

I tell you gals, Hooker Valley is the best among all my activities.... Very beautify and scenic... Walking through the draw bridge is quite an experience... I love it. But due to time constraint, I didn't manage to go to the end. I jus stop at the 2nd draw bridge and u-turn back. I must say try and it's free... maybe it's even better than scenic flight. Of cos that is not apple to apple comparison

Any1 had experience booking with kiwiway (either directly or indirectly by going through a local agency here)?
Hope to hear comments/experience if any, thanks

Hi little lamb,
Wow, the Creeksyde apartment is expensive. I think I'll check out The Loft that ginn recommended instead.
Thanks anyway. Where's Hooker Valley?

Hi askabride,
I just sent an email out yesterday to kiwiway and I must say that their response was quite fast. I'm trying to see if it's cheaper to purchase their accomodation passes or to book it on our own.

Hi Little Lamb!
how dong did you take for your Hooker Valley u-turn trip?

BTW, can share the driving experience? as in, which rental co. and car type, did you pay premium to reduce the excess and if it is necessary?

Hi Kite!
I've not booked my accomodation, as I've not confirmed my flight. But, my hols will meet the Good Friday/Easter weekend where NZlanders like to travel in groups, I am planning to avoid Queenstown and will definitely make accomodation booking for that weekend ASAP.(kiasu)

kite, luge is only abt 5min, very fast, dont worry it's very easy to control, even kids try it so shld not be a problem for you.

hooker valley is at mt cook. it takes total 4 hrs(with return) to complete. it's lovely when you reach the end point.

Anyone took the Milford Sound? Which is better- the nature cruise or the scenic cruise? How long is the drive from Te Anau to Milford?

I spent about 1 1/2 hour for my u-turn trip. It's a pity I can't comlete the track but still no regrets for me...

I took the anzed car rental, it's a 2.4l toyota caldina, a station wagon. I paid $10/day to reduce the excess to $250. It's up to you whether you wan to pay for that. For me, it's an insurance in case of any accident.

The drive from Te Anau to Milford Sound is very long, I think about 2 1/2 hour. Actually I find the journey there not very worth it. Cos along the road nothing fantastic to see and the cruise quite commercialise. Heard Doubtful sound is better but need to spend 1 day for that.

Hi Little Lamb,
so yours also with Anzed. seems that it's spreading well by word-of-mouth on the forum.

Heard the drive to Milford Sound is a beautiful scenic drive leh..... winding & challenging too.

Anyone spent time in Kaikoura, Blenheim, Nelson and take Lewis Pass? I'm undecided whether to extend my travel to cover this upper part of South Island. Seems only vineyards and wineries, not v interesting. But heard there's a Pupu Springs in Takaka that's v. out of the way. Wonder if worth the effort to drive out there and further to Farewell Spit for a day trip from Nelson.

The road to milford sound is indeed winding but if you keep within their speed limit, it's quite alrite. For those drivers who has height phobia, jus keep your eyes in front. Cos that's one part you need to travel all the way down and it's quite high. But quite a good experience though

Hi Little Lamb,

wow tat means i musnt miss out Hooker Valley! will cater time for that! not dangerous to walk on the path/track right? nothing else to take note during the long walk?

hmm or can i say that I can SKIP milford sound since like not worth it n commercialised (heard this alot of times b4 from others in this forum). Or better to save e $ for other activities?

Hi Ginn,

hehe so paiseh, lost out to a kid. lol ok maybe will try the luge but i m no sense of controlling direction though i can read maps. LOL

Hi Yours,

wow i hvnt even book my accommodation. feel stress by u liao. lol me lagging bcos of wedding nearby. Its gd to book early n do share with me....

wow u really going to travel up to northern of south island. Heard the farewell spit is nice!
As for lewis pass, its a more boring kind of route (i read from guidebook). Arthur pass is more scenic n beautiful but very challenging n winding! I read this up cos i will be taking Lewis pass from Greymouth to Hanmer Springs. Not as ambitious as u travel up to Nelson as i got 13 days oni. u? how many days? i wish i can extend longer. see how.

Hi little lamb,

wow e way u describe travel all the way down it means down the slope from mountain? i got height probia....any pic to share on this part?

Kite, I'm not saying Milfound sound is not nice, personnally just feel that the journey there is too long and the road to milford sound is not that fantastic. If you have time to spare, I suggest you go for it cos at least you've being to one of the "wonders" in NZ. I dun have any photos on the winding road cos we can't stop along the road, it's jus too narrow and dangerous. But trust me it's very safe if you keep to their speed limit. I do have some photos on my trip. If you are interested, let me have your email add, I can share it with you.

Hi little lamb,
Do we need to book in advance for the milford sound? Dun think I want to go for the Doubtful sound cos it's 8 hours but for Milford, it's about 2 1/2 hours.

Initially I also have the same worry as you, dunno whether to book in advance. But for me, cos we not sure wat time we'll reach there so the safest still is to book over there. I left Te Anau at about 8am, reach the booking counter at about 10.30am (u need to walk about 15min from the carpark to the booking counter). Took the 11am cruise for 1 hr 45min. Reach Te Anau at around 3-4pm.

Hi little lamb,
Thanks for the advice. Will go there then book. I'm still having problems with lodging at Te Anau and Queenstown. Any recommendations?

Hi mint,

I stay in Lakeside Motel when I was in Queenstown in early Nov. It's walking distance to town & it's NZ$100 with cooking facilites. This is what u see outside ur room ......
227552.jpg

We were living in on the 2nd floor and had the curtain open during dinner. It's so romantic. It's also very convenient as u dun have to look for car park for ur car when u do shotover or shopping in town.

Hi little lamb,
Wow! absolutely beautiful! I checked the website for the rates and it's NZD119 for lower floor and NZD129 for 2nd floor. The rate that you got is quite good. How did you book it?

Just a note on rafting -

Only very rarely will the raft capsize unintentionally becoz there are guides and they know the river.

However, we went with a 'siao' group of USA swimming instructors. They capsized the rafts for fun (which I think is a good idea becoz u pay money for the experience) and jumped across rafts just for the fun.

They also jumped into the water from a high point (jetty jump) at the rest point.

I say...keep an open mind and have fun. However, for non-swimmers this can be a bit frightening even with wetsuits and lifejackets. Swimmers (even weak ones) should fine it enjoyable.

I've booked my accommodation at te anau (kingsgate) and queenstown (Lakeview Holiday Park).

Any recommendations for lodging at Hanmer Springs? Also is it advisable to drive from Franz Josef Glacier direct to Hanmer Springs? Should we stop somewhere to stay for the night? Anything interesting at Greymouth?

Hi Littlelamb,

Sorry for my late reply as my wedding wil be next sun! busy busy. Thanks for ur advises. anyway will try the milford sound.
Yes i love to view ur photos. my email addr: [email protected]

Hi Blur,

nice pic u attached! but $100 per nite abit out of our budget. looking for something below $100.

Hi Mint,

Good that u hv prebooked ur accommodation. wow u leaving on 12 Dec, u still managed to book it. good good. for me, i m leaving on 10 Jan, yet to book any accommodation.

Do u gals think it's okie if i booked after my wedding (19 Dec)?

Hi mint,

how much is ur accommodation for te anau (kingsgate) and queenstown (Lakeview Holiday Park)? care to share? Both double bed room with ensuite bathroom?

From Franz Josef Glacier direct to Hanmer Springs, the journey is way too long. Suggest u stop or overnight at Greymouth or Hokitika. Greymouth might be crowded as transapline train stop there. or u can overnite at Hokitita, more quiet.

MHi int,
Estimated driving time : FJ - Greymouth (2hr 45min) - Hanmer Springs (2hr 45min)
Manageable, but if only 1 driver, pls check if he's ok to drive so long distance.

Hi G,
I'll be doing a 16d tour of South Island.

We will coincidently be doing a 16D tour of South Is too...our route will commence from CHC-TransAlpine-FJ-Queenstown-Milford-Wanaka-Mt Cook-CHC-Hanmer Springs-Abel Tasman-Nelson-Kaikoura-CHC.

I have not worked out the detailed one yet....actually, I've got my friend to plan it out for me...as she is really familiar with NZ having studied there for a couple of years.

What's your itin like?

Hi G,

your route quite sim to mine. I'm going this way:

CHC-Arthus Pass-FJ-Wanaka-Queenstown-TeAnau-Milford Sound-Dunedin-Oamaru-Mt Cook - Lake Tekapo - Hanmer Springs - Motueka - Nelson-Blenheim-Kaikoura-Akaroa-CHC

yes....everything fits nicely in schedule.

Booking my flight soon.

Hi Yours,

just wondering, any difference starting from CHC (clockwise direction) and CHC (anti-clockwise direction)?

yours is anti clockwise while mine is clockwise. do u know e differences?

If u intend to stop and admire the scenary, clockwise is slightly better because NZ drive on the left of the road. This way, the mountains will be on the right (eg Franz Joesf area) and the coast/stop areas on your left.

Another friendly tip from a avid F&E traveller.

Hi kite,
Ya, both my accomodation at te anau and queenstown is double bed with ensuite bathroom. I'm a very pampered person... cannot use shared bathroom facilities... hehe!

Anyway, for te anau (kingsgate), I booked it through www.wotif.com. It's NZ$105 per night. For queenstown (lakeview), I booked it directly thru their website which is NZ$82 per night. I dun mind using the shared cooking facilities cos was thinking at least my room won't have a smell after I cook.

yours2lynn,
thanks for the estimated driving time. I think what we'll do is stop at greymouth for some food and rest before driving again to hanmer springs. Hubby should be able to manage it cos we've driven long distance before when we travelled in USA. Although I can drive also, most likely hubby won't allow me to cos he's not confident enough of me driving.

Hi kite,
The website doesn't give us the dangerous or risky routes. It tells us about their heritage places that are under threats of extinction. They are trying to promote the preservation of these historic places.

Hi Kite,
it's a matter of distance between the towns/places of interest and where you intend to stop/stay. For me, going the way I've selected is best fitted to my time. Not sure whether the difference mentioned by XYZ is a strong argument, and it never cross my thoughts actually.

Hi XYZ,

thanks for e tips.

Hi yours,

its ok cos i m curious. hehe

i stil hv no time to search accommodation. wil do after big day. sigh...hopefully stil available.

Hi Kite,
When's your wedding?

Which places u need help with? r you looking at motels or can do with doubles with ensuite in hostels? budget? I'm been doing some research, so may be able to help you narrow down the options.

BTW, where's your farmstay going to be? I found Omahau Downs at Twizel.

Hi to whoever has the answer,
I'm offered a 1.8L sedan (dunno what model) at the same price of a 1.6L. Seems a good deal but wonder if petrol consumption is v high for 1.8L and if the roads in NZ needs such a powerful engine?

Hi yours,

my wedding wil be on next sunday. been working late til 10pm past few nights, so shagged n lack of sleep, plus wedding stuffs some not done
luckily tmr wil be starting to be on leave.

Thanks in advance for ur help.

I m looking at hostels with a double bedroom that comes with ensuite bathroom, no need kitchen though.

Overnite at these towns:
CHC - Twizel/Mt cook (whichever is available) - Dunedin - Oamaru - Te Anau - Queenstown - Wanaka - Fox Glacier - Hokitia/Greymouth - Hanmer Springs - CHC

Initially i thought hving a farmstay at Lumsden or Moss??? (both are between Oamaru n Te Anau cos e distance is too far), so thought of stopping in between for a farmstay.

For e next few days, might not be able to access internet, wil be running here n there to settle stuffs. thanks alot

Kite,
Besides the Omahau Downs in twizel, there's another farmstay (B&B or Backpacker) at GlenMac in Kurow, which is on your way to Oamaru. you can choose to stay there instead of at Oamaru.

Kite,
was just looking at your itinery again. did u realise that oamaru is further N of Dunedin? which means you should travel from Mt Cook to Omarama - Kurow - Oamaru - Dunedin - Te Anau.

Sigh i m still in office doing my work now.

Well i saw your PM. Just in case, my email address is [email protected] cos i dont know how to reply you since u forgotten your password for e email.

Ok thanks noted there is a farmstay at twizel.

Opps. sorry typo error, shld be oamaru come 1st, then follow by Dunedin.