New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Hi EL,
We left for NZ last year on Dec 28 for 2 weeks as well. Even if shops were open, I don't find shopping in NZ that exciting. Won't your hubby be glad that the shops are not open? You can spend more quality time together, soaking in the sun and sights.

Chinese restaurants, takeaways & supermarkets would still be running - don't think people will starve.

ary

hi ary,

I don't intend to shop there but was worried that if the shops are closed, we won't be able to find food and accommodation. also, museums or the visitors' information centers might be closed too.

anyway, did you face any problems during that period?

Hi EL,

The only problem with food is that if you're staying a distance away from the shops then you need a car to get to the food. eg. the night we arrived at Taupo by coach, we hadn't hired a car yet, so we ate a hotel restaurant - our most expensive but still delicious meal of NZD45 for 2 people. It was nice ambience watching the sun set at about 9pm or so.

Well, it might be true that general shops close early, but you can get food from the supermarket (get a roast chicken & do your maggi mee thing) and there's usually a chinese takeaway in each town. Visitors' centers should be open too - they're useful maybe for getting discount coupons to parks/rides. You can get discounts from the back of supermarket receipts too!

I think on New Year's eve, we went to Waiwera hot pools (north of Auckland) and on New Year's Day, we took a ferry from Auckland to Waiheke island. One thing about taking the ferry was that it might be fully booked on a public holiday.

There'd be people/families who'll be doing picnics at the beaches and parks. Lunch is usually not a problem at all (common stuff would be fish & chips shops). For dinner, at least the pubs will be open, motel restaurants or call for a pizza delivery! Touristy places won't be that bad lah. It's when u stay in a residential area.

90% of the time, we ate from chinese takeaway's for dinner - value for money.

ary

Hi ary,

Thanks for your advice. Really helpful to me cos I'm having second thoughts on going during that period. Now maybe I can proceed as planned.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">dun forget to update us wif ur trips when u'r back!!
</FONT>

Angelia,

I am just back from NZ, it's so cold over there. New Zealander told us this is their colder spring for past 20 years they seen. It's supposed end spring and beginning their summer but still so cold. We encounter temp 4 - 15 degree at most time, I think only few days we have better temp at 17 - 19 degree.

Now going for meeting, talk to you again.

angelia

i was back from honeymoon early nov. the temp wass ard 15 degree, 4-10 degree in the morning and night, when the wind blowed at you, its freezing cold.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cherly,</FONT>
waiting u to update more.....

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jes,</FONT>
wanna share wif us what are the places u visited?? was it fun??

Hi All!

I'm about to book my tickets to NZ. Would like to know if anyone has travelled on Air NZ before? any comments? cos I was told that Air NZ is no longer on code sharing with SQ.

Would appreciate any comments/feedback cos the Air NZ ticket is only $1K!!!

skye,
when u intend to go NZ? next yr? we oso planning to go, prob next Feb during CNY period but hvn't gone to book the tix.

Hi angelia!

I'm going in mid-march next year. that's y got to decide btw SQ &amp; Air NZ. but no one reply yet leh.

Hi skye

I went to NZ a year ago arriving on Air NZ and departing on SQ when they are still in alliance. Truth to be told, of course my hubby and I prefer SQ. But I believe all this boils down to your luck on the weather. We went around summer, still weather is not good and the plane shake like earthquake on both airline!

If you are afraid of cold, please remember to bring more warm clothes. I find that even in summer, it feels like autumn.

Hi skye,

AirNZ only fly to Auckland. So if u going to South island, have to do a transit which takes abt 1hr+ more. The transit airport is at another location some 1km away... when I first went there diliy delly abit, end up missed the (like suntec) transport have to RUN to that airport. The extremely SLOW checkout counter of NZ terminal adds up to the delay, not like S'pore, all terminals are empty.

SQ fly direct to Christchurch.

Difference bet the 2 is mainly the price, abt 100-200 more for SQ.

I went only to South island, and took AirNZ coz cheaper. Service normal, you ask something, they'll give u. But I feel the angmo stewartess like abit stuckup, won't smile at you. No turbulence met.

z

if possible bring some Magee Mee there. Some town is that small until there's nothing to eat. Magee Mee cost soemthing like $5 there..

z

I just came back from NZ last month, we travelled north &amp; south island and we went by Air NZ. Their service OK, well at least to me, I am not so demanding on the plane. Agreed with z, their food there is very expensive, basically everything is expensive than here, even their mineral water. That's why I bought 2 bottles on the first day and every night boils water in motel and refill in our bottle. I didn't find anything cheaper than here beside their fresh milk. The cheaper town I think is christchurch, along the way up, will be more expensive, especially when u reach Auckland. In Auckland, u can't find free parking, we parked our vehicle in the car park for 2.40 hrs, guess how much it cost? Its cost us $12.80.

The body shop products slightly cheaper than here. South island nicer as compared to North island. North island more city feel, but also have many things to explore and we regret we got no much time to explore, will go back to North island again.

Hi NZ &amp; z,

thanks for your info!!

Z, I'm going to auckland first to meet a fren. then will fly down to christchurch for a drive around south island.

the price difference btw SQ &amp; Air NZ is currently $500. but maybe I'll fly with SQ lah....

angelia,

my hubby book our tickets going to NZ on 10/6/03 back on 20/06/03!though wish take SQ but too ex so settle for Air NZ.would be more of a free and easy tour for us!
13971.gif

How if nobody can drive ? do u think it's better to join a tour ? or, maybe can free&amp;easy and then rent a car with a driver from there ?

I agree with Cherly. 90% of things there are more ex than s'pore. I also boil water at hotel everyday. Fruits are count by Kilogram. Eating is expensive, unless u can find KFC/Mac which only exist in big city. NZ$2-4 can only buy u a muffin/sandwich..

Nothing much to buy there also. So don't need to change too much NZ$, unless u shop alot and take those expensive helicopter ride (~30min=NZ$200+++)

[nz03]
I think it's better for you to join Free&amp;EZ.

[Cherly]
I didn't go North island. How is it there? I like to see scenery, do shopping etc. Is it worth for me to visit NZ again just to North island only?

z

Hi Blossom,

are those pictures taken by you? If yes, you're really got some photograhy cells...

Very well taken indeed.

z

Hi Z,

If I take F&amp;E, that's mean somebody must drive, rite ?
In my condition, none of us can drive..

opps, the pic din turn out. i think it's too big.... so sorry.

anyway, i think the scenary is really so nice that even a person with really bad photography skills can have quite decent photos.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">z</FONT>

Is worth to travel to NZ again. In fact, the whole 4 season of NZ has their own beauty but I don like summer maybe in singapore is already so hot. If I would travel to NZ again, I will stop at Auckland from there travel down to Frans Glarier to do a Glarier walk then fly out from Christchurch.

We even spent 10 hours (to &amp; fm Auckland) of driving to go to Northern point of north island, i.e Cape Reiga, wow so beautiful. Definitely worth to go again.

im tinking to go n visit where place where Lord of Rings took their scenes from ... esp a town called SHIRE in the movie .. hee ... but i hv not discussed this with hubby yet :p

hi piglet, do you know exactly which part of NZ did Peter Jackson choose for his scenes? My hubby and myself are simply obsessed with Lord of Rings.

hi nz03,

For group tours, there's something call "join international group" or "no min number to depart" or "daily departure".

Meaning everyday can depart, the agency just buy you a booklet of coupons for hotel &amp; air tix &amp; transport. When you're there at NZ, just travel following the schedule. There's transport to bring you from place to place utilising the coupons (e.g bring u to Fox Glacier, then you go and find your own program). Mostly meals you take care yourself. Bad/good thing is that they just bring u to the place, program you must find your own.

booked my tix from Resort Travel.

z

Hi Piglet,

I think driving at night not advisable. Coz their road got no street lights. Something like Penang roads.

Depending where u are. At moutain area, road can be quite meandering. At rural area, road are pretty straight, both sides are farms.

if you're driving, buy some maps before hand, plan driving duration. Target what time you want to reach a town.

drive

I am new here. Planning to go to NZ next yr March for my honeymoon.

We will be driving from north to south.
I read somewhere above that the Air New Zealand costs about only 1K to and fro. Is it true? If so, where can I go to book?

Thanks for the tips about the carpark fees in Auckland, in that case I will not drive until I am leaving Auckland.

Anyone has any suggestion for the accomodation in Auckland? I am thinking of Mount Richmond Lodge by Best Western. Any comments or maybe u can give me the hotel u stayed.

Hope to hear from you all.
Happy New Year!!

Cheers...

Happy New Year To All!!

Thanks for sharing so generously!! Definitely a great help to those who are planning to go (like me).

Fang,

I was the one who posted the $1K price for Air NZ. It's a special rate for their internet booking. You can book via www.airnz.com.sg. But the price is valid for 2 person travelling together. Not too sure if there is any other restrictions, so will be better if you call and enquiry. can get tel on the web site too!

You're going in the same month as me!!

Hi Skye,

Cool that we are going at the same time. May I ask when are you departing?

I went to the Air NZ site but it states 1300 plus per person. Can you guide me on how to get that 1K offer?

Btw, where are you staying in AUckland? I am still trying to get an accomdation near city coz I read that car park is very ex in Auckland. And have you got the car rental co? I am still surfing and checking the rates...I last got is 51 NZ per day for 1.5-1.6 CC. Sounds so ex! Is it?

IT's great that we can now share info

Rdgs,
Sherene

Hey me interested in going NZ for honeymoon in June?" Wat's the temp like? Wil it be too cold for comfort?

Hi Skye,

Oh I saw that..I clicked on the special discounts for flights.

So have you booked that?

Hi June,

The weather details...

Spring
Sep, Oct, Nov

Summer
Dec, Jan, Feb

Autumn
Mar, Apr, May

Winter
Jun, Jul, Aug

Bay of Islands
Temp (C) 19/9 25/14 21/11 16/7
Temp (F) 67/48 76/56 70/52 61/45
Rain days 11 7 11 16

Auckland
Temp (C) 18/11 24/12 20/13 15/9
Temp (F) 65/52 75/54 68/55 59/48
Rain days 12 8 11 15

Rotorua
Temp (C) 17/7 24/12 18/9 13/4
Temp (F) 63/45 75/54 65/48 55/39
Rain days 11 9 9 13

Wellington
Temp (C) 15/9 20/13 17/11 12/6
Temp (F) 59/48 68/55 63/52 54/43
Rain days 11 7 10 13

Christchurch
Temp (C) 17/7 22/12 18/8 12/3
Temp (F) 63/45 72/54 65/46 54/37
Rain days 7 7 7 7

Queenstown
Temp (C) 16/5 22/10 16/6 10/1
Temp (F) 61/41 72/50 61/43 50/34
Rain days 9 8 8 7

Fang,

No. I've yet to book that. Sort of juz agreed with fiance that we should take Air NZ instead of SQ for the savings, which we could use for internal flights. But will do that by this week ;)

I'm leaving for Auckland on the 20th. will be there for close to 3 weeks!! As for accommodation, will be staying with a fren for the 1st 3 days, after we return from south islands, will go stay at Hilton cos it's just next to the wharf!!!

Haven't done research for car rentals yet.

Hi har,

NZ is pretty easy to explore and drive up.
So it is better to go F&amp;E...drive and if you like just stop the car and enjoy.

All you need is to purchase an air ticket, booked a hotel in Auckland and a car rental service..The rest you can explore and book as and when you go along but of course you must write down a draft of your iternery you are interested so that you will not miss any.

Hi Skye,

My frd just gave me a link and I can find cheaper air flights from Air NZ. It is only $976 or you can opt for Malaysia airline which is even cheaper.

Go to this site and check out: http://www.airfares.com.sg/

I will be leaving on 11th Mar.
Hi Skye, can you ask your frd if they know if any hotel in Auckland that is cheaper range and also the car rental service of which is cheaper? Also any idea how much pertrol cost over in NZ?

Thanks Sherene (sorry, a bit blur..just saw that u left ur name) for the info!!

wow!! thot $1K v cheap liao...will go check out the website. anyone taken MAS?

I'll ask my fren but may need a bit of time. must it be hotel, or motel also can? cos there are even 2* kind of accom.

Hi fang,

i just came back from NZ recently, i would say it is a beautiful county with spectacular views! I was on honeymoon too, and we really enjoyed it, so u will too!

but i would advise not to drive up to mountainous areas in South, driving in South can be pretty tricky than North, as north is much more city like, therefore easier to drive.

we took a package cos' we don't want to tired ourselves out for honeymoon, but the itenaries are pretty relax, we were there for 2 weeks. Covered the South and North, but i would recommend more time to spend in South cos' all the exciting activities and beautiful sceneries are there, not the North. In fact, i would skip the north for the next trip. But again, if u are first timer in NZ, north would be a great place for you to learn on Moari culture, thermal areas and to spend a more relaxing day before coming back to S'pore.
I would recommend Carlton in Auckland. Just minutes walk to SkyCity or shopping areas, nothing much to do in Auckland, unless u want to visit Victoria market(like pasar malam), Eden mountain, Casino in SkyCity.

As for motel, i would say all the motels are pretty neat and clean.

Driving can be really tedious, 2 drivers are highly recommended. Grab a map, it should be quite easy to navigate in places like Christchurch, Queenstown. If u want to go for Fox Glacier, do join a local tour, cos' the journey up there are super hectic.

Cost of living are very high, we spend quite abit buying some local products like honey back to S'pore, wine and sourvenirs for friends.

Average per meal price : 10-12 NZ (fish&amp; chip)
MacDonald: 5 NZ
U got to pay for chilli sauce, so try to bring some packets there if u need them.
Make sure you got enough cash with you, cos' exchange rate in NZ are not so good, and average activities like Helicopter ride(more than 100NZ), Jetboating(75NZ), Wet water rafting(70NZ), Milford sound cruise(159 NZ)...all these are my close estimate, can't remember the exact figures.

Best season to go: Spring and Summer! which is between Nov - Feb. Daylight are longer till 8pm the sun goes down, plenty of time to explore and weather is extremely cooling. I get 9 degree in Spring with strong wind! North has a much warmer temperature of 15degree during Spring.

Not so good: Winter which is June/July cos' the daylight are extremely short, sunlight ends around 4 pm and there's no way to enjoy the sightseeing. Imagine average driving from 1 place to another is 4hrs- 6hrs....or more. Plus super freezing, unless u are into skiing in Queenstown.

hope my information helps in your planning.

Hi toblerone ,

how abt mid-end May? We are having our honeymoon then.. Is it good time to tour there?

Hi kk,

i would say mid-end May should be quite cold....since it is approaching Winter in June. Although it is consider Autumn in May, the temp. can be freezing in South, esp. when u have strong wind.

if possible, u can consider going September,October or Nov for a post-honeymoon?

My hubby and i also went for a post honeymoon, cos' the weather in June wasn't that ideal. So we do our planning for October-Nov, i can say the weather are pretty nice and spring flowers are blooming! Very pretty and colourful sights.

It's really up to both of you to decide, after all it is honeymoon, no matter where and when, it should be really warm and sweet : )

Hi toblerone,

Wah thanks for that piece of info!
It is so useful esp the exchange rate and the activities cost.

One qn, what about your car rental and petrol.
I am also looking fwd to a great time there in NZ.

Does Carlton provide free shuttle service?
Ya i also heard Auckland has nothing much so I will only rest there for a day and then move off.
Did you guys go to the Mercury beach or the hot water beach/ cathedral beach?

Hi Fang,

sorry, think i can't say much on the petrol and car rental since we didn't get to drive there, but if i am not wrong, the last time i asked for petrol information is around 0.90,which is much cheaper as compare to s'pore.But driving in new zealand is not cheap, if u are not sure of the way. But the good thing is, u get to see alot of things!

I think Carlton should have free shuttle service to and fro airport. can check that out. We really love the suite there, fabulous!

If u are going to Queenstown, i would recommend RYDGES HOTEL cos' only a few mins of walk to town where u get to do all the bookings for activities. In the cool evening, my hubby and i will take a slow walk after dinner back to our hotel, and the lake is just opposite the hotel. We had a wonderful view from our room, able to see the mountains covered in snow, and blue water.....plus steamship.

Btw, u can pay most of the activities with credit cards if u don't feel safe with all the cash.

No, we didn't go to the beaches u mentioned, probably there are too many interesting places to cover, and we manage to do those within our limit.

Oh.....bring lots and lots of films if u are not using a digital camera, cos' Kodak cost SO much in NZ!!! we bought 20 over and used all :p
Every pictures turns out to be like postcards, it is really scenic. We got friends end up paying alot buying battries and films, so be prepare in S'pore, cos' everything is expensive there. Just imagine, the GST is 12.5%.

enjoy your honeymoon!

thks fang

but the prob is tt both of us don't hv driving license... and we thought contiki is fun and save the trouble of planning.

any comment on joining the tour?