New Zealand

kite~

Hi zenn,

since u will be self-driving, u can drive to Deer Park Height. Each entrance fees for car is NZ$20. However, if join tour group, will be another pricing. Yes u can get out of ur car n walk ard w e roam animals. hehe.

Will u be staying overnite at Lake Tekapo? this is a useful website whereby it tells u which best place n time to view Lakep Tekapo.

For best photo taking, go to Lilybank Road in the morning and Godley Peaks Road in the evening. http://www.laketekapo.cc/

zenn

Hi kite,

Thanks thanks! Ya think its cheaper to drive there then joining the group.

Still cannot decide to take Milford or doubtful cruise or not. If not I will ve another nite free. Did you take the cruise when you were there?

Btw, issit worth staying overnite at Lake Tekapo?

eggie

hi zenn,
i think kite is only going next January. Have you all got your tickets?

For me, i think i'll just stop over during the day time for Lake Tekapo. Think want to try to stay overnite at Mt Cook instead

zenn

Hi Eggie,

Oops :p Yup got my ticket but ve not look into the rest like accodmodations n details. How abt u?

Present plan is to stay overnite at Mt Cook too. Hey you taking Milford or doubtful cruise? So confused now...

kite~

Hi zenn,

lol. hehe u confused liao. Sorry me never go NZ b4, planning to go next yr 05 after wedding.

Well, like u am doing research n collecting info n on the way, share info w u.

Hmm heard that doubtful n milford are similar but doubtful is more inaccessible.

zenn

Hi kite,

Paiseh really got mixed up hehe Thanks for sharing all ur research wif me. So hows ur 'planning' so far?

Ya milford is much cheaper than doubtful but according to the gals here, seems like not v worth going. So kinda dilemna now...

zenn

Is there any activities and accomodation in Milford inself? If not, does it mean I ve to travel to n fro Te Anau if I am taking the day cruise?

bluerose

The info here is really useful and aid me in my planning for my honeymoon to the south island on the 10 Oct.

My husband and i are still deciding whether we should take up the magic bus highlights package. Anyone has used them before. The package is quite interesting just that we gotta stay in hostel.

We decide to go for the NZ's local tour package as we heard that it is more comprehensive than booking one from the local tour agency, which charges very expensive.

Can someone pls kindly advise us?

missy

hi zenn, no not living room..its the motel lounge area
but the room is pretty spacious.

There is no other activities in milford. yes you will have to go to and fro if ya taking the day cruise..so if ya feel tired. its better to take a coach.

hi eggie, no i didnt plan my accomodation ahead. I basically drive ard and stop by to inspect the rooms and get the best deal before i agree to stay over. they are a bunch of nice nice ppl.i went to NZ this yr during May. Dec is summer so its their peak season definitely. but it is a nice timing to visit although room rates will rise.

hi bluerose, my advise is if either of you can drive, rent a car and drive up yourself as my friend just came back from tour and she said wake and shine so early and very rush. no time to explore/shop a little longer. NZ basically is a safe place and has wide road. driving is super easy with their nice ppl. so try driving around. you can to see and enjoy more.

eggie

hi SSF,
no wonder i feel your price that you pay for the motel accommodation is very cheap...guess it's near winter season. yah, Dec is peak. I better book my accommodation at least few days ahead. I'm actually considering staying in YHA most of the days. Any comments?

kite~

now Qantas hving National Day promotion.
Enjoy two tickets for one great price!
Departing Singapore from 2 August to 15 November 2004.
Hurry, sale ends 5pm, 5 August 2004.

Fares
From Singapore to Fare for two people

"Auckland, Wellington or Christchurch S$1598"

* Valid on BA17, BA18, QF387, QF388 only.
^ Journey to be completed before 30 October 2004.
To make a booking contact Qantas Airways on +65 6589 7000, or the following Travel Agent listed below now!

Fares for two people cannot be booked online. Service fees apply.

Agent Number to call on weekend
Qantas Holidays (TA 754) 6834 9640
Chan Brothers Travel (TA 109) 6212 9684
Commonwealth Travel (TA 704) 6536 3345
Diners World Travel (TA 002) 6357 6799
Dynasty Travel (TA 371) 6356 4411
GBC Travel (TA 431) 6339 2233
Gasi Holidays (TA 1005) 6733 2228
New Shan Travel (TA 106) 6221 9333
UOB Travel Planners (TA 185) 6252 6822
Sino-America Tours Corp (TA 611) 6536 6633

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Terms and conditions:
Booking Period: 30 July to 5 August 2004.
Travel Period: Travel from Singapore must commence between 2 August 2004 and 15 November 2004 inclusive unless otherwise specified. Flights are return economy on selected Qantas, British Airways and Australian Airlines flights only.
Minimum Stay: 3 days
Maximum Stay: 60 days
Stopovers: Not permitted.
Payment: Within 48hrs of booking.
Reservations and Ticketing: Reservations for all sectors must be confirmed at time of reservation. Fares exclude airport taxes, service fees, insurance, fuel and other surcharges. E-Tickets are to be issued in conjunction with each other and passengers must travel together.
Changes: Each flight and date change is subject to an administrative charge of S$75.
Cancellations: Tickets are non refundable, non reroutable and non endorsable.

http://www.qantas.com.au/regions/dyn/sg/specials/nationalDayOffers

missy

hi eggie,

seriously speaking, there is no need to book in advance. it will be pretty stressful to get to that town on time if you feel like staying longer in any specific town.

rest assured there are many motels and i do not think it will all be taken up. for instance, christchurch has tonnes and tonnes of motels, B&B and hotels. so need not book in advance. you will be able to get hold of all the motels/hotels from a book at your car rental company. so you will get a better idea of the variety of accomodation available. the book is FOC and yellow in colour. it was pretty helpful when we travel along. the i-site helps too

zenn

Hi SSF,
Oh ok. So did you take the cruise when you are there? If so, day or overnite cruise?

The book which consists of all the accomodation is available in NZ only? Are all the accomodations nearby cos we worried we will end up wasting time looking for accomodation.

Also, if I am taking TranzAlpine to greymouth and rent a car from there on day 2, can I book when I reach or should I book in adv (both tranzalphine n car rental?

Hi kite,
Aiya too late for me

zenn

Kite,

I called up and check - on top of $1598 for 2pax, you ve to add another $60 each for service fee and est $182 each for airport tax. So total will be $2082 for 2 pax. If you book AirNZ 90days b4 departure, the promo is better than Qantas promo...

missy

Hi Zenn,

I took the day cruise. If you look above, i have mentioned earlier that i took up the day tour with atomic shuttles at NZ99 for a day trip to milford from te anau.

The book i will assume it be available only in NZ. I didnt find it in the lib nor anywhere else in singapore. And yes the accomodation are all nearby..it will mention activities around the vicinity. in fact as you get to any town, its easy to spot accomodation but of course not in those small and ulu towns lah

I think car rental is no prob at all. there are so many car companies...moreover greymouth isn;t really a tourist attraction like Queenstown. just my 2 cents worth of thoughts...

zenn

Hi SSF,

Oops guess I ve missed out your previous msg. Btw, they ve increased the price. Milford sound day cruise from Te Anua cost NZ122 each. Did you pre book from singapore or only when you were in NZ?

zenn

Any recommendation for accomodation in Christchurch n Greymouth?

SSF, you stayed in Christchurch motel rite? Gd? And convenient?

missy

hi zenn..

i booked it from te anau not from singapore.
i think it is unneccesary to book from SGP.

greymouth, please do not stay at revington hotel. i am not sure of other accomodation though. but you can try surfing the net. as for Christchurch, there are so many motels you can choose from

kula

I m new in this thread. Here to gather some info about honeymoon in NZ this Oct04.

Any advice about any upcoming travel packages to NZ? Is it better to go on F&E or following the gp tour thing?

Cheers..... =)

zenn

Hi SSF,
Oh I shortlisted Revington cos there is another gal who stayed there b4. Looks like I ve to re look into it...

Hi Jessie,
Hey I am travelling in Oct too! I booked my air ticket thro http://www.airnewzealand.com.sg/ Mine is F&E, now seeking help on accomodation too...

curio

Hi Zenn,

There're many motels at Bealey Ave. However, to get into Christchurch city centre, you'll have to drive there. Bealey Ave is several streets away.

stussy

Hi curio, so you mean can dun need to book in advance is it? In your opinion, what rate is reasonable.

Hi Zenn, think the abbey motor lodge sounds better and reasonable. Only thing is no map to show the distance.

curio

Hi Stussy,

depending on when you're going, there's little need to book in advance. You can just drive around. Outside each motel is a sign to inform guests whether they are full or vacant.

However, if you want to play safe, you can call them and book a day in advance.

As for rates, it depends on the season. I went in Nov last year and the average rate is $90 for two pax per night. Many come with ratings of 3/4/5 stars (motel standard). Once you arrive at the airport or I-sites, you can pick up a book on accommodation in NZ.

zenn

Hi curio,
I will not be driving in Christchurch. Issit convenient to take their public transport or tramway?

Any idea what's the street name of christchurch city centre? Also is places like Botanic garden, arts museum, cantebury museum, townhall, casino located at christchurch city cenre?

Hi stussy,
Ya the price is reasonable but hopefully not to ulu :p

curio

Hi Zenn,

I don't know about public transport coz I was driving all the while in NZ. If that's the case, I won't suggest that you stay at Bealey Ave.

Try to stay somewhere near Christchurch city. There're several motels near the Botanic Garden area, somewhere around Hagley Ave/Park Terrace region. You can take a walk to the city from there (about 20 min).

Yes, the places you mentioned are in the city, all within walking distance. In fact the city centre is pretty small, like our Orchard Rd so you can walk everywhere. clipart{wink} The tram is good for tourists but a bit pricey, about NZ$25 per pax if I remember correctly, ticket is valid for 2 consecutive days and you can visit the art museem, botanic garden by taking the tram.

zenn

Hi curio,

Thanks! I just check out tramway website - it cost NZ12.50 per pax for 2 days.

Btw, any idea do most motel provides pick up from airport?

curio

Hi Zenn

okay, I must have remembered the price for 2....I don't think motels provide pick up from airport, unless you book those near the airports, some of which provide transfer to and from the airport. However they are far away from the city.

Hi Stussy,
I booked with National Car Rental coz it came with my Air NZ package. Wouldn't say they are cheap and they don't park their cars at the airport. They'll pick you up from the airport and drive you to their office near the city to get your car. When returning, you either drive the car back to their office or leave it at your motel. If you want to leave it at the airport, you'll have to pay extra charge.

Think you'll need to do a bit of research to get a cheap rental co.

Anymore questions, ask me, I'll try to help. I really love NZ and can't wait to go back again!

zenn

Hi curio,

IC. I just went thro NZ Where to stay guide but I dont see motels in Park Terrace. Gothic Heights located at Hagley Ave but don't seem that near too. In the end I shortlisted Windsor which is located at Armagh Street (www.windsorhotel.co.nz). Fm the website, it seems convenient...

Now I ve to move on to motel in Greymouth. Any suggestions? Think just book the first 2 nites in NZ will do rite?

Hi Stussy,
Do share with me if you find any cheap car rental.

stussy

Hi Zenn, no problem. How many dates will you be going? Hertz is quoting me $740 before 10% discount for 12 days.

Are you planning to go Milford sound. Although seems like is a must go, but the journey there is very disruptive.

Curio, any suggestion on whether Milford is worth going? Also is the Hot spring nice? Any suggestion for Ski resort? In your opinion, what are the must do in New Zealand? I am only planning to go to the south island.

zenn

Hi stussy,

Errr how they calculate? Starting from the day we take the car? How abt the day we return?

Initially planned for overnite cruise but now considering whether just go for day cruise. But again, kinda wasted whole day for just 2hr cruise.

Wanted to go for hot spring but don't think my itinerary allows me to do so. How's ur itinerary like?

stussy

Not too sure how they calculate. But somehow different from the quote i get from the internet leh. Btw, how many days u planning?

My itinerary is from Christchurch to Mt Cook - queenstown - Te Anau/Milford - Ski resort - fox glacier - hot spring - kaikora - christchurch?

How abt yours?

Curio, any advice on the itinerary?

zenn

Stussy,

Where did you get the quote from? Can I ve the email or website?

Hey your itinerary looks like my inital plan. But we ve switched the other way round. Now is christchurch - greymouth - fox glacier - wanaka - queenstown - lumsden farm stay - te anau - milford sound - dunedin - christchurch Mine total 12 nites. How abt u?

Btw flox glacier to hot spring quite far. Almost 5 hours drive. You planning for day or overnite cruise?

zenn

Cos from what I gather, its worth taking Tranzalphine from christchurch to greymouth.

When are you going? You not going to wanaka and dunedin?

zenn

Stussy,
Do you ve the email for hertz? Could find it in the website.

Gals, what are the things to take note when renting a car in NZ? Necessary to purchase insurance?

iloveoreo

<font color="0000ff">zenn</font>
Are you taking the Tranzalphine train from Christchurch?
I stayed at Christchurch motel.. and the owner was kind enough to drive us to the train station for free early in the morning!

zenn

Hi oreo!

Yup taking tranzalphine train from christchurch. Oh so nice of the owner. Does he do that to all the customers?

Btw, where is christchurch motel and train statation located? Did you rent a car from greymouth?