New Zealand

kite~

hi tohdj,

wow lucky u! just wondering how much did u pay for ur trip? f&e or tour? self drive? any pics to share?

seems like i shall skip the North island, seems not worth to visit....

tohdj

my pics from NZ trip

http://f2.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/to...r=/ad4a&.src=ph

had fungus problem with lens, so the metering was inaccurate, and flash was spoilt, so these are the ones left from 324 shots i took. sigh.

S$6+k for 2 persons, inclusive of airfares and car rental. north island only got rotorua and lake taupo which are nice...the biggest disappointment was coromandel peninsula.

south island was very scenic...BTW, we saw a lot of singaporeans in the south....a coach-ful of singaporeans, a family in hanmer spring etc etc.wondering if any of them are in this forum?

zenn

Hi tohdj,

Did you book air ticket here and the rest when you reach or F&E self drive package? Can share wif us where did you stay?

Btw, I dun seem to be able to view ur photos...

kite~

hi tohdj,

i cant view your pictures, it's say got error/problem.

$6k for both person, does not includes other expenses?

zenn

I am surfing AirNZ website and realised they do ve Fly, Drive & Stay package. Is such package better or should we just book the air ticket and arrange the rest our own? Is there very much different in price?

tohdj

zenn,

we booked airfares + car rental (via internet) + the first 2 motel accomodation. the rest were booked along the way. i can't remember all the places i stayed in.

not worth taking the F,D & Stay package if you've more than 1 person travelling for more than 6 days.

kite,

S$6.5k inclusive of credit card bills + the S$2k cash we brought there.

zenn

Hi tohdj,

Very nice photos! You are making me excited abt the trip
Do you ve any idea btw YHA n Golden Chain which is better?

Btw, AirNZ having promo for $840 for airfare - think its very gd deal rite?

Lastly, I am considering farmstay, any recommendation where I should go?

kite~

hi zenn,

actually i saw classified newspaper that some travel agencies actually offer $690 to NZ.
check it out esp e saturday straits times classified.....

zenn

Hi oreo,
You referring to Coleraine Cottage? How many days you stayed there? You drove there and any activities?

Hi kite,
Any idea which airline offers $690? I called quite a few but non offer this price leh

iloveoreo

<font color="0000ff">zenn</font>
Yup. It's Coleraine Cottage.
I was there for only a day and a nite.
Wished i had stayed a little longer.
Since my stay there was pretty short, the guy brought us around his farm. We even managed to catch the shearing of the sheep's skin too!
Well, there's quite a couple of stuffs you can do there, like fishing, feeding the cattle, playing with the kids (they love it!!), walking around the premises and staying in the cottage. We also had dinner with the family.

There were only 3 of us when we drove there.. so each of us took 1 room each. The rooms are big and the place is neat and tidy. At nite, if the skies are clear, and the weather outside not too cold, you can actually bring a cup of coffee/tea to the outside of the house and "shang yue". You might even be able to see the stars too.

If you're planning on self-drive, farmstay is a must!!

zenn

Hi oreo,

Sound great and relaxing. Really cant wait to be there hehe How many days you were at NZ? So you book direct with the family? Btw, the price is per room or per person?

Btw, anyone know when is the travel fair?

bubble_low

Hi tohdj,

Very nice pix ? What camera did u use ?

Can u share more on ur detailed itinerary, car rental (cost and which car co) and accomodation? Thks.

rihini

Zenn,

Golden Chain, Best Western and Flag are motels. YHA are hostels. Motels are supposed to be better equipt and are more X and may come with ensuite baths. Hostels share common toilets, bath and other facilities.

Tohdj,
Those are very nice pictures indeed. Is it the time for sheep shearing now? Thought they do it after Winter? I'll be interested to know more about your itinery and activities you did for that $6.5K. Farmstay is interesting but quite X All those I searched on the web starts from NZ100/night(double). Did you get any off peak rates from your farm host?

Perhaps you can offer some advise on the following?

a) If you did any Glacier Walks or helihike - which is better, Franz Josef or Fox?
b) Is there any gold mines still in operation that we can visit ( i'm not referring to Shantytown and those replicas)
c) For all your activities and cruises, such as Milford Sound cruise, rafting and jet boating, etc...did you make any bookings before you left on your trip or need to book a few days in advance, etc?
d) Did you stay more at motels or hostels?

rihini

Pam,

Would apprecaite if you can share more infor on YHA.

For the YHA, does everyone who stay there need to be a member? I mean, if you travel in a group or as a couple, is it sufficient or one guy to be a member to book the accomodation? And are the discounts applicable to the member himself or transferrable?

Is the member card sent to you prior to your departure? Otherwise, how to enjoy those discount rates for the car rentals and TranzAlpine if we were to book the car and train ride before our departure? (Since the TranzAlpine is so popular, we can't get the tickets at the instant or say only 1 day in advance right?)

Also, from your experience, is it difficult to secure a double or twin room if booking is only 1 or 2 days ahead? Do you neeed to pay deposit when making a booking and is there any charges for no-show, cancellation of booking or change-of-date?

Perhaps you can offer your comments to my queries to Tohdj (see above posting)as well?

iloveoreo

<font color="0000ff">zenn</font>
I was in NZ for 10 days, should have stayed longer though. I covered 3/4 of the South island only.
Yah, i book directly with the family. You tell them which day and how long you'll be staying, they'll get back to you on the availability and the pricing.
Think for double is NZ$145, and if you have another person, it's NZ$30 extra.
There was nobody else sharing the same dates as us.. so each of us (there were 3) took 1 room each.

pamela

rihini

You do not need to be a member to stay there but it entitles you to cheaper rates. As we intended to stay YHA throughout our stay, we signed as member on the spot. Card is non transferable and each member of your group must be a member to enjoy the discount (since it goes by per pax). We did not book in advance.. no charges for change of date if it is done i think 24 hrs in advance.. we paid in full when making the booking.. but maybe you can find out more in www.stayyha.com? For popular places like Franz Josef/ Mt cook.. might have to book 2-3 days in advance. We had no problems in getting Quart and 2xTwin sharing (we had 4 of us)except for 1 night in Franz Josef.. which we had to stay in a dom (8 bedder)

as for the other questions.. I only did Franz Josef Glacier walk.. but I guess should be more or less the same.. 1 traveller told us do not need to visit all glaciers.. abt the same.. so really up to your route (i think?) did the heli ride at mt cook.. and all activities booking are only booked 1 day in advance for me..

cassie

hi tohdj,

how much should i budget for a car per day, including rental, access waiver and gas? for 6.5K, did you stay in hostels or motels? hmm, motel rates are usually $120-140? and yes, would be great if you could also let us know what activities were included in your budget. sorry, so many questions

i tried doing out a budget for 16 days - car rental, half-YHA half-motel, all sorts of activities... and came out to $10K! argh...

cassie

oh yes, sorry one more question - i've heard it's dangerous to drive in NZ, that's why a lot of ppl take the coaches. would you be able to offer any info / advice? any idea why ppl say it's dangerous - winding roads, crazy speeds, slippery roads...?

zenn

Hi Rihini,
Oh.. thanks for your explaination!

Hi Orea,
I am looking at around 10days too that's why trying to make full use of each day
Btw, NZ145 is per pax or per room?

tohdj

Zenn,

>Very nice photos!
Thanks for the compliments.

>Do you ve any idea btw YHA n Golden Chain which is better?

They've a lot of motel chains. Golden chain is expensive...YHA is backpacker. Budget is cheapest and the worst. Bella Vista is a very new chain...their motels are very good and new. Some of the Flag chains are VERY good. The Flag in Greymouth is the best that we stayed in. NZ$95....and comes with free laundry usage.

>Btw, AirNZ having promo for $840 for airfare - think its very gd deal rite?

We paid S$950 per pax for 1 month return airfair. S$840 is probably for 14 days.

>Lastly, I am considering farmstay, any recommendation where I should go?

south island has a lot of farmstay...get the guide book from NZ tourism.

tohdj

>Very nice pix ? What camera did u use ?

thanks for compliments. I used Canon EOS-50 film camera and a Minolta S304 3.2MP digital camera.

>Can u share more on ur detailed itinerary, car rental (cost and which car co) and accomodation?

I'll post it later. Car rental was NZ$38 per day with Hertz Car Rental. There are cheaper rental companies but they offer old cars...S$25 per day...so they may break down along the way.

Accomodation was motor lodge or motels. We either book one day ahead or walk-in when we reach the town. Price range from NZ$75 to NZ$95. Ask for winter rates....its cheaper. Spring rates can be double of these prices.

tohdj

>Is it the time for sheep shearing now? Thought they do it after Winter?
We saw a lot of botak sheeps....so i guess it is. We didn't see any shearing stuff (saw it in Oz before).

>I'll be interested to know more about your itinery and activities you did for that $6.5K.
Will post it later.

>Farmstay is interesting but quite X All those I searched on the web starts from NZ100/night(double).
Check out the tourism guide from NZ tourism (AA travels). We paid NZ$75 to NZ$95 per motel. The i-Site at each town can help to get you better prices.

>Did you get any off peak rates from your farm host?

didn't stay in farm.

>Perhaps you can offer some advise on the following?
>a) If you did any Glacier Walks or helihike - which is better, Franz Josef or Fox?

We did Franz Josef. But didn't go all the way. They are almost the same...a big piece of ice kachang.

>b) Is there any gold mines still in operation that we can visit ( i'm not referring to Shantytown and those replicas)

There was a few towns which used to be gold mining town....there was a little town which still have some mining operations....I can't remember which one at the moment. if you see my photos, there's one photo with a western style building....that's the town.

>c) For all your activities and cruises, such as Milford Sound cruise, rafting and jet boating, etc...did you make any bookings before you left on your trip or need to book a few days in advance, etc?
Ask the motel operators to book for you...you may get discount or other stuffs.

>d) Did you stay more at motels or hostels?

motels

tohdj

>oh yes, sorry one more question - i've heard it's dangerous to drive in NZ, that's why a lot of ppl take the coaches. would you be able to offer any info / advice? any idea why ppl say it's dangerous - winding roads, crazy speeds, slippery roads...?

Good driving skills needed. Otherwise, drive slowly. Try to give way for other motorists if possible. Some parts are very winding with ice and grit. We skidded once from Milford towards Te Anau.the ABS didn't work...and I pumped the brake pedals. hehehe...we could've crashed into the mountain then....good thing i braked early...and got about 40 meters before reaching the bend.

cassie

thanks for the advice! driving sounds scarey, but i guess we'd do it as we'd have more flexibility with the itinerary. will definitely be careful!

fuji_apple

Agree that the Fly,Drive Package not worth it after some calculation.

Air tickets to Christchurch only $840.00

Stay and car rental divide by 2 (assuming 2 persons travelling) because they charge per room and per car.

Add up should cost less than the "promotion" amount.

zenn

Thanks tohji and fuji apple for your advise. Guess really must do some homework b4 travel...

Looks like $840 is the best price for now. Anyone managed to get better deal? Btw, anyone tried priceline?

fuji_apple

I am planning my second trip to New Zealand.I really LOVE New Zealand.It's a wonderful place!Looks like $840.00 is the best price for now.

Royal Brunei is having a promotion.Air tix to Auckland only $590.00 (travel after 30 October) but not to Christchurch.Great if you want to drive from North to South.

fuji_apple

Hi Kite,

Thanks for the information.

I am more interested to travel in the South.

I really really miss Queenstown!!

I would really love to go there again.

You been there before?

kite~

Hi fuji apple,

welcome

no i hv never been there b4 but planning to go for my HM in Jan.

anyone went to Nz in Jan? off peak period rite? weather? thx

sincere

Hi kite~,

We are planning to for our HM probably in Jan too. But have done any research yet. Would like to cover both North &amp; South Island if possible. Do you know how many days minimum is sufficient?

Care to share on your research?

zenn

Hi fuji &amp; kite,

Guess the offer is gd for those travelling to north n south NZ. I am more interested in the south too.

Fuji, when you planning to go again? Is Oct off perk?

zenn

Btw, can anyone share issit better to go in end sept or end oct? I am looking at 20th of the mth.

fuji_apple

Hi Zenn,

I think it's better to go in end sept cos the weather will be cooler and you'll get to see more snow.

Nice weather for cuddling with your hubby too.

I went to the South Island in early October last year and it's early Spring.The scenery was very very beautiful.

Personally like Queenstown a lot.It's a paradise!

Self driving was a great experience.

The ppl there there are very warm and friendly.

Hi Kite,

New Zealand is indeed a great place for honeymoon.You'll definitely enjoy the experience if you are self driving in the South Island.

You'll fall in love with the place if you are a nature lover.It's wonderful!!!

So how's your wedding preps?You confirm Monica as your AD photgrapher?She's Great!

zenn

HELP! Went to NZ tourist board today n collected alot of brochures - but see until v blur now. As you guys know I am planning for 10 nites stay in south NZ. From what I gather, following are some of the places must visit :

- Christchurch
- Dunedin
- Farm stay
- Te Anau
- Milford Sound : cruise?
- Queenstown
- Wanaka
- Franz Josef Glacier
- Mt Cook
- Kaikoura : see whales

Some not so common are Ashburton, Oamaru, Greymouth, Nelson n Hammer Springs.

Can someone advise me what are the activities for each of the above place? I am interested in hot air ballon, where should I be taking it?

Many thanks!

fuji_apple

Hi Zenn,

For Christchurch it's mainly shopping lor.must visit the Botanic gardens if you like flowers.

Wanaka is a very small town 2 hrs drive from Queenstown.Lake Wanaka is good for phototaking.

Queenstown is very very beautiful.You can do your hot air ballooning there.must visit in queenstown-lake waikaitipu,dining by the wharves,Deer Park Heights,The Remarkables for mangnificient views,coronet Peak,Arrowtown etc.personally love queenstown a lot...

Franz Joser Glacier-do a lot of walking,can take helicoptor for better view of the glacier.(quite ex)

Mount Cook-just mountains with plenty of snow but the drive along the way to it is very scenic.

Oamaru,Greymouth,Nelson are very ulu towns not worth visiting.

The rest not too sure :p

askabride

Any1 knows if any local agency offers good pkgs to NZ and includes hot air balloon, helicopter ride etc?
BTW, how much does hot air balloon, heli ride costs respectively?

zenn

Hi fuji,

Thanks!! Indeed great help! So how should I plan the route and how many days each place? Did I miss out any impt area in the south?

How much is the hot air balloon, helicopter ride and cruise?

Think the 2 main cruise are Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound? Which is better and woth staying overnite?

Sorry for so many questions ya.

cassie

hi fuji apple,

i'm going early oct too! was it rainy when you went and what time was sunrise and sunset? i tried calling the nz tourist commission but the lady wasn't very friendly with answers :-( we're only planning to drive when there's daylight and would be helpful in our planning. thanks!

oh, didn't know we could do hot-air ballooning at queenstown! yes yes, pls advise the cost

zenn: for the cruise to milford or doubtful, you could check out http://www.realjourneys.co.nz/

fuji_apple

Hi Zenn,

You should plan your own iternary and I think this is up to individual preference lor.

We arrived in Christchurch and spend our first 2 days there doing purely eating and shopping.

After that we began our journey to the South.Along the journey we stopped at Lake Tekapo where the Church of the good Shepherd is.(about 3 hrs drive)

The entire journey from Christchurch to Queenstown is about 8-10 hours depending on how fast you drive and how many stopovers you have.

After that proceed to Mount Cook and spent a nite at a nearby motel.It was drizzling when we were at Mount Cook so didnt manage to take any pictures.

Proceed our journey to Queenstown on the next day and spend most of our time there about 3-4 days.

Drove to Lake Wanaka on our first day in Queenstown.

Helicoptor ride at the glacier cost about NZ 250 per person for 20 mins.I think the view must be fantastic.But we didnt take the ride due to budget constraint.(2 persons=NZD 500+++,you think for 20 mins worth it???)

Hot Air Balloon cost about NZD 180 per person for 20 mins if I am not wrong.Didnt take also due to the same reason.

Drove back to Christchurch along the West Coast after our stay in Queenstown.The drive was very scenic.My hubby do all the driving and I only concentate on enjoying the views ha ha ha... :p

Basically, the entire journey was very fun and relaxing.Perfect for "honeymooning".

Hi Cassie,

Queenstown is generally colder than Christchurch.

It's very cold in the morning in Queenstown about 5 degrees.Christchurch about 10-12 degrees when we were there last October.Try to bring more warm clothing to keep warm.

Rain can be quite unpredictable.

missy

hi Zenn,
when u get to christchurch, you MUST go to dress smart factory outlet. nice clothes at real good prices..Shanton, Levis, surfers brands like billabong, mambo, jean west, etc. dirt cheap as compared to other areas in NZ.

I personally spend 3 days at Chirstchurch. i spend most of my shopping there. I covered north and south for 15 days.

missy

hi Zenn,

such a short days in NZ, i would suggest u just concentrate on the south. Wanaka is cool. I find the lake there very nice with the mt aspiring at the backdrop. I had a great time at wanaka. There is also a puzzling world which is very fun. admission is not too ex. an interesting place to visit.

i also went for the glacier climb in fox glacier, it was the best time of my trip. although it was not easy and strenous, it was a great experience to be standing on the glacier. the walk is 4 hrs at NZ49. Tip: remember to eat a little and bring water when you start the climb. then after fox glacier is the lake matheson, an hr walk ard to get the magnificent "most frequent pic taken by photographers"..a lake with the mt cook at the backdrop.

then of coz queenstown for the adventures..luge ride, cable ride to get the entire view of queenstown.

missy

SOrry for adding so much,. keep forgetting what to write. do give the te anau glow worm caves a miss. i personally went at night as the noon tour was fully packed. at night, i could not see anythg when the boat travelled to teh cave. it took abt 45 mins to get there
and also you all you can see are those glowing worm on top of the caves...nothing special. and its not cheap.

so forget abt that. also milford sound is a huge letdown. when i went there it was raining and there is nothing much to see except for the waterfall. too expensive and too long a journey to be.

zenn

Hi Fuji, cassie &amp; SSF,
Thanks for all the contributions!

Fuji, ya I know ve to plan my own itinerary but first time my bf n I going for F&amp;E so kinda lost. Hope to gather as much info as possible. Pandan me for so many questions ya

Btw, so its not necessary to stay one nite in Wanaka? N you nv visit Dunedin, Milford sound, Te Anau, Franz Josef Glacier n Kaikoura?

SSF, ya think I only ve enough time for the south. Did you stay over nite at Wanaka, Flox Glacier and Milford Sound?

Cassie, agreed with you that the lady fm NZ tourist board issit very friendly and helpful. I tried to enquire but she told me to do my own reading
You going this coming Oct? Ve you book ur air tix n plan ur itinerary? If so can share?

Anyone been to Dunedin? Worth going? Also, wats the activities in Mt Cook?

zenn

Cassie, i ve visited the website but both doubtful n milford seems the same to me hehe Anyone comments fm those who been b4?

zenn

OREO, do you ve the contact/email for Coleraine Cottage? Cannot find fm the website you given me.

tohdj

My itinerary...

christchurch
lake tekapo + twizel
mt cook
queenstown
te anau
milford sound
te anau
queenstown
franz josef
arthur's pass
greymouth
hanmer springs
kaikoura
blenheim
picton

wellington
palmerston north
lake taupo
hamilton
rotorua
bay of plenty
coromandel peninsula
auckland

zenn

Hi tohdj,
Wow you managed to cover so many places! How many were u there again huh? And what are the place you stayed overnite?

My plan is :

D1 : Christchurch
D2 : Mt Cook
D3 : Dunedin
D4 : Te Anau
D5 : Milford Sound (cruise overnite)
D6 : Queenstown
D7 : Lumsden Farm Stay
D8 : Wanaka
D8 : Franz Josef Glacier
D9 : Hammer Spring
D10 : Kaikoura
D11 : Christchurch

Pls comment!

Any idea the travelling time for each place? And issit necessary to stay overnite at all the aboved places which I mentioned?

Also, I thought of dropping by Greymouth on the way to Hammer Spring. Do you think I will ve enough time and issit worth going??