My Dream Wedding

applied for BTO at marsiling (woodlands) area but got a v behind Q. think I fall in the 2nd batch of selection, cos remains all those L10 & below levels unit to select.
today even "heart attack", another 11 units gone... mean L5 & below le... aiyo still a wk... really really pray still have the unit i want...

Audrey: Congrats!! Big day almost here! Wish you all the very best. Enjoy your day ya? Don't worry things will fall into place. M Hotel was one of my considerations too. Very nice hotel!

Oh they have a hard copy sample book for you to choose from? I thought it'd just be from the computer. If I am not mistaken I think they said that every single photo taken would be touched up before selection... in that case won't all the pics in the sample book be touched up?

Pearl: Tx for the rec!! I'll check out Vocare. Haven't seen their works. I agree that Substance Films is very good but their style is more short film right? Must come up with storyline and have acting skills. Not cheap also. About $3k I think. Cheaper to fly in one VG fm HK! haha...

I like the works of 36F too. But I had a not-so-good experience trying to get their rates and an appt with them. Had to keep emailing many times before got a response. Like they not v interested. So I gave up on them!

Kodomo Concert: Yes I got Miror C for my AD VG. But now I am looking for a pre-wedding VG to do something I can screen at the din. My AD activities start only in the afternoon so I can't do express highlights.

Thanks for your warm wishes! =D

Well,i had encountered where the MDW staff will call out that the auntie is coming..but i guess there are times that the staff are all busie and no1's looking out at the front door. All i can say is the parking aunties there are super duper efficient. They seem to be all the time irregardless of what time i dropped by MDW.Haha!

2009bride: Yup, though the facade of M hotel looks a bit old, heng the interior is pretty new, and lobby is neat and smells great. hehe. My coordinator is responsive and package offered there is very comprehensive at reasonable rates. That's why we chose them. =)

Hmm, maybe selective photos are touched up a bit bah..it shouldn't be the complete set..cos i find the photo colours in my album is more vivid and nicer than the sample book.

Josky : sorry ah, a bit suaku.. how do you know how many units are left and at which floor? Does HDB updates you daily?

i've been to M hotel couple of times for company seminars and buffet and i think its great! =) love the smells dere.. hehe.

as for me, my HTB proposed on 10th oct 08 and we started looking out for wedding venue in nov and almost all hotels were taken up for 26th sept 09 (maybe cos its ba yue chu ba). needless to say i was quite upset dat i din get any of my choices. :s we got quite desperate.. our problem was dat we went to pick a wedding date and that was the only avaliable date for us in 2009 so.. by hook or crook. haha!

in the end, we found Pines club along stevens road. i dun really love it but it seemed quite alright and bit exclusive so we took it up with them. but they are as pricey as some hotels. -_- oh well! guess sometimes things will not go the way you imagined. =p

Trina: haha! so qiao! but then how come you changed it to nov? we did think abt other dates like 7 nov, 12 dec but the "master" said best date still 26th sept so we stuck to dat. was bit angry with HTB cos i felt he was supersitious. but then he said since we oredi know its best date, its better dat we stick to it for our best benefits. =)

But means u haf to forgo the deposit for the hotel on the 26/09? wow..

Haha my bf got fined as well. However, the 2nd time we were there, we took turns going outside and check. Thought i was the only one who got fined.

Silin: i've pm you.

Audrey: r u in accounts line? So busy with the auditors? I'm so busy as well as auditors and monthly closing. I hope i can get some rest before the photoshoot to look better. So u'll be having morning express highlights & photo montage during the 2nd March In?

haha.. pinkpt.. tat's y i chose a monday for the photoshoot.. we slept as much as we can during the sat & sun prior to that.. haha..

Pearlyn: I changed it cos Nov 21 is a better date for us based on our DOB etc. 26 sept is overall a good day but cos what we want is good for both of us and our parents so end up nov 21 is better. I nvr forgo just changed the date.

Hi Jo & Silin: Thanks!. I really mountain tortise, didn't know HDB updates it on their website. Hehe. My house is 2nd hand one.

Pinkpt: Yup, in accounts line. R u too? Extremely busy. Have to entertain auditors, do Jan closing as well as multi task with wedding arrangement.Past 2 weeks very xiong and had been working till late and even back on weekends as need to rush for my Jan closing b4 i go for my leave (which is actually only 5 days, but so heng the dateline is within these 5 days. Urgh!).It's also a headache coordinating between both sides. Both sides have their own mentality, wanted that seat position, even the procedures for that day can hv different ways of doing cos he's hokkien and i'm canto. Find the stress is affecting the relationship between my HTB and myself. Headache man! I can't wait for my wedding day to be over. +_+.

To look better, try taking Fancl tenseup or the Japan super collagen drink which is sold in Takashimaya pharmacy. It really helps to lighten skin, tighten pores, lift skin and creates a more radiant complexion. =)

I'll not be doing any morning express highlights. Instead we will be rerunning the photo montage during the pre-dinner, and for our 1st march-in, we will show our MV. We'll just be having a speech for the 2nd march in as i foresee time will be tight, esp since ours on a weekday.

Btw, i'm thinking of giving a bouquet of flowers to his and my mother as a form of appreciation for all they have contributed to their family. Do you all think it's better to ask the banquet coordinator to present on behalf while i'm still on the stage, or to go down the stage and give personally?

Audrey:
how abt have MC announce on stage tat there's "special event" den get u & hubby on stage to give speech.
then have coordinator get ready the flower & both u & hubby go dwn to give each mum the flowers?

but usually is during the thank you speech from the bride and groom then they will present the flower? the coordinator will be off stage having the flowers ready for the bride n groom to give to each mum...

one of my friend gave during e thanks oyu speech. yup the coordinator is off stage & even "hiding" so the mum duno what's going on till the couple go downs & present e flower to them.
so surprise & sweet to the mums!

I am interested in My dream Wedding HK photograph package. I went down to the bridal fair at suntec and the package consist of only 20 poses. I dun think that is enough considering they are taking about 130 pics.They dun allow us to buy back all the soft copies too. Wonder if anyone can share on average how many pics did you choose.

forever81: what does the promo pkg comes with? & how's e price? the promo is 20shots for 2-3 k ar???
btw, MDW explains tat the 130 / 150 shots is the min they take. means they will be taking more than that amt of no for you to select.
you can always nego & bargain for better deals with them. most of us is taking the 5k pkg with 30 shots.

Hi Josky
the package is $2888 plus $400 travel voucher. The 5K package does it include AD?I am only interested in their HK photo taking.I was reading the forum and gather that they are rather inflexible.Not like other BS that will throw in freebies.

Can anyone share how much did they top up since 20 or 30 pics are still very little considering their photos are so nice

oh... lidat 5k is with AD de... in a way ya la they inflexible but have to see ur bargain skills lo.

if not wrong, hear those who selected photos say 1 pic top up = $80?? top up more den discount bah...

ya the AD just like what JoSky mentioned is depends on how gd is your bargain skills..... but the package includes the minimun that AD needs so is depends also on what you want...

Hi! i took up the HK package at $5688 with ($800 travel voucher) this is inclusive of 35 poses (30 + 5 free). The package doesn't include AD PS. MDW will charge $80 per pose unless you take 20 or more poses, it'll be 20% off = $64 per pose (what i negotiated)

Like what Trina said, it depends on what you want and your bargaining skills. unfortunately mine isn't dat good. haha! i negotiated for car ribbons for quite a number of cars, lower rental for suit for dad, discounted price of location shoot in HK. cos i'm taking the La Mer package and my HTB is considering taking a night location shoot in HK.

i intend to stick to 40 poses which means i haf to top up another $400 (5 poses). it should be quite sufficient as i saw the sample album with 35 poses.

so using 35 poses as a gauge, you can add another 20 poses to your package since got discount! its another $1280. (15 poses is $1200) which wld bring your package cost to $4168.

Pearlyn: usually for bridal package even at other bridal shop they dont include AD photoshoot.

How many car ribbons u bargained for? and the discounted price for another location for night shoot? I tried to bargain for the night shoot but still another $500. For the father n father-in-law suits I got it added to my package.

Hi Josky,Trina and Perlyn

Thanks for sharing.

Perlyn :your explaination is very clear. Thanks for sharing, but the wedding fair is already over and i din sign up.Your $5688 HK package is just for HK phototaking with 35 poses?or does it also include AD package? I dun intend to sign up AD package with them as i have already signed up with another BS.I'm only keen for the HK phototaking.BTW when is your AD?

I have actually gone for phototaking in Perth and my photos turn out to be ard 300 pics.But we manage to get back all the soft copies. Thats why i am concern if MDW will return all soft copies or not.

Anymore advice from other brides?

Another qns to ask, i notice that the pics are mostly similiar just that the person are different.anyone has this concern that your photos will not be unique?

Trina: oh u got the fathers suits added in? how much extra was that or bargained foc de?
btw another nite shoot location also = another day of PS right?

Trina: i negotiated for abt 8 additional car ribbons. =p but i forgot to neogtiate wrist ribbons for my bridesmaids. "-_- and when i called them back,they quoted me abt $15 for one (too bad cos i oredi signed up). but nvm! i intend to do the wrist ribbons for my bridesmaids instead. lower cost and more meaningful. =)

As for the night PS, i got it at $380 per location. but then i did not manage to get the father and father-in-law suits included..i only got a special deal to rent at $100. so actually our costs are still abt the same.

Hi forever81 : my package is just for the PS. Like what Trina said, most of these packages do not include AD. My AD is 26th Sept 09. i'll be going for my PS last week of May. As for return of soft copies..i wld think they wld not return. most BS will not return them unless you top up. i vaguely remember asking MDW the cost of gettin back all the copies, it was somewhere near $9K or $10K. which i feel is quite extravagant..

MDW's poses might seem similar but then if you look at the rest of the BS's work in s'pore, it is also abt the same. to a certain extent i dun think can be helped.. but different people in the same pose can bring about different feelings. plus the selection of poses cld be different as well! but honestly, i still feel MDW's poses and album designs are nicer than other BS.

JoSky: If we are doing the additional night shoot, it'll be on same day..so the whole crew has to do OT. hehe.. unless you want two night locations then i dunno how they will calculate.

Pearlyn: 380 for the night shoot include another set of gown? I did not ask for 500 how many location is included. I neg for 4 additional cars. For the wrist ribbons, I neg but they dont want to add in.

Jo: For fathers' suits I bargained FOC.

Pearlyn: cost of getting back all the copies mean just the softcopy itself? or if your package went over 9-10k then they return all soft copies?

Hi Pearlyn

What i meant by AD means on AD the gowns etc not AD PG. Cos it seems like your package include AD gowns etc rite?

$9K to $10k to get bk all soft copies is really alot.Hopfully with ard 40 pose you can get all the nice ones back.Thanks for sharing i will consider again

Hi Jo & Trina: Yeah..i think it's a sweet gesture to our mom's, but my HTB die die also don't want to make speech. It will be funny if i only make speech on my side, so i guess I'll have to compromise by giving the flowers directly to our mom's privately. *sighz*

Hi forever81: My total photos came up to 40, but it's quite painful to part with the rest during the selection. :P

I presume yr PS in perth is done with a independent photographer sourced over there? It'll be different cos their main source of income is to be just a photographer. BS's main supplementary sources of income is getting you to top up more photos. hehe! But it's highly unlikely MDW will return the soft copies to you. They are pretty stringent.

Hmm, agree that the poses and locations are more of less the same, but it's the quality of the album, colour and photography skills which impresses me..To me, the rest of the Spore BS also takes the same pics and at same locations, but quality is not as good. Treat the HK PS as a holiday at the same time bah.
If you like something more unique, you can try MDW's HK evening skyline pics. Those are really unusual and very pretty too. =D

Pearlyn: You had asked about the night shots? Wah, for all to be taken on the same day will be pretty xiong and tiring for both of you leh. For us, by the time we took the indoor shots, we hardly have the energy to smile anymore.

Forever 81,

I've topped up 45 more pics to 80 pics. Did not get all the softcopies back. It's their policy no matter how many pics you've topped up. Has asked and smacked my own lips.

Hi Audrey,

Thx for the advises. Wat is the brand of the super collagen drink that is found in pharmacy? Is it Meiji? Yep in accounts line as well and have been Ot for the past 2 mths. Thx goodness, its Yuan Xiao todae. Having a slight break. So the photo montage that u r playing is mainly on the PS or does it also consist of the young to old photos? Was thinking of whether it is too much to have photo montage + express + MV. andAnyway, all the best for the Big Day. Just relax, i think just stay a happy bride and everything will fall to place.

Pearlyn,

So is the travel voucher only on accomodation as u mentioned that have to fork out another 1k on airfare & food? R u getting the night MV as well?

Hi Trina,

My photoshoot is on the 25th March. But I will be going to Macau on the 22nd and then to HK on the 23rd. Will stay til 28th. How about you?

Trina: actually i cannot remember their exact offer. i think they recommend that you take the VIP package at $8888 and add on a charge (maybe few hundred). or she offered the sample book. =)

Hi forever81: ya.. my package includes AD gown as well.

Hi Audrey: we are still considering the night shoot. ya.. i expect dat we wld be pretty tired.. but HTB feels dat since we're oredi dere, just go for it. =p i'm just thinking if this cost is worth it. i do not really like their night shoots except those against the skyline.. those dat were taken infront of LV, chanel etc seems bit pointless. haha! i wld only do dat if they sponsor me a bag. =p

Hi pinkpt: The $800 travel voucher is only just abt enough for 5 nights stay at a 3-star hotel. I intend to spend abt another $1K on air fare and food. not much sightseeing to do as i've been dere few times. i'm probably not gonna do any MV cos its $540 if i remember correctly.

i'm going to do what Audrey did.. a photo montage with the wedding pics to be played at the beginning of dinner. and the highlight wld be the morning event. or perhaps something else which i've not thot of!

Hi Audrey

I went with a BS,i do understand thatBS's main supplementary sources of income is getting us to top up more photos. Thats what my BS told us too.But i do agree that their photos are really nice with the "wow" effect.

Hi Silin - So how much did u pay altogther to have 80 pics?I wanna have an estitmate to set aside some $$$.Thanks to advise

What is this nite shoot thingy that you all are talking abt?How much do we have to top up for?MDW din mention this to me the last time i enquire. I also read something like a sample book. Can anyone pls enlighten me on that too. Thanks

Hi forever81: Cos for the HK package, they split into 2 types : namely La mer + studio and outdoor + indoor. so the night shoot refers to the outdoor location shoot.

like me i'll be taking the La met package and if i want to add a city shoot (which shld be done at night usually) they charge $500.

sample book consists of all or part of the poses you took (but i forgot if touched up or not) but it comes in something like a scrapbook.. not those album type.. more raw.

I had just sign up a $5688 package with them too. I am going to Taiwan! Something new right?

May i know how is their payment mode? I forget to ask them the most important qns....

Did you guys read the T&C ? Do they bend the T&C? I am worry about that part.....

Pls do advice.

they haf taiwan??! ahhhh... wld haf preferred taiwan. haha! hmmm.. but in HK, they haf the La mer boat which i love. =)

i oso forgot to ask abt the payment mode too. =.=

Pearlyn: i tot they offer u the nite for 380? now 500?

They didnt show my the 8888 package until i saw in forum then knew there is this package. But the 5288 i quite ok with it since I got the MTM gown.

Trina: yup.. but was telling forever81 std price is $500. my negotiated deal was $380.

payment in full? hmmm.. i was thinkin of holding back full payment till i'm satisfied with my photos. like leave abt 10% unpaid.

did they offer you 0% credit card installment plan?

I managed to talk to them about the payment thingy.... They only offer the 0% credit card plan after some long talk....

>Pearlyn Wee

They actucal don't have Taiwan package yet but we ask for it as they are planning...