My Dream Wedding

i keen on MDW package.. but wonder if the $5688 pkg, any hidden costs? ie when we go hk to take PS, do we need to pay for the transport of the crew? shipping costs for the album to ship back to sg? etcs

appreciate if you of u could share with me

wow 5688! there's expensive.. does this include your flight and accommodation? they offered 4288 at the suntec fair but that excludes airfare and accommodation.

5688 does not include flight and accommodation. U do not need to pay for the transport of the crew in HK for PS. There is no shipping cost for the album. U can go bk and see the package again den ask all the questions.
For suntec fair, 4288 HK PS Package might be certain things not included as compared to 5688 HK Package. I m not sure. So u will have to compare the diff prices packages details.
Mine is 5688 package.

HX: from wat i noe normally its the pics that they will give u. i.e: $4288 for 25 pics and $5688 for 30 pics kind of things.

noir: is ur mua from china, short hair?

hi people

it's my first time in this forum.
i've been reading n looking around for a bridal package, and yesterday, after a long chat with MDW, I signed up with them (my bf liked it very much).

I'm happy in a way cos it's one decision made, but I can't help but feel worried/paranoid. Keep wondering if I'm just waiting to be "conned", whether things will go wrong, have I secured the best deal, whether Ive made too rash a decision. Some of the posts in this forum is worrying me even more, and making me doubt my decision.

anyone kind enough to give me some advice, or to help calm my nerves? :X

hi michelle, did you sign up at the suntec fair? HK or Local PS? I was quite tempted to sign up with them at the fair too but didn't.

Hi Min, do you mind emailing me ([email protected]) your $5688 package details for reference? Thanks in advance! =)

My package is just the normal standard package. same as wat u will get if u were to go down to the studio and ask. =)

HX it oso depends on wat u need and wan every package is diff, some of us will have the same pricing but diff number of pics or gowns. Its up to ur own to neg, be sure of wat u need, the things that u dun wan change to other things u wan.

i think the packages price should be about the same, just the items might be a little different according to your needs. just like what btb mentioned.

but i feel that the top up of photos price is abit high. and MDW is rather strict on the control of the photos, e.g. i wanted to get all images return to me (i dont mind raw), but it was rejected by them. not sure if u girls feel the same as me too?

They not only package expensive, photos also....but i guess people sign up with them cause they are attracted to the photos.....

Hx: yes I did. My bf n I have been seeing quite a number of studios n none of the pics have impressed us, except for
Mdw's. I didn't intend to sign up when I went to suntec, only intended to look around, but he loved it a lot so we signed up for it. I guess it's too late for regrets (if any), so I'm just hoping that things will end up well for us....at least let things go smooth la.. And I do agree that the top up is ex, perhaps try to bargain if I'm intending to top up quite a number. Marriage is once in a lifetime n I don't really want to stinge to the max n go for something I'm not satisfied with and make myself unhappy over the money all the time.

yes, agreed that their PG and service is top notch. so we still feel comfortable even though the price is rather high end.

i'm going to choose my AD gown this afternoon, my second time. hopefully the new arrivals suits me. hehe.

Chloe, let me know how it goes? I haven't been to the sg shop to see the gowns. How is it? I heard that for some studios, package price is for the normal range then VIP range need to top up. Does this apply for Mdw? The lady frm hk keep telling me to choose gowns when I get to hk cos the range is much bigger than that in sg, n the gowns in sg can also be found there.

was asking my coordinator after choosing the photos when can i see the layout...was told that normally customers dun get to see the layout cause after seeing the layout they will keep changing and the album will be delayed.... Is that true? Means after choose photo we wouldn't know how the layout will be like until we see the album which is four months later???????

Huh? Don't make sense leh...u paid money for it and it's only right that the layout is picked n agreed by yourself ma. Then what happens if u see the album and don't like the layout? Sounds rubbish..

Hi hi. I'm new to this forum. just signed up with MDW one month ago. Is mimi still with them? Cos I signed up partly because I'm comfortable with her. Going to be a problem to work with someone I haven't met before.... help....

Ee, that is complete and utter rubbish. You are entitled to see the layout as a customer. Like Michelle says, what if after they print u see already dun like? Reprint? Dun let them bully you! We paid good money for our albums!

My patience with them is really teetering on the edge. Right now, I am editing my own photos taken with them and taking a short break to post here. Their post production team is really inconsistent. Alot of the photos look much worse after they edited. They should partial refund me for having to do my own photo editing.

Magpie, saw alot of comments that Mimi has left. If you're looking for recommendations for coor replacement, I recommend Yun. Although the company keep asking her to give us stupid excuses for things they don't want to do, it's not really her fault, it's the company's fault. And she is patient beyond words and pleasant to talk to.

Noir Yes i gave her the puzzled look cause i remember reading from the forum that the rest gets to see the layout. I told my coordinator that i wan to see the layout in case it turn out not what i like.... She mention that after choosing the photos the layout will be ready in one or two months time, and that i get only change the layout once...
Change layout once...hmmm is this true again?
I rather piss off for the dishonesty, like they trying to get things done the easy way out....

I also ask my coordinator about the VIP gown, was told is $600...i remember reading from the forum there are two range $400 and $600.... is it correct?

Noir: how come u r editing ur own photos? Datz ridiculous! It should be part of their job n wad we paid for. Do they even feel ashamed dat the customers have to do d editing personally?

Ee: heard dat there is a range from 300 to 600 but it depends on d individual piece dat u choose.. Eg how many times have it been worn n wad is d quality.. So dere is no way to know exactly how much is d gown u choose cos it's up to ur coordinator to quote..

wintumnsky... so it seem the VIP pricing is veri subjective, they can just anyhow code.

Met up with photographer, dicuss with him about the phototaking. Told him we would like to include photos of what me and my bf likes to do in our daily lives as we told him and he also agree the photos/album will be similar for couples who choose the same place for phototaking.
As me and my bf likes running, we told him that we would like to take photos in running attire, and we can do it at the bontonic garden which is one of the location we choose, as long as the background there is greenary and there is a path available.
To the photographer is seems like not easy task. I wonder is it because they are so used to taking those usual pose/style/location and now giving them a different request they are lost or dun wan to try?

Ee, I believe you are entitled to change to your satisfaction. Who is your coor again? Damn sneaky and lazy.

Wintumnsky, tell me about it! So far it seems like every step of the way, we have to fight very hard to get what we want. Very simple things like remove a small human being at the back of some photos, they say cannot. After spending half an hour insisting that it's a piece of cake, I gave up, took the photos back and did it myself in 3 minutes. And because during the ps the gown was abit loose (yes even after altering) the bustier of one gown looked quite unnatural. They said they edited to make it better already, but it still looked like crap. I had to do this myself too. And one of the photos, they over edited till my arm looks totally deformed. I don't even know how to fix it unless it's done from scratch, and I have no idea why they needed to edit the arm. And the colour of some of the photos are simply awful... ARGH I can die!

Ee: it's obvious that they r lazy to make changes. First they told u cannot view layout cos cannot change n now they r saying can only change once? I don't think it makes any sense.

Seems like a lot depends on the coordinator one gets. Anyone has feedback about yu ling? I assume she is gonna b my coordinator since she clinched the deal with another
Middle aged lady who is from the hk office.

Michelle, i heard dat yu ling is good too..

Noir, i am not sure is it they are expanding succesfully due to their aggressive invovlment in roadshows, but seems like they have more customers now and they may not be coping well..

my AD is in year end so i have not reached the stage u r going through now, but i always hear from MDW that all editing of pics r done by HK who is v good in their job.. so it seems lik they may not be able to deliver wad they promise..

so can i confirm with u all whether we have any say in the layout? my coordinator also say dat normally d HK side will do the layout n unless d customer has more demands or certain expectations den they will be invovled..

Yu ling as in Sherlyn? Heard she's been there since the bridal shop open....

Michelle, is only when i gave my coordinator the puzzle look and told her what if the layout turn out i dun like then she say she will request for us to see the layout and that we can only change the layout once.

Perhaps she is concern that customers might keep changing the layout and then ding dong here and there end up might delay the completion of the album. But as a customer i feel that i have to right to view the layout.

Sometimes i wonder is it because our expectation is too much or they are lazy.. I guess alot boils down to communciation.

yup, me too.. i used to tell my bf that we are the most demanding couple but then aft i came to this thread, i realise our expectations are similar to other BTBs n that i think cos it concerns our big day, its natural that everybody will have certain level of expectations..

it jus that some vendors may not think from our point of views cos to them, wad matters is the profit..

yah, i agree. the co. very aggressive in marketing at roadshows and advertisements but has a major problem in delivering the promised standard.

I also told my coor, if their co. cannot cope with large quantities of orders, then their boss should focus on streamlining and making their post production process more efficient instead of telling customer : "You are not our only customer."

I think their HK team is a double edged sword. At 1st, it sounds impressive that their post production team is based overseas. But now after all these experiences, I am awakened to "so what if they are hk team?" It was NEVER established anywhere that HK people are superior in photo editing skills compared to say, Singaporeans. So many people are self-editing their photos to post on facebook (and most looks good too!) nowadays and their HK team can't even remove shadow from a pic DUH. And the fact that they are overseas means u cannot communicate with them directly and can only pray your requests are not lost in translation through your coordinator with them. And you also need to wait longer than if the team is based in SG.

Sorry if I sound angry or offensive. After editing my own photos till 3am which they are supposed to do, I am not in the best of mood...

u mean they told u dat u r not their only customer?!?!?! datz v bad leh..

no worries of sounding angry or wad.. i think anybody in your shoes will be feelin the same way too..

sometimes i wonder why r pple still signing up with them aft visiting this thread.. or maybe they r lik me, signing up with them without visiting this thread.. bleah...

I guess there are people who do not have much expectations, so overall they are happy with the service and end product...

I sign up because of the good reviews i saw from the thread plus i like their photos...Just that recently seems to have more negative comments....

I agree that cos they have been more interested in expanding their business than fulfilling their needs of current customers. Always don't get response from my coordinator and she is always swamped. Yes she is very nice but she is always at a roadshow every month. How to service us? OMG. Charge so much bt they can't deliver as promised. I don't think their photos are exceptionally nice - similar to some bridal boutiques.

Ee: yes, yu ling Aka sherlyn or something.

Gosh..I see so many reviews here with negative feedback..and that's becoming worrying now. Anyway, so far I've only confirmed n paid deposit for the hk photoshoot only. If they r really giving me a hard time, will just threaten them that I don't want to top up for the additional Macau ps n they can also forget about their actual day biz from me. They're gonna lose deals amounting to a few thousand, so I suppose they will think twice.

Their payment scheme is to pay deposit upon signing of agreement and then subsequently pay the balance before PS right?

did anyone of u suggest holding on to $1k etc first incase we cant find suitable gowns for AD?

I have already paid the balance before the PS....think back shouldn't have paid all.... but it seems like their policy got to pay the balance before PS....

Sometimes the negative feedback is due to the miscommunication and difference in expectation.

Like choosing the gown for the phototaking. Beore sign agreement was told phototaking and AD gown will be different. Thought that was good news cause wouldn't be wearing the same gown use in phototaking on AD. When comes to choosing the gown then i realise that they got two different set of gowns. AD days not meant to be use for phototaking..."Faint...." Cause those AD gowns looks nicer than phototaking gown.

Even though the photo itself focus might not be too much on the gown but more on the photography skills, felt that not much of a range of choice to choose from for their gowns use for phototaking

Michelle, i guess it more of ensuring they know what is your expectation
Things might not turn as negative for you as what we mention in the forum.
There are still good feedbacks on their services during phototaking

I am quite satisfied with their services so far although I do feel that they are quite rigid in their so call "company policies". MDW packages are considered more expensive compared to the other bridal boutiques and are not as comprehensive.

The HK photo shoot is a wonderful experience. There’s a huge gown selection to choose from and I feel so pampered with their top-notch services. The pictures turn out quite nice and we like the results of the photo editing too. We ended up topping up with quite a huge sum of money to get the pictures! The only complain here is the duration to get the album done.

Went I went to choose my actual day gowns, I tried on a few “VIP†gowns, which needs a top up ranging from $800 - $1200 each. I was informed that they are the new collection and I will be the first bride wearing it. I was kind of put away by the sky-high prices, which is only for gown rental. Manage to work out some arrangement with my coordinator and yes, I did top up for my gown selection.

I was frustrated at times, especially when I need to top up for almost everything and always thrown a “no†to my face. Luckily, my coordinator is very patient, sincere and helpful. She made effort to build rapport with us and understand what are our needs and preferences. I believe that she has done her best in getting us the best deal despite being restricted by the “company policies.â€

The most important thing is to have good communication with your coordinator and have trust in her. I have spent a huge amount (over my budget) at MDW and therefore I am determining to make my experience at MDW a good one. Not worth it to dampen your mood and excitement for your wedding!

Min, that's great
Glad things are working fine for you

Wintumnsky, she wasn't really rude when she said that, more like trying to get me to "understand" why I need to wait so long kind of tone. But it's still something quite bad to say to a customer, and it's something her management ask her to tell me I'm sure because she said this straight after she said she'll check with them.

Ee, I signed up with the exact same reason as you. We did try to argue abit about paying in full before the PS but it was another 1/2 hour spent talking to a wall over there with the "No"s.

Ee: r your gowns chosen in sg? I'm not sure if I should go to hk then choose it. My bf said choosing in hk might be risky cos we don't have much time there n what happens if I don't find a gown I like. I haven't been to the sg shop. Mind telling me about their gowns, range etc? Am tempted to go down n take a look actually but am feeling shy n odd cos my f hasn't even proposed to me officially n if our plans for a wedding is only end 2012. Seems a bit too early, but I'm still very curious.

And yah, have to pay before photoshoot. I reckon I will confirm if I want the additional Macau ps only after going to the bridal shop in sg n see if they r going to give me any problems. I was told that I don't have to make the decision now, but I think the main hq will still need to b informed about us going n our plans so that they can make arrangements on their side too.

Hi Michelle yes my gowns are chosen in SG cause mine is SG pakage. I'm not so sure about HK package. Perhaps you can try out the gown in SG if really dun have suitable one then will be try at HK side.
They do have nice looking gowns is just that they seperate AD and phototaking gowns. So those nice looking ones might not be allow to use for phototaking
When do you plan to go for photoshoot?

Hi all, FYI.

IF your package is the HK package, u will choose your gowns in HK. There are more gowns in HK too anyway. U do not need to worry about the varieties or watever. So far so gd anyway....

I duno whos yuling. I only know whos yulin aka sherlin.
Mine is Rachel. I signed up in 2009 JUne de. So some new coordinators im not very familiar with...

Ee: not sure when I am going for the ps. Wait for bf to propose first ba. at least have to let our parents know n seek their approval first after his proposal, then we can decide on the ps..