My Dream Wedding

@ Amryllis, I think you sent me a PM sometime back too and I just learned from Wintumnsky how to use it :D But I can't reply to you because I think you didn't activate it.

Noir, I didn't receive urs so I tried sending one to u instead..

Ya, they told me will have one interview prior to PS to understand fr us what type of effects we lik.. But think whether they reali understand or deliver it is another issue le.. Haiz..

i was going to sign with them after seeing the pictures. anyone had eric as a photographer?
but i din have chance to see their gown selection. not sure if got variety or not......
but now i see noir's comments and it has got me re-thinking....

so sad to know that my current coordinator, mimi, had resigned. my AD is in May, and my new coordinator will be xiao ai. i had a good impression of her too cos she's also very friendly and funny, just like Mimi.

anyone had her as ur coordinator?

@yokobell, i took my PS last sep, my PG is David. he is really good! my photos turned out really impressive. we love it and spent quite alot on the top ups.

@ Chloe, good to know it went well for u! I need every ray of hope to grab onto... Your AD is coming soon!! Congrats!!

My PG is David too. Nothing against his photo-taking skills. Some, though not all, were very well taken. It's the post-production that is killing me now.

I'll be going for my next selection some time this week. Will let you guys know how it goes this time...

@Wintumnsky, replied!

Hmm.. I still can't get any reply.. D weird thing is dat I successfully pm n received d reply fr dat person before.. Dunno izzit smth wrong with my account..

Noir, my pm went to ur registered mail rite?

Haha.. Ya.. Nvm den, anything can jus send mail to me.. Think I wrote my mail in some post above..

Howz ur wedding preparation? When is ur big day?
Have dey scheduled u for d gown fitting?

@noir, yup, my AD is in less than 3 months! so nervous, thanks!

oh, actually we had a huge headache during the post-production too. we dont like the MDW kind of album layout, so we requested HK side to change, in total, we changed it 4 times.

imagine i took my PS in last Sep, and till now, my album is not ready yet! haha, but we finally confirmed the layout last week, and would be able to collect in March. To be fair, my htb is quite fussy, cos he is a creative designer, so his standard on this kind of layout is quite high. so we cant really blame MDW for taking so long too, but just feel quite fed up with HK team sometimes, cos they doesnt seem to understand our request. there is one time when we asked them to change the sky color, but when they sent it back to us, it is still the same. ||-_- so communication breakdown. haha.

luckily i took my PS earlier, if not, it wont be in time for my AD.

now, i'm having headache in my AD gown selection. ARGH!

chloe: HK side do layout also so headache? I took my PS in Nov & still waiting to view my layout.... hopefully nothing goes wrong...

@Chloe Thanks for reply. Can share pictures?

I am planning doing SG shot . Anyone knows if there is good selection of gowns in SG? Many comments on good gowns are usually HK.

@JoSky, ya cos we dont like the layout that they did. there is those flowery kind of borders, with photos overlapping each other which we feel that it's not NICE at all and doesnt suits our photos!

we prefer something simple, and must have that kind of overall 'feel'. most importantly, we dont want our album to get outdated. so we gave them our feedback and requested them to change, but the process is a nightmare!

in the end, my htb have to do a sample layout and show it to HK team so that they can follow exactly what we want.

@Josky, I think all their post production and layout are done in HK.

@ Chloe, oh no!! I have a very bad feeling about my layout selection

I think the main problem is because they are in HK, we don't have a chance to communicate with the designers directly so most of the time, what you say to the coors that you want are lost in translation when they communicate with HK over the phone...

@ Wintumnsky, my AD is in June and I AM SO NERVOUS that they won't be able to deliver my album in time now after reading abt Chloe's account!

Both my hubby and I are from creative background as well that's why we have very high expectations on photos and layout. When we saw their sample albums, we thought they should be able to deliver the quality that's why we signed with them. But the pink nightmare is still floating in my head now

@noir, precisely! SG coord and HK designers totally communication breakdown! dont worry, just communicate well with them and make sure SG coord understands what u r saying before they pass the message to HK team.

btw, who is ur coord?

I think all of us will have to go thru this for us we took 6 mths from PS to getting the ablum, but our expectation is not that high and we r not from and design background, so i guess u gals with some background of design will have to take even longer.
my two cents worth will be try to find all the fault at one shot so that they can change it in one goal.

goodness! aft reading ur posts i'm kinda worried abt the post production

@ Chloe, my coordinator was Mimi too, was assigned to yiling. anyone here has any idea if she's gd?

@Chloe, my coor is Yun. She is VERY good. It's 4 thumbs up for Yun's service. (Mine and my hubby's)

I went for my selection today. The photos were not perfect but so much better this time. I think she really made the effort to vet through the photos b4 calling me down after my complaints to David the last time. And we stayed till very late to finish telling her what the changes should be but she was still so patient and amiable.

Now, for the layout.. How long did you have to wait after selecting the photos before you could see the layout? I'm kinda worried coz she said earliest is late March, and my wedding is only a few months away! I don't have 6 months!

@btb, how's your album

@Christina Grace, have fun!!

Noir, yun is gd she is not my coordinator but she used to be asst coordinator, super frendly.

I have got my album, ok they delivered the standard from the sample and we r fine with it, cos thats wat we wan in the 1st place. haha uncreative but we find it neat and original.
just worried abt my ad as of last yr end i have not see anything that i fall in love with, hope the next time i go down will have something that i like.

after the selection of photos, i think its pretty fast for us as for the layout we only change the position of the photos a bit other then tat we are fine with it.
If u wan a diff layout it will be best u can have sample for them to follow otherwise it might take sometime, which is wat u dun have.

hi btb,
on average how long u wait to view layout? I took hk PS & am still waiting to view my layout... seem like a long wait... duno izzit cos of Feb's CNY...

Hi Josky, when did you take your HK ps?

BTB, when is your AD?

Hrm when I re-read my post it seems to imply I complained to David about Yun. Nono, I complained to David about the photos coz Yun was bz with another customer on my last photo selection.

If anyone is floating between coor coz Mimi left, I recommend anchoring to Yun

Noir my is in Nov so maybe someday will go check it out the collections and try out some. haha

Josky mi too took in hk but our delay part is not during layout,onli during printing.

if i'm not wrong after we select the pics, a few weeks after we can view layout already.

maybe during last yr not so many couples thats y they can do it faster cos all depends on hk side to edit.

I just went for my AD gown selection today. My coordinator is Rachel. She has a good eye and i chose 2 white gowns within 3 hours. I havent seen my album yet so hopefully it will turn out ok.

Hi guys! i went for my PS gown selection a few days ago, glad that it was efficient and we selected all our attire on the same evening. I was worried about too-dramatic/too-busy gown designs, so appreciated that Rachel showed me samples of how the supposedly too-busy looking gowns look like in photos... they turn out pretty nicely in photoshoots as the backgrounds or poses highlight different aspects of the gowns. I agree with ktlimps that Rachel has a good eye; unfortunately it seems that another couple turned up at the last minute so Rachel could only attend to us intermittently and got another assistant to help us as we try out our different attire. Now it's fingers crossed that all will go well during our photoshoot next month!

At least based on my few encounters with MDW so far, I think the team has been pretty sincere in serving. For those with hiccups during the photo selection, edits, layout, printing process... I hope the problems are due to genuine miscomm, not any intent of the team to shirk their responsibilities. so yup... hope things get resolved soon for u guys so u can have a peace of mind preparing for other aspects of the wedding!

hey gals, i m going to Mona Lisa at HK for my BS and intend to look out for hotel or air tic deals tmr at NATAs...

can somebody advise which hotel is nearer to the studio?

Yup.. Rachel is great. I will be goin HK for PS in April. She is very helpful with the arrangements i requested. Today i called her to confirm some stuffs for my PS. But she is at the roadshow at Vivo. So her colleague called her on her mobile and ask her to call me bk. At 2plus, i received a call from MDW phone number. I asked her y she went back to the studio! She mentioned cos she don have my invoice on hand at the raodshow and she worry i might wana talk about anything important den she need to write down on the invoice so she rushed back to studio!I really feel very glad and appreciate her actions....=)

This is Mona lisa studio address. ç€éº—ç£æ²™ç˜å»£å ´L3全層
Any hotels nearby i dunno cos i intend to take cab anyway.... its better to stay near the city area. ç€éº—ç£æ²™ç˜ there got nothing to shop or eat de....

Hello everyone! I went for the interview yesterday. Initially wanted to sell this package because I kind of regretted buying at such a high price. Agree that MDW is expensive and I still don't know why I got it in the 1st place. But no takers so just go 'endure my mistake'.

Xiao Ai is good. She's my coordinator as well and she's rather accomodating and helpful. The interview went ok and I hope I have communicated the right message to her. Quite particular about the shoots. Well had a surprise - she jumped on my htb and asked if he wanted to 'settle' his tux selection cos it's supposedly straight forward. So went ahead cos my htb is a simple guy and we also don't mind getting this settled. However the tux were awful - all like some 7th month getai/magician type which only oldie stars will wear. Apparently it's meant to be like that as it's not going to appear as such in the photo. Hopefully cos they seriously sux. So I am disappointed by their range of clothings. I hope this will not be the case for the gown. I have already asked them before if I am not able to get my gown, what will they do but they just keep saying I am definitely able to. Sighz. I am going to Taipei for my ps in July.

Anyone facing the prob of difficulty getting an appt? I wanted to meet up in Feb but they were so busy at roadshows, they could only do it the last day of feb. Also my gown fitting is April though I wanted to do it in March. I don't feel good that they keep getting new sales in and not 'manage' their current clients. It's like u purchase facial session and u cant get a booking. Grrr I am currently not impressed but overall they are very warm people and helpful to provide info if they can. But definitely not outstanding.

Btw for the layout prob, it's actually very commonly faced so it's impt to tell them directly what kind of look u want, show exact samples.
Tedious hor, btbs. Sighz.

Yup!!! we got the same prob as well... When we first signed up for the package, we asked the same question (not once), "what if we can't find the gown that we want".. the response was always reassurance from our coordinator or the designer that there are alot of pretty gowns available and we would SURE get a gown we like..

Our coordinator even mentioned that we could go down to MDW to try as many times as we like and as and when new stock arrives. She also mentioned that in the event that there is no gown we like, she could ask her designer to incorporate the design we like in one of her designs. But apparently, with our wedding date in Feb, we could only manage to secure the 1st gown fitting at the end of the Dec as we were told it was too early for fitting in September. So during the 1st fitting end of Dec, we could not get the gown we like and the 2nd appointment that is available is end of Jan!! And that is about 3 weeks from our wedding!! You can imagine how stressed my wife was at not able to find the gown she likes just 3 weeks away from the wedding. Luckily we managed to find a bridal shop where we found the dream gown (and the designer was super nice to add in lots of extra things to the gown to make it really pretty). On ya, note that for the makeup, there is charges for rental of accessories, ampoule and eyelashes...

Having said the above, we must acknowledge that everyone has different taste in gowns. So MDW's gowns may be suitable for some people but not all. So good luck to all and hope that you will find the dream gown u want

For photoshoot, we had ours at Hong Kong. The gown selection there seems better but we were also not that particular about gowns and suits for photoshoot because as long as the gowns and suits look nice in photos, they are fine with us...

Yah they seemed to like to delay the date and make you panick. This is not very ethical. Gosh. But getting another gown means more money which is urg!

YS: u sure eyelashes need to pay?from wat i know, only ampoules need to pay. even accessories is stated in the invoice that its provided. u request for more is it? if not i don think need to pay.

My wife paid for it even during the trial makeup, the makeup artist did inform her beforehand that it is chargable and ask whether my wife wants it or not(well, i think w/o the eyelash its a bit wierd right?). We were on the way to lunch after the trial when the makeup artist called her to remind that she didn't collect if from my wife yet. Accessories no need to pay but it is limited. Again, like i said before, we really don't know how they label "new" or "VIP" range for gowns. Same thing for the accessories only certain "racks" from MDW are free(only 1-2 racks there) and accessories belonging to the make up artist need to pay separately. Luckily we had free rental of the accessories from the bridal shop where we got our dream gown hence we did not top up so much.

Makeup damage: $200+
Breakdown:
trial eyelash: $18
actual day ampoule: $30 x 2
actual day eyelash: $18 x 2
Kuah accessories: $ 15-35
Fresh flowers: $30
Early morning charge before 7a.m.: $40/hr

Ya amryllis, but i say the money is worth every cent if that is the gown u're looking for. Besides, the other bridal shop was really really nice, would reccomend it to everyone if i can.

YS, which bridal shop is that? I heard The Aisle has great service and gowns too. How much did you spend on just that gown? Rental right?

Anyway YS is so sweet, doing all these for ur wifey.
My htb just bear with me cos this ain't something he would volunteer if I hadn't wanted it. :P

I just did my photoshoot today and I must really say that what MDW lacks in e gown selection is well compensated by it's service n professionalism! Did our shoot at e Fullerton bay hotel n was very impressed by how pro e photog n makeup artiste were. Real good job. Next up fingers crossed for photo selection in 2 weeks time!

ha... i agree that their makeup artist and photographers are good. That's why we chose them when we saw the photos. But gowns selection wise... they shouldn't give us false hope. Seems like the company has a good combination of photographer + makeup artist but lack of real designer. Ideally, for my case would be to just sign the overseas photography package. ROM and AD gown package look elsewhere. When i signed up with them, their package do not include AD photography/videography. So i feel that they are not so prepared for AD stuff.

Wah the damage YS broke down sounds scary.. so many hidden charges! Can use our own eye lashes? I have never bought any $18 eyelashes anywhere b4..

Now I'm abit worried about my AD gown.. have not received any word on selection date even though my wedding is little more than 3 months away.. Should I call them about it..?

Noir, even if u bring your own eyelashes u still have to pay the mua $10 for the service. might as well give it to her unless u wan something reli special.
i think u should give them a call and see wat they say, if u can just pop by during weekdays so that they have time to entertain u.

YS i feel tat for ad pg/vg u should look for external party as pg who takes poses pics and pg who take candid is very diff, so i took pg & vg external even they offers me before but i oso reject their service. Just my tots.
Who is ur wife mua?

Actually select the gown 2 months before event is ok or not? What is the definition of too rushed? I also dunno. YS, they have photography and videography packages for actual wedding but it's $1688 i think. Yes own eyelash is $10 but use MUA is $18 for AD. Free for Pre wedding shoots.

The eyelashes thing is a blatant rip off. What's the justification behind paying them $10 to stick your own eyelashes on your eyelids? They have no explanation for that either.

Anyone has any good MUA to recommend from them? Charmaine will be on maternity leave during my wedding.. In fact I think she's conceiving on the exact date of my wedding.

Also, anybody has any good actual day pg and vg to recommend?