My Dream Wedding

I signed up with MDW for their wedding package. My coordinator is Mimi and my photog is David. I will be having my photo shoot in 2nd week of Jan 2011. Does anyone have recommendations for their makeup artist?

I do agree that their packages are on the high side and they are unlike some bridal shops that throw in freebies like wedding cars on AD, AD PS, more gowns and etc.

But i do like their service and the fact that they are near my workplace. It really depends what they can offer u for the price you are paying.

i think what cemented the fact i pick the right bridal shop was when i went to choose my wedding gowns for the PS. I fell in love in the 1st gown Mimi picked and she continued to let me try difference gowns even though i thought i had made up my mind. And all their gowns are gorgeous. FYI i didn't pick the 1st gown...LOL!

I tried for 1.5 years!! 5 times get 300 but is beyond 300%.. haha. 6th try with 8 chances finally get number to choose -_-" it took forever lo.. Can share ur photos when it's ready? Heh

@Huimin: I think u will be very happy with their gowns. The gowns that u wearing for your PS is totally different from AD gowns.

I saw their AD gowns before. Even more gorgeous than PS gowns. But heartpain cos will have to pay $2k deposit for AD gowns when we use it on AD itself...

@noir: Sorry to hear abt your bad experience. the outsourcing of drivers is true. My office is near them so we usually talk cock with MDW staff. I know there is a lot of hidden charges which u have to pay out of your own pocket at the end of the day. And frankly speaking, can't expect us customers to be happy abt it cos PS already costs a bomb.

I want to hire David for my AD but very ex. Limited shots for AD doesn't sound like a gd deal and it's separate costs for photog and video.

I heard that their MUA also charge for additional makeup for family/jie mei on AD.

Heh! Glad to hear that. They have wedding gowns with other colour details? PS gowns only 3, like v limited. Heh the gowns I saw from my friend v HK style
I signed the package at j8, have not gone down to the bridal shop before. Lol. Think I dunwan my bf to wear tux. I like suits. Ha.
Saw a few AD coverage like not bad, unique colours?PS and AD quite different, the David AD shots u see before?

Ihababe, David is good! V professional n fun... I totally enjoyed my ps! Charmaine is my mua... Thumbs up for her too! U r in good hands!

great to hear d good reviews on their gowns as when i signed up, its due to their overseas BS and i overlooked to check their AD gowns...

anyone signed up for their AD PG?

hmm.. maybe u all may wish to participate in half yearly sales as well.. sometimes they may have not bad balance BTO units and u dont have to wait too long for the completion of the unit too.. we haven participated in any BTO but just 1 half yearly sales and got a queue no and a unit we like.. =)

Yup, HDB will have some half yearly sale of balance BTO flats as well as those resale units that r being repossessed by HDB.. they will be from all different areas of Spore.. We joined one last year June or July I think.. My bf signed up for d HDB email updates n dat is how we knew abt it..

oh that one... my fiance and I tried that and the BTO for several times... still can't get anything yet.. admin charges for each try already paid about $100 already sighzz

@wintumnsky: I also just sign cos of their overseas BS. Haha. And the fact that other bridal shop quote us more for overseas BS-_-
Really have to start balloting flat early! But they streamlined the process, it's faster now
last time 6 weeks to release results, now 4 weeks, and my frd 18 days from receive results already went to choose her flat

@Huimin: David did my friend's PS. My friend's wedding album was very nice so i decided to take them. I dun really trust album samples cos they used professional models and photoshop like crazy.
They give me choice of big pic or 1 3-in-one.

@wintumnsky: I was quite tempted to take their HK package but very ex and have to use 5 days of leave (very precious)! But really lah, their gowns very nice! when u try it once, u really feel like princess!

Hehe I meant AD n PS photographers/ photography is different. Heh. The skills they use different so probably AD shoot should source elsewhere haha

Hello! Am another MDW BTB
So far am really glad to hear positive feedbacks on their gowns and services cos i did not really manage to try any of their gowns before i signed

Hi Brides out there...

Are you guys aware that the bridal flower decor is not fresh flowers?
I was pretty disappointed it wasnt fresh flowers and colors were limited.
flowers, organza were colors in white, pale pink or dark purple...

our wedding car is black and we preferred red flowers and red ribbons...n I was told there might be additional cost.

meanwhile, is it a common practice they do not show us "drafts" of the layout of the album before printing?

at the start we are happy with service provided but somehw i feel they were that attentive anymore

I m not sure of d flowers as haven't asked abt it..

When we signed up d package, we were both under impression dat we can change d layout but subsequently, we were told dey will not show d layout to customers unless dey r particular.. Hmm.. But I haven reached dat stage yet as haven gone for my BS yet, so dunno wad dey will say again when time comes..

Hi Freakster,actually when we were signing up the package the sales coordinator informed us that for the PS, the flowers are not fresh flowers - but those on AD are.

I think you can request for fresh floweres buy have to top up

im very disappointed with MDW...they have hidden charges...have you ladies heard before that those "so call VIP" range need to pay extra money?

where we have already paid so much for the overseas PS and the photos top up...and now they want to charge extra S$1k and above for the AD gown i have choosen... I meant just for one AD I have to pay extra for the gown!!

My friends who had their bridal fittings in their own bridal shop doesnt have such policy...you can choose whatever gowns u want..This MDW just out there want to earn your money...And their normal range of gowns really CMI...

Was told that for VIP range need to top up....that time was verbally told $400...didnt know it could go up to S$1K.

Initially i thought it's a good thing that the AD and photo shoot gown is different, meaning we would have more choices...but those gowns that i was given for photo shoot i find them rather normal, not veri attractive...becomes like not much of a choice....

Just hope that actual day gown will turn out to be better without a need to top up much.....

Anyone came across situation whereby you sign the package paid for it and realise one or two items you dun really need for your wedding? Possible to change/replace it with something else?

To be honest..I also thought that the AD gown should be nicer and have more varieties...but looking at their normal range...is really put you off and making you to choose VIP range instead. All i can say MDW just going all out to earn your money.

They are not flexible to this policy even though you want to change / replace something else for the AD gown you like.. but then...we customers should have the rights to choose whatever AD gown we like with NO EXTRA COST since we already paid so much for the bridal package.

I mean how they define VIP range...any gown I pick..they can say is VIP range. And aren't we the "VIP" customer to them?? Must we have to pay S$10k and above for the bridal package to qualify to become VIP customer so that we can choose any gown we like?

I find that it is unreasonable and unacceptable.

before i sign up the package i ask them for all the costs involved...and also negotiate whereby if i dun not wan certain items in the package i wan change to extra poses...so it's written black and white....

My AD consist of gown and ROM dress, i excluded the gown cause didn't need it... now i dun need the ROM dress...dun know if they willing to change to extra poses....

But topping up $1K for VIP gown is too much.... somemore the topping up of photo is already not cheap.....

I signed up with MDW this week. I was served by the GM Golden and subsequently a coordinator joined in even though I asked for Yun. Hopefully, the coordinator assigned to me is as good and detailed as Yun.
I would say the photography skills and the album produced by MDW are very impressive. There are also a wide range of gowns available.
So far my experience with MDW is very positive as they are not very pushy and seem sincere especially the GM, Mr Golden Huang.
I will be going to choose my PS gowns and stuffs with my HTB tomorrow. Are there anything which I need to take note before the actual PS. Please advise as my PS date is 1st week of Jan 2011. Can someone kindly recommend MUA and photographer from MWD?
TIA

seems like sharon is not very happy with MDW o.
haha a lot wat she have mention it have been highlighted to us when we sign the package so i guess no point to complaint when u have already done ur PS with them.
just enjoy the rest of the journey, the AD is most important to me. hee...

Oh.. I want to add on that the 6 corages that they throw into our package.. supposedly they say these can be meant for bridesmaids corsages and fathers pin corsages.. Then groom has his own corsage on the AD.
Now they tell these corsages are only meant for parents and include the groom as Well...Bridesmaids din have hand wrist corsages.. Then they say they dun do bridesmaids corsages at all...if want... Need to top another $18.00 for the bridesmaid corsages... What Kind of service this bridal shop is giving.. I'm totally dissappointed with their lousy service.

from what i u/s the corsages doesn't include those for bridesmaids in the std package. btw sharon, who's your coordinator?

they told me about the VIP range before i signed the package. cant rem the price. so i dun think they are out to "cheat" us. but they told me the VIP range is just the 2 racks in the middle. all others belong to the normal range.

not sure about the bridesmaid corsages. i always assume they will provide the groom's + parents' only.

Hmm.. My coordinators also told me abt the VIP range before I signed. And she did state quite clearly that the corsages are for the parents and groom only, before I signed..

Seems like I'm not the only one with a horrifying experience with MDW. Went down for my interview and gown selection last week for my local photo shoot.
I had requested for my co-ordinator to let me try on some mermaid style gowns and all she could bring out were some really gross looking ball gowns that were heavy and cumbersome.
Next I specified that I'm not comfy with tube gowns and requested for Toga gowns or gowns with some sleeves, it seems that they DONT have any of these gowns! Isn't that amazing?
I was not allowed to choose my own gowns since they were all kept in a "storage area". The fact that my co-ordinator had DISASTROUS taste didn't help either. It was just frustrating to see her take out gowns after gowns that just did not make the cut! Similar to some of you, she had earlier adviced that only the 2 racks at the front of the shop were VIP racks and the rest were the so-called normal ones. However, when i chose a red gown from the so-called normal racks, I was then told that they were for actual day / VIP! I have only one word to describe this, MISREPRESENTATION.
I had also called her earlier to request to try on a gown that appeared in the Her World Brides magazine and it took her 4 hours and after REPEATED REQUESTS before she finally took the dress out for me to try and went on and on about how it is a VIP / Actual day dress blah blah blah. Ok can't she just realise that all she had to do was just to name a price for me to use that dress and we might just have a deal there. No. Sensing that we were getting no where with the gross selection, I told the co-ordinator to try looking for something with a ruffle train. For the love of my life that dense girl had no idea what ruffles were and continued bringing out some ugly trash that almost blew my fuse.
It wasn't until the manager realised that i was on the verge of tears with my friends all grumpy the manager stepped in and pulled out a DECENT looking dress with ruffles. All in all, 5 hours spent. What a waste of time. Ladies, if you are thinking of using MDW, think twice unless you can live with the mediocre calibre of their dresses. All I can say is blame it on my folly to trust them and sign up for their package when they said they had a wide selection of 400+ gowns for me to choose from plus the facts that some forum review on MDW have been pretty good. Fingers crossed that my photoshoot in March will not turn out tacky like those TW shoots. I might just shoot myself.

when i signed up, nobody informed me abt d vip rack as well.. infact i did ask abt it n they told me no such difference... -_-"

when i signed up, i was enticed by d pretty gowns in their album.. after signing, i realised that those gowns r actually from HK n started to worry abt d gowns in SG as i atually didnt see d gowns in SG for AD.. Now it seems like my worries r not uncalled for.. =(

@Tricia, OMG that sounds horrible. Who is your coor? Drats, I hope I don't meet any problems when choosing my gown for AD...

@wintumnsky,hows your experience with them coming along?

My re-shoot is in 2 weeks' time. Pray everything go well...

I haven gone down recently. They did a change of coordinator for me but I haven had d chance to go down n discuss further.

Ur reshoot is so far apart fr ur first shoot?

Quite discouraging rite? For d past yr there seems to be v few posts complaining abt MDW but recently there has been a surge.. Really worrying..

yah.. i am a tad bit worried too... crossing my fingers things go well...

I was quite busy in December becoz of my work and David's schedule is quite full too so my re-shoot was pushed to 2 weeks later.. Actually the thought of the ps makes me feel abit tired now... like very troublesome.. LOL I hope they can liven up my mood on that day...

ya, think it is impt dat everything goes smoothly on BS day as it really will affect our mood n of cos our expressions...

think i should really find some time to go down n discuss with my new coordinator.. if not, later bigger expectation gaps = more disappointment & unhappiness..

My co-ordinator was Jenny. Apart from lack of taste n understanding of what I want, I have no other complaints about her. Now any good photog to re ommend? Or is David the only one?

Hi Tricia,

I can understand your frustrations cos that was what I faced before. Perhaps you can cut out pictures for her easy reference and hope that MDW carries a gown that you will fancy. I wonder if MDW does MTM now? They offered me this option before.

No mdw told me they don't do mtm. I did send Jenny some pics but all she showed me were ball gowns that I clearly stated I did not want. It felt like they were putting everyone thru the same mill of gowns... Someone else trying smth I didn't want n vice versa.

I certainly hope I'm not MDW's most demanding customer of the year but did any of you ladies get to choose which photographers you wish to work with? I tried telling my co-ordinator to fix an appointment with the photographer on the day of my final fitting to have a chat on how I'd like the photos to turn out in terms of style and effects. It seems that she just can't give me an answer as to who my photographer was going to be, and whether i was able to communicate with the photographer prior to the shoot was an unknown. Hope i'm not being overly paranoid but i'm dreading the thought of my photos turning out exactly like what they've done before, except with a different person in it!