My Dream Wedding

Is it true that for MDW, you must pay/sign up first, before they'll help you to find your AD gown? I went there and they only let me tried on 3 pieces as "sample", and lead me out of the fitting room to discuss package. I was hoping to find the ideal AD gown before signing up anything. Once I find the ideal gown, I don't mind about all other things..

For other BS i went, they really tried hard to help you find the ideal gown even on the first visit.... so i was kind of "shock" about MDW way... is pay first then select gown the policy of MDW?

I was shopping around a few BS because I can't find the "this is it" gown, so I really don't want the risk of paying first without really locating the ideal gown.

I saw from SG Brides that MDW are having wedding show at vivo this weekend.. and there is this promotion of free local PS worth $1688++ with purchase of their HKG PS package..sounds attractive! anyone gg for it??

Does anyone know hw much is the HKG PS package??

anyone willing to share their packages details??

TIA!

Hi Nicole, i believe the hk package is abt 4k onwards, but maybe they have promo, y not u ask mdw direct?

Gals who took the local shoot or have their trial or wedding can advise me who is ur mua? pls

I just signed with MDW today! I am so happy I finally settled on a boutique as I am very sick of listening to all the packages. Now to cross my fingers that their service is as good as they claim to be, and that they won't break their promises...

Can someone tell me if it's a must to pay in full before the photoshoot? I feel abit uncomfortable about this part..

I'll report here how things go with them

Hi noir dear.. Open to share how's their package like? Ya loh I m also a bit uncomfortable with their payment breakdown, so different from other bs. My email [email protected]. Whose your coordinator? Do you get to choose mua or pg? When is ur actual day n when u plan to take your photoshoot? Hehe happy for u =)

Hihi wongj, my coordinator is yun, so far still seems ok. my actual day in 2011 April. We're planning for photoshoot in nov. did you sign with them? Who's ur coor?

They have roadshow at Vivo next week, i think if you buy their hk pkg @ $5k+ they'll give the sg photoshoot pkg $1688.

I'm not sure about their MUAs at the moment. Any recommendations from MDW btb?

@Vicky : They don't have studio in Singapore. All outdoor shoots. Their service so far is still decent. But the real crunch is service and delivery after after payment, so will let you know again

Noir, it is a MUST to pay in full before your PS. But just to reassure you, do not worry, MDW has quite a repuatation here and they wouldn't wanna risk losing it I guess?

Hearing so much MDW promotion here, I tink the early birds (like me and even more earlier couples who has helped to write-up our experience here, that directly compliment their reputation) signed with MDW early back when their store wasn't that recognised, we all so lugi. Their promotion wasn't that attractive as per what was discussed now.

Hi dinitegrity, how long ago did you sign with them? How was ur experience? You took local or overseas pkg? Any good MUA or photographer to recommend?

But seriously, dun you think paying upfront is a little strange... no other bs i know of does that.. although i know they probably wouldn't cheat us la, but their terms and over-inflexibility seems like not much goodwill for the customers..

Hi, long time no post here

about payment, actually in HK, normal practice is to pay in full before PS, so they probably bring the practice to SG as well.

but maybe it will be good for you gals to feedback to their management, that SG's practice is different, and request them to re-consider their policy. afterall, right now they are doing business in SG

Hi Ellen, that makes sense...I did sort of argue with them a little over this issue but they say company policy, thats y i have the impression the management do not have much goodwill.

Oh ya, another term which i feel is quite high-handed also is that their packages are non-transferable. So if something choy-touch-wood really happen between the couple, they will just forfeit the deposit instead of letting the couple look for someone else to take over the package.

They say their wonderful service will make up for the stringent terms so hope its true.. haha

Noir, I did mine in HK. I dono abt the BS practise here, so I thought pay in full is normal. LOL So didn't tink much abt it. Now nearer to my wedding, I am also relief that I don've the BS 'leftover remaining balance' to pay. As now nearer and nearer to my wedding, so many other unexpected expenses pop out. So somehow I think is gd also lo.

I signed with them years ago. Yr2008 IIRC. During I signed, they said they are still new so we don't have to pay GST as they are going to applied as a Registered Business le so going to implement the GST system liao. As back then I wanna wait a few more months den commit myself de. So after heard what she said of course I kan chiong wanna sign right? A few thousand de 7% is alot lei. Why I wanna spend those extras ne?

So ends up I signed. But up till now to-date, I nv heard of the GST implementation lo. So I feel kinda cheated to commit myself so early. Although ultimately I will signed with MDW as I like their works (and has relatively good experience during my PS in HK) but if I sign a couple of months later, maybe I am entitled to some of their promotion? Their promotion seems to get better and better taking care of the late birds than the early birds. Funny strategy.

Hi Ellen,
long time no see, haha. did u take up the ad with them???
Can i noe who is ur mua? or do u noe who is gd from mdw? cos i cannot seem to find anything abt the mua of mdw here.
I actually got sonia(mdw say she have been with them for 2~3 yrs and is a full time) but i feel she is not that experience so i change to another one have not meet up yet hope she will be better. haiz.....

nope, i took up another BS (New Image Collection) for AD cos it's much nearer to my home and work place

oh you mean MUA in HK? Mine was Ming, didn't choose MUA... just let them assign
she was good and SUPER fast and efficient.

dinitegrity, wow u planned 2 years in advance! I'm impressed coz I'm those last minute kind of person haha when's ur AD?

Ellen, so in the end u signed 2 packages with 2 bs? Does that cost alot extra?

noir, yes exactly! Too early right? That is why I wanna 'wait for a few more months then commit'. Still kena 'cheated' by their GST scheme which then of course till now haven implemented.

My AD is soon.. REAL SOON.

dinitegrity, they told me (2 days ago) they just sent application for GST so anytime now GST will kick in. I wonder how long they've been saying that then LOL!

So excited for u muz share ur AD experience! Where are u holding ur AD?

wongj, i didn't manage to get my way on the payment thing. If u manage to, let us all know!
are u signing with them?

Noir, cannot believe they still using the trick used on me 2yrs back!!! What a stupid idiotic statement! I wonder how many couples they used such a statement to make them kan chiong to sign man...

Ya I thought so too and I called my co. and she agreed to it. But maybe they are stricter now? As I really have to sell off this package. They only say not allowed to reveal the package details and stuff on e Internet. Opps.. ;X but I'm still finding e one who is keen in my package. Is a very good deal. Interested can email me at [email protected] ;)

Actually this is not the first time i saw pple transferring MDW package in this forum....

Like my hotel banquet, contract also stated that package is non-transferrable, but i still see so many of my hotel's packages up for transfer in forum...........

Before I signed with them, I mentioned I may consider buying from someone selling in this forum (I saw someone else selling too). The coordinator told me their packages are non-transferable so I won't be able to do that
I got bluffed!

I'm having my 1st appt on oct and having my local ps in Jan. Anything to look out for?

Btw, is there separate charges for extra pages? I heard that some bs has extra charges for both photos/poses and pages. Meaning if I add 10 photos, I have to pay extra for the photos and also the 2 pages for the 10 photos. Does this apply to mydreamwedding?

Dinitegrity: I dun think they mean to bluff bah. Maybe they oso not v sure coz according to gst rules, only have to be gst registered if your annual turnover is more den $1 million. So maybe mgt did not tell them about turnover. But I dun deny that they may be using this as a tactic to complete a deal fast. They told me the same thing when I sign too.

Cys: Hopefully, you have managed to sell off your package. Previously, I also posted online to sell off my package but most people only wanted the package information. In any case, I changed it to rental of a kua on my wedding day instead after some negotiation. Perhaps you can change to something else like makeover, kua, photoshoot etc in worse case scenario.

Kenix & Min: I think MDW charges based on poses. Then again, my information may be wrong since its been almost 1 year after my wedding and I did not use MDW services except using my deposit monies for kua rental. Typically, you will have 1-3 poses in 1 page. I do not remember having to pay extra for another edited page, just poses only.

Hi Pearl Chin, yeah is quite difficult to sell it here.. Still trying my luck if not maybe to take up their photoshoot.. ;) think their package now is much more competitive than last time.. But still expensive.. Hee..

Hi everyone, i love the gowns at mdw, but i think the pricing is quite steep.Would anyone care to share if i could neg to get a full package around 3.5k?

Hi girls!

I am also a MDW bride.. was trying to look for any feedback/comments on xiao ai as coordinator as I can't seem to find any here. Does anyone have her as your coordinator? Any feedback? Are we allowed to change coordinators after signing up? *worried*