MOLE REMOVAL HELP!

• Thread starter Thread starter birthmarks
  • Start date Start date
Hi Tham,
Sorry for late reply coz was at other forum..haha...It was so long ago..can't really remember but i think there was a teeny weeny hole where the mole used to be but i guess it closed up after a while coz my frens didn't even realized thati had a mole there until last year when it re-appeared....SIGH..maybe really shd try surgery...let us know how urs turn out okie....btw, did ur doctor guarantee results?? Coz the salon that i went to did and a fren who went with me went back for touch up and the salon didn't charge her a single thing...so maybe u shd check with ur doctor.

I think sometimes shd really ning ke xing qi you lah..coz i remembered after my removal, my luck actually turned for the better!!!....maybe pure coincidence lah i guess....

hi tham..

my gfrd mole is right at the forehead actually.. like phyllis quek. Just a tad bigger but still alright if you asked me with fringe you barely see anything.. I didnt notice anything on the luck factor until my friends start pointing out. Her promotion got passed over and she lost money in stock market last year when it was supposingly not bad for stock.. esp the period of May- Dec last year. Suddenly like everything not going her way and she turn a bit bad temper. I mean of course I am not attributing everything to the mole removal but then again she was told not to remove that because it is the wealth position or soemthing I am not sure...

So if you asked me.. I think rather asked just for opinion sake.. but of course up to me eventually to remove or otherwise...

Salon sounds like risky or not? My treshold of pain is like literally zero!

Hi Gerbera,

Where is the location of ur mole? U didn't mention right? I guess it's just a small one right? Good for u that ur luck actually turned for the better.

Guess for me must wait for another 2-3 months before I can eventually have the mole removed. Must fix appointment mah. Haven't gone to see the doctor yet leh...appointment is next month. But read from the internet about mole removals and get information like initially there will be a reddish patch at where ur mole used to be but will eventually disappear within a few weeks. Just wondering how that will look like.....

Actually mole at the forehead not so bad leh especially if it's a small one. Well..."hao yi" is very popular wat, isn't she?

U r also thinking of removing a mole, is it? Were u the one who has a mole next to ur lips?

Hi aloha,

What method did they use to remove ur mole? Any anesthetic used or not? If dun have, then any pain during the process? Any bleeding?

I can't imagine ur mole is still there now but will "drop" in a few days. So how does it look like now?

tham..

mine is not near the lips.. location pretty difficult to explain.. but is near the temple lor. Almost like my gfrd just a bit lower than her.. near the start of the nose bridge. How about you? where's the location?

Anyway it is her choice to remove but somehow I am a little disturb by mine actually because since young i hate it plenty.. I thought it makes me so different! and i hate the way kids say each other .. not sure if you guys heard before but sometimes i go all quesy when ppl so 'or ki'... although is not like a disability.. it still sorta disturb me to a certain extend.. haaa.. being incoherent!

I am just curious why did you girls suddenly feel like removing? For me.. my dad have a similar mole at the location but because he is really dark you can't really see it.. and is not obvious wherelse for me it is so different! He have a thing about me removing it so I waited long nuff and I thought since abt to prepare to get married in the next 2 years might as well do something I always wanted....

Ok.. being particularly long winded!

Tham..

Want to ask you this... how did you get your appointment with the national council? Did you go to the polyclinic first?

I am a bit mixed whether to remove it or not because... after 20 over years it seems it be weird to have it gone.. same as you love hate relationship with it! hahaha..

Ling,

Actually I find urs location quite ok leh..unlike mine which is near the lips. I even got very nasty remarks on that know...well, dun ask me what nasty remarks i have got..as it's so nasty I dun want to mention it here. But some remarks are what u have got also loh.

For me, I want to remove so as to stop getting all those nasty remarks. Ya..I agree that when a person is dark, it's not so obvious, but too bad I'm rather fair.

First of all, I went to Polyclinic to get a referral letter. Then the staff at Polyclinic called the National Skin Centre (not national council fyi) to fix an appointment for me.

Well, I can understand ur feelings. Actually I also have doubts about removing it...as u said, after so many years liao. But come to think of it, life ahead of us is still long and if the mole really bothers u, why not give it a try if the result makes u look better or improve ur self-esteem?

Hi Tham,

The location is okay but when I was a kiddo .. kids say stuff like I had a bindi on just like an indian..so they call me guess what!

It really doesnt bother me that much now that I am older but just thought I would love to me you know.. not marred by that mole on the face.. hahaha... girls.. typically vain!

When you went to the polyclinic did the doctor say anything? Because mine doesnt give me any problem like bleeding and stuff..would they still refer you?

It felt nice talking to you because ... no one can understand why we are disturb by that small lil'o thing.. hee

Ya...it's a pleasure talking to u too as u r right, not many can understand our feelings when we r called all kinds of names just because of those dark spots on the face. Some r just lucky that they r born with flawless complexion, but that doesn't mean they can make fun and be nasty to others. Fyi, some guys r even more vain than girls. Hahaha.... Anyway, u r getting ROM, aren't u? At least ur future husband doesn't mind ur mole.

Actually my moles don't really give me problem, except for occasional itchness. Ya...at first I also wonder whether the Polyclinic will refer me or not. But I tell myself why not give it a try? Just talk nicely to the doctor, telling her that I would like my skin marks further assessed at the National Skin Centre and I would like to request for a referral, and she is willing to help me with that. Maybe it also depends on whether the doctor is nice or not. I do hear stories like when they went to Polyclinic, the doctor refused to refer them and asked them to go to the hospital themselves.

Hi hi..

Wah quite risky actually about going to polyclinic. I would really hate it if the Q is long and when my turn finally come the doctor say no to referral.

Oh yeah.. ROM next year. Well I guess you too since you're in this forum =)

However I dont think it is such a issue with guys on such mole issue except girls?! My FH think is ridiculous to want to meddle with it since it dont give me any trouble. So I was telling him that I want to do something which I think I always wanted.. hahaha.. Anyway let me know how your appointment goes..

Meanwhile I am waiting for someone to introduce a mole location fortune teller .... hahahha

Hi, just for the sake of those who will be interested to see. Telephone : 97895617 This uncle is home based and is located at lorong ah soo. He is recommend by the Shop at FLS and he sees Yun Cheng and Mole. I have not been to him though. Token is up to individual ang bao. Any sum you like to give.

Oh, think they uses some kinda of soldering stuff and burn the mole. Its not painful just a little uncomfortable for a while. Now my "Mole" looks like a burned skin. And the mole kind of dries up and going to peel off soon.

Tham,
sorry for late reply...me v busy....my mole is located next to the nose on the left side...not big & not small either lah....but it's the protruding kind..so abit sianz that it's reappeared....so how ur appt fixed liao?!!?

Ling,

Luckily for me that day which I went to Polyclinic, it wasn't crowded at all and I only waited for about 15 minutes. Seems like nowadays Polyclinics are not as crowded as it used to be as mostly senior citizens go there.

Hahaha...no...no ROM for me as I haven't even found that person yet. I'm here simply because I know there will be alot of ladies to chat.

Hey you could be wrong that guys don't bother so much about mole issue. Ironically, those who pass comments about my mole are mostly guys...very vain guys, and guys who emphasize on your appearance...hehehe.....

Ok, will update you in the next few months. Who knows...I may cancel my appointment or change my mind to remove it in the end. Hehehe....

Aloha,

It seems rather scary by using soldering stuff to burn the mole. Will it cause damage to the skin? Update me how it looks like after the mole peels off ok?

Gerbera,

Oh i c...mine also protruding kind. My appointment with the NSC is next month. Update me about ur decision, ok? Or r u waiting to see my outcome first? Then have to wait at least a few months liao. Hehehe...

Aloha
Where's this Amy Plc? Is this a beauty salon and how much does it cost? So did they use laser and is it properly healed now? Mine's on the face too so I'm super concerned

And has anyone heard of or tried Asiamedic before?

Went to the NSC today for consultation. Have booked a surgery appointment next week to remove my mole. Keeping my fingers cross...hope everything will turn out fine.

tham

wow, feel excited or nervous anot?

so this new year...ppl will see a new you lor... you must tell us how is it like ok?

all the best to you....

Tham!

Are you excited?!

So how much is the surgery? I am surprise it is so fast.. I just want to know if your mole is big.. I was thinking of avoiding an operations.. but the likelihood of that is literally zero if you really want to remove the mole..

I am sure everything is going to be fine.. So dont worry so much! That will certainly boost your confidence level so much..

Hi Wan & Ling,

I'm feeling scared and nervous more than excited! I don't know whether the wound will heal fast enough for the CNY. But anyway, my relatives only saw me once a year so they may not realise any changes on my face. Hahaha...

They can only give an estimate cost of $150-500 per mole. The actual cost will depend on the procedures performed. But the thought that they will be cutting open the mole and stitch it back after that made me scared liao, but that is the only way to completely remove the mole lor. Mine is about 0.5cm protruding type. This type of mole has to be removed by excision. But I know lah...no pain, no gain, just that I was warned that a scar will result. But a scar is still better than a protruding black mole right?

Tham..

No worries..I am sure it'll be over in a jiffy..

Mine is similar to you but is about 0.3cm but than again it marred the face like it or not.

I think the scar is not significant. I seen my friend's scar and is like a small stretch mark or something but she dont like to talk about it because she think it affect her life lah.. so I never ask her how she done it exactly.

Good luck!!

Ling,

Thanks for that. That means u didn't know at where did ur friend remove her mole, is it?

What about u? Still considering whether to remove or just leave it there?

gee... tham>>
U STILL considering huh?? ...

hi every1>>
wanted to check with u all, may i know have u all heard tat cannot eat dark or light soya sauce cos it will leave a darkened pigmentation on the spot tat the mole is removed... is it TRUE? and also cannot eat seafood, egg, vinegar ...
pls advice

Hi well,

Have made up my mind already...just that haven't told my mum yet. Regarding the questions u r asking, doctors will advise u there is no scientific evidence to prove all that. Have u removed a mole before since u r asking those questions?

just came across this thread so just like to make a recommandation. If anyone wants to remove a protruding mole, go look for professor/Dr Goh and the national skin center. I removed one a couple of yeats back and no one can see the scar at all.

Tham,
i think your mole is about the same size as mine and my op took only less than 5 mins. That is how fast and how good Professor Goh is!! I paid only $150+$60 to see him.
Nothing scary about it. Dun worry. Oh by the way i removed the mole when i was about 17

Hi Jasmine,

Who is Professor/ Dr. Goh? Is he the surgeon who removed the mole for u? I'm a subsidized patient, so I dun think I can choose my own surgeon. Where is ur mole btw? Can share with me how u cope after the surgery or not? I'm getting cold feet now.

U paid $150 + $60 to see Dr. Goh. Is $150 the surgery fees and $60 the consultation fees? As far as I know, the consultant and the surgeon normally are different doctors leh....

I have asked my mum opinion about this. She is against it because she is worried of any possible infections and damaged to the skin

Still dun dare to tell her I have actually fixed a surgery appointment liao....

hi tham>>
actually i never removed any moles ... but my SIL did. she went for those pasar malam one recently... just happen to walk past, stand there and took a glance and was persuaded to do so, just to remove 3nos of moles at her back for $30 and bought a small small pack of cream for $10 to apply. and the woman gave her a list of things that cannot eat lo.

but as far as i know, black/light soya sauce will stain the raw/ just treated skin brown color lo, duno is it a myth cos from young heard abt this and wana verify with u ppl here...

Hi well,

Remove moles at pasar malam? Seems very "chin chai" leh... Safe or not? But if the moles are not on the face, then still ok. On the face ones must be very careful and better seek professional doctors to do so lor....

Hi Tham ,
I went in as a private patient. So i got to choose Dr Goh.
He did the mole removal cause i saw him in the OT and he remembered me. He is a senior consultant. His office is the 2nd last one at clinic B i think.
My mole is above my upper lip. along the smile line. I dunno if you understand that. That was a rough estimate of how much i paid.
Nothing much to do after surgery. Got a cream to apply every 3 times a day and after 1 week, can go to any GP to remove the stitches.
Really dun worry about it . It is almost painless and well, when i had to go for it, i went to see him and arranged everything and got the mole out in about 2-3 days ( He happened to have an opening)

By the way,
i was given LA before the op. They injected it around the mole. He told me it may hurt when he was injecting, but it didn't, not at all. That is why, to me, it was painless.
And when i showed people my ic, ( i still had my mole) and now, they all are surprised i removed a mole. Cannot tell.

Hi jasmine,

Thanks for the information. How does the area look like after the surgery? Does it swell with redness initially? I'm very concerned about this. Any problem with wetting the area like rinsing mouth or washing face?

jasmine,

Just wonder have u gone thru' any wisdom teeth surgery before? If u have, how is this mole removal compared to wisdom teeth surgery? Why I'm asking is because I have gone thru' the wisdom tooth surgery.

Hi Tham..

Actually I still dont know where she remove it.. because after she came back from her distance studies.. it was gone.

I am still considering to remove it actually but just being a big procrastinater. Like your mum..I think my mum will object as well.

But scary yah! Anyway Jasmine do it super cheap!I wonder why is yours like a tad more expensive...

Mellisa,

Moles at underarm cannot be seen what. If I were u, I wouldn't want to remove.

Ling,

Maybe ur friend removed it overseas? I guess normally old folks will not approve of all these lah... Actually I was also quoted at around that price leh...$150-500, just that jasmine did it at the cheapest range lor... But $60 for consultation fee is not cheap, mine only $21.

Jasmine,

Why must go GP to remove stitches? I thought go back to the Skin Centre? If let's say, during the first few days after surgery, anything happen, for instance excessive bleeding or infection etc (touchwood), how? Cannot go back to Skin Centre for treatment, is it?

Oh GP is easier for me than to go back and pay only like $20. Can go back to skin center if you want but not necessary. I didn't experience any problem with wetting my mouth. Can bath normally also. No bleeding and no redness. Wound feels itchy for little while but overall nothing wrong.
The area just looks like got stitches. that's all.

Jasmine,

Seems like everything is fine for u. I have heard from others that they experienced swelling and redness at the area. Maybe is different for each individual. Just hope that everything turns out smoothly for me.

Thanks for sharing ur experience with me.

Tham,

I am sure everything will be fine!!

Feel like going after your experience.. waiting to stop this laze I have going on actually. However I always believe it give us a new 'lease' in life somehow.. you know what I mean?

I can't wait for it to be frank but I want to find someone to look at it before removing it actually.. however cannot find anyone repute nuff to do it.

ARRHHHHH....

That's me.. but I am kinda thrill for you actually! =) Although I dont know you but I personally know some of that little hurt that you went thru ...

Ling,

Thanks for that. I believe only those in the same predicament will understand. Indeed, it's hurting to receive nasty remarks for something that u r not at fault.

Yes, I know what u mean by a new lease in life. In fact, I have not thought I will ever go for any cosmetic surgery because frankly, I am not a vain person, and normally people who goes for cosmetic surgery are perceived to be vain? Well it seems like.... For me, perhaps is just to change some people's misconception about me.

Well, definitely will share with u my experience, maybe then from there u make a decision whether to go for it.

Popped by... just want to share with u gals...

Me too had my mole surgically removed last month at a clinic @Outram. T mole was 'situated' on t bridge on my nose, right side. Size is 4mm diameter. Cost me $300, no stitches, 2 days MC.

Me also have lots of non-protruding moles on face (forehead, cheek..) b4... must b inherited fr my mum
Last year, my beautician recommended me to try a process call 'Skin Tag'. Think I removed more than 10 moles (big n small ones) n now my face is more or less clear of moles
It's quite painful, but it's safe. Anyone hear it b4??

Hi Lilian,

Urs no stitches? So may I know did u experience any pain or bleeding immediately after the procedure and how does the area look like? Any redness or swelling?

In fact, I have one more protruding one at the corner of my nose. Still considering whether to remove that one as well? Besides that, I also have quite a number of non-protruding ones on my face, all quite near to my nose. I heard that non-protruding ones can be removed by laser, but I have never heard of 'Skin Tag'. What is the procedure like? And what is the cost?

Hi Tham,
Ya, no stitches... No pain even after t anesthetic effect is gone. But there was bleeding few hours after t op. T doc said normally there'll be no bleeding, but cos mine is on nose where it has many blood vessels, so if vessel din close up by itself, bleeding may occur.

T area is now (aft a mth) a bit red, like a pimple scar lor. No swellin, no pain.

Skin tag procedure, i think it's smthg like tattoo... My beautician used smthg like a pen connected to a small machine, it has a needle on t tip. When she step on t peddle on t machine, t needle seems 2 transfer heat 2 my skin surface in a split second. Must say it's painful, like a needle prickin u. T pigment area will tend 2 b a bit darker aft t procedure, aft a few days it will peel off.
It cost me $10-$25 per mole depending on size.
How much does laser cost?

Hi jasmine,

Oh i c....thanks!

Hi Lilian,

So urs got bleeding because it's on the nose? Hmmm...then I think I dun want to remove that one at the corner of my nose liao... So urs now look like a pimple scar? I guess it still looks better than a black mole right? Heard that scar will eventually fade over time is it?

I dun know how much laser cost?

I am having a fever + running nose now. Went to see doctor just now, ask her whether is it advisable to go ahead with my surgery tommorrow? She said should be no problem, ask me not to worry. But I really dun feel that well, maybe tomorrow ask doctor at skin centre again, see whether is it ok to proceed with the surgery?

Hi Tham
I dun suggest u go for t surgery if u're havin running nose. It's better not to 'disturb' the area which has jus been operated. Wat if u sneeze or wanna blow ur nose?
However, if u're confident n ur doc say it's ok, then go ahead

T scar is supposingly 2 fade away over time, according to t doc, as well as my beautician. It will helps if apply sunscreen b4 going outside n my beautician also asked me 2 apply ampulle at nite. Yup, a pimple-like scar definitely better than a black mole
At least can cover up wif makeup...

Went for the appointment today. Was told that the surgery will leave a 1.5cm scar (my mole is 0.5cm). Frankly, I was shocked to hear it leaves such a long scar. And also have to be prepared for any swelling and redness etc. I backed out last minute...need more time to consider. Or guess I just have to live with the mole.