Melbourne anyone??

celyw

alamak kite,
i think you nvr read my postings clearly leh...
i mentioned to you when we going to OZ and how long from GOR to grampians, yet you still ask me again!

well GOR to grampian takes 2/3hrs (self drive), go grampians to see the rock formations oso sight seeing...worth to visit ar? depend what you like ley.

There are accomodation in grampians but which town you want to stay over den you have to find out from your agency what is available.

kite~

Hi celine,

very paiseh hehe i forget abt it n oso tend to mix up here n there cos toking to alot of brides here since doing up my preparation for my wedding now. :p

ok thx i will check it out on grampians again. cheers.

_angel

hi kite,

i went to melborne in early dec 2 yrs ago and it was cold. i was caught unprepared. better bring along some warm clothings juz in case cos the weather in melbourne fluctuates quite drastically.

viavia

Yes.It's suppose to be spring but the temp is like 3,4 or 5 at nite and in the morning abt 9 or 10? The worst thing is not the temp. It is when the wind blows. That's when it sends all the chills to you. The weather is really dry too. So pls bring along moisturizers, lip balm. I brought scarf and gloves too for those really cold nights. Pls also bring along a brolly. It drizzles very often. Esp for those going to Phillip Island. It gets unbearably cold there at nite. Be well-prepared.

I was told Melb experiencing historical cold weather now. Dunno true or not. Also, met a couple fr Perth who told us that few yrs back when they visited Melb at this time, it was not so cold. Apparently, melb weather a bit freaky now....

For those wif very dry lips. I recommend Hemps lipbalm from Body Shop. It works well for me. But you can't get it from Singapore. They have it in Aust and other euporean countries. I regretted getting only one stick actually. Should have bought some more for use here.

Hi Celine. Nope..I din say Chandon charges. I said Fergusson does. I'm not sure abt Chandon's practise.

kite~

hi viavia and angie,

thanks for ur advise. since i m gg in early dec, i thot of not bringing any warm clothings as my mind has already set dec wil be hot summer.

btw brand like Bloom, jurlique, perfect potion, where can i get cheaper price for these? thanks

kite~

hi viavia,

u mentioned that smith street has those surfwear/beach shop? what other places has? cos my FH wants to buy those sporty bermudas. their price reasonable?

angph38

shld i go on a F&E pkg (book airtix & accom with agency here) or shld i get the airtix & accom myself??

me planning to go Melbourne on 30 Jan but seems that accomodation for 8 days is a bit ex (easily come close to AUD$900)

any cheap & near central accomodation to recommend?? thx

kite~

Hi angelia,

well for us we save the trouble of finding accomodation on our own cos we r always busy w work, therefore we booked air flight n accomodation from tour agency. ours include 3 nites accomodation at Melbourne, Ramada hotel and another 2 nites at Great ocean road. plus free 1 day tour to yarra valley, puffing billy, GOR museum. each person costs $1.6K including tax for 7D5N.

if u looking for cheaper accomodation, suggest u search on ur own.

angph38

kite,
i checked Ramada Hotel, it's 4* & pretty ex leh. A$225 for 31 Jan - 2 Feb, A$132 from 3 Feb onwards.... adds up to be A$1335 leh

i checked Astoria, think it's A$80+ per day.

viavia

How abt trying Hotel Y (by YWCA) or Toad's hall (a backpacker kinda hotel) . With attached bathrooms, both costs abt AUD100 -AUD120 or so. For Toad Hall, rooms with common bathrooms costs abt AUD60. Heard good reviews abt Toad Hall, common toilets are clean and won't be overcrowded.

Both are quite conveniently located. Very near to Queen Vic. Within walking distances. Just take a tram down and you will reach Collins St, Bourke st and Flinders' St.

Not too sure abt the exact prices. You may want to check over the internet for the updated ones. I stayed in Hotel Y and find it pretty ok.

Hi Kite, I only noticed one or two shops at Smith Street. Sorry, didn't really lookout for beachwear. Actually they have the usual ripcurl, billabong shops at a lot of places but they aren't exactly cheaper than in singapore although these are aussie brands.

yoyo

new on this tread....
wow.. u guys going to Melb.. how envy... I miss that plc terribly lots... was there for 7 yrs.. study and work... u guys if need to know where to go for good and cheap food ... i am glad to give your guys some guide...pizza at Lygon st is a MUST......you will never get so fantastic italian food in singapore

kite~

hi yoyo,

thanks! i have 3 days at melbourne city and 3 days at great ocean road. i wil be gg to richmond, victoria market, crown casino. Can u help me what tram to these places? other nice places to recommend?

yoyo

hi kite~

Richmond as in shopping not the vietnamese makan area, take 86 from burke street mall.. good shopping area...cheap and nice...moreover now nice weather.. when u going? summer is beautiful the sun dun set till 8pm..at least

go Lygon St for good PIZZA...no direct tram, can take tram 1 from swanston st towards RMIT direction.. get down at Melb uni n one street away is Lygon.. very easy to get around...
vietnamese food at victoria street.. tram 109 from collin street.. very traditional and original viet food.. very nice...go to a shop call "qing Feng" in chinese ,toward the center part of the street nice and cheap

go to burke street mall and they hv a tourist info booth.. u can get lots of info there.. with tram number and how to get there...

let me recall wat is nice...

later ya

kite~

hi yoyo,

thanks for the info. wil jot it down as a note n bring it to melbourne. btw i will be staying at ramada hotel, is it convenient to take tram from there? thanks.

yoyo

ramada? wat is the address? when u leaving?

i hv more info on where to go.. but let me recall n let u know....

viavia

Ramada is very convenient. Coz it is just opp Flinders St Station. Flinders station is like erm...say city hall station in spore? Visitor information booth is just near there at federation Sq. Walking distances to the shopping areas too.

yoyo

Hello Kite
some warm clothing is advisable.. Melb's weather very unpreditable.... 5min rain 5 min sunshine 5 min may be thundestorm and hails....

Flinders st.. very convenient... go southbank.. try the food at a cafe call bluetrain.. nice place but a bit noise.. for yuppies is good...

as in the city is self.. i would say nothing much just shopping.. but bridge road at Richmond is the best....take 86 from burke mall... smith st also nice..
one thing must enjoy if u r coffee drinker.. go hv a nice coffee at brunswick street in Fitzroy

st kilda beach.. nice sunday craft market...

oops.. seems like every thing is nice.. but the fct is .. EVERYTHING IS NICE in Melbourne....

I bet you will fall in love with the place...

kite~

hi yoyo and viavia,

thanks for so much info n help
btw my hubby n i will be driving to great ocean rd. Is it dangerous to drive up there? heard that it's quite dangerous.

oh ya if we were to drive through highway, how r we gg to pay the tolls? cos 1 of my fren drove through highway n he got a fine cos he didnt even know highways has tolls. pls. advise. thanks.

viavia

Dun drive thru those wif E signs. I dun really know what E lanes mean. I think it's for those car with electronic sensor (like our ERP) , so they just drive past, dun need to do anything.

Drive under those wif "Change given" or "exact amt". Along the way, you will see a lot of signs indicating tolls to be paid. Signs will also direct you to lanes with E, exact amt, change given. Signs will also have the amt to be paid indicated. I dun think you can miss those signs....so be prepared with some coins..it costs like $2.20 and $3.00 for my case.

I think your friend probabaly drove in the E lane. They can detect if you do not have such electronic sensor thingy in your car. That's how he got fined. But i heard if you accidentaly drove into such lanes, later on, you could make a call or something to explain and appeal, it should be ok. Otherwise, they fine you loh.

kite~

hi viavia,

thanks for the info. at least now i get to know there are 3 different lanes, will keep a lookout for it. even now my fren still do not know y he need to pay a fine for toll. maybe i can share w her.
yup my fren told me e same thing. someone told her that she need to make a call to pay the tolls or something like tat.

btw is it dangerous to drive at great ocean road at nite? cos i have 1 nite which requires me to travel from warrnambool to Port fairy. pls. advise. thanks.

if you accidentally drive onto a toll-paying lane...you can call the toll company to charge the amount to your credit card or pay cash @ the post offices. be watchful...'cos if you failed to pay toll fees and you are driving a rental vehicle..the rental company might fine you heavily (some charge up to A$100)

kite~

Hi KPO,

Btw we will be doing self-drive. Will we passby highway from Melbourne city to Great ocean rd?

Also, will we passby from Port fairy to Melbourne airport?

My guess we will hv to passby the toll highway when we make our way bk fr port fairy to airport. hmm wondering where we hv the time to pay fine at post office and where to get the toll telephone number cos that is e time we will be catching our flight bk to SG? pls. advise. thanks.

you can avoid the toll highways from great ocean road and back (we didn't have to pay any)...not sure about port fairy to airport though. you can easily obtain toll payment no. by asking the hotel receptionists or car rental cos.

chandon does charge for wine tasting..i think it's A$5 if i'm not wrong. most of the other wineries do not charge. chandon is abit touristy lah...landscaping is nice but quite 'fake'...the champagnes are worth trying..the chandon wines no big deal.

drive to great ocean road is not dangerous at all...as long as you don't speed (roads can get slippery when rain freezes) or fall asleep behind the wheel...and it's much better to drive in the daytime 'cos there isn't much street lights available..so it's really dark at night...you'll panic if you aren't used to night driving without street lamps.

for good accommodation rates..check out http://www.holidaypoint.com.au/ the rates are one of the most attractive after our extensive online search...you can get very good last minute offers!

when i was there in jun...i stayed at astoria city travel inn @ spencer street (walking distance from airport limousine bus station)..and i paid only A$455 for 7 nights. the room came with attached sink, microwave, kettle and refrigerator...good for budget travel where you want to buy/make your own meals. the city tram stop is also just a stone throw away from astoria. if i don't remember wrongly..parking is A$10 per night.

celyw

Hi KPO, may i know which wine valley worth visiting in Yarra Valley??

And how you managed to avoid the toll highway? We are going to self drive too from Melbourne ==> port campbell ==> to halls gap ==> to Yarra Glen ==> to Cowes ==> back to Melbourne so sure will encounter alot of tolls isit??

kite~

hi KPO,

thanks for the info. may i know is there any day tours which are the cheapest? cos i intend to join day tours to penguin parade but most of e day tours are above A$100 which is quite steep. any recommendations? thanks.

butterfly

Hi kite,
Got your email! Sorry haven't been visiting this thread for quite some time.. HE heee..

Good that you managed to change to the F&E! I think those places that you mention are really good! Usually tourists will go to those places - puffing billy, philips island, great ocean road, etc etc.

Friday and Saturday is also a good time to go shopping. The shops is the city usually closes at 6pm, but on thursday and friday, they close at a later time - 9pm.. On sat, you must go and visit the Queen Victoria Market. It opens very early. BEtter go there, have fun, look around for good stuff and enjoy! Then in the afternoon, you can go to richmond for cheaper stuff, or chapel street for the more expensive / branded stuff! Smith st has a lot of factory outlets! So a good place for cheap clothings too!

I think you basically have all the good places to go to! HE heee! Hope you have fun here!

I'm not sure if bloom or jurlique is cheaper here.. But you can check it out once you're here.

I'm sure you can't wait to fly here asap! HE hee! I'll still be here in early dec. So if you need any help, just let me know ok!! Yipieee!

hi celine,

hmmm..actually the question of which wineries are worth visiting also depends on whether you are going for the wines or for the view.
for me..it's the quality of wines. my personal favorites are:
mount mary
yeringberg
seville estate
tarrawarra
yering station
diamond valley
lillydale

i did not encounter any toll highway when driving from st kilda to yarra valley and back to town.

hi kite,

sorry..can't help you there 'cos i normally don't sign up for day tours as they are expensive. A$100 for philip island penguin parade is SO EXPENSIVE! may as well rent a car (A$50+) and do self-drive trip?!!!

angph38

KPO,
from what u mentioned, i supposed u took the budget room with no ensuite toilet?

i doubt hubby will want a budget room, so i'm looking @ rooms with attached toilet

vivia,
thanks. i looked up Hotel Y too, but not sure of it's location so a bit apprehensive. worried if we stayed out late, will be inconvenient to get back to the hotel

hi angelia,

oh no...it comes with all the usual amenities attached bathroom, aircon/heater, tv...the microwave/sink are extras.

http://www.holidaycity.com/astoria-melbourne/

it's a popular place to stay for the locals...end of the year seems to be peak season 'cos of the matches and festivals..check/book in advance if you are interested.

you can also check out the following:
- atlantis
- enterprize
- nova harbourview
- nova stargate

these are very decent budget hotels (3*+)..some of them quite new like atlantis and nova. however, if i'm not wrong, the nova chains are like apts with no housekeeping.

angph38

KPO,
they only allow advance bookings of up to 20 days, so i can't check now
then, i went to other sites & tried to check the dates i wanted (06 Mar - 14 Mar) but not available
so sad.. i wanted those dates cos Moomba is from 05 Mar - 08 Mar

hi angelia,

yup..that's the problem with booking @ holidaycity..you can get very good rates but booking has to be done quite last minute. for us, we normally plan/book earliest 2 weeks in advance when we travel...so the website is useful. if you are planning to book now for mar...then try other websites perhaps.

fond

Is it really very hot to travel to Mel during late Dec and early Jan. Can anyone advice on this? Im thking of going during 28Dec.
Now very troubled by the weather. Heard that its v v v hot. So i duno how true is this.

yoyo

melb weather is unpreditable... may rain, sun, hail any time... last year i was back in Mleb and it has hail on christmas and snowing on the mountain on new year day

but summer can be quite hot, vvv hot if the heat wave is there,, but nice cos the sunset is abt 8pm.... very romantic to walk at the beach with the sunset.. and at that time of the day could be quite cooling liao.. and windy at the beach...

viavia

angelia, hotel Y is at Elizabeth street. It's right smack beside Queen victoria Market, there's a conveniece store opposite. A mcDonalds and 7-11 on the same street. The tram stop is also within walking distance like...2 to 3 mins walk? Take the tram to flinders station only a few stops..and it's only less than 10 mins.

The only thing, need to walk like 15 mins to the nearest train station--flagstaff. But usu i travel by tram. and i will get an all day ticket allowing me to travel by tram or train or bus etc..so I will take the tram to flinders if i need the train.

And if you need to take day tours, hotel Y is usu in the pickup list. If not, Melb transit centre which is often a pickup location is also just nearby..

angph38

<font color="0000ff">anyone intend to go Melbourne F&amp;E (tix only) from 05 March 2004 - 14 March 2004 ???</font>

nan

I'm intending to go Melbourne during this period (but probably from 10 March onwards). Why?

angph38

lynn,
hehehe.. cos if 4 pax can buy SIA's promo airtix
otherwise gotta look at other airlines

10 March onwards is a bit late for me. cos i wanna catch the Moomba Waterfest which is from 05 Mar - 08 Mar

kite~

finally gg there next week. may i know how is the weather like now? need to bring warm clothings? thanks.

kerenelu

Hi Kite!

Enjoy your trip!

Me going there 1 week after u
Looking forward to it

I got advice from a fren who had studied there for years. Bring along cardigans and possibly ur blouses should be long sleeved and high collar type.

Bring along lip balm or petroleum jelly (which may be more effective for some pple) to prevent cracked/dry lips.

May i know u going F&amp;E or package?

angph38

kite,
enjoy ur trip... finally the day is going to come

do feed us with ur trip updates after u come back

hope i get to go next March

jasminetea

Hi Kite,

I just came back from Mel 2 weeks ago. It is quite windy esp at nights. So must bring along some jackets, wind breaker. Even the day time can be very cooling.

Enjoy your trip.

Cheers~

thb

i will be going there ard X'mas time. I thgt it is summer time now? so do i also need to wear long sleeves during day time? what else must i brg along too?